Universal Pictures | Release Date: March 12, 2010
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 223 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
128
Mixed:
64
Negative:
31
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 25, 2011
The movie is realistically constructed compared to those war movies that spent millions of dollars with famed stars labeled in it. But problem with "Green Zone" is, they take things too seriously.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
3
MarkMMar 20, 2010
I really wanted to like this film. I'm as liberal as anyone but this was way over the top in my opinion. "Wish fulfillment" is the best diagnosis of what went wrong here--with crappy dialog and overly simplistic, one-dimensional I really wanted to like this film. I'm as liberal as anyone but this was way over the top in my opinion. "Wish fulfillment" is the best diagnosis of what went wrong here--with crappy dialog and overly simplistic, one-dimensional characters (poor Greg Kinnear) it felt like a 12-year-old writing a historical-fiction war story for a creative writing assignment. Normally like Ebert, but he was way, way too kind to this film. Entirely forgettable film meant to cheaply evoke frustration over a national tragedy for commercial gain. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
7
Billc.Mar 13, 2010
It's a little hard to follow if you don't rememebr , or care to remember the Iraq War and the search for WMD. It is part fact & part guesswork plot wise. If you believe George Bush was a good president , than don't see this It's a little hard to follow if you don't rememebr , or care to remember the Iraq War and the search for WMD. It is part fact & part guesswork plot wise. If you believe George Bush was a good president , than don't see this film. Our Iraq war was a mess and history has already shown that whatever happened and why , the whole reason behind the invasion was a hoax. The movie is one persons attempt to explain why we wasted all that time,money, and lives. Dick Chaney would not give this film thumbs up. I thought it was well done. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JoshWMar 14, 2010
This movie is driven purely by politics, complete revisionism covered up with cosmetic truths about the beginning of the war. Again Hollywood insults us with the belief that we care about their political opinions.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GregFMar 13, 2010
It's not surprising that Damon would agree to star in a movie that is just another slice of 'progressive' pie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JasonBMar 13, 2010
Anti-republican propaganda at it's best.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
Paul Greengrass up until around 2001 no one knew whom this Irish up and coming director was that is until he directed the second of the three Bourne films "The Bourne Supremacy"(2004) that became the highest grossing film for the series atPaul Greengrass up until around 2001 no one knew whom this Irish up and coming director was that is until he directed the second of the three Bourne films "The Bourne Supremacy"(2004) that became the highest grossing film for the series at that point. one of Greengrass' most critically acclaimed films following on the heels of his universally acclaimed "Bloody Sunday"(2002). Three years later Greengrass directed one of the last decades most acclaimed and most controversial films "United 93"(2006) based on the true story of the heroism of the passengers and there tragic death when they forced the plane into a nose dive causing it to crash near Shanksville, Pennsylvania. The film was a massive critical success but meet with extreme criticism form audiences alike over its touchy source material. The year after Greengrass and actor Matt Damon re-teamed to star and direct the third(and possibly final installment) of the hugely successful Bourne series with the "Bourne Ultimatum"(2007) which proved to be the highest grossing and biggest critically acclaimed hit of the series bringing a crashing final close to the saga of Jason Bourne. For nearly three years Greengrass was working on a new project that while may lack the enthusiasm of his early works is no less thought provoking or thrilling as his earlier works. This film is one of his best and a film that not only gives you the views of why we go to war but if the reasons we do go to war are really for the right reasons. When I first heard of Paul Greengrass' "Green Zone" back in late 2009 I can say that I was extremely excited to see Greengrass and Damon back together again making a big action picture again I could almost picture how this film would have played out in my head(no thanks to my limitless imagination). I saw Damon playing a solider fighting against another Government conspiracy involving some sort of political assassination or cover up that he exposed. I was eager with anticipation however, when I found out the release date of this film my anticipation dwindled. It dwindled not because I found out the film might not be as good as it appears but it dwindled because I would have to wait three months into 2010 to see one of my most anticipated films of 2010. After nearly two months of waiting I finally was able to see Paul Greengrass' "Green Zoneâ Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
rocketpackpandaAug 7, 2013
What happened to the smart intelligent adaptation of Imperial Life in the Emerald City, which we were promised? Not here I can tell you that. Instead of a critical examination of the role of civilian leadership in the reconstruction ofWhat happened to the smart intelligent adaptation of Imperial Life in the Emerald City, which we were promised? Not here I can tell you that. Instead of a critical examination of the role of civilian leadership in the reconstruction of Baghdad, we get a rah-rah-rah, there is no WMD in Iraq and we've all been duped! No look at Matt Damon act passionate and champion a cause after it is already mainstream. This isn't analysis of the political leanings of the film or cast, rather this is an outline of the plot structure. Formulaic and so overtly black and white that it is cringe worthy. Their is no moral grey, the bad guys are simply bad guys and the good guys have no moral flaw, beyond "they're too just!". The characters are so cookie cutter that you can't root for the good guys and the bad guys are so generic that you don't care if they get away with it or are killed. The resolution of the film is empty, because it so blatantly puts an oversimplified message ahead of a good story and characterization. That is the biggest problem in the film, by taking a political non-fiction book and turning it into a fictional military 'thriller' that is heavy handed in its message it loses all meaning and turns you away from caring. Where a subtle hand was needed, we got a megaphone wielding wacko screaming from the roofs. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
SeriosityDec 18, 2012
Green Zone is essentially what you find in the Bourne films with an underwhelming and heavy-handed script. The action and direction is solid, but political agenda is misplaced.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
IsaacV.Jun 22, 2010
Just didn't really enjoy it. not deep enough and the action is pretty sensless. Very little good things to say about this film.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
5
JoeSMar 15, 2010
This Matt Damon's worst movie ever for me I think when people go to see it they may be disapointed, I was, I went in there thinking it was going to be a whole different genre and had come out of it thinking that's not what I was This Matt Damon's worst movie ever for me I think when people go to see it they may be disapointed, I was, I went in there thinking it was going to be a whole different genre and had come out of it thinking that's not what I was expecting at all . Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JamesF.Mar 12, 2010
Silly hyper liberal BS. Newsflash folks, we won.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
EddieMar 13, 2010
Complete distortions of the facts!! Hopefully this movie will bomb!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
KenPMar 20, 2010
This is Matt Damon's movie! He owns it! Even though we all know there will be no WMD's, and the movie has a tragic ending for the future of Iraq and reminds us how George Bush's private lie-of-a-war cost 4000 American lives, This is Matt Damon's movie! He owns it! Even though we all know there will be no WMD's, and the movie has a tragic ending for the future of Iraq and reminds us how George Bush's private lie-of-a-war cost 4000 American lives, Matt's acting and the movie's good directing keep us involved and hopeful for a better outcome for truth. This is a documentary with plenty of added action. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnPMar 16, 2010
Great movie. lol@ James F. We did not win, we have not won, we cannot win if we continue to lie and mislead. Why should the truth be considered liberal, unless of course anything spoken by a conservative is lies, lies and more lies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NazguleroNov 22, 2012
That was one good movie. It kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Matt Damon is one heck of an actor. By the way, does anybody know what happened to all the WMD ? Even if nobody seems to care anymore, I would like to know where they are...
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
0
MendaxJul 19, 2011
I've long believed that the more incompetent the Director, the more likely he/she will cut a film into untold billions of cuts. Loved the first Bourne movie. Nos. 2 & 3? No. And no-er. Do you really need 6 or 7 different 1 second shotsI've long believed that the more incompetent the Director, the more likely he/she will cut a film into untold billions of cuts. Loved the first Bourne movie. Nos. 2 & 3? No. And no-er. Do you really need 6 or 7 different 1 second shots showing a suitcase being put into a locker, or of someone entering a cab? Green Zone? Worthless. Irrespective of Ideology, a film should be viewable, watchable. Paul Greengrass, by this metric, is a complete hack. And this is the last movie of his I will ever see. Methinks Porn is his calling. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Not a war movie, no. But an elegant, perfectly paced thriller? Yes. Paul Greengrass has accomplished something here that he couldn't with the Bourne films, because the audience can believe everything he's telling them.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ChadSMar 16, 2010
Stephen Glass, the reporter who fabricated articles for The New Republic, never killed anybody with his lies. He can be forgiven. "Hack Heaven" didn't result in wounded flesh and shattered bone. In "The Green Zone", Amy Ryan portrays a Stephen Glass, the reporter who fabricated articles for The New Republic, never killed anybody with his lies. He can be forgiven. "Hack Heaven" didn't result in wounded flesh and shattered bone. In "The Green Zone", Amy Ryan portrays a Wall Street Journal reporter named Lawrie Dayne, who is obviously a stand-in for the New York Times journalist who sold the WMD story to the public. Disappointingly, the film goes easy on her, since Lawrie is depicted as a victim, a burned writer, misled by her fellow countrymen. Clark Poundstone(Greg Kinnear), a Pentagon Special Intelligence agent, gives Lawrie the run-around on the airport tarmac when she requests a meeting with Magellan, Clark's informer. Thereafter, the naif scribe notices Warrant Officer Roy Miller(Matt Damon) talking to a senior CIA officer, and subsequently, in her hotel room, she admits to filing a story based on hearsay. While the character of Roy Miller functions like Oliver Stone's take on New Orleans D.A. Jim Garrison in "J.F.K.", our anger towards Lawrie is tempered, because the filmmaker cushions the blow of her war propaganda by giving this opportunistic journalist, SOME scruples. Across her visage, there's a look of humiliation while she relays her shaky reporting methods to the dumbfounded soldier. Lawrie was the government's tool, but she believed her story; believed in Clark. He betrayed her trust. Although "The Green Zone" is a superior action film with camerawork that can only be described as virtuoistic(perhaps, genius), the story should be told through the reporter's eyes; a reporter who is the anti-Woodward, the anti-Bernstein. "The Green Zone" may be a conspiracy movie, but the filmmaker doesn't go far enough. It's too fair, too balanced, since in all probability, the real-life Lawrie Dayne was "The President's Woman". If moviegoerswants to see Matt Damon kick ass, they can watch any of the three Jason Bourne movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RogerJMar 19, 2010
evaluated as entertainment with some bonus for being grounded loosely in real events, it succeeds and is consistently engaging. Taking a large story and creating a central character as a hero is nothing new.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanaMMar 20, 2010
Revisionist history but great action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BradVMar 20, 2010
Was quite enjoying it till i had to leave because my wife got nauseous from the camera work!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevonCMar 12, 2010
Green Zone is another Matt Damon/Paul Greengrass camera-shaking actioner. Although this one lacks originality, it still gets the job done. It is exciting, pulse-pounding, and great popcorn fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnNMar 13, 2010
Worst Iraq/Afghan movie, ever! Not realistic in the least. Boring and slow. I actually walked out of the movie, because the identity of "Magellan" was to obvious....and, the scenes are just not anywhere close to authentic. Really, troops Worst Iraq/Afghan movie, ever! Not realistic in the least. Boring and slow. I actually walked out of the movie, because the identity of "Magellan" was to obvious....and, the scenes are just not anywhere close to authentic. Really, troops riding around with no doors on the vehicles? Bikinis and beer? Really?!? Not a shread of research was done to make this movie reflect the actual conditions in Iraq. Zilch. I was angry, and sleepy---so, I left. Don't waste your money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LukeTheDukeMar 19, 2010
All in all a good film. Effects a little on the cheap side, you get the feeling your on a sound stage, not in a Baghdad alley way. But, still a good film, demonstrating the arrogance of the DC power structure, and a film that will make all All in all a good film. Effects a little on the cheap side, you get the feeling your on a sound stage, not in a Baghdad alley way. But, still a good film, demonstrating the arrogance of the DC power structure, and a film that will make all but the staunchest hawk wonder WTF we are doing in Iraq. Damon was charmingly good, the rest of the cast competent. An engaging two hours of film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SPMar 21, 2010
Boring movie. Wish I hadn't gone to see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyCMar 22, 2010
A thrilling film that should serve as a reminder to all of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
tjhMar 30, 2010
This movie was better than I'd heard it would be. It's not as good as the Bourne film by Greengrass or United 93, but worth seeing in the theater. I think it's best for viewers to just let the story be a thriller set during This movie was better than I'd heard it would be. It's not as good as the Bourne film by Greengrass or United 93, but worth seeing in the theater. I think it's best for viewers to just let the story be a thriller set during the initial stages of the Iraq War--don't nitpick it for being fully accurate historically. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobC.Mar 12, 2010
Moves along very well, the 'idealistic message' is nicely balanced with 'real politics', believable, makes its point while not lecturing. Plus: guns, explosions, martial technology, and large Hollywood names willing to Moves along very well, the 'idealistic message' is nicely balanced with 'real politics', believable, makes its point while not lecturing. Plus: guns, explosions, martial technology, and large Hollywood names willing to risk reflection concerning 'how this mess all came about'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.R.HMar 12, 2010
Gotta give it a ten because it's political. Some critics compare it unfavorably to Hurt Locker for that reason Hurt Locker let us know that there is still room for the Good Cowboy -- out there in the wilds of Iraq -- inscrutable, deep, Gotta give it a ten because it's political. Some critics compare it unfavorably to Hurt Locker for that reason Hurt Locker let us know that there is still room for the Good Cowboy -- out there in the wilds of Iraq -- inscrutable, deep, superior competence with things that hurt and kill, solitary like Shane and Hondo, misunderstood by lesser men, killer of faceless, bad by definition, Natives, moved to affection, compassion and honor by young boys, seems in some deep way to know why the Wild West and the Desert Sands are ours. If we have a man like that there, how can it be Bad? So clearly, Hurt Locker was not political. Green Zone's politics are its MacGuffin. That we were lied to is unfortunately old news, but the action is fast, the lines are not bad -- Damon's a very good soldier. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful