Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: April 6, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 514 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
414
Mixed:
46
Negative:
54
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
JHApr 24, 2007
Fans of outlandish and gory horror flicks will probably love this movie, especially Planet Terror. My wife and I enjoyed Death Proof more because it wasn't as "over the top" as Planet Terror, and girls kicking ass are cool. I wish we Fans of outlandish and gory horror flicks will probably love this movie, especially Planet Terror. My wife and I enjoyed Death Proof more because it wasn't as "over the top" as Planet Terror, and girls kicking ass are cool. I wish we had waited for DVD on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
StedmonWApr 26, 2007
Tarantino delivers some of the worst dialogue this side of The Marine starring John Cena. It took Rodriguez two movies to get away from his faded mexican in the desert trademark and now he's better than ever. When will Tarantino finally Tarantino delivers some of the worst dialogue this side of The Marine starring John Cena. It took Rodriguez two movies to get away from his faded mexican in the desert trademark and now he's better than ever. When will Tarantino finally grow up and do something else besides write such long-winded and uninspired crap? Leave after Planet Terror is over and you'll get your moneys worth Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MooApr 29, 2007
I really liked those Tarantino's and Rodriguez' in the 90ies. They were charming, funny, intelligent and very gory. There was a lot of reference to those trashy 70ies movies. But with all that reference in mind they still had fresh I really liked those Tarantino's and Rodriguez' in the 90ies. They were charming, funny, intelligent and very gory. There was a lot of reference to those trashy 70ies movies. But with all that reference in mind they still had fresh ideas like "From Dusk Till Dawn". Nowadays they pay respect to those crappy zombie/killer movies no one wanted to watch in the 70ies and 80ies. And believe me, there are a lot of good ones no one has seen yet. But what's the use of paying respect to movies no one wanted to watch then? ...it seems they wanna watch it now and think it's fun... Go ahead and have fun! But i didn't laugh at any scene in any of those two features... The trailers were fun! They should have made movies like those instead!!!!! I hope the future holds a little more to come for both directors... Something with more... sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EstherN.Apr 7, 2007
Planet Terror was bang on. Go to see it for Planet Terror and the trailers. As to the enormous problem... Holy Crap did Tarantino's Death Proof suck. There was endless, witless, meaningless dialogue ad infinitum. I saw it with a group Planet Terror was bang on. Go to see it for Planet Terror and the trailers. As to the enormous problem... Holy Crap did Tarantino's Death Proof suck. There was endless, witless, meaningless dialogue ad infinitum. I saw it with a group of very bright, very funny people, and it nearly had the group of us screaming in frustration and fleeing to watch paint. Death Proof could be a successful 35 minute short. The man has no ideas. Anyone who praises his tedious writing in this film hates you, and wants you to die an unhappy death. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarrisonB.Apr 7, 2007
Two amazing films. hilarious fake trailers. what's not to love? great zombie gore, amazing tarantino dialogue. good good stuff. fun, funny, hot chicks. see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeApr 8, 2007
Not my types of movies.... But they were "ok" The trailers were the best part of both movies! Great stuff. Planet terror was a a little too silly, if they made it more serious I think it would of been better. Death proof: i have to say thatNot my types of movies.... But they were "ok" The trailers were the best part of both movies! Great stuff. Planet terror was a a little too silly, if they made it more serious I think it would of been better. Death proof: i have to say that the dialogue between the women, was intresting. I liked that part. Overall, a very different movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidB.Apr 8, 2007
Two mediocre movies for the price of one. Rodriguez already made a zombie/action homage movie: Dusk to Dawn. And Tarantino's contribution is a 15 minute car chase plus over an hour of chit-chatting women. T always does great chit-chat, Two mediocre movies for the price of one. Rodriguez already made a zombie/action homage movie: Dusk to Dawn. And Tarantino's contribution is a 15 minute car chase plus over an hour of chit-chatting women. T always does great chit-chat, but usually tells a good story too. Not this time. Neither movie would be credible by itself, and doubling them up doesn't make it better, just longer. For a better homage stay home and re-watch Sin City and Jackie Brown. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Apr 9, 2007
From now on, any filmmaker who's movie is cited by the MPAA for overt violent or sexual content, and is asked to pare down the offensive material to avoid the dreaded NC-17 rating, has the "I'm-not-as-evil-as-Eli Roth"-defense at From now on, any filmmaker who's movie is cited by the MPAA for overt violent or sexual content, and is asked to pare down the offensive material to avoid the dreaded NC-17 rating, has the "I'm-not-as-evil-as-Eli Roth"-defense at his/her(Mary Harron might need to use it one day) disposal. For all the shed blood and detachable body parts in Robert Rodriguez's "Planet Terror", give the filmmaker of "Sin City" some credit for knowing how far is too far. Roth needed to make "Death Proof", not Quentin Tarantino. The guy who made "Hostel"(as in hostile against women) has the dubious distinction of staging the worst object to go into a vagina since William Freidkin's "The Exorcist". Rodriguez understands that male genitalia mutilation is entertaining(once again, Bruce Willis + decontextualized balls = movie magic), female genitalia mutilation is just plain gross(and morally wrong). Tarantino's "Death Proof" is undeniably clever, maybe too clever; after all, the title is "Grindhouse", not "Deconstructing Grindhouse". "Death Proof" loses its unaplogetic old-school ethos of sexploitative misogyny in midstream, which will anger the purists who like their women half-naked and co-dependent, not properly attired and kicking ass. It's up to you if Tarantino is a revisionist, or an apologist of/for a genre(based on the trailers) that seems pretty hard on women. For most of "Grindhouse", I thought- "F*** it, this movie rocks!" But the trailer for "Thanksgiving" gave me pause; it's irresponsible and reprehensible. What the filmmaker depicts is the cruelest way imaginable to kill a woman...and it'll get laughs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenS.May 11, 2007
I'm disappointed in everyone who has insulted these movies. Most of the bad reviews, I've noticed, have come from people who DON'T GET IT. Planet Terror - Brilliant in every way and plays off every cliche in Grindhouse films I'm disappointed in everyone who has insulted these movies. Most of the bad reviews, I've noticed, have come from people who DON'T GET IT. Planet Terror - Brilliant in every way and plays off every cliche in Grindhouse films with an astoundingly ferocious brilliance. It's not a parody - it's a loving homage to the wonderful cult classic Grindhouse films of the past. Death Proof - Not only does Tarantino manage to create a genre all by his freaking self but he makes it seem like it too is a loving homage to the non-existant genre that he has created. The dialogue is his best work since Pulp Fiction. All in all, this was the most entertained I've ever been at a theatre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BoancMay 1, 2007
Jeez! Having to suffer thru that lame zombie movie was the worst. Very unoriginal gorefest, and mediocre in every way. Boring, boring, boring. Deathproof much better, but still not great. I knew I had made a mistake when I found myself to be Jeez! Having to suffer thru that lame zombie movie was the worst. Very unoriginal gorefest, and mediocre in every way. Boring, boring, boring. Deathproof much better, but still not great. I knew I had made a mistake when I found myself to be one of TWO people in the theater. But I doggedly persevered, thus piling on wasting my time to wasting my money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanE.May 20, 2007
This movie was so over-the top, nothing can prepare you for this movie but I loved every minute of it. I don't understand how people can say it was boring with all that they showed, zombies, blood and gore, awesome car chases. Rodriguez This movie was so over-the top, nothing can prepare you for this movie but I loved every minute of it. I don't understand how people can say it was boring with all that they showed, zombies, blood and gore, awesome car chases. Rodriguez and Tarantino have done it again and I hope they continue to work together in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ZekeC.Sep 17, 2007
This movie was alright but I was very disappointed. With the status of great cult movies like Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs and Kill Bill I expected this to be a new classic from a master film maker-instead what I saw was an hour and a half This movie was alright but I was very disappointed. With the status of great cult movies like Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs and Kill Bill I expected this to be a new classic from a master film maker-instead what I saw was an hour and a half of meaningless girl talk with two half exiting parts. I would say this is a rent and nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrankD.Sep 24, 2007
Have only seen "Death Proof,"but it far exceeded my expectations. I'm not not a die-hard Tarantino fan -- LOVE "Jackie Brown" and "Pulp Fiction," but dislike "Kill Bill." This one pays campy homage, but is a movie that also stands on Have only seen "Death Proof,"but it far exceeded my expectations. I'm not not a die-hard Tarantino fan -- LOVE "Jackie Brown" and "Pulp Fiction," but dislike "Kill Bill." This one pays campy homage, but is a movie that also stands on its own as great entertainment. the casting is perfect, and an AMAZING performance from Kurt Russell. Every element comes together to produce a winning (and winking) cinematic experience. BRAVO! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MojoPiNSep 28, 2007
It's a simple flick, and it's an all around good time. Nothing more to it than that but at the end of the day it's what counts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RaynaS.Jan 19, 2008
I don't like this movie,in fact i hate it!!!!! i dont see why the other users gave it 8,9 or 10?what is so fantastic about this movie?Zombie's eating flesh?!!!wow.that's really awesome!!! i personally gave it a 0 mark because I don't like this movie,in fact i hate it!!!!! i dont see why the other users gave it 8,9 or 10?what is so fantastic about this movie?Zombie's eating flesh?!!!wow.that's really awesome!!! i personally gave it a 0 mark because for me its a trash!!! ok,its a horror,but can't we have a decent horror movie?(yuck!!!)the acting,the dialogue etc!what is it the others comment?funny and great?it surely was!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LizzyS.Jan 19, 2008
Trash!!!its not worth my time,and my money! Completely useless!very indecent!full of exploitation,violence,not worth seeing, I'm sorry,but that's what i think of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HelenaIMar 14, 2008
I can only talk about 'death proof'. Forget the first story and enjoy the second.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeC.Mar 31, 2008
garbage, absolute rubbish. tarintino needs to go back to the drawing board and realise what was good about pulp fiction, jackie brown, resovoir dogs and the like was the fact that they were more than just mindless violence. hes trying to garbage, absolute rubbish. tarintino needs to go back to the drawing board and realise what was good about pulp fiction, jackie brown, resovoir dogs and the like was the fact that they were more than just mindless violence. hes trying to hard to be retro and harking bk to old horror flicks but failing miserably Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
thedudeApr 17, 2008
Great movie. You can watch it as it was shown in theatres (both movies together, with fake trailers) on Starz On Demand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TKJul 30, 2008
Great movies from 2 great directors, Rodriguez and Tarantino have their own, imo cool styles in story. Good actors, and a film thats actually senseless, but still so cool to watch. and the cars in death proof are like dreams of my sleepless Great movies from 2 great directors, Rodriguez and Tarantino have their own, imo cool styles in story. Good actors, and a film thats actually senseless, but still so cool to watch. and the cars in death proof are like dreams of my sleepless nights. Actors are great, too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
FrancoisL.Nov 12, 2007
Both movie lacks pretty much everything except it has its moments...Planet Terror had about 2 funny moments and the rest of the movie was a pointless massacre, no story and quite boring. As far as Deathproof goes, the famous car chase was Both movie lacks pretty much everything except it has its moments...Planet Terror had about 2 funny moments and the rest of the movie was a pointless massacre, no story and quite boring. As far as Deathproof goes, the famous car chase was pretty awesome, other than that it had its moments but the dialogues are really long. Even though the actors are really good in both movies, Planet Terror is still horrible while Deathproof is somewhat very good except for some long dialogues. Anyway, I do not recommend Planet Terror to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HumbertoBNov 14, 2007
I was recently watching an interview with Tarantino where he compared his dialogue with Shakespeare. Is that some kind of sick joke? There's Twelfth Night and then there's four girls screaming "I'M A KICK ASS BLACK CHICK! I was recently watching an interview with Tarantino where he compared his dialogue with Shakespeare. Is that some kind of sick joke? There's Twelfth Night and then there's four girls screaming "I'M A KICK ASS BLACK CHICK! WHOOOOO!" the entire film and a stoned Eli Roth in the background chuckling at the dialogue he probably wrote and Tarantino stole. Tarantino and Rodriguez think that by using a camera more expensive than all of Hal Hartley's movies combined they can hide their Nashville-playground hillbilly dialogue but they can't. But they've shown us one thing they can do, pay off the critics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlecB.Nov 21, 2007
OK first off the 8 points are towards Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror movie because that was the only movie that was entertaining and funny...Death proof just plain out freakn sucked. To long and no voilence untill the very end.. If OK first off the 8 points are towards Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror movie because that was the only movie that was entertaining and funny...Death proof just plain out freakn sucked. To long and no voilence untill the very end.. If anything go rent Planet Terror its a fun movie for a saturday night you wont be dissapointed.. but dont rent Death proof b/c youll fall asleep 40 minutes into the movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
UncleDougBigelowNov 9, 2007
Trash. Both of them. I'm so sick of Tarantino and all of his overrated/shallow "films". Rodriguez is starting to piss me off too. Anything's better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BradROct 21, 2007
Death Proof was Awful. The only saving grace was the action scenes of which there were two, Kurt Russell lines were genius. The second half of the movie is what killed it. The movie goes on forever with a group of girls talking about nothing Death Proof was Awful. The only saving grace was the action scenes of which there were two, Kurt Russell lines were genius. The second half of the movie is what killed it. The movie goes on forever with a group of girls talking about nothing interesting the whole time I was waiting for kurt russel to kill all of them. Tracie Thomas' character was extremely annoying. It was a blatant attempt to recreate a female version samuel jackson from pulp fiction, and it failed horribly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JBDec 24, 2007
Plain out genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SomeGuyDec 26, 2007
Unlike most Australians, I got to see the full Grindhouse double feature in a special screening. My question is, why didn't the Weinsteins just release the film as it was intended, when it was intended (April 30)? The cinema was packed Unlike most Australians, I got to see the full Grindhouse double feature in a special screening. My question is, why didn't the Weinsteins just release the film as it was intended, when it was intended (April 30)? The cinema was packed on the second last day of screening so clearly I'm not the only person who wanted to see this film. Personally, I loved the double feature, I thought it was just pure fun and a great night out. Planet Terror was the best part of the package, a ridiculously fun, over-the-top action film with a decent plot and a wonderfully realised visual style. Cherry was a great character too, I just wanted to reach out and give her a hug. The fake trailers were fantastic, they set the mood perfectly and had me in stitches (though the Werewolf Women one was a bit too random). Death Proof was pretty much a sucky film with a couple of good lines. Sure, it was a tribute to a time period where many films were 3/4 talking and 1/4 action, but the film didn't look degraded like PT (it was mostly shown in perfect picture quality) which killed the feeling of watching a film from the 70s (which was really the only thing that could have saved it). It's like Tarantino half-assed the visual style and half-assed the film (and I am a big Tarantino fan), whereas Rodriguez nailed the visual style while making a tight film that I think could be enjoyed on it's own. I feel sorry for fellow Aussies like Douglas B who only got to see DP on it's own, that must have sucked. It's not so bad when watched as part of the package, but without PT and the fake trailers it just seems like a boring load of nothing. If the Weinsteins wanted to make money back on this film, why did they wait until all the hype had died down, and then release only the worst part of the feature seemingly out of nowhere? Yeah, that'll bring people to the cinema in droves! If they weren't going to release the double feature, they should have at least shown the seperate films (BOTH of them, not just DP) in June or July while everyone was still talking about them and hyped up for them. And I bet Planet Terror would have made way more money than Death Proof, yet it's not scheduled to be be released here at all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenH.Apr 11, 2007
Tarantino and Rodriguez do a fantastic job of recreating a genre that many of us weren't a part of. Rodriguez puts together a blast of a movie which is ridiculous but knows it is, and it succeeds in being the most entertaining zombie Tarantino and Rodriguez do a fantastic job of recreating a genre that many of us weren't a part of. Rodriguez puts together a blast of a movie which is ridiculous but knows it is, and it succeeds in being the most entertaining zombie movie I've ever seen. Tarantino plays it a bit safer by sticking to his tried and true formula by having catchy dialogue and developing great characters. You care when bad things happen to the girls, and you laugh heartily when Stuntman Mike turns into a whiny child by a mere flesh wound. Eventhough Tarantino plays it safe, the movie was put over the top by the exhilirating car chases and a satisfying ending. Well done on both ends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyencokeApr 12, 2007
Planet Terror was cool, commercail were awesome. Death Proof was far the boring and fairly lame. Planet Terror was easily better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudyApr 13, 2007
I loved it!! At the end of each movie the audience clapped - I've never been in a movie where that has happened!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenR.Apr 14, 2007
Great fun! The directors take old ideas and make them seem new again. The two films are very different but equally bold and engrossing. The trailers are a blast! Some appreciation of the genre may make the film easier for some, but it is Great fun! The directors take old ideas and make them seem new again. The two films are very different but equally bold and engrossing. The trailers are a blast! Some appreciation of the genre may make the film easier for some, but it is really fantastic! Great job, R and Q!! S. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertApr 14, 2007
Great fun. The audience clapped loudly at the end of each movie. Rodriguez's is high energy over-the-top parody from beginning to end, and very funny. Tarantino cheats in his version and doesn't go for exploitive sleaze or Great fun. The audience clapped loudly at the end of each movie. Rodriguez's is high energy over-the-top parody from beginning to end, and very funny. Tarantino cheats in his version and doesn't go for exploitive sleaze or parody... he just does what interests him. The first half slows down the pace considerably and the characters are not as interesting as Tarantino seems to think, nor is self-parody Kurt Russell. The second half of Death Proof is better with a better cast and a great car chase/ homage. The fake trailers are hilarious. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndyApr 15, 2007
The most fun I've had at a theater in a few years and the first 10 I'll give to a movie in that many as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregoryC.Apr 15, 2007
This was a great double feature film with enjoyable action and very, very funny moments. Planet terror is definetley more enjoyable to watch as it shows more action and heads blowing up. Also fans of the fake movie trailers will be thrilled This was a great double feature film with enjoyable action and very, very funny moments. Planet terror is definetley more enjoyable to watch as it shows more action and heads blowing up. Also fans of the fake movie trailers will be thrilled to know that Robert Rodriguez has decided to make a real movie Machete because of the positive feedback from fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelR.Apr 16, 2007
The film Grindhouse was a fun and exiting movie to go to the theater and waste my money on. It gives the B movies of the 70's drive- in's a drop kick by making the characters enjoyable and the scenes ridiculously houmorous. "Death The film Grindhouse was a fun and exiting movie to go to the theater and waste my money on. It gives the B movies of the 70's drive- in's a drop kick by making the characters enjoyable and the scenes ridiculously houmorous. "Death Proof" was done very well with an action packed car chase, and other automobile terror. Most of the second movie's credit should go to Kurt Russel's bone chilling acting, for I felt all the heavy dialogue dictated by the rest of the cast was a bit annoying. I thought the first feature, "Planet Terror", was more exiting than " Death Proof ", simply because of it's extreme carnage, and cool looking cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonP.Apr 18, 2007
Planet Terror: A+ ||| Trailers: A+ ||| Death Proof: B+ You really have to be a fan of the 70/80's horror genre to enjoy this film. For those who take movies too seriously and don't let themselves enjoy mindless gore and violence, Planet Terror: A+ ||| Trailers: A+ ||| Death Proof: B+ You really have to be a fan of the 70/80's horror genre to enjoy this film. For those who take movies too seriously and don't let themselves enjoy mindless gore and violence, this film is not for you. I've always been a huge fan of zombie movies, good and bad, and Rodriguez's Planet Terror was perfection! Easily the best zombie movie I've ever seen. Not only did it have all the right elements of the genre, but it added better characters, humor, and violence than any other zombie movie out there. Tarentino's Death Proof cast did a poor job with the dialogue. The girls couldn't make the dialogue entertaining like Tarantino's previous casts from films like Pulp Fiction and Resevoir Dogs. The car chase scene at the end was brillliant and made waiting through all the dullness worth it. The big plus of this movie was Kurt Russel's acting. I now know that Russel still has the ability to play the badass in films, which I was highly doubting since his last roles in Sky High and Miracle proved otherwise. This is Russel's best role since Jack Burton from Big Trouble in Little China! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamM.Apr 22, 2007
Not much to add that hasn't been said before - the fake trailers were brilliant. Planet Terror is the superior film - Rodgriguez has become the superior technical filmmaker. He still doesn't have the flair for dialogue that Not much to add that hasn't been said before - the fake trailers were brilliant. Planet Terror is the superior film - Rodgriguez has become the superior technical filmmaker. He still doesn't have the flair for dialogue that Tarantino has, but... Then comes Death Proof which we've taken to calling "Quentin makes up chicks who talk and act exactly the way his dream woman would be." Tarantino's flair for dialogue was an obvious crutch for this film. I got the distinct feeling that he wasn't all that interested in his half of the movie beyond outlining "hot chicks...Stuntman...Car Chases...reference car films that are not 'The French Connection' to show knowledge of the genre..." The Weinstein Brothers need to reel Quentin instead of letting him be this self-indulgent brat. He has good ideas, but much like "Kill Bill 1 & 2," he has developed a nasty habit of trying to cram a 100-minute story into 200 minutes... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexH.Apr 22, 2007
It's a shame to me that more people aren't checking this movie out. Sure it's long and yeah I can see how some people may tire of the lady dialogue in tarantinos flick but these guys had balls to make this and it ends up being It's a shame to me that more people aren't checking this movie out. Sure it's long and yeah I can see how some people may tire of the lady dialogue in tarantinos flick but these guys had balls to make this and it ends up being a real unique movie experience. Pros: originality, death proof 's score, planet terrors characters, mock previews, Kurt Russell, awesome car chases Cons: tarentino's acting, cinematography, some of the actresses in death proof weren't interesting enough for me sans Dawson, but overall it's a great movie experience and I bet it'll be a cult classic. See it in the theaters while you can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisKApr 23, 2007
Unbelievably fun. Very, very, very worth the 3+ hours and price of admission. I never wanted it to end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MrPugApr 27, 2007
Tarantino will have to come up with something new for his next film as his pretty much dried out the whole retro old film fad. Some of the dialogue for this film was awful.. it was as if tarantino and his buddies were sitting around the Tarantino will have to come up with something new for his next film as his pretty much dried out the whole retro old film fad. Some of the dialogue for this film was awful.. it was as if tarantino and his buddies were sitting around the table getting high and thinking..wouldn't this be cool .. lets do this.. take these wacky ideas and make it into a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenWMay 11, 2007
People who give this a bad review are really missing the point. Anyone who's seen the films this is spoofing should love this. Both sections are pure gold.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ATRISKTEENMay 31, 2007
Purely indulgent junk, sounding the death knell on two once-promising filmmakers now becoming smug, self-parodic shells of their former selves. Tarantino has become embalmed in his alleged cool cache & his dialogue gets more interminably Purely indulgent junk, sounding the death knell on two once-promising filmmakers now becoming smug, self-parodic shells of their former selves. Tarantino has become embalmed in his alleged cool cache & his dialogue gets more interminably precious with each new film. Worthless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NopieT.Sep 27, 2007
Seems like Tarantino really polarizes audiences. I've loved all of Tarantino's previous movies but lots of my friends dislike them all intensely. "Death Proof" is probably my least favorite Tarantino film but, for me, it's Seems like Tarantino really polarizes audiences. I've loved all of Tarantino's previous movies but lots of my friends dislike them all intensely. "Death Proof" is probably my least favorite Tarantino film but, for me, it's still a lot more fun than most of the product out there. Kurt Russell was truly excellent, and watching Zoe Bell really do all those stunts was cool. The film reminded me very much of "Faster Pussycat, Kill! Kill!" but with big butts rather than big boobs. As Robert Forster said in "Jackie Brown", "Ain't nothing wrong with that." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RandyM.Jun 28, 2008
A fascinating homage to exploitation movies. "Death Proof" was particularly fun to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
A.NonymousNov 15, 2007
I've only seen Deathproof, but it pains me to see that so many delusional people never understood Grindhouse. It's a homage to Grindhouse movies, and as such it is shot in that deliberate style. Deathproof may not be the most I've only seen Deathproof, but it pains me to see that so many delusional people never understood Grindhouse. It's a homage to Grindhouse movies, and as such it is shot in that deliberate style. Deathproof may not be the most action-packed, fast-paced race-em-up this side of NASCAR, but it's an enjoyably slow ride. The characters develop, the villain degrades and the tension builds until it explodes into a car chase. Intensely atmosphere, incredibly brilliant. It's nice to know that atleast some directors like Tarantino and Rodriguez have the balls to swim upwater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeoffB.Nov 15, 2007
The extended version is worth seeing, with the development and conversatinal payoffs that the theatrical realease lacked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
okejohn1Aug 13, 2010
Ok I've never seen these movies, but I saw that it says that Grindhouse was directed by Edgar Wright, which isn't true. It was obviously directed by Rodriguez and Tarantino. Fix this Metacritic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Sep 3, 2010
Death Proof - Quentin Tarantino pays homage to 70's B Movies.
Great dialogue as you would expect from QT & Kurt Russell is superb as Stuntman Mike. The car chases & stunts are top notch but the whole thing just seems a bit pointless. Oh &
Death Proof - Quentin Tarantino pays homage to 70's B Movies.
Great dialogue as you would expect from QT & Kurt Russell is superb as Stuntman Mike. The car chases & stunts are top notch but the whole thing just seems a bit pointless. Oh & Vanessa Ferlito, wow!! Planet Terror - Robert Rodriguez's take on the B-Movie genre.
Plenty of cheesyness & over the top gore & also very watchable. Some genuine laugh out loud moments in it.Much better than Death Proof in my opinion.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BIGREESESep 4, 2010
oh my god... it is so crazy and funny and gory and all at the same time, keeping cool and witty. Tarentino and Rodrigez... bravo jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
9
liptapFeb 21, 2011
-Planet Terror: 5/5
-Death Proof: 4/5
In the UK, they were released separately, so Im going to review them separately. Planet Terror: one of the bloodiest & most action packed zombie movies ever. Really funny & gory. Full of guns, babes,
-Planet Terror: 5/5
-Death Proof: 4/5

In the UK, they were released separately, so Im going to review them separately. Planet Terror: one of the bloodiest & most action packed zombie movies ever. Really funny & gory. Full of guns, babes, zombies & gore... what more could you want? Death Proof: A murderer on the roads, the best of the kind since 'Joy Ride'. A fairly tense movie with plenty of excitement to keep you on the edge of your seat. Congrats to both Tarantino & Rodriguez, you made my life great again!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
AlexHoeferAug 22, 2011
No one asked for this. Why would we want to go back in time and make crap movies. And meta please remove Edgar Wrights name as director. He did a same fake trailer not these useless movies. You disgrace his name and the fine work he does byNo one asked for this. Why would we want to go back in time and make crap movies. And meta please remove Edgar Wrights name as director. He did a same fake trailer not these useless movies. You disgrace his name and the fine work he does by attaching him to this trash. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tom1980ukNov 1, 2010
Planet terror was everything i expected it to be which was a cheasy, fun zombie romp, but death proof which i didnt think was terrible was let down by too much boring dialogue between the central female charachters, kurt russell was very goodPlanet terror was everything i expected it to be which was a cheasy, fun zombie romp, but death proof which i didnt think was terrible was let down by too much boring dialogue between the central female charachters, kurt russell was very good though, and the way the tables are turned near the end almost makes up for all the boring stuff! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RogerSmith97Apr 7, 2011
Review On Grindhouse Planet Terror-

Rose McGowan Does A Great Job In This Segment, As Well As The Whole Cast... Never A Dull Moment.. Although Once In A While It Seemed Like To Much Gore But That's Ok.. If I Just Had To Score The Planet
Review On Grindhouse Planet Terror-

Rose McGowan Does A Great Job In This Segment, As Well As The Whole Cast... Never A Dull Moment.. Although Once In A While It Seemed Like To Much Gore But That's Ok.. If I Just Had To Score The Planet Terror Segment It Would Be A 10.. But Overall That Is NOT Going To Happen.

Review On Grindhouse Death Proof-
Almost All The Way Through.. This Movie Seemed Unoriginal And Boring.. There Are Thrills But Not Much.. The Cast Is Ok... The Story Line Seemed To Expanded.... Almost Everything Was Bad About This Segment.. If I Just Had To Score Death Proof It Would Be A 3..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
wordfuryMay 21, 2017
A staggering bore. Two puerile, overpraised filmmakers engaging in the worst kind of cinematic masturbatory exercise and all for nothing. Tarantino's contribution in particular contains all his worst qualities. In particular, his much vauntedA staggering bore. Two puerile, overpraised filmmakers engaging in the worst kind of cinematic masturbatory exercise and all for nothing. Tarantino's contribution in particular contains all his worst qualities. In particular, his much vaunted dialogue which is, in actuality, tedious, meaningless and self-indulgent. Don't waste your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
drlowdonMay 25, 2013
As of yet I haven't seen Planet Terror so can't comment as to its quality. As for Death Proof, it features the usual entertaining dialogue, stunts and bursts of violence you'd expect from a Tarantino movie but just lacks the flair that madeAs of yet I haven't seen Planet Terror so can't comment as to its quality. As for Death Proof, it features the usual entertaining dialogue, stunts and bursts of violence you'd expect from a Tarantino movie but just lacks the flair that made films like Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill into cult classics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mcc123May 18, 2012
Death proof is a very well-paced film with some quite amazing action sequences, and has a very satisfying ending of female empowerment. Planet terror on the other hand is just plain bloody, disguisting, and gory fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DravenatorLivesAug 30, 2011
Brilliant. That's all I can say about this beautiful collage of gore, guns, and girls. Grindhouse is a brutally violent double feature that plays like one of the old school double feature exploitation films. The first half, Planet Terror isBrilliant. That's all I can say about this beautiful collage of gore, guns, and girls. Grindhouse is a brutally violent double feature that plays like one of the old school double feature exploitation films. The first half, Planet Terror is an old school zombie movie. Directed, written, edited, and (surprise) composed by Robert Rodriguez, it's a definite recommendation. In between the first and second half are fake trailers (two of which, Machete and Hobo with a Shotgun, have been turned into real movies which I saw and loved.). After that segment and a few other things (I think one of them is Let's All Go To The Lobby), we dive into Tarantino's segment, Death Proof. Death Proof is a joyride, in true Tarantino style, and it's basically a slasher movie...with cars. Yes, it's as awesome as it sounds. Anyway, I'm running out of room so, WATCH THIS **** MOVIE! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
SpunkyMonkeyNov 26, 2012
1 great film, 1 pretty good one. Planet Terror is just awesome - an absolute masterclass in B-film making! It simply takes all the things which we love about those movies and throws them all into one cheesy, gore-laden flick. End of. Death1 great film, 1 pretty good one. Planet Terror is just awesome - an absolute masterclass in B-film making! It simply takes all the things which we love about those movies and throws them all into one cheesy, gore-laden flick. End of. Death Proof is good, but can drag at times with a bit too much dialogue in some scenes and a slightly stretched finale. Kurt Russell plays the charming, yet dark stuntman, absolutely superbly though and adds some real quality moments to it. Worth buying for Planet Terror alone, but Death Proof makes a nice bonus film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
So far I have seen only "Planet Terror" for this movie, but its just bloody and gruesome. What is the point of remaking a 80's exploitation film? I definitely gave up watching "Death Proof" after the end of the film. I just can't.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
corkbornDec 1, 2011
How in Holy hell is this at 7.4???
Watched Death Proof. Women talking for the vast majority of the film with the single dumbest **** ending ever.
Anyone that says this is good would gladly get on their knees and let Tarantino spunk in their
How in Holy hell is this at 7.4???
Watched Death Proof. Women talking for the vast majority of the film with the single dumbest **** ending ever.
Anyone that says this is good would gladly get on their knees and let Tarantino spunk in their mouth.
**** hell...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobFeb 10, 2013
Planet Terror was ok, I give it a 5. Ending was poor and I hated how it skipped a huge sequence near the end of the film (they arrive at the bar and then it skips to it being being set on fire after a huge fight). Still entertaining, AlthoughPlanet Terror was ok, I give it a 5. Ending was poor and I hated how it skipped a huge sequence near the end of the film (they arrive at the bar and then it skips to it being being set on fire after a huge fight). Still entertaining, Although in a stupid sort of way. I liked Death Proof but it was too long imo, It could have been a lot shorter. Also, The ending absolutely ruined the film imo, It was terrible and was a huge slap to the face after sitting through the near 2 hour run time. Overall, I went into it with no expectations so I wasn't greatly disapointed but I was disapointed none the less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AlvaradoKTAJun 21, 2012
This film proves Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez are in need of a therapist , which one should realize means nothing bad about this exploitation film jewel. Both movie in this feature are worth watching if you like violence and girls.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeMar 7, 2016
Death Proof: It may not be Tarantino's finest piece of work - but it is one hell of a ride once it picks up speed. The first act requires patience, but fully prepares you for the brilliant second sequence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
potatoes351Mar 16, 2013
Drugs, sex and a hell of a lot of violence, what else do you need in a film? A story would have gone amiss though. Grindhouse is a modern day...Grindhouse film, it brings together the amazing writing skills of Trantino and the not veryDrugs, sex and a hell of a lot of violence, what else do you need in a film? A story would have gone amiss though. Grindhouse is a modern day...Grindhouse film, it brings together the amazing writing skills of Trantino and the not very talented at anything Rodriguez to make two films and put them in the same box.
Planet Terror, directed by Rodriguez, is the more violent of the two films. It is a family friendly horror film that you can sit down, watch, then forget about in 10 minutes because there was no plot, bad actors and some pretty special effects...but then again it wouldn't be Grindhouse if it didn't have these attributes. Very fun if you are drunk, a bit of a bore if you aren't.
Deathproof is Tarantino's baby. Now you will only like Deathproof if you like Tarantino, take that as a warning. The film is already about 50 minutes in before anything exciting happens and then there is only one other action sequence after that, but it does provide some very good quotes for you and your buddies to bust out, just like Pulp Fiction did (lets face it, who doesn't quote Pulp Fiction).
Personally I prefer Deathproof, but that's because I like Tarantino and I dont like Rodriguez. But both films are worth it for a reasonable price, nothing over £10 for the Blu-Ray though.
P.S: Deathproof is also better because of Mary Elizabeth Winstead wearing a cheerleader costume...dat body
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Directed and Written spectaculary, Grindhouse is on all levels one of the best horror films ever not because of its pleasing terror and gorey sickening violence but because of its set-up as an old cinematic horror setting in which movieDirected and Written spectaculary, Grindhouse is on all levels one of the best horror films ever not because of its pleasing terror and gorey sickening violence but because of its set-up as an old cinematic horror setting in which movie trailers were provided making the plot so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MeritCobaSep 29, 2015
If Planet Terror had been cut back to the length of the preceding Machete trailer with only the high lights left in, it might have amused as yet another fake trailer, but with a running time of two hours this one is unfortunately meant asIf Planet Terror had been cut back to the length of the preceding Machete trailer with only the high lights left in, it might have amused as yet another fake trailer, but with a running time of two hours this one is unfortunately meant as full length Grindhouse imitation.

The movie is basically a string of 'cool' scenes connected by the flimsiest of plots and filled with equally flimsy characters.This might have all been in reference to the Grindhouse movies as known in the United States, but fortunately for my country we were spared the second rate flicks as they never crossed the ocean and thus the reference is meaningless to me and I assume also to those too young to recall the good old days when these rubbish exploits kept people entertained..

Not only is it meaningless to a sizable portion of the worlds population, but Grindhouse features are something you really do not want to get to understand as these movies were bad for a reason and it begs the question why you want to reference bad motion pictures by making another movie that is exactly the same, that is: as equally bad.

Now I will go as far as to say that there is some difference, like the actors in Planet Terror are somewhat better no doubt and some of the camera handling seems better, but it is all marvelous ruined by the lack of essential things that makes for a captivating movie: a well written story, interesting characters and strong dialogues.

This movie has enough stamina for a trailer, a lengthy one perhaps, but something more makes it a boring grind and one we can thank Rodriguez and Tarantino to have burdened the world with. Thanks guys!.

Please go and watch Zombieland or Shaun of the Dead instead.

(I am perfectly aware Planet Terror only covers about half the Grindhouse feature.Metacritic hasn't got it as a separate entry.)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThegodfathersonMar 27, 2014
I bought Grindhouse, and I thanked myself for it. Grindhouse is a true 80's exploitation film, both packing humor and gore in a 4 hour package. PLANET TERROR: 8/10- There is no doubt that Rodriguez's kick ass film Planet Terror is awesome.I bought Grindhouse, and I thanked myself for it. Grindhouse is a true 80's exploitation film, both packing humor and gore in a 4 hour package. PLANET TERROR: 8/10- There is no doubt that Rodriguez's kick ass film Planet Terror is awesome. Rose McGowan is awesome, her acting is a blend of terror and mischief, while other A listers, which include- Josh Brolin, Bruce Willis and Tarantino himself are pretty good as well. Planet Terror is a 2 hour film- which is pretty long for something that is like a SNL sketch, the comic timing was funny and the gore was over the top. Seems like Rodriguez watched a lot of B movies lately. Undoubtedly, Planet Terror is a slow but a crazy, fun, over the top and sexy ride that can be enjoyed by a lot of action junkies. DEATH PROOF: 6/10- The second entry is by Quentin Tarantino. Surprised? Well, I sure was when I heard Death Proof was included in the package. But Death Proof is not the type of movie that looks like it has been made by Tarantino. I mean, that guy made Pulp Fiction! A grand tour de force of filmmaking! What happened here?!! Kurt Russell CAN ACT. And in Death Proof, his acting is top notch, and so is Zoe Bell and Rosario Dawson. But the dialogue- well, I kinda hate myself to say this but, it's very long and boring. I love Tarantino's dialogues- they make the movie even better. But here it's a different case. Car chases are pretty impressive and the songs are good too. But the cheap writing and story don't help and add misery to your experience. Overall, Death Proof is a one time watch by any means and not a great entry in Grindhouse. Well, Grindhouse is very fun and cheesy. This most fun you will have at the movies. Oh, and the fake trailers are super funny. :) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
nippu33May 15, 2013
Tribute to zombie movies a nifty produced by Robert Rodriguez, but gets to be a bit weird and super disgusting, yet guarantees fun with ridiculously bizarre scenes funnier. good movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysDec 31, 2013
Grindhouse is a trip down memory lane for the 70's and 80's moviegoers. The great thing is that both movies could stand alone. Planet Terror is okay, but Tarantino's Death Proof takes the cake. Planet Terror is more pulpy while Death Proof isGrindhouse is a trip down memory lane for the 70's and 80's moviegoers. The great thing is that both movies could stand alone. Planet Terror is okay, but Tarantino's Death Proof takes the cake. Planet Terror is more pulpy while Death Proof is more gory. Definitely not Tarantino's best movie (and in that right, it's probably his least best), but still fun to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksJan 22, 2014
Two excellent films shown back to back. The better being Tarantino's 'Death Proof' as he proves Kurt Russell still has the chops. Rodriguez's 'Planet Terror' gives Rose McGowan the starring role she's always deserved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwJul 15, 2016
My least favourite Tarantino film by a mile but still solid and great fun. I seriously hope he abandons his wish to only do two more films (after his recent 'The Hateful Eight') and then retire, but chacun son gout, as the French would say,My least favourite Tarantino film by a mile but still solid and great fun. I seriously hope he abandons his wish to only do two more films (after his recent 'The Hateful Eight') and then retire, but chacun son gout, as the French would say, and everyone should be able to do whatever they want as long as they don't hurt anyone else, right? And if anyone of recent vintage (the past 25 years) deserves that, it's Tarantino, I suppose, but still, I hope he's lying. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMay 16, 2014
one of the bad ass director Rodriguez and Tarentino Present their films Planet terror and death proof into grind house . so far Robert Rodriguez has done it again made one of the grusesome , thrilling , epic zombie film i have ever seen ".one of the bad ass director Rodriguez and Tarentino Present their films Planet terror and death proof into grind house . so far Robert Rodriguez has done it again made one of the grusesome , thrilling , epic zombie film i have ever seen ". He did it again with Machete and Sin City . Grade A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
I liked Rodriguez' film more than Tarantino's at first. But a few hours later I feel like I under appreciated Death Proof, just because it didn't continue the "campyness" of Planet Terror, but it is a really cool and different kind ofI liked Rodriguez' film more than Tarantino's at first. But a few hours later I feel like I under appreciated Death Proof, just because it didn't continue the "campyness" of Planet Terror, but it is a really cool and different kind of Tarantino film. The most innovative film to come to major theatres in probably over a year. 9/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheArchetypesSep 9, 2016
At first I preferred Planet Terror to Death Proof, but a few hours later I felt as if I under appreciated Death Proof just because it didn't continue the "campyness" of Planet Terror, but it is a really cool and different kind of TarantinoAt first I preferred Planet Terror to Death Proof, but a few hours later I felt as if I under appreciated Death Proof just because it didn't continue the "campyness" of Planet Terror, but it is a really cool and different kind of Tarantino film. The most innovative film to come to major theatres in probably over a year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews