Grindhouse

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 492 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 492

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 17, 2016
    9
    I liked Rodriguez' film more than Tarantino's at first. But a few hours later I feel like I under appreciated Death Proof, just because it didn't continue the "campyness" of Planet Terror, but it is a really cool and different kind of Tarantino film. The most innovative film to come to major theatres in probably over a year. 9/10
  2. Mar 7, 2016
    7
    Death Proof: It may not be Tarantino's finest piece of work - but it is one hell of a ride once it picks up speed. The first act requires patience, but fully prepares you for the brilliant second sequence.
  3. May 16, 2014
    10
    one of the bad ass director Rodriguez and Tarentino Present their films Planet terror and death proof into grind house . so far Robert Rodriguez has done it again made one of the grusesome , thrilling , epic zombie film i have ever seen ". He did it again with Machete and Sin City . Grade A+
  4. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    I bought Grindhouse, and I thanked myself for it. Grindhouse is a true 80's exploitation film, both packing humor and gore in a 4 hour package. PLANET TERROR: 8/10- There is no doubt that Rodriguez's kick ass film Planet Terror is awesome. Rose McGowan is awesome, her acting is a blend of terror and mischief, while other A listers, which include- Josh Brolin, Bruce Willis and TarantinoI bought Grindhouse, and I thanked myself for it. Grindhouse is a true 80's exploitation film, both packing humor and gore in a 4 hour package. PLANET TERROR: 8/10- There is no doubt that Rodriguez's kick ass film Planet Terror is awesome. Rose McGowan is awesome, her acting is a blend of terror and mischief, while other A listers, which include- Josh Brolin, Bruce Willis and Tarantino himself are pretty good as well. Planet Terror is a 2 hour film- which is pretty long for something that is like a SNL sketch, the comic timing was funny and the gore was over the top. Seems like Rodriguez watched a lot of B movies lately. Undoubtedly, Planet Terror is a slow but a crazy, fun, over the top and sexy ride that can be enjoyed by a lot of action junkies. DEATH PROOF: 6/10- The second entry is by Quentin Tarantino. Surprised? Well, I sure was when I heard Death Proof was included in the package. But Death Proof is not the type of movie that looks like it has been made by Tarantino. I mean, that guy made Pulp Fiction! A grand tour de force of filmmaking! What happened here?!! Kurt Russell CAN ACT. And in Death Proof, his acting is top notch, and so is Zoe Bell and Rosario Dawson. But the dialogue- well, I kinda hate myself to say this but, it's very long and boring. I love Tarantino's dialogues- they make the movie even better. But here it's a different case. Car chases are pretty impressive and the songs are good too. But the cheap writing and story don't help and add misery to your experience. Overall, Death Proof is a one time watch by any means and not a great entry in Grindhouse. Well, Grindhouse is very fun and cheesy. This most fun you will have at the movies. Oh, and the fake trailers are super funny. :) Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    Two excellent films shown back to back. The better being Tarantino's 'Death Proof' as he proves Kurt Russell still has the chops. Rodriguez's 'Planet Terror' gives Rose McGowan the starring role she's always deserved.
  6. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    Directed and Written spectaculary, Grindhouse is on all levels one of the best horror films ever not because of its pleasing terror and gorey sickening violence but because of its set-up as an old cinematic horror setting in which movie trailers were provided making the plot so much better.
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    1 great film, 1 pretty good one. Planet Terror is just awesome - an absolute masterclass in B-film making! It simply takes all the things which we love about those movies and throws them all into one cheesy, gore-laden flick. End of. Death Proof is good, but can drag at times with a bit too much dialogue in some scenes and a slightly stretched finale. Kurt Russell plays the charming, yet1 great film, 1 pretty good one. Planet Terror is just awesome - an absolute masterclass in B-film making! It simply takes all the things which we love about those movies and throws them all into one cheesy, gore-laden flick. End of. Death Proof is good, but can drag at times with a bit too much dialogue in some scenes and a slightly stretched finale. Kurt Russell plays the charming, yet dark stuntman, absolutely superbly though and adds some real quality moments to it. Worth buying for Planet Terror alone, but Death Proof makes a nice bonus film. Expand
  8. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    This film proves Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez are in need of a therapist , which one should realize means nothing bad about this exploitation film jewel. Both movie in this feature are worth watching if you like violence and girls.
  9. May 18, 2012
    8
    Death proof is a very well-paced film with some quite amazing action sequences, and has a very satisfying ending of female empowerment. Planet terror on the other hand is just plain bloody, disguisting, and gory fun.
  10. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Brilliant. That's all I can say about this beautiful collage of gore, guns, and girls. Grindhouse is a brutally violent double feature that plays like one of the old school double feature exploitation films. The first half, Planet Terror is an old school zombie movie. Directed, written, edited, and (surprise) composed by Robert Rodriguez, it's a definite recommendation. In between theBrilliant. That's all I can say about this beautiful collage of gore, guns, and girls. Grindhouse is a brutally violent double feature that plays like one of the old school double feature exploitation films. The first half, Planet Terror is an old school zombie movie. Directed, written, edited, and (surprise) composed by Robert Rodriguez, it's a definite recommendation. In between the first and second half are fake trailers (two of which, Machete and Hobo with a Shotgun, have been turned into real movies which I saw and loved.). After that segment and a few other things (I think one of them is Let's All Go To The Lobby), we dive into Tarantino's segment, Death Proof. Death Proof is a joyride, in true Tarantino style, and it's basically a slasher movie...with cars. Yes, it's as awesome as it sounds. Anyway, I'm running out of room so, WATCH THIS **** MOVIE! Expand
  11. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    Review On Grindhouse Planet Terror-

    Rose McGowan Does A Great Job In This Segment, As Well As The Whole Cast... Never A Dull Moment.. Although Once In A While It Seemed Like To Much Gore But That's Ok.. If I Just Had To Score The Planet Terror Segment It Would Be A 10.. But Overall That Is NOT Going To Happen. Review On Grindhouse Death Proof- Almost All The Way Through.. This Movie
    Review On Grindhouse Planet Terror-

    Rose McGowan Does A Great Job In This Segment, As Well As The Whole Cast... Never A Dull Moment.. Although Once In A While It Seemed Like To Much Gore But That's Ok.. If I Just Had To Score The Planet Terror Segment It Would Be A 10.. But Overall That Is NOT Going To Happen.

    Review On Grindhouse Death Proof-
    Almost All The Way Through.. This Movie Seemed Unoriginal And Boring.. There Are Thrills But Not Much.. The Cast Is Ok... The Story Line Seemed To Expanded.... Almost Everything Was Bad About This Segment.. If I Just Had To Score Death Proof It Would Be A 3..
    Expand
  12. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    -Planet Terror: 5/5
    -Death Proof: 4/5
    In the UK, they were released separately, so Im going to review them separately. Planet Terror: one of the bloodiest & most action packed zombie movies ever. Really funny & gory. Full of guns, babes, zombies & gore... what more could you want? Death Proof: A murderer on the roads, the best of the kind since 'Joy Ride'. A fairly tense movie with
    -Planet Terror: 5/5
    -Death Proof: 4/5

    In the UK, they were released separately, so Im going to review them separately. Planet Terror: one of the bloodiest & most action packed zombie movies ever. Really funny & gory. Full of guns, babes, zombies & gore... what more could you want? Death Proof: A murderer on the roads, the best of the kind since 'Joy Ride'. A fairly tense movie with plenty of excitement to keep you on the edge of your seat. Congrats to both Tarantino & Rodriguez, you made my life great again!
    Expand
  13. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    Planet terror was everything i expected it to be which was a cheasy, fun zombie romp, but death proof which i didnt think was terrible was let down by too much boring dialogue between the central female charachters, kurt russell was very good though, and the way the tables are turned near the end almost makes up for all the boring stuff!
  14. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    oh my god... it is so crazy and funny and gory and all at the same time, keeping cool and witty. Tarentino and Rodrigez... bravo jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
  15. Sep 3, 2010
    7
    Death Proof - Quentin Tarantino pays homage to 70's B Movies.
    Great dialogue as you would expect from QT & Kurt Russell is superb as Stuntman Mike. The car chases & stunts are top notch but the whole thing just seems a bit pointless. Oh & Vanessa Ferlito, wow!! Planet Terror - Robert Rodriguez's take on the B-Movie genre.
    Plenty of cheesyness & over the top gore & also very watchable. Some
    Death Proof - Quentin Tarantino pays homage to 70's B Movies.
    Great dialogue as you would expect from QT & Kurt Russell is superb as Stuntman Mike. The car chases & stunts are top notch but the whole thing just seems a bit pointless. Oh & Vanessa Ferlito, wow!! Planet Terror - Robert Rodriguez's take on the B-Movie genre.
    Plenty of cheesyness & over the top gore & also very watchable. Some genuine laugh out loud moments in it.Much better than Death Proof in my opinion.
    Expand
  16. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    Ok I've never seen these movies, but I saw that it says that Grindhouse was directed by Edgar Wright, which isn't true. It was obviously directed by Rodriguez and Tarantino. Fix this Metacritic.
  17. TK
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    Great movies from 2 great directors, Rodriguez and Tarantino have their own, imo cool styles in story. Good actors, and a film thats actually senseless, but still so cool to watch. and the cars in death proof are like dreams of my sleepless nights. Actors are great, too!
  18. johnf
    Jul 3, 2008
    10
    I don't think what people realize is that these movies are supposed to be bad reliving the old days of an actual grindhouse movie. Planet Terror was one of the greatest zombie movies I've ever seen and the car chase's and buildup to Death Proof was phenomenal. It might've been 3 and a half hours long but I could watch this over and over again. Every trailer had the I don't think what people realize is that these movies are supposed to be bad reliving the old days of an actual grindhouse movie. Planet Terror was one of the greatest zombie movies I've ever seen and the car chase's and buildup to Death Proof was phenomenal. It might've been 3 and a half hours long but I could watch this over and over again. Every trailer had the theatre laughing with the most frightened looks on their faces, (watch Don't and Thanksgiving and you'll see why). The point of the movies are the mindless violence and exploitation so if people are saying that the movie was bad because of this then it had succeeded because thats what it was looking for. I was on the edge of my seat the entire night either scared as all hell or laughing as hard as I can. Expand
  19. RandyM.
    Jun 28, 2008
    8
    A fascinating homage to exploitation movies. "Death Proof" was particularly fun to watch.
  20. thedude
    Apr 17, 2008
    9
    Great movie. You can watch it as it was shown in theatres (both movies together, with fake trailers) on Starz On Demand.
  21. MikeC.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    garbage, absolute rubbish. tarintino needs to go back to the drawing board and realise what was good about pulp fiction, jackie brown, resovoir dogs and the like was the fact that they were more than just mindless violence. hes trying to hard to be retro and harking bk to old horror flicks but failing miserably
  22. HelenaI
    Mar 14, 2008
    7
    I can only talk about 'death proof'. Forget the first story and enjoy the second.
  23. SomeGuy
    Dec 26, 2007
    9
    Unlike most Australians, I got to see the full Grindhouse double feature in a special screening. My question is, why didn't the Weinsteins just release the film as it was intended, when it was intended (April 30)? The cinema was packed on the second last day of screening so clearly I'm not the only person who wanted to see this film. Personally, I loved the double feature, I Unlike most Australians, I got to see the full Grindhouse double feature in a special screening. My question is, why didn't the Weinsteins just release the film as it was intended, when it was intended (April 30)? The cinema was packed on the second last day of screening so clearly I'm not the only person who wanted to see this film. Personally, I loved the double feature, I thought it was just pure fun and a great night out. Planet Terror was the best part of the package, a ridiculously fun, over-the-top action film with a decent plot and a wonderfully realised visual style. Cherry was a great character too, I just wanted to reach out and give her a hug. The fake trailers were fantastic, they set the mood perfectly and had me in stitches (though the Werewolf Women one was a bit too random). Death Proof was pretty much a sucky film with a couple of good lines. Sure, it was a tribute to a time period where many films were 3/4 talking and 1/4 action, but the film didn't look degraded like PT (it was mostly shown in perfect picture quality) which killed the feeling of watching a film from the 70s (which was really the only thing that could have saved it). It's like Tarantino half-assed the visual style and half-assed the film (and I am a big Tarantino fan), whereas Rodriguez nailed the visual style while making a tight film that I think could be enjoyed on it's own. I feel sorry for fellow Aussies like Douglas B who only got to see DP on it's own, that must have sucked. It's not so bad when watched as part of the package, but without PT and the fake trailers it just seems like a boring load of nothing. If the Weinsteins wanted to make money back on this film, why did they wait until all the hype had died down, and then release only the worst part of the feature seemingly out of nowhere? Yeah, that'll bring people to the cinema in droves! If they weren't going to release the double feature, they should have at least shown the seperate films (BOTH of them, not just DP) in June or July while everyone was still talking about them and hyped up for them. And I bet Planet Terror would have made way more money than Death Proof, yet it's not scheduled to be be released here at all! Expand
  24. JB
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    Plain out genius.
  25. AlecB.
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    OK first off the 8 points are towards Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror movie because that was the only movie that was entertaining and funny...Death proof just plain out freakn sucked. To long and no voilence untill the very end.. If anything go rent Planet Terror its a fun movie for a saturday night you wont be dissapointed.. but dont rent Death proof b/c youll fall asleep 40 OK first off the 8 points are towards Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror movie because that was the only movie that was entertaining and funny...Death proof just plain out freakn sucked. To long and no voilence untill the very end.. If anything go rent Planet Terror its a fun movie for a saturday night you wont be dissapointed.. but dont rent Death proof b/c youll fall asleep 40 minutes into the movie Expand
  26. GeoffB.
    Nov 15, 2007
    8
    The extended version is worth seeing, with the development and conversatinal payoffs that the theatrical realease lacked.
  27. A.Nonymous
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I've only seen Deathproof, but it pains me to see that so many delusional people never understood Grindhouse. It's a homage to Grindhouse movies, and as such it is shot in that deliberate style. Deathproof may not be the most action-packed, fast-paced race-em-up this side of NASCAR, but it's an enjoyably slow ride. The characters develop, the villain degrades and the I've only seen Deathproof, but it pains me to see that so many delusional people never understood Grindhouse. It's a homage to Grindhouse movies, and as such it is shot in that deliberate style. Deathproof may not be the most action-packed, fast-paced race-em-up this side of NASCAR, but it's an enjoyably slow ride. The characters develop, the villain degrades and the tension builds until it explodes into a car chase. Intensely atmosphere, incredibly brilliant. It's nice to know that atleast some directors like Tarantino and Rodriguez have the balls to swim upwater. Expand
  28. MelissaW.
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    Death Proof was such a surprise treat. Tarantino had some fantastic dialogue and amazing action. The car chase was amazing -- kudos to Zoe Bell -- she is incredible.
  29. AlanS.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Loved the double feature!!!
  30. Danny
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Deathproof flipped my mind i absolutely loved it, a great, for the most part understated flick apart from the couple of 'grindhouse' moments. Planet Terror on the other hand was such a snooze. and friends disagree with me but there was nothing inspiring about it at all, Tarantinos was sweaty, slow and poetic where Rodriguez was all done before in some other way, tongue-in-cheek Deathproof flipped my mind i absolutely loved it, a great, for the most part understated flick apart from the couple of 'grindhouse' moments. Planet Terror on the other hand was such a snooze. and friends disagree with me but there was nothing inspiring about it at all, Tarantinos was sweaty, slow and poetic where Rodriguez was all done before in some other way, tongue-in-cheek zombie rubbish with jokes that go nowhere at all and sets that look hastily fabricated. Tarantino's started off terribly actually with the girls in the car but reveals itself as this wonderful twisted stoner piece of art that ends with a cheer! yay loved it! the 10 is for Quentin. Expand
  31. MorganG.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Overall, it's a fantastically brilliant film. I'd say Death Proof was rubbish, but it really wasn't. It was okay. It just seems rubbish right after watching the brilliance of Planet Terror. If they'd have put Deaht Proof first, then Planet Terror, it would have been loads better. It's still the best film ever made though.
  32. Travis
    Oct 9, 2007
    7
    Better than I expected but not great Tarantino is master with his soundtracks and provided an entertaining movie.
  33. MojoPiN
    Sep 28, 2007
    8
    It's a simple flick, and it's an all around good time. Nothing more to it than that but at the end of the day it's what counts.
  34. TylerDrainville
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Pretty enjoyable movie. Not amazing, but it was very entertaining. Props to Quinten for the final scene being kick-ass. Literally.
  35. NopieT.
    Sep 27, 2007
    9
    Seems like Tarantino really polarizes audiences. I've loved all of Tarantino's previous movies but lots of my friends dislike them all intensely. "Death Proof" is probably my least favorite Tarantino film but, for me, it's still a lot more fun than most of the product out there. Kurt Russell was truly excellent, and watching Zoe Bell really do all those stunts was cool. The Seems like Tarantino really polarizes audiences. I've loved all of Tarantino's previous movies but lots of my friends dislike them all intensely. "Death Proof" is probably my least favorite Tarantino film but, for me, it's still a lot more fun than most of the product out there. Kurt Russell was truly excellent, and watching Zoe Bell really do all those stunts was cool. The film reminded me very much of "Faster Pussycat, Kill! Kill!" but with big butts rather than big boobs. As Robert Forster said in "Jackie Brown", "Ain't nothing wrong with that." Expand
  36. FrankD.
    Sep 24, 2007
    8
    Have only seen "Death Proof,"but it far exceeded my expectations. I'm not not a die-hard Tarantino fan -- LOVE "Jackie Brown" and "Pulp Fiction," but dislike "Kill Bill." This one pays campy homage, but is a movie that also stands on its own as great entertainment. the casting is perfect, and an AMAZING performance from Kurt Russell. Every element comes together to produce a winning Have only seen "Death Proof,"but it far exceeded my expectations. I'm not not a die-hard Tarantino fan -- LOVE "Jackie Brown" and "Pulp Fiction," but dislike "Kill Bill." This one pays campy homage, but is a movie that also stands on its own as great entertainment. the casting is perfect, and an AMAZING performance from Kurt Russell. Every element comes together to produce a winning (and winking) cinematic experience. BRAVO! Expand
  37. ShawnF.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    Best movie ever made ever its got gore, muscle cars and hot chicks like i said best movie ever made ever.
  38. GabeG.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    This is by far the greatest movie experience imaginable. If you didn't have a chance to view it in theatres at least watch it on dvd with the lights low and try to mimic the theatre experience, this is the only way to even coming close to getting the experience that those who watched in theatres got. I warn you to brace yourself for the greatest cinematic adventure fathomable.
  39. Phill
    Jun 23, 2007
    8
    I really enjoyed the none-stop thrilling action of the first, the wonderful previews through both, and the super awesome car scene second. Sure, not for the faint of heart; but a great movie none-the-less.
  40. JoelC.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    Wow once again, Tarantino and ... Rodriguez? did it. I hope they work together in the future. No need to rate this movie, I just hope it gets the positive criticism it deserves. Kick asphalt movie. Just see it and, relax (two movies in one) grab a snack, and enjoy some "original" b-movie movies.
  41. OlegM.
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    It's the enjoyable experience despite of poorly thoutht out intermissions. But the project was so much fun for the organizers, they couldn't - I guess - contain themselves. Overall, surely worth the money and time... Enjoy.
  42. BryanE.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    This movie was so over-the top, nothing can prepare you for this movie but I loved every minute of it. I don't understand how people can say it was boring with all that they showed, zombies, blood and gore, awesome car chases. Rodriguez and Tarantino have done it again and I hope they continue to work together in the future.
  43. BrianS.
    May 13, 2007
    10
    My wife and I both loved this movie! To try to review this movie would be stupid. It' s just pure non-sensical fun, a throwback to when people did stunts and footage of one explosion was used multiple times to save money. Not like today where everything is computer animated. Go see it without expectations and an open mind - you'll like it alot.
  44. StevenS.
    May 11, 2007
    10
    I'm disappointed in everyone who has insulted these movies. Most of the bad reviews, I've noticed, have come from people who DON'T GET IT. Planet Terror - Brilliant in every way and plays off every cliche in Grindhouse films with an astoundingly ferocious brilliance. It's not a parody - it's a loving homage to the wonderful cult classic Grindhouse films of the I'm disappointed in everyone who has insulted these movies. Most of the bad reviews, I've noticed, have come from people who DON'T GET IT. Planet Terror - Brilliant in every way and plays off every cliche in Grindhouse films with an astoundingly ferocious brilliance. It's not a parody - it's a loving homage to the wonderful cult classic Grindhouse films of the past. Death Proof - Not only does Tarantino manage to create a genre all by his freaking self but he makes it seem like it too is a loving homage to the non-existant genre that he has created. The dialogue is his best work since Pulp Fiction. All in all, this was the most entertained I've ever been at a theatre. Collapse
  45. BenW
    May 11, 2007
    10
    People who give this a bad review are really missing the point. Anyone who's seen the films this is spoofing should love this. Both sections are pure gold.
  46. DarrenL.
    May 11, 2007
    10
    Just an outstanding movie experience. All of the fake trailers were very good, except for Rob Zombie's, which just wasn't up to par. The first film, Planet Terror is funny and entertaining, but Death Proof is just plain outstanding.
  47. JoelM.
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This movie is so much fun to watch, it's gory, it's hilarious, it's plotless, it's brilliant. This is totally a guy's movie, the guy flick of the year, SO much better than 300. I thought the zombie movie was good but Death Proof is awesome, Tarantino's film is hilarious. Really a collective effort that is just a lot of fun to watch. Walk in with an open mind, This movie is so much fun to watch, it's gory, it's hilarious, it's plotless, it's brilliant. This is totally a guy's movie, the guy flick of the year, SO much better than 300. I thought the zombie movie was good but Death Proof is awesome, Tarantino's film is hilarious. Really a collective effort that is just a lot of fun to watch. Walk in with an open mind, and you will love it. Expand
  48. PG.
    May 2, 2007
    10
    This was the most entertaining 3 hours ever spent in a movie theatre. Finally someone is making movies and having some fun! Freddy R. is awesome in it and he should get more lead roles. Go see it if you enjoy something funny and bad-azz.
  49. JonathanF.
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    Hilarious. Crazy exciting. One of the best movie-going experiences I've had in years.
  50. ChrisK
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Unbelievably fun. Very, very, very worth the 3+ hours and price of admission. I never wanted it to end.
  51. AlexH.
    Apr 22, 2007
    9
    It's a shame to me that more people aren't checking this movie out. Sure it's long and yeah I can see how some people may tire of the lady dialogue in tarantinos flick but these guys had balls to make this and it ends up being a real unique movie experience. Pros: originality, death proof 's score, planet terrors characters, mock previews, Kurt Russell, awesome car It's a shame to me that more people aren't checking this movie out. Sure it's long and yeah I can see how some people may tire of the lady dialogue in tarantinos flick but these guys had balls to make this and it ends up being a real unique movie experience. Pros: originality, death proof 's score, planet terrors characters, mock previews, Kurt Russell, awesome car chases Cons: tarentino's acting, cinematography, some of the actresses in death proof weren't interesting enough for me sans Dawson, but overall it's a great movie experience and I bet it'll be a cult classic. See it in the theaters while you can. Expand
  52. SamM.
    Apr 22, 2007
    7
    Not much to add that hasn't been said before - the fake trailers were brilliant. Planet Terror is the superior film - Rodgriguez has become the superior technical filmmaker. He still doesn't have the flair for dialogue that Tarantino has, but... Then comes Death Proof which we've taken to calling "Quentin makes up chicks who talk and act exactly the way his dream woman Not much to add that hasn't been said before - the fake trailers were brilliant. Planet Terror is the superior film - Rodgriguez has become the superior technical filmmaker. He still doesn't have the flair for dialogue that Tarantino has, but... Then comes Death Proof which we've taken to calling "Quentin makes up chicks who talk and act exactly the way his dream woman would be." Tarantino's flair for dialogue was an obvious crutch for this film. I got the distinct feeling that he wasn't all that interested in his half of the movie beyond outlining "hot chicks...Stuntman...Car Chases...reference car films that are not 'The French Connection' to show knowledge of the genre..." The Weinstein Brothers need to reel Quentin instead of letting him be this self-indulgent brat. He has good ideas, but much like "Kill Bill 1 & 2," he has developed a nasty habit of trying to cram a 100-minute story into 200 minutes... Expand
  53. MarkB.
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Pastiche movies--films in which the makers attempt to communicate the themes of a past director or genre by trying to perfectly reproduce the style--aren't easy to do. Steven Soderbergh proved that last year with The Good German, a smug, contempt-oozing repay of 1940s and 50s films noir that not only got many obvious details completely wrong but committed the unforgivable sin of Pastiche movies--films in which the makers attempt to communicate the themes of a past director or genre by trying to perfectly reproduce the style--aren't easy to do. Steven Soderbergh proved that last year with The Good German, a smug, contempt-oozing repay of 1940s and 50s films noir that not only got many obvious details completely wrong but committed the unforgivable sin of reconstructing the finale of Casablanca for the purpose of sneering at it...and in doing so he made one of the absolute worst movies of this decade. However, this technique also brought us two of the decade's best and most thoroughly enjoyable films: Larry Blamire's incredibly endearing, note-perfect salute to/ parody of rock-bottom 1950s sci-fi horror, The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra, and Todd Haynes's passionately felt Far From Heaven, a brilliantly evoked variation on Douglas Sirk's Universal-International weepers that got me to watch Written on the Wind and imitation of Life all over again, even though I was never a big fan of either (and still am not). Well, Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino have brought us the decade's third total success of this type (or is it 3rd and 4th?) Perfectly rechanneling their formative moviegoing experiences in grindhouse theaters (decrepit moviehouses specializing in action/ horror/ exploitation double features in the 1960s and 70s), the two Miramax/ Dimension bad boys evoke a real sense of nostalgia for a moviegoing era I was fortunate enough to catch the tail end of; they actually make me miss theaters in which a few of the patrons didn't exactly make it all the way to the men's room! Rodriguez's Planet Terror recreates a low-grade zombie-attack flick while Tarantino's Death Proof fuses Russ Meyer's female-revenge saga Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill! with 1974's nonstop car crasher Gone in 60 Seconds (which, as Tarantino helpfully reminds us, is NOT to be confused with the abysmal Jerry Bruckheimer-produced remake). The ongoing debate has been whose movie works better: Rodriguez's or Tarantino's? The answer is "Yep". Rodriguez loves these movies both in spite of and because of their flaws; Tarantino just plain loves them. Rodriguez's fil is a wildly over the top, luridly gore-geysering horror opus (featuring an unforgettable Rose McGowan as a go-go dancer who leads our side in the battle against the mutant undead) whose crayon-drawn characterizations, limited sets, hilariously incomprehensible "scientific explanations" and even more hilariously prodigal use of raspberry syrup are as lovingly rendered as the scratches, hisses and pops that indicate that this flick has been shipped all over the country for far too long and is suffering serious battle fatigue. (The fact that Planet Terror looks a whole lot worse than Death Proof underscores an accurate observation about grindhouse double bills: Tarantino's is the newer film and the program's star attraction, while Rodriguez's is the shopworn oldie trotted into second-feature action for the umpeenth time. The dated "topical" reference in Rodriguez's film underscores this.) Those who have complained that Death Proof, the tale of psychotic Stuntman Mike (Kurt Russell, in arguably his best form ever) and his comeuppance at the hands and gas pedal feet of a group of stuntwomen he underestimated starts out far too talky miss the point on three counts: 1.) Tarantino loves dialogue as much as Joseph L. Manckiewicz and Billy Wilder, and typically provides us with reams of it; 2.) the films he's mirroring killed time before and between action sequences with tons of it too, only not one-twentieth as inspired; and 3.) this is a revenge film, and Tarantino gets us to truly love the first four funny, free-spirited chicks before...he gets us to accept and encourage any and all means taken against their tormentor. Death Proof will also be remembered for the coolest bar and grill ever put on film, and for the onscreen, starmaking debut of Zoe Bell, who was Uma Thurman's stuntwoman in the Kill Bill movies. What a shame that by definition that role didn't allow Bell to show her face onscreen, because here she shows astonishing screen presence and a killer smile. To make the grindhouse moviegoing experience complete (almost interactive, in fact) both "features" share a few of the same actors, at least one common character, a costume prop and the same cinematic in-joke (a missing reel that contains precisely the last scene that most audiences WANT to be missing) and are backed up with four brilliant trailers for fictional coming attractions. (Yes, I said four. Not three, four. Eli Roth's contribution, Thanksgiving, is already notorious for one of its visuals, but it stems from Roth's accurate observation that slasher movies are mostly inherently misogynistic. Don't attack the messenger.) UNLIKE many of the poorly-paced C-movies Grindhouse so adoringly salutes, there's not a dull or flat moment to be found anywhere. If 1962's Lawrence of Arabia's parching desert visuals caused moviegoers to break records in soda consumption, then Grindhouse may well have the opposite effect on concession sales, causing a downtick in drink purchases if viewers are smart. Simply put, in three hours-plus of running time, Rodriguez, Tarantino and friends don't provide you with a single, viable bathroom break! Expand
  54. JasonP.
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    Planet Terror: A+ ||| Trailers: A+ ||| Death Proof: B+ You really have to be a fan of the 70/80's horror genre to enjoy this film. For those who take movies too seriously and don't let themselves enjoy mindless gore and violence, this film is not for you. I've always been a huge fan of zombie movies, good and bad, and Rodriguez's Planet Terror was perfection! Easily Planet Terror: A+ ||| Trailers: A+ ||| Death Proof: B+ You really have to be a fan of the 70/80's horror genre to enjoy this film. For those who take movies too seriously and don't let themselves enjoy mindless gore and violence, this film is not for you. I've always been a huge fan of zombie movies, good and bad, and Rodriguez's Planet Terror was perfection! Easily the best zombie movie I've ever seen. Not only did it have all the right elements of the genre, but it added better characters, humor, and violence than any other zombie movie out there. Tarentino's Death Proof cast did a poor job with the dialogue. The girls couldn't make the dialogue entertaining like Tarantino's previous casts from films like Pulp Fiction and Resevoir Dogs. The car chase scene at the end was brillliant and made waiting through all the dullness worth it. The big plus of this movie was Kurt Russel's acting. I now know that Russel still has the ability to play the badass in films, which I was highly doubting since his last roles in Sky High and Miracle proved otherwise. This is Russel's best role since Jack Burton from Big Trouble in Little China! Expand
  55. MichaelR.
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    The film Grindhouse was a fun and exiting movie to go to the theater and waste my money on. It gives the B movies of the 70's drive- in's a drop kick by making the characters enjoyable and the scenes ridiculously houmorous. "Death Proof" was done very well with an action packed car chase, and other automobile terror. Most of the second movie's credit should go to Kurt The film Grindhouse was a fun and exiting movie to go to the theater and waste my money on. It gives the B movies of the 70's drive- in's a drop kick by making the characters enjoyable and the scenes ridiculously houmorous. "Death Proof" was done very well with an action packed car chase, and other automobile terror. Most of the second movie's credit should go to Kurt Russel's bone chilling acting, for I felt all the heavy dialogue dictated by the rest of the cast was a bit annoying. I thought the first feature, "Planet Terror", was more exiting than " Death Proof ", simply because of it's extreme carnage, and cool looking cast. Expand
  56. GregoryC.
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    This was a great double feature film with enjoyable action and very, very funny moments. Planet terror is definetley more enjoyable to watch as it shows more action and heads blowing up. Also fans of the fake movie trailers will be thrilled to know that Robert Rodriguez has decided to make a real movie Machete because of the positive feedback from fans.
  57. Andy
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    The most fun I've had at a theater in a few years and the first 10 I'll give to a movie in that many as well.
  58. NickyB.
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    Absolutely Fantastic! Both segments...very different...but very, very, very, very fun!
  59. AMovieCritic
    Apr 14, 2007
    7
    Robert Rodriguez's (Sin City) movie, "Planet Terror," is one of the best zombie movies I've ever seen. So insanely over the top and completely violent, yet also extremely funny, it had the audience CHEERING. It is an extremely fun movie and really, REALLY worked well. The best parts involve Cherry and her machine gun leg. Over the top violence with the zombies, some really Robert Rodriguez's (Sin City) movie, "Planet Terror," is one of the best zombie movies I've ever seen. So insanely over the top and completely violent, yet also extremely funny, it had the audience CHEERING. It is an extremely fun movie and really, REALLY worked well. The best parts involve Cherry and her machine gun leg. Over the top violence with the zombies, some really graphic death scenes, some really cool action, very likable characters, and AWESOME music. Plus...it's funny. It's got a real great sense of humor. It's a crowd-pleaser, designed to allow the audience to have a complete blast and we do; it's a really cool movie. Again, REALLY, REALLY great movie. Then Quentin Tarantino's "Death Proof" comes along to completely ruin the fun. This has got to be one of the worst movies I've ever seen. EVER. Tarantino's movie not only does NOT, whatsoever, fit in with the whole "Grindhouse" theme they were going for, but it has no plot, it's not funny, it's not exciting...it is just horribly boring and self-indulgent. You sit there for a half hour and watch a group of stoned, drunk women sit at a bar and talk about NOTHING.......for an entire half hour. It's torture. Then, you're teased with some action, then....it stops, and you meet a new cast of women, and you have to sit through it AGAIN. It just goes on and on. Insanely boring. There's a good car chase for the final 20 minutes of the movie. But....by that point I just wanted to get the hell out of the theater. (And the audience did too.) The movie is not just bad. It's UNBEARABLE. But don't let that stop you. See Grindhouse, enjoy the fake trailers, enjoy the AMAZING "Planet Terror," but save yourself; get the hell out of there before Death Proof starts, you'll be glad you did. Looking at critic reviews, I see most preferred Death Proof; figures. The critics (once again) couldn't possibly be more out of touch with what moviegoers think. I recently read an article that blamed Grindhouse's poor box office performance on "Planet Terror" ....what a joke. Audiences will love Planet Terror. Grindhouse's films will be released separately in many countries; hopefully box office numbers will be superior for Planet Terror. Expand
  60. Robert
    Apr 14, 2007
    8
    Great fun. The audience clapped loudly at the end of each movie. Rodriguez's is high energy over-the-top parody from beginning to end, and very funny. Tarantino cheats in his version and doesn't go for exploitive sleaze or parody... he just does what interests him. The first half slows down the pace considerably and the characters are not as interesting as Tarantino seems to Great fun. The audience clapped loudly at the end of each movie. Rodriguez's is high energy over-the-top parody from beginning to end, and very funny. Tarantino cheats in his version and doesn't go for exploitive sleaze or parody... he just does what interests him. The first half slows down the pace considerably and the characters are not as interesting as Tarantino seems to think, nor is self-parody Kurt Russell. The second half of Death Proof is better with a better cast and a great car chase/ homage. The fake trailers are hilarious. Expand
  61. StevenR.
    Apr 14, 2007
    9
    Great fun! The directors take old ideas and make them seem new again. The two films are very different but equally bold and engrossing. The trailers are a blast! Some appreciation of the genre may make the film easier for some, but it is really fantastic! Great job, R and Q!! S.
  62. MattA.
    Apr 14, 2007
    9
    I was Oh so entertained!!! A couple of weeks ago...i went to go see 300 with the expectation of being entertained, and i was thoroughly let down. ...Then i went to see this picture and i was blown away! ...Now to compare the two films and say which is better is all a matter of taste. Honestly... Planet Terror was a FUN gun blazing, violent, action flick that left you mind numb and I was Oh so entertained!!! A couple of weeks ago...i went to go see 300 with the expectation of being entertained, and i was thoroughly let down. ...Then i went to see this picture and i was blown away! ...Now to compare the two films and say which is better is all a matter of taste. Honestly... Planet Terror was a FUN gun blazing, violent, action flick that left you mind numb and laughing all the way. Death Proof makes you work for your satisfying meal...but when you find it... boy is it more than satisfying. As far as dialogue goes...tarantino stretches it a bit... but as far as quality directing goes... he goes for so much more substance over style. The final car chase scene being one of the most gripping stuff i've seen for a while. ...honestly... i give Tarantino more credit for having balls to make Death Proof, and i feel he pulled it off in the end and left a lasting impression. But as far as Cool B-Movie grade comedy and horror go... Planet Terror takes that bill. Expand
  63. JoeBlow
    Apr 14, 2007
    8
    Very cool movie! I want to give Rodreguez's film a 9 and Quentin's a 6, plus the faux trailers were sweet, so I give the whole movie an 8. Planet Terror was definitely a thrill-ride. Lots of gore and bloddy moments, but it was never really "scary"... just fun. Then, my favorite trailer was "Don't" just cuz it was hilarious. Quentin's film was just kinda boring for a Very cool movie! I want to give Rodreguez's film a 9 and Quentin's a 6, plus the faux trailers were sweet, so I give the whole movie an 8. Planet Terror was definitely a thrill-ride. Lots of gore and bloddy moments, but it was never really "scary"... just fun. Then, my favorite trailer was "Don't" just cuz it was hilarious. Quentin's film was just kinda boring for a while, then cool, then boring again, then exciting. If you see the movie, you'll know what I mean. Usually, his dialog works because there's a story behind it, but this time, there's mostly no point. There's one part where one female talks about how another female has to give a lapdace, and that comes up later, but that's about it. Just useless dialog. I miss Pulp Fiction where it actually meant something. One cool thing about Quentin's movie is that there are references to his other films all over the place (so keep an eye out). Definitely worth watching in the theater!! Expand
  64. EdM.
    Apr 14, 2007
    8
    Fun movies from two mediocre directors. Rodrigues is probably the worst director since Ed Wood cross dressed into the ether. But since there are no expectations of a good movie, Planet Terror was fun. The Tarrantino segment sufered from both of his sins: endless nattering and no development until the unit took over. Then it goes KABOOM and takes life. A fun three (yes, three) hours of fun.
  65. Judy
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I loved it!! At the end of each movie the audience clapped - I've never been in a movie where that has happened!
  66. ChristopherW.
    Apr 13, 2007
    8
    What a great thing to have two directors who don't feel the least bit of loyalty to current movie making conventions. I really can't think of any other director, but Tarantino that has the kind of confidence in his abilities and in audience's synergy with his style and sensibilites, to make the types of films that he has done. How refreshing to have a guy like this What a great thing to have two directors who don't feel the least bit of loyalty to current movie making conventions. I really can't think of any other director, but Tarantino that has the kind of confidence in his abilities and in audience's synergy with his style and sensibilites, to make the types of films that he has done. How refreshing to have a guy like this reminding cynical and bored American filmgoers not to lose faith in filmmaking as an artform. Rodriguez enjoys making showy highly stylized, visually arresting films with lots and lots of things that pop out at you. And, 'Planet Terror' does just that. It's extremely gory, but not offensively gory because the violence is so amped up to the point of simply being absurb and artificial. That's precisely what makes it so much fun. It's one of those films you can simply kick back and enjoy for what it is. Tarantino is clearly the more gifted filmmaker and his film could easily be overlooked after the eye popping extravaganza that preceded it. However, his film really sneaks up on you and catches you by surprise. In the first twenty or so minutes, you may be thinking, "Where has Tanantino gone?" if the dialogue hasn't reminded you yet. Then, something happens, something wild and unexpected with an explosively violent and jawdropping car crash, and that's only the beginning. Both films are a ton of fun, but Tarantino's really creeps into your bones and sticks with you. Even though Rodriguez's film is far more colorful and razzle dazzle, it's Tarantino's film that provides the heft and anchor to this double feature. There are scenes in 'Death Proof' that truly have to be seen to be believed. Great stuff! Don't miss it! Expand
  67. Ryencoke
    Apr 12, 2007
    7
    Planet Terror was cool, commercail were awesome. Death Proof was far the boring and fairly lame. Planet Terror was easily better.
  68. AlyssaB.
    Apr 12, 2007
    9
    This is a power movie for women. A total chick flick but gory.
  69. V.
    Apr 11, 2007
    9
    People are being way too critical of deathproof I think. Maybe cause they weren't as stoned for it as they were for planet terror. The text message scene was a highlight for me -- pure genius. Tarantino's acting was hilarious too, but not as funny as Roth. "It's on now..time to go Jager!" lool
  70. KenH.
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    Tarantino and Rodriguez do a fantastic job of recreating a genre that many of us weren't a part of. Rodriguez puts together a blast of a movie which is ridiculous but knows it is, and it succeeds in being the most entertaining zombie movie I've ever seen. Tarantino plays it a bit safer by sticking to his tried and true formula by having catchy dialogue and developing great Tarantino and Rodriguez do a fantastic job of recreating a genre that many of us weren't a part of. Rodriguez puts together a blast of a movie which is ridiculous but knows it is, and it succeeds in being the most entertaining zombie movie I've ever seen. Tarantino plays it a bit safer by sticking to his tried and true formula by having catchy dialogue and developing great characters. You care when bad things happen to the girls, and you laugh heartily when Stuntman Mike turns into a whiny child by a mere flesh wound. Eventhough Tarantino plays it safe, the movie was put over the top by the exhilirating car chases and a satisfying ending. Well done on both ends. Expand
  71. THATMOVIEGUY
    Apr 10, 2007
    9
    I liked Rodriguez' film more than Tarintino's at first. But a few hours later I feel like I under appreciated Death Proof, just becuz it didn't continue the "campyness" of Planet Terror, but it is a really cool and different kind of Tarintino film. The most innovative film to come to major theatres in probably over a year. 9/10
  72. ChadS.
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    From now on, any filmmaker who's movie is cited by the MPAA for overt violent or sexual content, and is asked to pare down the offensive material to avoid the dreaded NC-17 rating, has the "I'm-not-as-evil-as-Eli Roth"-defense at his/her(Mary Harron might need to use it one day) disposal. For all the shed blood and detachable body parts in Robert Rodriguez's "Planet From now on, any filmmaker who's movie is cited by the MPAA for overt violent or sexual content, and is asked to pare down the offensive material to avoid the dreaded NC-17 rating, has the "I'm-not-as-evil-as-Eli Roth"-defense at his/her(Mary Harron might need to use it one day) disposal. For all the shed blood and detachable body parts in Robert Rodriguez's "Planet Terror", give the filmmaker of "Sin City" some credit for knowing how far is too far. Roth needed to make "Death Proof", not Quentin Tarantino. The guy who made "Hostel"(as in hostile against women) has the dubious distinction of staging the worst object to go into a vagina since William Freidkin's "The Exorcist". Rodriguez understands that male genitalia mutilation is entertaining(once again, Bruce Willis + decontextualized balls = movie magic), female genitalia mutilation is just plain gross(and morally wrong). Tarantino's "Death Proof" is undeniably clever, maybe too clever; after all, the title is "Grindhouse", not "Deconstructing Grindhouse". "Death Proof" loses its unaplogetic old-school ethos of sexploitative misogyny in midstream, which will anger the purists who like their women half-naked and co-dependent, not properly attired and kicking ass. It's up to you if Tarantino is a revisionist, or an apologist of/for a genre(based on the trailers) that seems pretty hard on women. For most of "Grindhouse", I thought- "F*** it, this movie rocks!" But the trailer for "Thanksgiving" gave me pause; it's irresponsible and reprehensible. What the filmmaker depicts is the cruelest way imaginable to kill a woman...and it'll get laughs. Expand
  73. MichaelV.
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    It actually had a standing ovation in my hometown theatre. Wow!
  74. ScottS.
    Apr 9, 2007
    8
    Rodriguez: 5 out of 5. Smart, over the top, thrilling. Planet Terror is the best time at the movies in years, Rose McGowan adds unexpected heart, and the film has something vital to say about the current state of the Hollywood-made feature. As for Tarantino: a generous 2.5 out of five. Sporadically fun, but too self-aware and chatty. Death Proof may attempt to translate grindhouse for a Rodriguez: 5 out of 5. Smart, over the top, thrilling. Planet Terror is the best time at the movies in years, Rose McGowan adds unexpected heart, and the film has something vital to say about the current state of the Hollywood-made feature. As for Tarantino: a generous 2.5 out of five. Sporadically fun, but too self-aware and chatty. Death Proof may attempt to translate grindhouse for a modern audience, but what grindhouse film would feature 45+ minutes of uninterrupted dialogue? The whole Tarantino shtick (gratuitous pop culture references, self-congratulatory "abrasive" dialogue) was overwrought and, at times, boring. Add .5 to the rating for the genius coming attraction trailers and to spot-on graphic design/atmospheric touches that deftly re-created the grindhouse experience. Expand
  75. MattW.
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    This movie is fabulous. Its filled with horror and comedy. One second you're deeply involved in the B-movie type drama unfolding in front of you eyes, the next you're rolling in you chair laughing because of the missing real, unrealistic gore, of absolutely hilarious sequence of consequences. The only flaws are 1) The movie is a little of 3 hours long. Note, although you will This movie is fabulous. Its filled with horror and comedy. One second you're deeply involved in the B-movie type drama unfolding in front of you eyes, the next you're rolling in you chair laughing because of the missing real, unrealistic gore, of absolutely hilarious sequence of consequences. The only flaws are 1) The movie is a little of 3 hours long. Note, although you will miss some hilarious fake previews, use the small intermission between movies to use the bathroom (but you shoiuld be fine if you went ahead). 2) Death Proof can get really long with dialogue. I usually love Tarantino's rants of dialogue (pulp fiction is classic), but here the dialogue did little to give incite to the characters. If its on purpose, he could have taken about 20 minutes out of worthless diaglogue, if purposeful, he's a genuis because he's mocking campy movies when nothing happens. As bad as this may be at times, its worth the awesome chase scene. 3) "Machete" will probably not be made into a real movie (unless they do Grindhouse 2). Expand
  76. Cables
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    The most fun i've had at a movie in quite some time. The movie prievews in between were hilarious.
  77. DavidA.
    Apr 8, 2007
    7
    The first half and all the trailers are great. The second half drags on way too long and really doesn't have much of a payout.
  78. Anthony
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    Two good movies, one Great experience. Not their best films, but damn was it fun.
  79. KennyM.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Let me start by simply saying this: Robert Rodriguez - 1; Quentin Tarantino - 0. "Planet Terror" may very well be the funniest film ever made. It is campy, gory, and ridiculous in the best possible way. Rodriguez has outdone himself, and surprisingly, outdone Tarantino, and has taken another big step towards becoming a great filmaker after his masterful "Sin City." Thank you, Robert Let me start by simply saying this: Robert Rodriguez - 1; Quentin Tarantino - 0. "Planet Terror" may very well be the funniest film ever made. It is campy, gory, and ridiculous in the best possible way. Rodriguez has outdone himself, and surprisingly, outdone Tarantino, and has taken another big step towards becoming a great filmaker after his masterful "Sin City." Thank you, Robert Rodriguez, for realizing that after a sexy go-go dancer gets her leg eaten off by zombies she can always attach a rocket launcher to her stump, and thanks for reminding us movies can be fun. (Note: how did she pull the trigger?) "Death Proof" is good - don't get me wrong - but just not as good as "Planet Terror." Quentin...who apparently is human (he makes mistakes!!?!?!?) takes his time, boring us with what seems to be hours of pointless, incessant chatter, trying desperately to make us care about characters with, seemingly, no personalities. Luckily Kurt Russell (badass - no one could have played this part better) saves this mess when he kills all the horrible characters Quentin was trying to introduce. Then it finally gets good. The next group of girls are great, the car chase is fantastic, and [spoiler deleted]. But Quentin spends too much time acting like he can entrance an audience who just watched "Planet Terror" with a bunch of boring dialogue just becuase he's "The Man" to outdo Rodriguez. My favorite part of the entire experience, though, were the fake trailers. "Machete" was great. Cheech: "God has mercy. I don't." That killed me. So the bottom line is.....both of these films are fantastic and this was the most fun i've had at the movies in a long time. Expand
  80. GeorgeF.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    This movie is perfect at being what it is supposed to be.
  81. KenK.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    When you all saw Grindhouse being advertised in the theaters, on television and across the
  82. HaloedB.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Rodriguez wins for sticking to the form. The plot of Planet Terror is simultaneously ridiculous and thought provoking. Death proof cheats on the form and the dialouge scenes are spirals to nowhere. Somewhat like duel, the dialogue is just a set up for a car chase and kick ass revenge plot. Ultimately both films suceed in being bad, good, an homage, and transcendent of the source material. Rodriguez wins for sticking to the form. The plot of Planet Terror is simultaneously ridiculous and thought provoking. Death proof cheats on the form and the dialouge scenes are spirals to nowhere. Somewhat like duel, the dialogue is just a set up for a car chase and kick ass revenge plot. Ultimately both films suceed in being bad, good, an homage, and transcendent of the source material. Great fun! Expand
  83. OliverC.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Although Death Proof starts a bit slow, by the time it's done, it's clear who is the better director. Both movies are awesome, but planet terror is a bit too ridiculous while death proof has a good 45 minutes of pure joy. Can't say i'm such a big fan of the trailers, but "the Machete" was the best.
  84. HaileyR.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    If you don't have the mental capacity to watch a film without constant exploding brains and topless females, do yourself a favor and leave the theater before Death Proof. If you've progressed past the first grade, you're in for a hell of a ride.
  85. JustinC.
    Apr 8, 2007
    7
    More like Robert Rodriguez 1 Tarantino 0.
  86. KobeeH.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Genius in it's exectuion is the only way I can begin to describe Grindhouse. This is pure "I don't give a f**k, I love these kind of movies so I'm making it"directing. Robert Rodriguez nails it with Planet Terror. This is complete love of those old sex-filled, over the top viloence pictures of the past. You laugh so many times cuz there's so many chessy or just Genius in it's exectuion is the only way I can begin to describe Grindhouse. This is pure "I don't give a f**k, I love these kind of movies so I'm making it"directing. Robert Rodriguez nails it with Planet Terror. This is complete love of those old sex-filled, over the top viloence pictures of the past. You laugh so many times cuz there's so many chessy or just rediculous moments. But you accept it because it's not meant to be taken seriously and it's OK. Plus, with all the dirt and grit on the film reel. The pops of audio. It seems like the film is hanging on by a thread in the projector, even though it's just an illusion, which makes it even more awesome. Now Quentin Tarantino's Death Proof is catching so much s**t for being slower and without the instant gratification that sooooo many moviegoers NEED. You HAVE to give credit for the brilliant dialogue(especially for the females). It's engaging and interesting simply because it's exactly how girls talk when they're together. Plus Zoe Bell just kicks ass. The visibly FAST car chase scenes are another note. As are the amazing crashes and violence. Everything felt so much more dangerous, menacing and dripping with adrenaline without the CGI enhancements. Plus the ending is right on point. The fake trailers before and inbetween the films are so damn awesome with so many quotable lines. The directors are having a helluva lot of fun and it comes through. Go see Grindhouse for just ALOT of fun and an experience that won't disappoint. Expand
  87. JonD.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    Planet Terror = GREAT Trailers = HILLARIOUS Death Proof = Boring and absolutely NO story but worth it just for the ending, the extended DVD version should be better. Definately go see this, its 2 movies for the price of one, and its all worth it for the previews by themselves.
  88. EricN.
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    Let me break this score in half, 5 out of 5 for Rodriguez, and 3 out of 5 for Quentin. Planet Terror was a blast and the trailers by Roth, Zombie, and Wright were hilarious but what was with all the boring, tedious, nonsense filled dialogue in Quentin's Death Proof. I've loved every Quentin movie to date but this movie could've been done in a half hour if they just cut the Let me break this score in half, 5 out of 5 for Rodriguez, and 3 out of 5 for Quentin. Planet Terror was a blast and the trailers by Roth, Zombie, and Wright were hilarious but what was with all the boring, tedious, nonsense filled dialogue in Quentin's Death Proof. I've loved every Quentin movie to date but this movie could've been done in a half hour if they just cut the boring crap. It's almost like he ran out of ideas and needed some filler before kicking the audiences asses with a brilliant ending. He would have had a 5/5 if it wasn't for making me snooze for about 30 minutes of the movie...per dialogue scene. All in all, great movie on both their behalfs but Rodriguez takes the medal on this outing. Expand
  89. RossB.
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    Honestly, lots of talk about how the Planet Terror section is much more buoyant or lively, but when we consider both this fact (both a positive and a negative at points in my opinion) and the context of the movie itself, it's much easier to see why people have taken to planet terror more quickly than death proof. In my personal opinion, both movies could have been cut by a solid 10 Honestly, lots of talk about how the Planet Terror section is much more buoyant or lively, but when we consider both this fact (both a positive and a negative at points in my opinion) and the context of the movie itself, it's much easier to see why people have taken to planet terror more quickly than death proof. In my personal opinion, both movies could have been cut by a solid 10 minutes, but in all of it's excess (and my excess of wanting more excess) it was easier to see the slow parts of Planet Terror as slow parts as opposed to what i saw as slow tension builders in Death Proof. Yes, Rose McGowan and Freddy Rodriguez fill their tropes wonderfully, but there are many strident and complex pathos that Kurt Russell just aches onto the screen in the form of a madman that is more entertaining than every character in Planet Terror combined (save of course Cherry's Leg's). If you're lookin at this like schlock, by all means exhalt Planet Terror, but if you saw this as purely gimmick (though nonetheless one that takes a perceptive look at our modern simoultaneous infatuation and denegration of popular culture) and were actually watching for a movie (which doesn't necessarilly prescribe itself to the paradigm of movies, but still has a cohesive narrative and structure) then Death Proof is your best bet. I'm guessing that the second viewing will enlighten people to Death Proof a little bit more, as the dialogue does drag at certain points on first viewing, but in all honesty everything for this movie is pure maniacal, sexual, fierce, and violent fun that is for the sake of fun. Hence, any complaints that one may have with either segment can really be ignored in the face of such giddy (and giddilly inspired) filmmaking by one master and one wannabee that can really make a zombie head explode well on camera. Expand
  90. HarrisonB.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    Two amazing films. hilarious fake trailers. what's not to love? great zombie gore, amazing tarantino dialogue. good good stuff. fun, funny, hot chicks. see it.
  91. MarquesH.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    I'm a fan of both directors! i like both equally for 2 reasons, pure fun and excitement. QT simply did what he is known for: Crazy Dialogue and unexpected endings. Only A quality actors are able to perform in such films as genius as Death Proof. Rodriquez is imaginitive, innovative, and versatile director. From Hostel to Spy Kids geez he has director chops. Go see this movie for fun I'm a fan of both directors! i like both equally for 2 reasons, pure fun and excitement. QT simply did what he is known for: Crazy Dialogue and unexpected endings. Only A quality actors are able to perform in such films as genius as Death Proof. Rodriquez is imaginitive, innovative, and versatile director. From Hostel to Spy Kids geez he has director chops. Go see this movie for fun and entertainment. There is nothing profound or discovitory. It is pure fun, enjoyment and you will laugh your tail off. QT in my opinion has not had a bad movie yet, not even mediocre. Give him his credit and chill. Expand
  92. EstherN.
    Apr 7, 2007
    7
    Planet Terror was bang on. Go to see it for Planet Terror and the trailers. As to the enormous problem... Holy Crap did Tarantino's Death Proof suck. There was endless, witless, meaningless dialogue ad infinitum. I saw it with a group of very bright, very funny people, and it nearly had the group of us screaming in frustration and fleeing to watch paint. Death Proof could be a Planet Terror was bang on. Go to see it for Planet Terror and the trailers. As to the enormous problem... Holy Crap did Tarantino's Death Proof suck. There was endless, witless, meaningless dialogue ad infinitum. I saw it with a group of very bright, very funny people, and it nearly had the group of us screaming in frustration and fleeing to watch paint. Death Proof could be a successful 35 minute short. The man has no ideas. Anyone who praises his tedious writing in this film hates you, and wants you to die an unhappy death. Expand
  93. LelandM.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    Best movie experience I have ever had in a theater... pure entertainment...
  94. AllanB.
    Apr 7, 2007
    8
    Outrageous fun! Death Proof would be much better if the chicks would just shutup and drive.
  95. HeyWould'Ja
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    I love exploitation films, so I was expecting this one to be right up my alley, and boy did it deliver. The fake trailers were worth the price of admission alone, and both of the features were filled with cheesy goodness. "Planet Terror" is a classic B-movie zombie flick, with blood splattered over almost every frame. Sometimes movies try to be campy and fail, but Rodriguez managed to I love exploitation films, so I was expecting this one to be right up my alley, and boy did it deliver. The fake trailers were worth the price of admission alone, and both of the features were filled with cheesy goodness. "Planet Terror" is a classic B-movie zombie flick, with blood splattered over almost every frame. Sometimes movies try to be campy and fail, but Rodriguez managed to make the most (intentionally) funny horror film since Shaun of the Dead. The cheesy soundtrack and dramatic pauses were especially great. After "Planet Terror" and the trailers, the slow windup for Tarantino's "Death Proof" had me worried that he was taking himself too seriously. By the time the final chase sequence started, though, it all came together. Without giving too much away, Kurt Russell's performance near the end of the film was hilarious. In the theater I watched it in, the crowd broke out into applause after the freeze frame ending. I'm sure Grindhouse won't be showing up on many "10 Best" lists at the end of the year, but it's by far the most entertaining film I've seen so far this year. Expand
  96. LeonardoD.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    I take it as people ( Terry R.) who are against innovative ideas, and progressive choices within films, would not like this film. Some people would love to stay within the three act structure box, and stay mindless drones. Of course YOU don't get it. You can tell that you have a vendetta against RR, and QT. Maybe because their innovativeness goes right over your head. If meatheads I take it as people ( Terry R.) who are against innovative ideas, and progressive choices within films, would not like this film. Some people would love to stay within the three act structure box, and stay mindless drones. Of course YOU don't get it. You can tell that you have a vendetta against RR, and QT. Maybe because their innovativeness goes right over your head. If meatheads are the only ones that would enjoy this film than maybe they have it right and you don't. Learn to understand that movies don't have to be the same crap, and the reason that people like RR, QT is because they are different. The people with a low IQs and no imagination will never enjoy this film. Expand
  97. MichaelB.
    Apr 7, 2007
    8
    I really wanted to love this move, but I ended up just liking it. "Planet Terror" has all the right ingredients: violence, sex, zombies, violence, corrupt military guys, explosions, violence... It is definitely the stronger of the two movies. "Death Proof" on the other hand, was a bit of a disappointment. There was just way too much tedious, irrelevant dialog (even for a Tarantino movie). I really wanted to love this move, but I ended up just liking it. "Planet Terror" has all the right ingredients: violence, sex, zombies, violence, corrupt military guys, explosions, violence... It is definitely the stronger of the two movies. "Death Proof" on the other hand, was a bit of a disappointment. There was just way too much tedious, irrelevant dialog (even for a Tarantino movie). QT tries to focus your attention on certain things (what were Jungle Julia's text messages all about?), and then never follows through to any logical conclusion. His new schtick seems to be introducing the audience to inane characters that you don't really care about and are almost glad when they are killed off (see "Hostel"). You can easily skip the first 30 to 45 minutes of "Death Proof" and not miss anything important. As a whole, "Grindhouse" is definitely worth seeing, but I would make it a renter so you can skip through the boring parts. Expand
  98. GioRJ
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    Outrageous, over-the-top fun. This is what going to the movies is all about. Rose McGowan is smoking hot as a zombie killing, one legged stripper with a machine gun for a prosthetic. Kurt Russell also shines as a stunt man who can only get off when he rams his "Death Proof" stunt car into cars filled with sexy women.
  99. Dirk
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    The whole exercise is so filled with fun and schlocky homage, which in my opinion never wears out its welcome. Personally I found "Planet Terror" more satisfactorily fun and depraved. Meanwhile, Tarantino's dialogue in "Death Proof" is mostly tedious, but once the car chase truly commences, the juxtaposition with what came before (including "Planet Terror") is a wonder to behold. The whole exercise is so filled with fun and schlocky homage, which in my opinion never wears out its welcome. Personally I found "Planet Terror" more satisfactorily fun and depraved. Meanwhile, Tarantino's dialogue in "Death Proof" is mostly tedious, but once the car chase truly commences, the juxtaposition with what came before (including "Planet Terror") is a wonder to behold. Don't go in with too many expectations--just EXPERIENCE it, preferably with the most raucous, boozy crowd you can, and you'll have a great time. Expand
  100. KeithL.
    Apr 7, 2007
    7
    "Planet Terror" was sheer schlocky genius. RR totally gets it and used the film damage effects at perfect points in his story to compliment story lines. The trailers had me laughing so hard it hurt. I loved seeing the bumpers for previews and feature presentation. Took me back to my youth. "Death Proof" however takes the momentum and crushes it. QT is such an ego-maniac that he refuses to "Planet Terror" was sheer schlocky genius. RR totally gets it and used the film damage effects at perfect points in his story to compliment story lines. The trailers had me laughing so hard it hurt. I loved seeing the bumpers for previews and feature presentation. Took me back to my youth. "Death Proof" however takes the momentum and crushes it. QT is such an ego-maniac that he refuses to cut long dialog scenes that do not serve the story at all. He also uses all of his "film damage" effects in the first reel of "Death Proof" and then settles into modern techniques of photographing and directing. Check the diner scene in which the camera circles the 4 women and dialog is delivered in 1 take. 70's style? Hell no. The payoff of "Death Proof" almost makes up for the dull, drawn meandering babble that QT seems to proud of to CUT. This one is an underachiever. I truly believe a real Grindhouse version of this would have had Kurt Russell running down many more pretty young girls versus gab and babble. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. If you were keeping score, it would be Quentin Tarantino 1, Robert Rodriguez 0.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    Planet Terror delivers only momentary kicks...while Tarantino's Death Proof is a juicy, delicious treat, its pleasures stem much less from the play with genre conventions than from great dialogue and electric performances.
  3. 100
    This monumentally pointless movie is best summarized by a line from Planet Terror: "At some point in your life, you find a use for every useless talent you have." Rodriguez, Tarantino, and Co. aim for nothing more noble than to freak the funk, and it's about godd--- time. Go wasted, go stoned, go without your parents' permission. In paying homage to an obsolete form of movie culture, Grindhouse delivers a dropkick to ours.