Freestyle Releasing | Release Date: September 9, 2005
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 165 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
144
Mixed:
10
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ChrisL.Apr 1, 2008
This is one of my favorite movies. Really does a good job of showing English Footballing culture, and has a really good storyline. The one thing I dislike is the American girl whose played by an English girl. They could have found someone This is one of my favorite movies. Really does a good job of showing English Footballing culture, and has a really good storyline. The one thing I dislike is the American girl whose played by an English girl. They could have found someone way better. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AnnaM.Mar 22, 2007
It is one of the best films I ever saw. The main characters are brilliant. The story is full of action!!! The film makes an big impression on me!!!! YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS FILM!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JackMOct 2, 2005
What a film, I enjoyed this so much. Couple of things ruined it though which was the terrible cockny accent, and the end scene where everyone stops fighting, it wouldnt happen. But other then that a extremley tasty film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickiJ.Sep 26, 2005
Absolutely great film!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamieK.Nov 22, 2005
ITS GREAT.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
rodb.Oct 4, 2005
Great!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BexSep 25, 2005
Absolutely amazing film! Recommended to all...football fans or not! Very realistic and surprising how your attitude will change towards some of the characters on the second viewing! Superb film!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kentk.Oct 10, 2005
It was the best film in ages that i have watched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
melNov 5, 2005
Gr8 i watched it twice in a row wen i first saw it n im in love wit da main guy in it (nt elijah wood).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeeG.Oct 17, 2005
I think it is mint nd so do all my mates want them to bring another film out like it but wiv the man u fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GogaV.Dec 13, 2005
One of the best movies i ever seen!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kellys.Oct 26, 2005
Thought it was brillant with a really good and emotional story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisW.Jun 30, 2006
Pretty bloody brilliant film here. Too bad it didn't do too well in the "bees and honey." Really underated by the movie critics, huh? A seriously great film about football fanatics and how involved they really are with the game. Great Pretty bloody brilliant film here. Too bad it didn't do too well in the "bees and honey." Really underated by the movie critics, huh? A seriously great film about football fanatics and how involved they really are with the game. Great story that almost reminds me of movies like "The Outsiders." Worth the rent... but not a date flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmaNov 27, 2005
The film was fantastic ! Best wan yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
deanot.Oct 14, 2005
This film was immense...next shud be fotball factory v green street...the mighty chelsea v the GSE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
michaelo.Oct 14, 2005
Newcastle till i die!!!....football factory v green streeet next tbh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobbyM.Oct 4, 2005
Saw it in Harvard Square with a Q&A with Lexi Alexander afterwards. Really enjoyed both the theme and presentation of the movie. Elijah Wood is cast well, and although he makes the transition to street hooligan perhaps a little too quickly, Saw it in Harvard Square with a Q&A with Lexi Alexander afterwards. Really enjoyed both the theme and presentation of the movie. Elijah Wood is cast well, and although he makes the transition to street hooligan perhaps a little too quickly, otherwise preforms admirably. This is the movie I though I would be seeing when I saw Fight Club: a movie about what turns real people to violence, not the muddled nihilism of Fight Club. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MargaretP.Sep 14, 2005
This was a really captivatring film, mainly because of Elijah Wood's performance as Matt. The film shows through Matt how a non-violent, non-assertive person can get seduced by violence when they are at their most vulnerable. The film This was a really captivatring film, mainly because of Elijah Wood's performance as Matt. The film shows through Matt how a non-violent, non-assertive person can get seduced by violence when they are at their most vulnerable. The film is not really about football hooliganism; it is about finding identity and coming of age. However, the hooliganism back-drop was very realistic and exciting. The audience really cared about what might happen to the vulnerable Matt, especially given the precarious happiness he had found with the group after being betrayed by his room-mate at Harvard. Speaking as someone from England it would be quite wrong to say that Elijah or Charlie don't look thuggish enough to play hooligans - it is very naive to think that all hooligans look like thugs. Kudos should go to Elijah for choosing a risky indie movie after starring in the massive Lord of the Rings trilogy. It seems to be doing really well at the cinemas in the UIK and the US, which is not surprising. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
carterh.Sep 25, 2005
This movie is amazing!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KiraB.Jul 30, 2006
Green Street Hooligans is a terrifying yet wonderful look into the world of football hooliganism. I was amazed and awed by the normal lives these people live while they are also engaged in such furious bloodthirsty fights. Both Mr. Wood and Green Street Hooligans is a terrifying yet wonderful look into the world of football hooliganism. I was amazed and awed by the normal lives these people live while they are also engaged in such furious bloodthirsty fights. Both Mr. Wood and Mr. Dunnam were wonderfully cast and I loved the character Dunnam portrayed. [***SPOILERS***] I was a little shocked by the ending, as nobody ever likes to see our hero's die, but Matt is careful to live in a way that will honor Pete, and this makes the ending a tribute the good movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeH.Sep 24, 2006
I don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevenL.Sep 19, 2005
Being English it is easier to identify with the subject matter of this film. I thought that it was a good movie and as it went on you got more into the characters. I thought it was good in the sense it almost stopped before the final scene Being English it is easier to identify with the subject matter of this film. I thought that it was a good movie and as it went on you got more into the characters. I thought it was good in the sense it almost stopped before the final scene and asked you the question of what you want to happen almost asking you who you wanted to win in the story of people who no one deserved to win in. On the negative front I thought Elijah Wood was not cast well in this film. I thought he acted very well and did everything expected of him in the movie but felt it was impossible for him to deliver the transformation from nice Harved boy to football holigan. I enjoyed the film although it is a horrible look at people and what they do in the name of a course. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveS.Jun 14, 2006
Waited forever for the movie to go to dvd, no theatre carried it in my manor. Glad to say, I was not disappointed, my whole family watched, the verdict? "8 thumbs way up!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesE.Sep 24, 2006
I loved this movie, by far one of my favorites yet. It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarlosNov 22, 2005
Too see hobit as a west ham ultra (ups hooligan) is really glamorous!!! not about philosophy as fight club, but bout reallity, anyway too romantic for 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
misheleb.Nov 27, 2005
So cool, one of the bests movies i've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MalasawasFeb 16, 2011
By first... I was kinda reluctant to watch this movie, don't ask, because I dunno why. Then I've watched it. Well, at first it looks like Elijah Wood (don't remember the character name right now) is just a really pathetic ''yankee'', whoBy first... I was kinda reluctant to watch this movie, don't ask, because I dunno why. Then I've watched it. Well, at first it looks like Elijah Wood (don't remember the character name right now) is just a really pathetic ''yankee'', who seems to be overprotected in his past... and of course, as you see, is a good person to fool. Then it comes the part of discrimination from england guys, this kinda ''football gangsters'', a ''really not much helping'' sister, her ''arrogant'' and ''over-reacting'' england husband, and a poor young baby of them. In this general flash of the very beginning, you can see a weird movie. Then becomes interesting, you can see how pathetic is nationalism and racism in every each and single way, and makes you understand what it really is: a way of control. england vs. northamerica, gangsters vs. other football gangs, friends betrayed... all people showing then a lot of violence. It good the message it leave: not to trust anyone and not to mess with that people. But... at least, the are back for each other and stand when there's a challege or a fight or whatever... what our ''yankee'' guy (don't misundertand me, I'm not being racist, hate that word, I'm only emphasazing this word becaouse of the movie itself) understands and learns is to protect himself and what real friendship mean (another could be... the best friend is not who shares his room with you, could be in the other side of the world)... good movie after... what I need to say, because I noted is the credits... Elijah Wood is the ''star, well-known I mean'' there... but he's the last char to appear in credits... so... you know, you can note there the ''english nationalism''... hehe, ironic world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SoulSurgeonOct 11, 2013
Critic Desson Thomson of the Washington Post said "soccer needs this movie like Georgia needed Deliverance". Rather, I say Metacritic needs HIS review like Journalism needed Green Street Hooligans! Up your arse Desson you Journo. This is aCritic Desson Thomson of the Washington Post said "soccer needs this movie like Georgia needed Deliverance". Rather, I say Metacritic needs HIS review like Journalism needed Green Street Hooligans! Up your arse Desson you Journo. This is a masterpiece, the best soccer movie yet made. Still, its about so MUCH MORE than Football. It's about cultural differences, about brotherhood, about Publife, about being single and a 20 something, about fanaticism and exiting fanaticism and finding real life. Most importantly, its about the Lower class...about hope..beyond the day to day grind at work. Something to believe in, something to cheer for...even if what you are cheering for is low quality. It's about where you are from and the biggest ruck is always the next one. Cheers boys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReaIistiCOct 9, 2012
This movie is absolutely amazing. The acting is unreal, the fights are so realistic. The storyline is so realistic going from football firms to matchday brawlings. 10/10 for me. Spot on
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
russiangamerMar 28, 2017
Актёры отлично играют, что так и давит на эмоции, саундтрек очень крутой, драки выглядят эпично, что вкупе с хорошей операторской работой создаёт эффект погружения, словно чувствуешь каждый удар. Сюжет прост, но интересен.
Отличное кино!
Актёры отлично играют, что так и давит на эмоции, саундтрек очень крутой, драки выглядят эпично, что вкупе с хорошей операторской работой создаёт эффект погружения, словно чувствуешь каждый удар. Сюжет прост, но интересен.
Отличное кино!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WhySoSaltyMay 3, 2017
Great movie, don't let all the negativity from others on this website dissuade you. Watch it, if you like it then fantastic! If you hate it, well, "go blow some bubbles" ;)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews