User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 418 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 418

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RickA.
    Apr 10, 2007
    3
    I find it hard to give a rating to Grindhouse because of the two very different movies that make up the double bill. First the fake trailers, they were all funny. The standout to me was Thanksgiving, a laugh out loud riot. Next comes Planet Terror. A gore filled campy zombie flick that is as fun and light hearted as can be. Enjoy the ride because this one is fun. Finally Tarantino comes I find it hard to give a rating to Grindhouse because of the two very different movies that make up the double bill. First the fake trailers, they were all funny. The standout to me was Thanksgiving, a laugh out loud riot. Next comes Planet Terror. A gore filled campy zombie flick that is as fun and light hearted as can be. Enjoy the ride because this one is fun. Finally Tarantino comes along and kills the whole expierence. I can't really explain how bad I thought Deathproof was. I absolutely hated the movie. The long drawn out dialogue about nothing. The complete bad ass Kurt Russell turned into a comical whiny loser. The camp of the whole thing ruined by the seriousness of Deathproof. Complete and utterly bad movie. Tarantino's way overrated by critics. Expand
  2. JohnN.
    Apr 8, 2007
    5
    I give it a 5 for the fun I had in Planet Terror, but Death Proof was like watching paint dry. The dialogue was painfully boring, and I LOVE QT films. I see many reviews here saying how "groundbreaking" this film was. Come on, guys. Seriously? Really, really pointless. And I love how some people say: "You low IQ people just don't get the sheer brilliance of Death Proof." Brilliance? I give it a 5 for the fun I had in Planet Terror, but Death Proof was like watching paint dry. The dialogue was painfully boring, and I LOVE QT films. I see many reviews here saying how "groundbreaking" this film was. Come on, guys. Seriously? Really, really pointless. And I love how some people say: "You low IQ people just don't get the sheer brilliance of Death Proof." Brilliance? Wow. I guess I saw a different movie. Because Death Proof was better than a sleeping pill. The girls dialogue seens were like 20 minutes at a time of NOTHING. If Planet Terror was not attached to my rating, Death Proof would get a 2. Expand
  3. KenG.
    May 17, 2007
    4
    There seems to be a lot of disagreement among the critics and others as to who made the better movie, Rodriguez or Tarantino, but the fact is, neither one did a good job. Rodriguez got so carried away with the idea of making a "bad" movie, that he actually wound up with a bad movie, rather than a clever, funny imitation of that type of "bad" movie. His movie is a mess, and the fact that There seems to be a lot of disagreement among the critics and others as to who made the better movie, Rodriguez or Tarantino, but the fact is, neither one did a good job. Rodriguez got so carried away with the idea of making a "bad" movie, that he actually wound up with a bad movie, rather than a clever, funny imitation of that type of "bad" movie. His movie is a mess, and the fact that it was an intentional mess, is not enough to make it work. On the other hand Tarantino really didn't seem that interested in this project. He seemed much more interested in doing his version of a chick flick, with all the non-stop gab (much of it uninteresting, no matter how much the critics drool over it) that seems to go on forever. The action just seems to be tacked on to fullfill his obligation to the project. Between the 2, I'd say Rodriguez did the better job, simply because he was more into the spirit of the project. But the only thing in the movie that was done well, well the previews. I also wasn't impressed with the intentionally shabby feel of the films, for 2 reasons. One is that I gotta think it's not hard to capture that feel. The other reason is that much of the charm of the old shabbily done films they are copying is that those films weren't done shabbily on purpose. By being shabby on purpose they are cutting the charm out of it. They are trying to capture an effect that you really can't, at least not intentionally. Expand
  4. NilsK.
    Sep 23, 2007
    5
    Well in order to enjoy this movie you'll have to belong to a very limited group of people. I read the reviews about this movie, witch described it as a superb movie. Well let's just say I was VERY disappointed after watching this movie. The movie has no story line whatsoever, basicly you see a group of people talking about random things and experiencing random ( uninteresting ) Well in order to enjoy this movie you'll have to belong to a very limited group of people. I read the reviews about this movie, witch described it as a superb movie. Well let's just say I was VERY disappointed after watching this movie. The movie has no story line whatsoever, basicly you see a group of people talking about random things and experiencing random ( uninteresting ) things, and then they get killed. Then you see another group of people again talking about random things and again experiencing random things, the psycho tries to kill them too but fails, and then gets chased by these girls in an over the top ridiculously stupid catchphrase. Thats it. The whole story in 3 seconds. There's nothing more to it, the whole movie is made out of 1:15 hours of random chitchat and 15 minutes of ridiculously over the top action. I advise you to not even give this a rent. The masterly director that Quentin is ( or at least was ) shows nowhere and I mean nowhere in this movie. I expect the only reason why this movie gets such good reviews is because it was directed by Tarantino and we wouldn't dare to diss him would we now, nah this movie sucks donkey dick. Expand
  5. LR.
    Sep 24, 2007
    1
    I was going to tell you how i feel about this movie but joey summed it up the only thing i can add is you can skip chapters till you see cars driving. if you do this you will enjoy this movie all 15 minutes of it.
  6. JamesO
    Sep 16, 2008
    4
    I saw both of these movies through Netflix on separate occasions. I thought Planet Terror was awesome, but Death Proof was completely awful. Seriously, what's so great about a movie where 75 minutes of the film is dialogue between a bunch of women who talk about absolutely nothing (e.g. their daily lives, their occupations, their boyfriends, etc.)?! I don't get it. Planet I saw both of these movies through Netflix on separate occasions. I thought Planet Terror was awesome, but Death Proof was completely awful. Seriously, what's so great about a movie where 75 minutes of the film is dialogue between a bunch of women who talk about absolutely nothing (e.g. their daily lives, their occupations, their boyfriends, etc.)?! I don't get it. Planet Terror, on the other hand, was radical in every respect and didn't try and pretend to be something it wasn't: that is, a balls to the wall zombie/action movie. Tarantino is a highly regarded director by both critics and the public, but with this one he just fails miserably. I'd give Planet Terror an 8 and Death Proof a 0. So, using the power of averages, the overall score for Grindhouse comes out to a 4. Expand
  7. DouglasB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    1
    Death Proof is simply terrible, to top it of, you folks in America got it as part of a double feature called "Grindhouse" here in Australia we got it as a separate film entirely, which is probably why it seems even worse. I can't believe it, so much useless dialog, no back story, no story in general, just 2 action sequences that are separated by 14 months and a long prelude of dialog Death Proof is simply terrible, to top it of, you folks in America got it as part of a double feature called "Grindhouse" here in Australia we got it as a separate film entirely, which is probably why it seems even worse. I can't believe it, so much useless dialog, no back story, no story in general, just 2 action sequences that are separated by 14 months and a long prelude of dialog before each one, between 2 separate groups of women. When the ending suddenly came, i felt robbed of my time and money. I'm even more pissed with the trailer for the movie, the way it was edited, it made the film look like a full throttle action movie. I can't believe this is the work of the same guy who made Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill Vol. 1 & Vol. 2. movie structure: Part 1: Group of girls - lots of useless talking Random action moment Part 2 14 months later New group of girls - lots of talking (even more than the first time round) Random action sequence no back story, no story in general. terrible, you've been warned, screw what the critics are saying. Expand
  8. RippedOff
    Oct 1, 2007
    1
    I am growing tired of Tarantino's self indulgent attempts to recapture the magic of Pulp Fiction...with clever dialogue between edgy buddies! I have time to watch one movie a week...and just wasted it on this crap!!!!
  9. Eldon
    Oct 2, 2007
    2
    I give it a 2 for the first 10 minutes alone. And, as as been finely noted, what the hell happened to the rest of the movie?! Sheesh! And I have to say that in the end, it IS NOT worth it. I don't want to feel that way, but I did and do. And how can you, when choosing to cast Zoe Bell, give her all that dialogue?? My god she sucked the life right out of all the dialogue. I guess that I give it a 2 for the first 10 minutes alone. And, as as been finely noted, what the hell happened to the rest of the movie?! Sheesh! And I have to say that in the end, it IS NOT worth it. I don't want to feel that way, but I did and do. And how can you, when choosing to cast Zoe Bell, give her all that dialogue?? My god she sucked the life right out of all the dialogue. I guess that may have been the "intention" of Tarantino, to have it be bad acting. But next to say, Dawson, she truly stinks up the place and I could just see the veil dropping over and over again until I was out of it all together. That is not doing your job as a director... it doesn't work man, it just doesn't. Lame. Expand
  10. KyleM.
    Apr 12, 2007
    0
    It's easy to see why this movie flopped. Aside from Critics who were desperate to seem "hip" and "with it", there was hardly anyone in American that wanted to be submerged in this cesspool of a movie for 3+ hours.
  11. TerryR.
    Apr 6, 2007
    3
    Really tedious. The first one: Ok, we get it..old movies had scratches in the film and drop-outs. Not sure what he was trying to accomplish..folks dressed like people in 70's movies, driving old cars, sending messages on their PDA's (?). Some shots borrowed directly from old films, other stuff shot very contemporary...should have picked a style and stuck with it.Tarantino needs Really tedious. The first one: Ok, we get it..old movies had scratches in the film and drop-outs. Not sure what he was trying to accomplish..folks dressed like people in 70's movies, driving old cars, sending messages on their PDA's (?). Some shots borrowed directly from old films, other stuff shot very contemporary...should have picked a style and stuck with it.Tarantino needs to quit sticking that mutant mug of his in front of the camera..the guy is not an actor. First one went on WAY too long. Second movie...did anyone really buy Kurt Russell as a menacing old stuntman? A few moments, but about 1.5 hours in I started checking my watch and saw quite a few folks give up and walk out. Meatheads will give it a good review because they think that this shows they have an appreciation of what the two hack directors were trying to do. Don't believe the hype...spend your time watching actual old grindhouse movies. Expand
  12. DenizY.
    Apr 7, 2007
    5
    The first one was pretty good, but the second one had about an hours worth of Tarantino that was SOOOO BORING. I love Pulp Fiction, but the second movie, Death Proof, had horrible dialogue to the point where I was just spacing out in the drive-in and me and my friends were just talking on and on. It reminded me of Sex in the City, and then later on in the second movie they had a pretty The first one was pretty good, but the second one had about an hours worth of Tarantino that was SOOOO BORING. I love Pulp Fiction, but the second movie, Death Proof, had horrible dialogue to the point where I was just spacing out in the drive-in and me and my friends were just talking on and on. It reminded me of Sex in the City, and then later on in the second movie they had a pretty sweet car scene that was cool for about 2 minutes but then they just kept recycling the same idea over and over again Do yourself a favor and wait till it's out on DVD or sneak into a drive-in and only pay for 1/3 of the people in your car Tarantino, this is my biggest disappointment with your work since Kill Bill 2. Expand
  13. SpiroDolemite
    Apr 7, 2007
    2
    Absolutely terrible and a waste of time! My girlfriend and I walked out about 30 minutes in. Some of the most disgusting things I have ever seen in my life. I certainly don't understand why people were laughing and clapping at what looked to me like graphic images of boils and genital lesions. We asked for refunds and both saw Firehouse Dog which a much better movie and was much more Absolutely terrible and a waste of time! My girlfriend and I walked out about 30 minutes in. Some of the most disgusting things I have ever seen in my life. I certainly don't understand why people were laughing and clapping at what looked to me like graphic images of boils and genital lesions. We asked for refunds and both saw Firehouse Dog which a much better movie and was much more entertaining Expand
  14. DaveA.
    Apr 7, 2007
    2
    Just because something is supposed to be a parody, and is aware of its intentional kitchiness, that doesn't make it any better than what it's attempting to lampoon. Rodriquez proves himself a hack once again. His piece of this was totally boring and stupid but, then again, so was From Dusk 'till Dawn. Tarantino is a much better film maker but "Death Proof" suffered from a Just because something is supposed to be a parody, and is aware of its intentional kitchiness, that doesn't make it any better than what it's attempting to lampoon. Rodriquez proves himself a hack once again. His piece of this was totally boring and stupid but, then again, so was From Dusk 'till Dawn. Tarantino is a much better film maker but "Death Proof" suffered from a totally implausible, ridiculous and stupid ending (again, I'm aware that it's parody but still . . . ) and too much self conscious dialogue which is becoming a bad trait of Tatantino's films. It could have been much, much, better than what it was with a little more effort and skill. Expand
  15. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    I bought Grindhouse, and I thanked myself for it. Grindhouse is a true 80's exploitation film, both packing humor and gore in a 4 hour package. PLANET TERROR: 8/10- There is no doubt that Rodriguez's kick ass film Planet Terror is awesome. Rose McGowan is awesome, her acting is a blend of terror and mischief, while other A listers, which include- Josh Brolin, Bruce Willis and TarantinoI bought Grindhouse, and I thanked myself for it. Grindhouse is a true 80's exploitation film, both packing humor and gore in a 4 hour package. PLANET TERROR: 8/10- There is no doubt that Rodriguez's kick ass film Planet Terror is awesome. Rose McGowan is awesome, her acting is a blend of terror and mischief, while other A listers, which include- Josh Brolin, Bruce Willis and Tarantino himself are pretty good as well. Planet Terror is a 2 hour film- which is pretty long for something that is like a SNL sketch, the comic timing was funny and the gore was over the top. Seems like Rodriguez watched a lot of B movies lately. Undoubtedly, Planet Terror is a slow but a crazy, fun, over the top and sexy ride that can be enjoyed by a lot of action junkies. DEATH PROOF: 6/10- The second entry is by Quentin Tarantino. Surprised? Well, I sure was when I heard Death Proof was included in the package. But Death Proof is not the type of movie that looks like it has been made by Tarantino. I mean, that guy made Pulp Fiction! A grand tour de force of filmmaking! What happened here?!! Kurt Russell CAN ACT. And in Death Proof, his acting is top notch, and so is Zoe Bell and Rosario Dawson. But the dialogue- well, I kinda hate myself to say this but, it's very long and boring. I love Tarantino's dialogues- they make the movie even better. But here it's a different case. Car chases are pretty impressive and the songs are good too. But the cheap writing and story don't help and add misery to your experience. Overall, Death Proof is a one time watch by any means and not a great entry in Grindhouse. Well, Grindhouse is very fun and cheesy. This most fun you will have at the movies. Oh, and the fake trailers are super funny. :) Expand
  16. Sep 29, 2011
    5
    So far I have seen only "Planet Terror" for this movie, but its just bloody and gruesome. What is the point of remaking a 80's exploitation film? I definitely gave up watching "Death Proof" after the end of the film. I just can't.
  17. GaborA.
    Apr 8, 2007
    4
    Both the movies are tediously long. If you just shave 30 minutes off each you get a nice 2 hour and 20 or so minute sitting which is fine. The difference between the two features specifically is that if you cut 30 minutes of pretentious dialogue and set up out of Death Proof you get an enjoyable hour film. If you cut 30 minutes out of Planet Terror you merely carry it over to bearable Both the movies are tediously long. If you just shave 30 minutes off each you get a nice 2 hour and 20 or so minute sitting which is fine. The difference between the two features specifically is that if you cut 30 minutes of pretentious dialogue and set up out of Death Proof you get an enjoyable hour film. If you cut 30 minutes out of Planet Terror you merely carry it over to bearable from unbearable territory. Expand
  18. f308gt
    Aug 26, 2008
    5
    The best bits = Rose McGowan and especially the soundtrack of Planet Terror. The worst bits = Tracie Thoms and the fact she lived (unforgivable) Planet Terror. Rose McGowan and especially the soundtrack were the best bits of a sexy, witty and enjoyable film. The timing of the dodgy movie craft missing reels etc. was spot on
  19. ZackS.
    Oct 20, 2007
    0
    Awful. Tarantino, already the most self indulgent, ego stroking filmmaker, takes it up a notch. It consists of girls talking for the entire movie with two action scenes. If only he were clever, or talented, or produce anything worth watching. Easily the most overrated talent of his generation proves again that critics don't know what they are talking about.
  20. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Brilliant. That's all I can say about this beautiful collage of gore, guns, and girls. Grindhouse is a brutally violent double feature that plays like one of the old school double feature exploitation films. The first half, Planet Terror is an old school zombie movie. Directed, written, edited, and (surprise) composed by Robert Rodriguez, it's a definite recommendation. In between theBrilliant. That's all I can say about this beautiful collage of gore, guns, and girls. Grindhouse is a brutally violent double feature that plays like one of the old school double feature exploitation films. The first half, Planet Terror is an old school zombie movie. Directed, written, edited, and (surprise) composed by Robert Rodriguez, it's a definite recommendation. In between the first and second half are fake trailers (two of which, Machete and Hobo with a Shotgun, have been turned into real movies which I saw and loved.). After that segment and a few other things (I think one of them is Let's All Go To The Lobby), we dive into Tarantino's segment, Death Proof. Death Proof is a joyride, in true Tarantino style, and it's basically a slasher movie...with cars. Yes, it's as awesome as it sounds. Anyway, I'm running out of room so, WATCH THIS **** MOVIE! Expand
  21. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    oh my god... it is so crazy and funny and gory and all at the same time, keeping cool and witty. Tarentino and Rodrigez... bravo jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
  22. THATMOVIEGUY
    Apr 10, 2007
    9
    I liked Rodriguez' film more than Tarintino's at first. But a few hours later I feel like I under appreciated Death Proof, just becuz it didn't continue the "campyness" of Planet Terror, but it is a really cool and different kind of Tarintino film. The most innovative film to come to major theatres in probably over a year. 9/10
  23. AmericaF.
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    One of the most unique, groundbreaking, disturbing, and ultimately unforgettable films of the year. It is offensive, unpredictable and unbelievably entertaining. I loved it.
  24. Dirk
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    The whole exercise is so filled with fun and schlocky homage, which in my opinion never wears out its welcome. Personally I found "Planet Terror" more satisfactorily fun and depraved. Meanwhile, Tarantino's dialogue in "Death Proof" is mostly tedious, but once the car chase truly commences, the juxtaposition with what came before (including "Planet Terror") is a wonder to behold. The whole exercise is so filled with fun and schlocky homage, which in my opinion never wears out its welcome. Personally I found "Planet Terror" more satisfactorily fun and depraved. Meanwhile, Tarantino's dialogue in "Death Proof" is mostly tedious, but once the car chase truly commences, the juxtaposition with what came before (including "Planet Terror") is a wonder to behold. Don't go in with too many expectations--just EXPERIENCE it, preferably with the most raucous, boozy crowd you can, and you'll have a great time. Expand
  25. KennethP.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    By the end of Death Proof, the copacity audience I witnessed this with raised a rather large applaud, and rightfully so at 2:30am on the Friday opening night. See this like many midnight movies were meant to be seen... drunk, stoned, and with all your best guy friends. [ed m.d.: I think I will!]
  26. RossB.
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    Honestly, lots of talk about how the Planet Terror section is much more buoyant or lively, but when we consider both this fact (both a positive and a negative at points in my opinion) and the context of the movie itself, it's much easier to see why people have taken to planet terror more quickly than death proof. In my personal opinion, both movies could have been cut by a solid 10 Honestly, lots of talk about how the Planet Terror section is much more buoyant or lively, but when we consider both this fact (both a positive and a negative at points in my opinion) and the context of the movie itself, it's much easier to see why people have taken to planet terror more quickly than death proof. In my personal opinion, both movies could have been cut by a solid 10 minutes, but in all of it's excess (and my excess of wanting more excess) it was easier to see the slow parts of Planet Terror as slow parts as opposed to what i saw as slow tension builders in Death Proof. Yes, Rose McGowan and Freddy Rodriguez fill their tropes wonderfully, but there are many strident and complex pathos that Kurt Russell just aches onto the screen in the form of a madman that is more entertaining than every character in Planet Terror combined (save of course Cherry's Leg's). If you're lookin at this like schlock, by all means exhalt Planet Terror, but if you saw this as purely gimmick (though nonetheless one that takes a perceptive look at our modern simoultaneous infatuation and denegration of popular culture) and were actually watching for a movie (which doesn't necessarilly prescribe itself to the paradigm of movies, but still has a cohesive narrative and structure) then Death Proof is your best bet. I'm guessing that the second viewing will enlighten people to Death Proof a little bit more, as the dialogue does drag at certain points on first viewing, but in all honesty everything for this movie is pure maniacal, sexual, fierce, and violent fun that is for the sake of fun. Hence, any complaints that one may have with either segment can really be ignored in the face of such giddy (and giddilly inspired) filmmaking by one master and one wannabee that can really make a zombie head explode well on camera. Expand
  27. AlanS.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Loved the double feature!!!
  28. MorganG.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Overall, it's a fantastically brilliant film. I'd say Death Proof was rubbish, but it really wasn't. It was okay. It just seems rubbish right after watching the brilliance of Planet Terror. If they'd have put Deaht Proof first, then Planet Terror, it would have been loads better. It's still the best film ever made though.
  29. BobC.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    The most fun I've had at the movies in years.
  30. HeyWould'Ja
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    I love exploitation films, so I was expecting this one to be right up my alley, and boy did it deliver. The fake trailers were worth the price of admission alone, and both of the features were filled with cheesy goodness. "Planet Terror" is a classic B-movie zombie flick, with blood splattered over almost every frame. Sometimes movies try to be campy and fail, but Rodriguez managed to I love exploitation films, so I was expecting this one to be right up my alley, and boy did it deliver. The fake trailers were worth the price of admission alone, and both of the features were filled with cheesy goodness. "Planet Terror" is a classic B-movie zombie flick, with blood splattered over almost every frame. Sometimes movies try to be campy and fail, but Rodriguez managed to make the most (intentionally) funny horror film since Shaun of the Dead. The cheesy soundtrack and dramatic pauses were especially great. After "Planet Terror" and the trailers, the slow windup for Tarantino's "Death Proof" had me worried that he was taking himself too seriously. By the time the final chase sequence started, though, it all came together. Without giving too much away, Kurt Russell's performance near the end of the film was hilarious. In the theater I watched it in, the crowd broke out into applause after the freeze frame ending. I'm sure Grindhouse won't be showing up on many "10 Best" lists at the end of the year, but it's by far the most entertaining film I've seen so far this year. Expand
  31. LelandM.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    Best movie experience I have ever had in a theater... pure entertainment...
  32. ChrisG.
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    This was extremely fun to see at a theatre. the only thing that keeps me from giving it a 10 is that "death proof" stays a little too long in the time between the initial setup and the climax. there's a lot of good dialogue in this part, but just a little bit too much casual conversation without anything happening. however, "death proof" has such an awesome beginning and end that theThis was extremely fun to see at a theatre. the only thing that keeps me from giving it a 10 is that "death proof" stays a little too long in the time between the initial setup and the climax. there's a lot of good dialogue in this part, but just a little bit too much casual conversation without anything happening. however, "death proof" has such an awesome beginning and end that the slow middle is made up for. "planet terror" never is as good as "death proof"s best moments, but is also never has a dull moment and will keep you entertained from beginning to end. overall this is something that has to be seen in a theatre. im not sure if it will work as good on dvd, but i thought that about "kill bill", and it grew on me with every watch, so i may be wrong. Expand
  33. KevinR.
    Apr 8, 2007
    6
    An interesting take on the terrible B movies of the past, but it unfortunately comes of as less satire and more as a concerted effort that just failed. None of the stories seen all that interesting, other than the trailers (especially Eli Roth's Thanksgiving and Rob Zombies Werewolf Women of the S.S.)
  34. DavidA.
    Apr 8, 2007
    7
    The first half and all the trailers are great. The second half drags on way too long and really doesn't have much of a payout.
  35. JonD.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    Planet Terror = GREAT Trailers = HILLARIOUS Death Proof = Boring and absolutely NO story but worth it just for the ending, the extended DVD version should be better. Definately go see this, its 2 movies for the price of one, and its all worth it for the previews by themselves.
  36. KobeeH.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Genius in it's exectuion is the only way I can begin to describe Grindhouse. This is pure "I don't give a f**k, I love these kind of movies so I'm making it"directing. Robert Rodriguez nails it with Planet Terror. This is complete love of those old sex-filled, over the top viloence pictures of the past. You laugh so many times cuz there's so many chessy or just Genius in it's exectuion is the only way I can begin to describe Grindhouse. This is pure "I don't give a f**k, I love these kind of movies so I'm making it"directing. Robert Rodriguez nails it with Planet Terror. This is complete love of those old sex-filled, over the top viloence pictures of the past. You laugh so many times cuz there's so many chessy or just rediculous moments. But you accept it because it's not meant to be taken seriously and it's OK. Plus, with all the dirt and grit on the film reel. The pops of audio. It seems like the film is hanging on by a thread in the projector, even though it's just an illusion, which makes it even more awesome. Now Quentin Tarantino's Death Proof is catching so much s**t for being slower and without the instant gratification that sooooo many moviegoers NEED. You HAVE to give credit for the brilliant dialogue(especially for the females). It's engaging and interesting simply because it's exactly how girls talk when they're together. Plus Zoe Bell just kicks ass. The visibly FAST car chase scenes are another note. As are the amazing crashes and violence. Everything felt so much more dangerous, menacing and dripping with adrenaline without the CGI enhancements. Plus the ending is right on point. The fake trailers before and inbetween the films are so damn awesome with so many quotable lines. The directors are having a helluva lot of fun and it comes through. Go see Grindhouse for just ALOT of fun and an experience that won't disappoint. Expand
  37. ScottS.
    Apr 9, 2007
    8
    Rodriguez: 5 out of 5. Smart, over the top, thrilling. Planet Terror is the best time at the movies in years, Rose McGowan adds unexpected heart, and the film has something vital to say about the current state of the Hollywood-made feature. As for Tarantino: a generous 2.5 out of five. Sporadically fun, but too self-aware and chatty. Death Proof may attempt to translate grindhouse for a Rodriguez: 5 out of 5. Smart, over the top, thrilling. Planet Terror is the best time at the movies in years, Rose McGowan adds unexpected heart, and the film has something vital to say about the current state of the Hollywood-made feature. As for Tarantino: a generous 2.5 out of five. Sporadically fun, but too self-aware and chatty. Death Proof may attempt to translate grindhouse for a modern audience, but what grindhouse film would feature 45+ minutes of uninterrupted dialogue? The whole Tarantino shtick (gratuitous pop culture references, self-congratulatory "abrasive" dialogue) was overwrought and, at times, boring. Add .5 to the rating for the genius coming attraction trailers and to spot-on graphic design/atmospheric touches that deftly re-created the grindhouse experience. Expand
  38. PG.
    May 2, 2007
    10
    This was the most entertaining 3 hours ever spent in a movie theatre. Finally someone is making movies and having some fun! Freddy R. is awesome in it and he should get more lead roles. Go see it if you enjoy something funny and bad-azz.
  39. OlegM.
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    It's the enjoyable experience despite of poorly thoutht out intermissions. But the project was so much fun for the organizers, they couldn't - I guess - contain themselves. Overall, surely worth the money and time... Enjoy.
  40. GabeG.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    This is by far the greatest movie experience imaginable. If you didn't have a chance to view it in theatres at least watch it on dvd with the lights low and try to mimic the theatre experience, this is the only way to even coming close to getting the experience that those who watched in theatres got. I warn you to brace yourself for the greatest cinematic adventure fathomable.
  41. Danny
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Deathproof flipped my mind i absolutely loved it, a great, for the most part understated flick apart from the couple of 'grindhouse' moments. Planet Terror on the other hand was such a snooze. and friends disagree with me but there was nothing inspiring about it at all, Tarantinos was sweaty, slow and poetic where Rodriguez was all done before in some other way, tongue-in-cheek Deathproof flipped my mind i absolutely loved it, a great, for the most part understated flick apart from the couple of 'grindhouse' moments. Planet Terror on the other hand was such a snooze. and friends disagree with me but there was nothing inspiring about it at all, Tarantinos was sweaty, slow and poetic where Rodriguez was all done before in some other way, tongue-in-cheek zombie rubbish with jokes that go nowhere at all and sets that look hastily fabricated. Tarantino's started off terribly actually with the girls in the car but reveals itself as this wonderful twisted stoner piece of art that ends with a cheer! yay loved it! the 10 is for Quentin. Expand
  42. Travis
    Oct 9, 2007
    7
    Better than I expected but not great Tarantino is master with his soundtracks and provided an entertaining movie.
  43. TroyS.
    Apr 1, 2007
    8
    Death Proof was superb and Planet Terror was okay. Death Proof went beyond expectations and delivered a masterpiece while Planet Terror was nothing too special.
  44. EdM.
    Apr 14, 2007
    8
    Fun movies from two mediocre directors. Rodrigues is probably the worst director since Ed Wood cross dressed into the ether. But since there are no expectations of a good movie, Planet Terror was fun. The Tarrantino segment sufered from both of his sins: endless nattering and no development until the unit took over. Then it goes KABOOM and takes life. A fun three (yes, three) hours of fun.
  45. MarkB.
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Pastiche movies--films in which the makers attempt to communicate the themes of a past director or genre by trying to perfectly reproduce the style--aren't easy to do. Steven Soderbergh proved that last year with The Good German, a smug, contempt-oozing repay of 1940s and 50s films noir that not only got many obvious details completely wrong but committed the unforgivable sin of Pastiche movies--films in which the makers attempt to communicate the themes of a past director or genre by trying to perfectly reproduce the style--aren't easy to do. Steven Soderbergh proved that last year with The Good German, a smug, contempt-oozing repay of 1940s and 50s films noir that not only got many obvious details completely wrong but committed the unforgivable sin of reconstructing the finale of Casablanca for the purpose of sneering at it...and in doing so he made one of the absolute worst movies of this decade. However, this technique also brought us two of the decade's best and most thoroughly enjoyable films: Larry Blamire's incredibly endearing, note-perfect salute to/ parody of rock-bottom 1950s sci-fi horror, The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra, and Todd Haynes's passionately felt Far From Heaven, a brilliantly evoked variation on Douglas Sirk's Universal-International weepers that got me to watch Written on the Wind and imitation of Life all over again, even though I was never a big fan of either (and still am not). Well, Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino have brought us the decade's third total success of this type (or is it 3rd and 4th?) Perfectly rechanneling their formative moviegoing experiences in grindhouse theaters (decrepit moviehouses specializing in action/ horror/ exploitation double features in the 1960s and 70s), the two Miramax/ Dimension bad boys evoke a real sense of nostalgia for a moviegoing era I was fortunate enough to catch the tail end of; they actually make me miss theaters in which a few of the patrons didn't exactly make it all the way to the men's room! Rodriguez's Planet Terror recreates a low-grade zombie-attack flick while Tarantino's Death Proof fuses Russ Meyer's female-revenge saga Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill! with 1974's nonstop car crasher Gone in 60 Seconds (which, as Tarantino helpfully reminds us, is NOT to be confused with the abysmal Jerry Bruckheimer-produced remake). The ongoing debate has been whose movie works better: Rodriguez's or Tarantino's? The answer is "Yep". Rodriguez loves these movies both in spite of and because of their flaws; Tarantino just plain loves them. Rodriguez's fil is a wildly over the top, luridly gore-geysering horror opus (featuring an unforgettable Rose McGowan as a go-go dancer who leads our side in the battle against the mutant undead) whose crayon-drawn characterizations, limited sets, hilariously incomprehensible "scientific explanations" and even more hilariously prodigal use of raspberry syrup are as lovingly rendered as the scratches, hisses and pops that indicate that this flick has been shipped all over the country for far too long and is suffering serious battle fatigue. (The fact that Planet Terror looks a whole lot worse than Death Proof underscores an accurate observation about grindhouse double bills: Tarantino's is the newer film and the program's star attraction, while Rodriguez's is the shopworn oldie trotted into second-feature action for the umpeenth time. The dated "topical" reference in Rodriguez's film underscores this.) Those who have complained that Death Proof, the tale of psychotic Stuntman Mike (Kurt Russell, in arguably his best form ever) and his comeuppance at the hands and gas pedal feet of a group of stuntwomen he underestimated starts out far too talky miss the point on three counts: 1.) Tarantino loves dialogue as much as Joseph L. Manckiewicz and Billy Wilder, and typically provides us with reams of it; 2.) the films he's mirroring killed time before and between action sequences with tons of it too, only not one-twentieth as inspired; and 3.) this is a revenge film, and Tarantino gets us to truly love the first four funny, free-spirited chicks before...he gets us to accept and encourage any and all means taken against their tormentor. Death Proof will also be remembered for the coolest bar and grill ever put on film, and for the onscreen, starmaking debut of Zoe Bell, who was Uma Thurman's stuntwoman in the Kill Bill movies. What a shame that by definition that role didn't allow Bell to show her face onscreen, because here she shows astonishing screen presence and a killer smile. To make the grindhouse moviegoing experience complete (almost interactive, in fact) both "features" share a few of the same actors, at least one common character, a costume prop and the same cinematic in-joke (a missing reel that contains precisely the last scene that most audiences WANT to be missing) and are backed up with four brilliant trailers for fictional coming attractions. (Yes, I said four. Not three, four. Eli Roth's contribution, Thanksgiving, is already notorious for one of its visuals, but it stems from Roth's accurate observation that slasher movies are mostly inherently misogynistic. Don't attack the messenger.) UNLIKE many of the poorly-paced C-movies Grindhouse so adoringly salutes, there's not a dull or flat moment to be found anywhere. If 1962's Lawrence of Arabia's parching desert visuals caused moviegoers to break records in soda consumption, then Grindhouse may well have the opposite effect on concession sales, causing a downtick in drink purchases if viewers are smart. Simply put, in three hours-plus of running time, Rodriguez, Tarantino and friends don't provide you with a single, viable bathroom break! Expand
  46. JonathanF.
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    Hilarious. Crazy exciting. One of the best movie-going experiences I've had in years.
  47. ShawnC.
    Apr 6, 2007
    6
    Death Proof is almost good enough to make it worth sitting through the overlong, quite tedious Planet Terror. Kurt Russell is really quite good in Death Proof, and the story, if simple, is still captivating. Nothing in Planet Terror comes close.
  48. PaulK.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    I enjoyed Planet Terror, but Deathproof definitely ruled the school. The fake trailers were kinda weak in comparison. Go see this smokin' double feature, right now!!
  49. TylerG.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    YES! THIS MOVIE FREAKIN ROCKS! I would say Death Proof was better, but I don't want to take anything away from Rodriguezs Planet Terror, because both of these movies are top of the line, GO SEE IT
  50. LeonardoD.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    I take it as people ( Terry R.) who are against innovative ideas, and progressive choices within films, would not like this film. Some people would love to stay within the three act structure box, and stay mindless drones. Of course YOU don't get it. You can tell that you have a vendetta against RR, and QT. Maybe because their innovativeness goes right over your head. If meatheads I take it as people ( Terry R.) who are against innovative ideas, and progressive choices within films, would not like this film. Some people would love to stay within the three act structure box, and stay mindless drones. Of course YOU don't get it. You can tell that you have a vendetta against RR, and QT. Maybe because their innovativeness goes right over your head. If meatheads are the only ones that would enjoy this film than maybe they have it right and you don't. Learn to understand that movies don't have to be the same crap, and the reason that people like RR, QT is because they are different. The people with a low IQs and no imagination will never enjoy this film. Expand
  51. GioRJ
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    Outrageous, over-the-top fun. This is what going to the movies is all about. Rose McGowan is smoking hot as a zombie killing, one legged stripper with a machine gun for a prosthetic. Kurt Russell also shines as a stunt man who can only get off when he rams his "Death Proof" stunt car into cars filled with sexy women.
  52. MichaelB.
    Apr 7, 2007
    8
    I really wanted to love this move, but I ended up just liking it. "Planet Terror" has all the right ingredients: violence, sex, zombies, violence, corrupt military guys, explosions, violence... It is definitely the stronger of the two movies. "Death Proof" on the other hand, was a bit of a disappointment. There was just way too much tedious, irrelevant dialog (even for a Tarantino movie). I really wanted to love this move, but I ended up just liking it. "Planet Terror" has all the right ingredients: violence, sex, zombies, violence, corrupt military guys, explosions, violence... It is definitely the stronger of the two movies. "Death Proof" on the other hand, was a bit of a disappointment. There was just way too much tedious, irrelevant dialog (even for a Tarantino movie). QT tries to focus your attention on certain things (what were Jungle Julia's text messages all about?), and then never follows through to any logical conclusion. His new schtick seems to be introducing the audience to inane characters that you don't really care about and are almost glad when they are killed off (see "Hostel"). You can easily skip the first 30 to 45 minutes of "Death Proof" and not miss anything important. As a whole, "Grindhouse" is definitely worth seeing, but I would make it a renter so you can skip through the boring parts. Expand
  53. EricS.
    Nov 20, 2007
    3
    I'm not gonna lie, I was super-pumped to see this movie. I thought it was going to be amazingly fun as the PR had me believe. Christ, was I wrong. PLANET TERROR was the first half, the better half, and essentially consisted of B-movie zombie gore and occasional biting (no pun intended) humor. Ok, not bad, nice job Rodriguez. The pseudo-trailers were entertaining, and wonderfully I'm not gonna lie, I was super-pumped to see this movie. I thought it was going to be amazingly fun as the PR had me believe. Christ, was I wrong. PLANET TERROR was the first half, the better half, and essentially consisted of B-movie zombie gore and occasional biting (no pun intended) humor. Ok, not bad, nice job Rodriguez. The pseudo-trailers were entertaining, and wonderfully over-the-top. At this point I should have left--had I, I would have walked out nodding my head thinking that Grindhouse was actually decent. Unfortunately that wasn't that case. DEATH PROOF was garbage. Complete and utter garbage. What happened Tarantino? PULP FICTION (among others) was phenomenal! And now nonsense about girls driving around angrily spewing pointless and inane dialogue chasing after Kurt Russell? Honesly My level of respect for Quentin just dropped a good dozen notches. My advice to anyone intent on watching Grindhouse: enjoy the first (enjoyable/disgusting) half, stay for the previews, skip the second half. PLANET TERROR: 6. DEATH PROOF: 0. Don't blow your time on this--toss it in the junk heap and go watch Reservoir Dogs. Collapse
  54. [Anonymous]
    Apr 15, 2007
    0
    Politically correct garbage.
  55. BradR
    Oct 21, 2007
    3
    Death Proof was Awful. The only saving grace was the action scenes of which there were two, Kurt Russell lines were genius. The second half of the movie is what killed it. The movie goes on forever with a group of girls talking about nothing interesting the whole time I was waiting for kurt russel to kill all of them. Tracie Thomas' character was extremely annoying. It was a blatant Death Proof was Awful. The only saving grace was the action scenes of which there were two, Kurt Russell lines were genius. The second half of the movie is what killed it. The movie goes on forever with a group of girls talking about nothing interesting the whole time I was waiting for kurt russel to kill all of them. Tracie Thomas' character was extremely annoying. It was a blatant attempt to recreate a female version samuel jackson from pulp fiction, and it failed horribly. Expand
  56. Robert
    Apr 14, 2007
    8
    Great fun. The audience clapped loudly at the end of each movie. Rodriguez's is high energy over-the-top parody from beginning to end, and very funny. Tarantino cheats in his version and doesn't go for exploitive sleaze or parody... he just does what interests him. The first half slows down the pace considerably and the characters are not as interesting as Tarantino seems to Great fun. The audience clapped loudly at the end of each movie. Rodriguez's is high energy over-the-top parody from beginning to end, and very funny. Tarantino cheats in his version and doesn't go for exploitive sleaze or parody... he just does what interests him. The first half slows down the pace considerably and the characters are not as interesting as Tarantino seems to think, nor is self-parody Kurt Russell. The second half of Death Proof is better with a better cast and a great car chase/ homage. The fake trailers are hilarious. Expand
  57. ChrisK
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Unbelievably fun. Very, very, very worth the 3+ hours and price of admission. I never wanted it to end.
  58. AllanB.
    Apr 7, 2007
    8
    Outrageous fun! Death Proof would be much better if the chicks would just shutup and drive.
  59. MarquesH.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    I'm a fan of both directors! i like both equally for 2 reasons, pure fun and excitement. QT simply did what he is known for: Crazy Dialogue and unexpected endings. Only A quality actors are able to perform in such films as genius as Death Proof. Rodriquez is imaginitive, innovative, and versatile director. From Hostel to Spy Kids geez he has director chops. Go see this movie for fun I'm a fan of both directors! i like both equally for 2 reasons, pure fun and excitement. QT simply did what he is known for: Crazy Dialogue and unexpected endings. Only A quality actors are able to perform in such films as genius as Death Proof. Rodriquez is imaginitive, innovative, and versatile director. From Hostel to Spy Kids geez he has director chops. Go see this movie for fun and entertainment. There is nothing profound or discovitory. It is pure fun, enjoyment and you will laugh your tail off. QT in my opinion has not had a bad movie yet, not even mediocre. Give him his credit and chill. Expand
  60. KeithL.
    Apr 7, 2007
    7
    "Planet Terror" was sheer schlocky genius. RR totally gets it and used the film damage effects at perfect points in his story to compliment story lines. The trailers had me laughing so hard it hurt. I loved seeing the bumpers for previews and feature presentation. Took me back to my youth. "Death Proof" however takes the momentum and crushes it. QT is such an ego-maniac that he refuses to "Planet Terror" was sheer schlocky genius. RR totally gets it and used the film damage effects at perfect points in his story to compliment story lines. The trailers had me laughing so hard it hurt. I loved seeing the bumpers for previews and feature presentation. Took me back to my youth. "Death Proof" however takes the momentum and crushes it. QT is such an ego-maniac that he refuses to cut long dialog scenes that do not serve the story at all. He also uses all of his "film damage" effects in the first reel of "Death Proof" and then settles into modern techniques of photographing and directing. Check the diner scene in which the camera circles the 4 women and dialog is delivered in 1 take. 70's style? Hell no. The payoff of "Death Proof" almost makes up for the dull, drawn meandering babble that QT seems to proud of to CUT. This one is an underachiever. I truly believe a real Grindhouse version of this would have had Kurt Russell running down many more pretty young girls versus gab and babble. Expand
  61. OliverC.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Although Death Proof starts a bit slow, by the time it's done, it's clear who is the better director. Both movies are awesome, but planet terror is a bit too ridiculous while death proof has a good 45 minutes of pure joy. Can't say i'm such a big fan of the trailers, but "the Machete" was the best.
  62. HaloedB.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Rodriguez wins for sticking to the form. The plot of Planet Terror is simultaneously ridiculous and thought provoking. Death proof cheats on the form and the dialouge scenes are spirals to nowhere. Somewhat like duel, the dialogue is just a set up for a car chase and kick ass revenge plot. Ultimately both films suceed in being bad, good, an homage, and transcendent of the source material. Rodriguez wins for sticking to the form. The plot of Planet Terror is simultaneously ridiculous and thought provoking. Death proof cheats on the form and the dialouge scenes are spirals to nowhere. Somewhat like duel, the dialogue is just a set up for a car chase and kick ass revenge plot. Ultimately both films suceed in being bad, good, an homage, and transcendent of the source material. Great fun! Expand
  63. HaileyR.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    If you don't have the mental capacity to watch a film without constant exploding brains and topless females, do yourself a favor and leave the theater before Death Proof. If you've progressed past the first grade, you're in for a hell of a ride.
  64. MarcD.
    Apr 8, 2007
    6
    Planet Terror is excellent - Freddy Rodriquez and Rose McGowan are perfect in their roles, and it's just a hell of a lot of fun. Death Proof is flat out boring. It brought nothing at all to the table except a really fun car chase, but in a vacuum - which Death Proof is, a car chase doesn't cut it. So go see Planet Terror, check out the previews that follow, then hit the exits.
  65. KenK.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    When you all saw Grindhouse being advertised in the theaters, on television and across the
  66. GeorgeF.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    This movie is perfect at being what it is supposed to be.
  67. MichaelE.
    Apr 8, 2007
    5
    Exploitation movies are often stupid and bad, and I can forgive that in a recreation of this sort - but exploitation movies are usually boring too, and that I can't forgive. Planet Terror begins with Rose McGowan go-go dancing. It's sexy. I turned to my buddy and said: "Bet it's all downhill from here." It was. Planet Terror is spectacularly dull, filled with fake frenetic Exploitation movies are often stupid and bad, and I can forgive that in a recreation of this sort - but exploitation movies are usually boring too, and that I can't forgive. Planet Terror begins with Rose McGowan go-go dancing. It's sexy. I turned to my buddy and said: "Bet it's all downhill from here." It was. Planet Terror is spectacularly dull, filled with fake frenetic action worthy of one of the Star Wars prequels. There's nothing much to latch onto. It's about as exciting as watching really violent paint dry. Death Proof is a little bit better, but not great. While the already infamous boggy dialogue scenes definitely hurt the movie (one such scene would have been nice, but not nothing but)), the real problem is the pointlessness of those scenes: nothing revealed about the characters ends up mattering, (except "She's a stuntwoman," I guess). There's no real plot either, just talk talk talk, then action - like a Godzilla movie. That said, the car chase is awesome. But it belongs in a better movie. It would have been nice to have a real ending, too, but since there was no plot how could there be an ending? The trailers are the best part. I would much rather have seen "Machete" than Planet Terror. It's kind of sad to think that Rob Zombie and Eli Roth, both of whom make Rodriguez look like Brian De Palma and Tarantino like Hitchcock, provide some of the best material here. They, I think, understood that this was supposed to be a joke. I saw The Queen in the very same theatre. It was far more exciting. Expand
  68. Anthony
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    Two good movies, one Great experience. Not their best films, but damn was it fun.
  69. EricN.
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    Let me break this score in half, 5 out of 5 for Rodriguez, and 3 out of 5 for Quentin. Planet Terror was a blast and the trailers by Roth, Zombie, and Wright were hilarious but what was with all the boring, tedious, nonsense filled dialogue in Quentin's Death Proof. I've loved every Quentin movie to date but this movie could've been done in a half hour if they just cut the Let me break this score in half, 5 out of 5 for Rodriguez, and 3 out of 5 for Quentin. Planet Terror was a blast and the trailers by Roth, Zombie, and Wright were hilarious but what was with all the boring, tedious, nonsense filled dialogue in Quentin's Death Proof. I've loved every Quentin movie to date but this movie could've been done in a half hour if they just cut the boring crap. It's almost like he ran out of ideas and needed some filler before kicking the audiences asses with a brilliant ending. He would have had a 5/5 if it wasn't for making me snooze for about 30 minutes of the movie...per dialogue scene. All in all, great movie on both their behalfs but Rodriguez takes the medal on this outing. Expand
  70. KennyM.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Let me start by simply saying this: Robert Rodriguez - 1; Quentin Tarantino - 0. "Planet Terror" may very well be the funniest film ever made. It is campy, gory, and ridiculous in the best possible way. Rodriguez has outdone himself, and surprisingly, outdone Tarantino, and has taken another big step towards becoming a great filmaker after his masterful "Sin City." Thank you, Robert Let me start by simply saying this: Robert Rodriguez - 1; Quentin Tarantino - 0. "Planet Terror" may very well be the funniest film ever made. It is campy, gory, and ridiculous in the best possible way. Rodriguez has outdone himself, and surprisingly, outdone Tarantino, and has taken another big step towards becoming a great filmaker after his masterful "Sin City." Thank you, Robert Rodriguez, for realizing that after a sexy go-go dancer gets her leg eaten off by zombies she can always attach a rocket launcher to her stump, and thanks for reminding us movies can be fun. (Note: how did she pull the trigger?) "Death Proof" is good - don't get me wrong - but just not as good as "Planet Terror." Quentin...who apparently is human (he makes mistakes!!?!?!?) takes his time, boring us with what seems to be hours of pointless, incessant chatter, trying desperately to make us care about characters with, seemingly, no personalities. Luckily Kurt Russell (badass - no one could have played this part better) saves this mess when he kills all the horrible characters Quentin was trying to introduce. Then it finally gets good. The next group of girls are great, the car chase is fantastic, and [spoiler deleted]. But Quentin spends too much time acting like he can entrance an audience who just watched "Planet Terror" with a bunch of boring dialogue just becuase he's "The Man" to outdo Rodriguez. My favorite part of the entire experience, though, were the fake trailers. "Machete" was great. Cheech: "God has mercy. I don't." That killed me. So the bottom line is.....both of these films are fantastic and this was the most fun i've had at the movies in a long time. Expand
  71. JustinC.
    Apr 8, 2007
    7
    More like Robert Rodriguez 1 Tarantino 0.
  72. MichaelV.
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    It actually had a standing ovation in my hometown theatre. Wow!
  73. Cables
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    The most fun i've had at a movie in quite some time. The movie prievews in between were hilarious.
  74. MattW.
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    This movie is fabulous. Its filled with horror and comedy. One second you're deeply involved in the B-movie type drama unfolding in front of you eyes, the next you're rolling in you chair laughing because of the missing real, unrealistic gore, of absolutely hilarious sequence of consequences. The only flaws are 1) The movie is a little of 3 hours long. Note, although you will This movie is fabulous. Its filled with horror and comedy. One second you're deeply involved in the B-movie type drama unfolding in front of you eyes, the next you're rolling in you chair laughing because of the missing real, unrealistic gore, of absolutely hilarious sequence of consequences. The only flaws are 1) The movie is a little of 3 hours long. Note, although you will miss some hilarious fake previews, use the small intermission between movies to use the bathroom (but you shoiuld be fine if you went ahead). 2) Death Proof can get really long with dialogue. I usually love Tarantino's rants of dialogue (pulp fiction is classic), but here the dialogue did little to give incite to the characters. If its on purpose, he could have taken about 20 minutes out of worthless diaglogue, if purposeful, he's a genuis because he's mocking campy movies when nothing happens. As bad as this may be at times, its worth the awesome chase scene. 3) "Machete" will probably not be made into a real movie (unless they do Grindhouse 2). Expand
  75. DarrenL.
    May 11, 2007
    10
    Just an outstanding movie experience. All of the fake trailers were very good, except for Rob Zombie's, which just wasn't up to par. The first film, Planet Terror is funny and entertaining, but Death Proof is just plain outstanding.
  76. Tyleru
    May 1, 2007
    3
    planet terror was alright. death proof sucked though
  77. BrianS.
    May 13, 2007
    10
    My wife and I both loved this movie! To try to review this movie would be stupid. It' s just pure non-sensical fun, a throwback to when people did stunts and footage of one explosion was used multiple times to save money. Not like today where everything is computer animated. Go see it without expectations and an open mind - you'll like it alot.
  78. BillW.
    May 6, 2007
    6
    Planet Terror was 20 minutes too long. Death Proof was about an hour too long. Granted, I watched it during a matinee, so there were only 5 others when the movie started, but I was the only one left when it was over. Planet Terror is a sometimes funny zombie gore-fest, but you can only be entertained by that for so long before it starts to get dull. Death Proof just drags and drags. Planet Terror was 20 minutes too long. Death Proof was about an hour too long. Granted, I watched it during a matinee, so there were only 5 others when the movie started, but I was the only one left when it was over. Planet Terror is a sometimes funny zombie gore-fest, but you can only be entertained by that for so long before it starts to get dull. Death Proof just drags and drags. Tarantino trys to get by with his great dialogue again, but it's just not there this time and the first hour of the movie is just puttering along trying to set up but the big car chase scene at the end. No car chase is worth sitting through an hour of absolutely nothing happening. Expand
  79. PatrickC.
    May 7, 2007
    3
    The best thing about Grindhouse is the fake trailers, which are farely cool. Planet Terror is the better of the two but still a poor version of Dawn of the Dead. Death Proof is just bad. The whole movie feels rushed and over done. Quentin Tarantino has finally missed the mark. A mark which he has hit several times with Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown and my personal favorite, Reservoir Dogs. The best thing about Grindhouse is the fake trailers, which are farely cool. Planet Terror is the better of the two but still a poor version of Dawn of the Dead. Death Proof is just bad. The whole movie feels rushed and over done. Quentin Tarantino has finally missed the mark. A mark which he has hit several times with Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown and my personal favorite, Reservoir Dogs. Please don't waste your time and money and go see this movie in theaters. All this movie deserves is space thirteen on your Netflix Quota. Expand
  80. JoelM.
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This movie is so much fun to watch, it's gory, it's hilarious, it's plotless, it's brilliant. This is totally a guy's movie, the guy flick of the year, SO much better than 300. I thought the zombie movie was good but Death Proof is awesome, Tarantino's film is hilarious. Really a collective effort that is just a lot of fun to watch. Walk in with an open mind, This movie is so much fun to watch, it's gory, it's hilarious, it's plotless, it's brilliant. This is totally a guy's movie, the guy flick of the year, SO much better than 300. I thought the zombie movie was good but Death Proof is awesome, Tarantino's film is hilarious. Really a collective effort that is just a lot of fun to watch. Walk in with an open mind, and you will love it. Expand
  81. JoelC.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    Wow once again, Tarantino and ... Rodriguez? did it. I hope they work together in the future. No need to rate this movie, I just hope it gets the positive criticism it deserves. Kick asphalt movie. Just see it and, relax (two movies in one) grab a snack, and enjoy some "original" b-movie movies.
  82. Phill
    Jun 23, 2007
    8
    I really enjoyed the none-stop thrilling action of the first, the wonderful previews through both, and the super awesome car scene second. Sure, not for the faint of heart; but a great movie none-the-less.
  83. RossC.
    Sep 20, 2007
    1
    Most overrated piece of crap movie I have ever seen. The dialog is terrible, the characters are annoying, and this is not a Grindhouse horror flick.
  84. JoeyD.
    Sep 20, 2007
    1
    Rented Deathproof. Starts off with some cool 70's stylishness, but then slowly...slowly...ever so slowly turns into a complete bore. This is by far the most dull movies I've ever seen. If you rent this, save yourself some time by just fast forwarding through the tedious dialog. You won't miss a thing. Just get to the action scenes. All in all, there's only about 15 Rented Deathproof. Starts off with some cool 70's stylishness, but then slowly...slowly...ever so slowly turns into a complete bore. This is by far the most dull movies I've ever seen. If you rent this, save yourself some time by just fast forwarding through the tedious dialog. You won't miss a thing. Just get to the action scenes. All in all, there's only about 15 minutes of action and entertainment in the entire film. Expand
  85. ShawnF.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    Best movie ever made ever its got gore, muscle cars and hot chicks like i said best movie ever made ever.
  86. NathanielD.
    Sep 24, 2007
    3
    I also rented Deathproof and high hopes - but the first disappoint was that post-theater consumers were going to have to rent both movies individually. I knew going into it that the pacing was going to be very slow, but I thought it would all be worth it in the end. It wasn't. If you're someone who's convinced you're going to like this no matter what and just know I also rented Deathproof and high hopes - but the first disappoint was that post-theater consumers were going to have to rent both movies individually. I knew going into it that the pacing was going to be very slow, but I thought it would all be worth it in the end. It wasn't. If you're someone who's convinced you're going to like this no matter what and just know it's going to be a 'masterpiece' in cinema, you'll probably like it. But for those who are on the fence or unsure, prepare for a bore. I didn't think the action scenes in Death Proof were disturbing at all, and the whole film is mostly a girl-power thrill ride, complete with what must be over an hour of high-school slumber party dialogue. I also feel that Tarantino completely missed the mark in getting the film to have that classic cheesy feel and pay proper tribute. It looked more like they tried to make what was supposed to be a bad movie good, and the results didn't satisfy. Hopefully Planet Terror will be more fun. Expand
  87. TylerDrainville
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Pretty enjoyable movie. Not amazing, but it was very entertaining. Props to Quinten for the final scene being kick-ass. Literally.
  88. SamK.
    Sep 27, 2007
    1
    I agree with what Joey said. The movie was a complete waste of money, and I only rented it. For all the hype about Tarantino's 70's-esque direction and arty-stylish production, the dialogue is painfully boring, the plot non-sensical and the end result the destruction of two perfectly good Mopar muscle cars. And all for what? Is it trendy to watch a Tarantino movie?? Absolutely. I agree with what Joey said. The movie was a complete waste of money, and I only rented it. For all the hype about Tarantino's 70's-esque direction and arty-stylish production, the dialogue is painfully boring, the plot non-sensical and the end result the destruction of two perfectly good Mopar muscle cars. And all for what? Is it trendy to watch a Tarantino movie?? Absolutely. Will this movie have a cult following because it's a Tarantino movie? For sure. Was it any good? No, it sucked huge balls. Kill Bill and Jackie Brown were way better if you're looking for a girl-power movie, which this tried to be. I think Tarantino's been smoking too many banana leaves... Expand
  89. fsafasfafdgdfgfger3
    Mar 23, 2008
    4
    This double feature was overall pretty poor. The best parts, with out doubt, were the trailers. I loved 'Machete' and everything about that two minute clip was gold. "Planet Terror" took a little while to heat up and for the first half I was seriously contemplating leaving as I was that bored. However after a sex scene stops abruptly due to 'lost footage', the movie This double feature was overall pretty poor. The best parts, with out doubt, were the trailers. I loved 'Machete' and everything about that two minute clip was gold. "Planet Terror" took a little while to heat up and for the first half I was seriously contemplating leaving as I was that bored. However after a sex scene stops abruptly due to 'lost footage', the movie becomes an entertaining and over the top gory horror comedy. Even the terribly cliche characters and intentionally bad dialogue works well in both mimicking the zombie - genre films and in achieving laughs from the audience. The film carries Robert Rodriguez's trade mark of over the top gore, wacky and comedic violence and pretty outrageous and funny characters. Quentin Tarantino's 'Death Proof' starts mundane and ends pretty much the same way. A poor attempt of trying to mimick the the slasher / thriller genre. Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction were clearly Tarantino's pinnacle in script writing, as they were packed with cleverly well written dialogue. Jackie Brown was a bit long winded and Kill Bill Vol.1 and 2 were pretty much a waste of time, with some fun action but poor and unlikeable characters and useless and drawn-out banter. Death Proof marks Tarantino's fall as a great script writer. More or less the movie focuses on two seperate groups of 4 girls girls. The first four girls hang around a bar and just talk endlessly about scoring weed, their boyfriends, lapdances and their opinion of the movie's antagonist , Mike the Stuntsman, who is hanging around the bar. The dialogue is completely unintelligent and pointless and the characters poorly developed. The second half focuses on a completely unrelated group of girls and their attempts of trying to convince a man in allowing them to test - ride his car. Overall there's maybe around 10 minutes worth of action in Death Proof and it's atrociously bad, mainly involving the antagonist purposely crashing his car into victims or knock them off the road. It takes absolutely no inspiration from similiar and much better movies, such as Spielberg's 'Dual'. This is without doubt the most boring thriller / slasher movie ever made and overall 'Death Proof' truly deserves its total score of 0 (the score of 4 was given to Planet Terror only, while Death Proof doesn't deserve anything). Both movies were also plagued by Tarantino's presence, as he played semi - leads. In Terror Planet he played a zombie with a lot of dialogue, but his voice is far too soft and feminine to play this badass, touchy and aggresive character. In Death Proof he played a bar owner and clearly demonstrated his poor acting ability. Overall Rodriguez's Planet Terror get's 4 / 5, as it was a bit slow to begin with but overall was more satisfying and fun than most zombie movies preceding it. Death Proof gets 0 as it was one of the worst movies I've seen in years, a thriller that doesn't even fulfill the basic criteria of it's genre - lots of action and not too much discussion. Even then the level of dialogue would have been fine if it was interesting, but it wasn't, instead maintaining a continuous monotonous boring drawl. Expand
  90. John
    Jul 28, 2008
    1
    Trailers were great. I was really excited to see this. But it was just not good. I loved Pulp Fiction. But people talking in cars for 90 minutes. Why wasn't I warned? The king has no clothes metacritics. You are usually reliable. Put this with Titanic and Independence Day as movies that were just bad, but no one wants to look uncool so they say they are edgy. I love edgy, this was Trailers were great. I was really excited to see this. But it was just not good. I loved Pulp Fiction. But people talking in cars for 90 minutes. Why wasn't I warned? The king has no clothes metacritics. You are usually reliable. Put this with Titanic and Independence Day as movies that were just bad, but no one wants to look uncool so they say they are edgy. I love edgy, this was just a snooze. Made for TV at best. Expand
  91. johnf
    Jul 3, 2008
    10
    I don't think what people realize is that these movies are supposed to be bad reliving the old days of an actual grindhouse movie. Planet Terror was one of the greatest zombie movies I've ever seen and the car chase's and buildup to Death Proof was phenomenal. It might've been 3 and a half hours long but I could watch this over and over again. Every trailer had the I don't think what people realize is that these movies are supposed to be bad reliving the old days of an actual grindhouse movie. Planet Terror was one of the greatest zombie movies I've ever seen and the car chase's and buildup to Death Proof was phenomenal. It might've been 3 and a half hours long but I could watch this over and over again. Every trailer had the theatre laughing with the most frightened looks on their faces, (watch Don't and Thanksgiving and you'll see why). The point of the movies are the mindless violence and exploitation so if people are saying that the movie was bad because of this then it had succeeded because thats what it was looking for. I was on the edge of my seat the entire night either scared as all hell or laughing as hard as I can. Expand
  92. JosephD.
    Nov 10, 2007
    5
    the characters arent as strong ,compared to his pryor movies, with the exception exception of the dark skinned girl in the second part,she was great. kurt russell was decent.
  93. MelissaW.
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    Death Proof was such a surprise treat. Tarantino had some fantastic dialogue and amazing action. The car chase was amazing -- kudos to Zoe Bell -- she is incredible.
  94. NotbrainwashedB.
    Oct 28, 2007
    0
    To anyone not brainwashed by the pr around these two egomaniacal directors who surround themselves only with sycophants who won't tell them their this is garbage: we all know that these two "films" are worthless. Saying, "that's the point!" is no excuse. From the standpoint of fundamental storytelling, these films are garbage. The dialogue and directing/cinematography take a To anyone not brainwashed by the pr around these two egomaniacal directors who surround themselves only with sycophants who won't tell them their this is garbage: we all know that these two "films" are worthless. Saying, "that's the point!" is no excuse. From the standpoint of fundamental storytelling, these films are garbage. The dialogue and directing/cinematography take a creators' SELF-INDULGENCE to sinful, shameful levels. Shame on Tarantino and Rodriguez and all who sweat them while blinded to their masturbatory film-making. It's like these two tools who never got a girl until their careers took off are behind their cameras saying, "YEAH, LOOK HOW COOL THIS SHOT IS!!!" Who wants to watch reams of footage of some homely chicks (no, being on camera does not automatically make you attractive) babbling about inane topics? Tarantino's dialogue scenes are not "slices of real life," they are self-indulgent tangents that bore and drag and do not advance a story at all. They do not make us know or like the characters at all. Having a full conversation while hanging out a speeding car windshield? And PLANET TERROR? What kind of lowbrow gore toilet-bowl flick was that? Just think about it: a machine gun for a leg. Any 12 yr old boy can hatch an idea like that. Not every 12 yr old boy has agents and an enabling system of jockers. The fact these flicks made relatively no money shows at least the masses weren't too fooled. Quentin's produced Nathan since Pulp (which he cowrote) and Rodriguez should stick to kid flicks as he's never made a tight joint in his life. Sin City? Please. Incoherent drivel. Try King of New York or Warriors or French Connection or Pan's Labyrinth if you want to see a movie, just off the cuff. Toss these, Kill Bill, Jackie Brown, and Sin City in the boring and incoherent bin. Expand
  95. ChrisS.
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    Totally entertaining - Planet Terror is great zombie fun and Death Proof is an awesome thrill ride - You think you know what's coming, but I bet you'll be surprised and VERY entertained.
  96. V.
    Apr 11, 2007
    9
    People are being way too critical of deathproof I think. Maybe cause they weren't as stoned for it as they were for planet terror. The text message scene was a highlight for me -- pure genius. Tarantino's acting was hilarious too, but not as funny as Roth. "It's on now..time to go Jager!" lool
  97. JoeM.
    Apr 10, 2007
    3
    One point for the fantastic "Thanksgiving" trailer, and two points for Rodriguez's "Planet Terror." Tarentino's "Deathproof" was his worst project to date. The dialogue was his usual, drawn out discussion of trivial things, but instead of enlightening us about the characters, it was simply boring and uneventful. The ending was incredibly anticlimactic and feeble.
  98. JimmusMaximus
    Apr 10, 2007
    3
    So Tarantino and Rodriguez set out to pay homage to bad movies, and made two bad movies. Success! Tarantino, like Kevin Smith, is very over-rated, and could literally crap on film and people would watch it. Not a complete waste of time, since it makes you appreciate good movies more.
  99. KevinN.
    Apr 12, 2007
    4
    I can't quite understand the buzz surrounding this double feature. If you want to see a bad b-movie, why do you need the biggest directors and clearly largest budgets to painstakingly recreate things which already exist? Planet Terror was a typical gross-out gorefest. It features more explosions than I've seen in recent memory. And Rose McGowan is great to look at. But I can't quite understand the buzz surrounding this double feature. If you want to see a bad b-movie, why do you need the biggest directors and clearly largest budgets to painstakingly recreate things which already exist? Planet Terror was a typical gross-out gorefest. It features more explosions than I've seen in recent memory. And Rose McGowan is great to look at. But we've seen this zombie movie 100 times already. As for DeathProof, it drags at first and features a good car chase. Ultimately, however, DeathProof is ONLY a car chase. That the vengeance is enacted by a carload of sexy swomen seems somewhat new, but they are ultimately as barbaric as men could be--It just wasn't satisfying. I also object to the presence of Quentin Tarantino in both films for roles more than just cameos. He looks like a bloated baby and has the screen magnetism of balsa wood. Both of the films use "wink-wink" gimmicks which make the copies seem old: like scratches, burning, mismatched edits and sound at times. But these two very good directors clearly spent much time and effort trying to get effects which I'm glad are largely gone. I did like the trailers;they were short and funny. In my mind Rob Zombie's two previous films are of the same genre as this film but rthey espect their heritage without trying to completely imitate them. If Grindhouse had been truly scary or exciting or provocative or insightful, I would feel differently. Maybe it will stand up to other art pieces in the style of Rene Magritte's famous pipe canvas, "Ceci n'est pas une pipe." Grindhouse is not really a bad, old film; but it sure looks an awful lot like one. Expand
  100. AlyssaB.
    Apr 12, 2007
    9
    This is a power movie for women. A total chick flick but gory.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. If you were keeping score, it would be Quentin Tarantino 1, Robert Rodriguez 0.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    Planet Terror delivers only momentary kicks...while Tarantino's Death Proof is a juicy, delicious treat, its pleasures stem much less from the play with genre conventions than from great dialogue and electric performances.
  3. Reviewed by: Nathan Lee
    100
    This monumentally pointless movie is best summarized by a line from Planet Terror: "At some point in your life, you find a use for every useless talent you have." Rodriguez, Tarantino, and Co. aim for nothing more noble than to freak the funk, and it's about godd--- time. Go wasted, go stoned, go without your parents' permission. In paying homage to an obsolete form of movie culture, Grindhouse delivers a dropkick to ours.