Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 551 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In a universe as vast as it is mysterious, a small but powerful force has existed for centuries. Protectors of peace and justice, they are called the Green Lantern Corps. A brotherhood of warriors sworn to keep intergalactic order, each Green Lantern wears a ring that grants him superpowers.In a universe as vast as it is mysterious, a small but powerful force has existed for centuries. Protectors of peace and justice, they are called the Green Lantern Corps. A brotherhood of warriors sworn to keep intergalactic order, each Green Lantern wears a ring that grants him superpowers. But when a new enemy called Parallax threatens to destroy the balance of power in the Universe, their fate and the fate of Earth lie in the hands of their newest recruit, the first human ever selected: Hal Jordan. Hal is a gifted and cocky test pilot, but the Green Lanterns have little respect for humans, who have never harnessed the infinite powers of the ring before. But Hal is clearly the missing piece to the puzzle, and along with his determination and willpower, he has one thing no member of the Corps has ever had: humanity. With the encouragement of fellow pilot and childhood sweetheart Carol Ferris, if Hal can quickly master his new powers and find the courage to overcome his fears, he may prove to be not only the key to defeating Parallax...he will become the greatest Green Lantern of all. (Warner Bros.)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 17, 2011
    75
    So what we have is a movie that will make at least two important groups happy. New Orleans boosters can cheer Green Lantern for its local roots and for the possibility that the inevitable future installments could return to town. And the purists can cheer, knowing that Campbell and crew have done Green Lantern justice.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 16, 2011
    63
    Green Lantern does not intend to be plausible. It intends to be a sound-and-light show, assaulting the audience with sensational special effects. If that's what you want, that's what you get.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 15, 2011
    60
    An attempt to infuse an earnest piece of comicbook lore with an irreverent, tongue-in-cheek sensibility yields decidedly mixed results in Green Lantern.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 14, 2011
    40
    Whenever this Lantern returns to terra firma (too often), its imaginative flights are ground down under the Warners overlords' demographic-pandering heels.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    Jun 16, 2011
    40
    The result is a deadly disappointment, despite Ryan Reynolds's cocky, muscle-flexing charisma as the daredevil test pilot turned intergalactic peacekeeper and Peter Sargaard's movie-stealing turn as a nerdy scientist turned psycho monster.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 16, 2011
    38
    The spectacular collapse of Green Lantern is bound to be blamed on Reynolds, but the villainy has its origins in an injustice league of TV-trained screenwriters and tin-hearted studio suits.
  7. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 17, 2011
    20
    Even by the standards of the current run of mediocre comic-book movies, this one stands out for its egregious shoddiness.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 214
  2. Negative: 51 out of 214
  1. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    A very good movie for a first run at this particular hero! R.R was the right choice. A good balance of action both in the suit and out. I lookA very good movie for a first run at this particular hero! R.R was the right choice. A good balance of action both in the suit and out. I look forward to number two! Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Everyone sounds so stupid on this page. "OMG Why would anyone like this movie? They should've seen *insert less successful movie here*Everyone sounds so stupid on this page. "OMG Why would anyone like this movie? They should've seen *insert less successful movie here* instead!" Its summer, its a comic book superhero movie, it had a bazillion dollar budget just for advertising... you're right that pretty much adds up to "lame movie" however, they aren't even attempting to make genre changing, Oscar winning gold, they are trying to sell some tickets to a movie that costs a **** to produce. Its fun, its entertaining, and the changes made from the comic book were necessary for time constraints. If you have read the Green Lantern run that has been written by Geoff Johns the past few years this movie would satisfy your craving to see these epic space battles in live-action rather than on the page or in a usually bland reinterpretation on animated DVD. This movie is easily one of the most entertaining superhero movies made and it sticks to the spirit of the book more than most superheroes even try to pretend they do. Loved it. Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    The movie was fun. Acting was well executed. Especially mark strong as sinestro, it's not his fault the writers dropped the ball with hisThe movie was fun. Acting was well executed. Especially mark strong as sinestro, it's not his fault the writers dropped the ball with his character. But the problems with his character could be fixed with a sequel. The rest was fine compared to the comics. Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2011
    5
    Not bad., but not great I probably liked this one a wee bit better than Thor, which isn't necessarily high praise since I thought Thor wasNot bad., but not great I probably liked this one a wee bit better than Thor, which isn't necessarily high praise since I thought Thor was average. The critics savaged this film and I can certainly see where the harsh reviews were coming from, but it wasn't all bad. This is summer popcorn fluff. Yes, the dialogue is cheesy. Yes, the love story is tired. But it wasn't the worst movie ever. I do question the need for Hector Hammond. The actor was fine, but I've always thought he was a lame villain. Odd choice for a starter. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    5
    I might be overly complimentary giving it this rating. I love Ryan Reynolds. I'm excited about him being Deadpool. But the combination of heI might be overly complimentary giving it this rating. I love Ryan Reynolds. I'm excited about him being Deadpool. But the combination of he and Blake Lively who are clearly here for eye candy, along with dialogue that makes the Fantastic Four series seem like Citizen Kane, cannot sustain the brilliant effects and perfect representation of the Green Lantern Corps and backstory. As a comic fan, they did a GREAT job with the Green Lantern aspect. But Ryan and Blake + awful writing = MEH. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    4
    Story and plot wise the movie is pretty darn bland and very random. Events sort of just happen without any reasonable explanation or emotionalStory and plot wise the movie is pretty darn bland and very random. Events sort of just happen without any reasonable explanation or emotional connection. For instance in the beginning a Green Lantern dies, who is supposedly a great comrade to another Lantern, we no nothing about him and the other Lantern with a straight face is grieving for the lose. The event is also very confusing because we really donâ Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2012
    0
    Ryan Reynolds has officially ruined his career with this movie. Until this point, he'd been a great comedy actor with some crossovers intoRyan Reynolds has officially ruined his career with this movie. Until this point, he'd been a great comedy actor with some crossovers into drama & action. The only movies of the comic-book inspired superhero genre worth seeing, in my opinion, are the revived Batman series of movies. Even those are getting a bit campy with Bale's overly-dramatic angry whisper-delivered dialogue. Hollywood needs new creative minds badly. Expand

See all 214 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).