Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: April 6, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 506 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
408
Mixed:
45
Negative:
53
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AmericaF.Apr 1, 2007
One of the most unique, groundbreaking, disturbing, and ultimately unforgettable films of the year. It is offensive, unpredictable and unbelievably entertaining. I loved it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KennethP.Apr 7, 2007
By the end of Death Proof, the copacity audience I witnessed this with raised a rather large applaud, and rightfully so at 2:30am on the Friday opening night. See this like many midnight movies were meant to be seen... drunk, stoned, and By the end of Death Proof, the copacity audience I witnessed this with raised a rather large applaud, and rightfully so at 2:30am on the Friday opening night. See this like many midnight movies were meant to be seen... drunk, stoned, and with all your best guy friends. [ed m.d.: I think I will!] Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlanS.Oct 15, 2007
Loved the double feature!!!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MorganG.Oct 9, 2007
Overall, it's a fantastically brilliant film. I'd say Death Proof was rubbish, but it really wasn't. It was okay. It just seems rubbish right after watching the brilliance of Planet Terror. If they'd have put Deaht Proof Overall, it's a fantastically brilliant film. I'd say Death Proof was rubbish, but it really wasn't. It was okay. It just seems rubbish right after watching the brilliance of Planet Terror. If they'd have put Deaht Proof first, then Planet Terror, it would have been loads better. It's still the best film ever made though. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BobC.Apr 6, 2007
The most fun I've had at the movies in years.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
HeyWould'JaApr 7, 2007
I love exploitation films, so I was expecting this one to be right up my alley, and boy did it deliver. The fake trailers were worth the price of admission alone, and both of the features were filled with cheesy goodness. "Planet Terror" is I love exploitation films, so I was expecting this one to be right up my alley, and boy did it deliver. The fake trailers were worth the price of admission alone, and both of the features were filled with cheesy goodness. "Planet Terror" is a classic B-movie zombie flick, with blood splattered over almost every frame. Sometimes movies try to be campy and fail, but Rodriguez managed to make the most (intentionally) funny horror film since Shaun of the Dead. The cheesy soundtrack and dramatic pauses were especially great. After "Planet Terror" and the trailers, the slow windup for Tarantino's "Death Proof" had me worried that he was taking himself too seriously. By the time the final chase sequence started, though, it all came together. Without giving too much away, Kurt Russell's performance near the end of the film was hilarious. In the theater I watched it in, the crowd broke out into applause after the freeze frame ending. I'm sure Grindhouse won't be showing up on many "10 Best" lists at the end of the year, but it's by far the most entertaining film I've seen so far this year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LelandM.Apr 7, 2007
Best movie experience I have ever had in a theater... pure entertainment...
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KobeeH.Apr 8, 2007
Genius in it's exectuion is the only way I can begin to describe Grindhouse. This is pure "I don't give a f**k, I love these kind of movies so I'm making it"directing. Robert Rodriguez nails it with Planet Terror. This is Genius in it's exectuion is the only way I can begin to describe Grindhouse. This is pure "I don't give a f**k, I love these kind of movies so I'm making it"directing. Robert Rodriguez nails it with Planet Terror. This is complete love of those old sex-filled, over the top viloence pictures of the past. You laugh so many times cuz there's so many chessy or just rediculous moments. But you accept it because it's not meant to be taken seriously and it's OK. Plus, with all the dirt and grit on the film reel. The pops of audio. It seems like the film is hanging on by a thread in the projector, even though it's just an illusion, which makes it even more awesome. Now Quentin Tarantino's Death Proof is catching so much s**t for being slower and without the instant gratification that sooooo many moviegoers NEED. You HAVE to give credit for the brilliant dialogue(especially for the females). It's engaging and interesting simply because it's exactly how girls talk when they're together. Plus Zoe Bell just kicks ass. The visibly FAST car chase scenes are another note. As are the amazing crashes and violence. Everything felt so much more dangerous, menacing and dripping with adrenaline without the CGI enhancements. Plus the ending is right on point. The fake trailers before and inbetween the films are so damn awesome with so many quotable lines. The directors are having a helluva lot of fun and it comes through. Go see Grindhouse for just ALOT of fun and an experience that won't disappoint. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PG.May 2, 2007
This was the most entertaining 3 hours ever spent in a movie theatre. Finally someone is making movies and having some fun! Freddy R. is awesome in it and he should get more lead roles. Go see it if you enjoy something funny and bad-azz.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GabeG.Jul 4, 2007
This is by far the greatest movie experience imaginable. If you didn't have a chance to view it in theatres at least watch it on dvd with the lights low and try to mimic the theatre experience, this is the only way to even coming close This is by far the greatest movie experience imaginable. If you didn't have a chance to view it in theatres at least watch it on dvd with the lights low and try to mimic the theatre experience, this is the only way to even coming close to getting the experience that those who watched in theatres got. I warn you to brace yourself for the greatest cinematic adventure fathomable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DannyOct 11, 2007
Deathproof flipped my mind i absolutely loved it, a great, for the most part understated flick apart from the couple of 'grindhouse' moments. Planet Terror on the other hand was such a snooze. and friends disagree with me but there Deathproof flipped my mind i absolutely loved it, a great, for the most part understated flick apart from the couple of 'grindhouse' moments. Planet Terror on the other hand was such a snooze. and friends disagree with me but there was nothing inspiring about it at all, Tarantinos was sweaty, slow and poetic where Rodriguez was all done before in some other way, tongue-in-cheek zombie rubbish with jokes that go nowhere at all and sets that look hastily fabricated. Tarantino's started off terribly actually with the girls in the car but reveals itself as this wonderful twisted stoner piece of art that ends with a cheer! yay loved it! the 10 is for Quentin. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.Apr 21, 2007
Pastiche movies--films in which the makers attempt to communicate the themes of a past director or genre by trying to perfectly reproduce the style--aren't easy to do. Steven Soderbergh proved that last year with The Good German, a Pastiche movies--films in which the makers attempt to communicate the themes of a past director or genre by trying to perfectly reproduce the style--aren't easy to do. Steven Soderbergh proved that last year with The Good German, a smug, contempt-oozing repay of 1940s and 50s films noir that not only got many obvious details completely wrong but committed the unforgivable sin of reconstructing the finale of Casablanca for the purpose of sneering at it...and in doing so he made one of the absolute worst movies of this decade. However, this technique also brought us two of the decade's best and most thoroughly enjoyable films: Larry Blamire's incredibly endearing, note-perfect salute to/ parody of rock-bottom 1950s sci-fi horror, The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra, and Todd Haynes's passionately felt Far From Heaven, a brilliantly evoked variation on Douglas Sirk's Universal-International weepers that got me to watch Written on the Wind and imitation of Life all over again, even though I was never a big fan of either (and still am not). Well, Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino have brought us the decade's third total success of this type (or is it 3rd and 4th?) Perfectly rechanneling their formative moviegoing experiences in grindhouse theaters (decrepit moviehouses specializing in action/ horror/ exploitation double features in the 1960s and 70s), the two Miramax/ Dimension bad boys evoke a real sense of nostalgia for a moviegoing era I was fortunate enough to catch the tail end of; they actually make me miss theaters in which a few of the patrons didn't exactly make it all the way to the men's room! Rodriguez's Planet Terror recreates a low-grade zombie-attack flick while Tarantino's Death Proof fuses Russ Meyer's female-revenge saga Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill! with 1974's nonstop car crasher Gone in 60 Seconds (which, as Tarantino helpfully reminds us, is NOT to be confused with the abysmal Jerry Bruckheimer-produced remake). The ongoing debate has been whose movie works better: Rodriguez's or Tarantino's? The answer is "Yep". Rodriguez loves these movies both in spite of and because of their flaws; Tarantino just plain loves them. Rodriguez's fil is a wildly over the top, luridly gore-geysering horror opus (featuring an unforgettable Rose McGowan as a go-go dancer who leads our side in the battle against the mutant undead) whose crayon-drawn characterizations, limited sets, hilariously incomprehensible "scientific explanations" and even more hilariously prodigal use of raspberry syrup are as lovingly rendered as the scratches, hisses and pops that indicate that this flick has been shipped all over the country for far too long and is suffering serious battle fatigue. (The fact that Planet Terror looks a whole lot worse than Death Proof underscores an accurate observation about grindhouse double bills: Tarantino's is the newer film and the program's star attraction, while Rodriguez's is the shopworn oldie trotted into second-feature action for the umpeenth time. The dated "topical" reference in Rodriguez's film underscores this.) Those who have complained that Death Proof, the tale of psychotic Stuntman Mike (Kurt Russell, in arguably his best form ever) and his comeuppance at the hands and gas pedal feet of a group of stuntwomen he underestimated starts out far too talky miss the point on three counts: 1.) Tarantino loves dialogue as much as Joseph L. Manckiewicz and Billy Wilder, and typically provides us with reams of it; 2.) the films he's mirroring killed time before and between action sequences with tons of it too, only not one-twentieth as inspired; and 3.) this is a revenge film, and Tarantino gets us to truly love the first four funny, free-spirited chicks before...he gets us to accept and encourage any and all means taken against their tormentor. Death Proof will also be remembered for the coolest bar and grill ever put on film, and for the onscreen, starmaking debut of Zoe Bell, who was Uma Thurman's stuntwoman in the Kill Bill movies. What a shame that by definition that role didn't allow Bell to show her face onscreen, because here she shows astonishing screen presence and a killer smile. To make the grindhouse moviegoing experience complete (almost interactive, in fact) both "features" share a few of the same actors, at least one common character, a costume prop and the same cinematic in-joke (a missing reel that contains precisely the last scene that most audiences WANT to be missing) and are backed up with four brilliant trailers for fictional coming attractions. (Yes, I said four. Not three, four. Eli Roth's contribution, Thanksgiving, is already notorious for one of its visuals, but it stems from Roth's accurate observation that slasher movies are mostly inherently misogynistic. Don't attack the messenger.) UNLIKE many of the poorly-paced C-movies Grindhouse so adoringly salutes, there's not a dull or flat moment to be found anywhere. If 1962's Lawrence of Arabia's parching desert visuals caused moviegoers to break records in soda consumption, then Grindhouse may well have the opposite effect on concession sales, causing a downtick in drink purchases if viewers are smart. Simply put, in three hours-plus of running time, Rodriguez, Tarantino and friends don't provide you with a single, viable bathroom break! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonathanF.Apr 27, 2007
Hilarious. Crazy exciting. One of the best movie-going experiences I've had in years.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulK.Apr 6, 2007
I enjoyed Planet Terror, but Deathproof definitely ruled the school. The fake trailers were kinda weak in comparison. Go see this smokin' double feature, right now!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Apr 6, 2007
YES! THIS MOVIE FREAKIN ROCKS! I would say Death Proof was better, but I don't want to take anything away from Rodriguezs Planet Terror, because both of these movies are top of the line, GO SEE IT
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeonardoD.Apr 7, 2007
I take it as people ( Terry R.) who are against innovative ideas, and progressive choices within films, would not like this film. Some people would love to stay within the three act structure box, and stay mindless drones. Of course YOU I take it as people ( Terry R.) who are against innovative ideas, and progressive choices within films, would not like this film. Some people would love to stay within the three act structure box, and stay mindless drones. Of course YOU don't get it. You can tell that you have a vendetta against RR, and QT. Maybe because their innovativeness goes right over your head. If meatheads are the only ones that would enjoy this film than maybe they have it right and you don't. Learn to understand that movies don't have to be the same crap, and the reason that people like RR, QT is because they are different. The people with a low IQs and no imagination will never enjoy this film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GioRJApr 7, 2007
Outrageous, over-the-top fun. This is what going to the movies is all about. Rose McGowan is smoking hot as a zombie killing, one legged stripper with a machine gun for a prosthetic. Kurt Russell also shines as a stunt man who can only get Outrageous, over-the-top fun. This is what going to the movies is all about. Rose McGowan is smoking hot as a zombie killing, one legged stripper with a machine gun for a prosthetic. Kurt Russell also shines as a stunt man who can only get off when he rams his "Death Proof" stunt car into cars filled with sexy women. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MarquesH.Apr 7, 2007
I'm a fan of both directors! i like both equally for 2 reasons, pure fun and excitement. QT simply did what he is known for: Crazy Dialogue and unexpected endings. Only A quality actors are able to perform in such films as genius as I'm a fan of both directors! i like both equally for 2 reasons, pure fun and excitement. QT simply did what he is known for: Crazy Dialogue and unexpected endings. Only A quality actors are able to perform in such films as genius as Death Proof. Rodriquez is imaginitive, innovative, and versatile director. From Hostel to Spy Kids geez he has director chops. Go see this movie for fun and entertainment. There is nothing profound or discovitory. It is pure fun, enjoyment and you will laugh your tail off. QT in my opinion has not had a bad movie yet, not even mediocre. Give him his credit and chill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OliverC.Apr 8, 2007
Although Death Proof starts a bit slow, by the time it's done, it's clear who is the better director. Both movies are awesome, but planet terror is a bit too ridiculous while death proof has a good 45 minutes of pure joy. Although Death Proof starts a bit slow, by the time it's done, it's clear who is the better director. Both movies are awesome, but planet terror is a bit too ridiculous while death proof has a good 45 minutes of pure joy. Can't say i'm such a big fan of the trailers, but "the Machete" was the best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaloedB.Apr 8, 2007
Rodriguez wins for sticking to the form. The plot of Planet Terror is simultaneously ridiculous and thought provoking. Death proof cheats on the form and the dialouge scenes are spirals to nowhere. Somewhat like duel, the dialogue is just a Rodriguez wins for sticking to the form. The plot of Planet Terror is simultaneously ridiculous and thought provoking. Death proof cheats on the form and the dialouge scenes are spirals to nowhere. Somewhat like duel, the dialogue is just a set up for a car chase and kick ass revenge plot. Ultimately both films suceed in being bad, good, an homage, and transcendent of the source material. Great fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaileyR.Apr 8, 2007
If you don't have the mental capacity to watch a film without constant exploding brains and topless females, do yourself a favor and leave the theater before Death Proof. If you've progressed past the first grade, you're in If you don't have the mental capacity to watch a film without constant exploding brains and topless females, do yourself a favor and leave the theater before Death Proof. If you've progressed past the first grade, you're in for a hell of a ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeF.Apr 8, 2007
This movie is perfect at being what it is supposed to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyM.Apr 8, 2007
Let me start by simply saying this: Robert Rodriguez - 1; Quentin Tarantino - 0. "Planet Terror" may very well be the funniest film ever made. It is campy, gory, and ridiculous in the best possible way. Rodriguez has outdone himself, and Let me start by simply saying this: Robert Rodriguez - 1; Quentin Tarantino - 0. "Planet Terror" may very well be the funniest film ever made. It is campy, gory, and ridiculous in the best possible way. Rodriguez has outdone himself, and surprisingly, outdone Tarantino, and has taken another big step towards becoming a great filmaker after his masterful "Sin City." Thank you, Robert Rodriguez, for realizing that after a sexy go-go dancer gets her leg eaten off by zombies she can always attach a rocket launcher to her stump, and thanks for reminding us movies can be fun. (Note: how did she pull the trigger?) "Death Proof" is good - don't get me wrong - but just not as good as "Planet Terror." Quentin...who apparently is human (he makes mistakes!!?!?!?) takes his time, boring us with what seems to be hours of pointless, incessant chatter, trying desperately to make us care about characters with, seemingly, no personalities. Luckily Kurt Russell (badass - no one could have played this part better) saves this mess when he kills all the horrible characters Quentin was trying to introduce. Then it finally gets good. The next group of girls are great, the car chase is fantastic, and [spoiler deleted]. But Quentin spends too much time acting like he can entrance an audience who just watched "Planet Terror" with a bunch of boring dialogue just becuase he's "The Man" to outdo Rodriguez. My favorite part of the entire experience, though, were the fake trailers. "Machete" was great. Cheech: "God has mercy. I don't." That killed me. So the bottom line is.....both of these films are fantastic and this was the most fun i've had at the movies in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelV.Apr 9, 2007
It actually had a standing ovation in my hometown theatre. Wow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrenL.May 11, 2007
Just an outstanding movie experience. All of the fake trailers were very good, except for Rob Zombie's, which just wasn't up to par. The first film, Planet Terror is funny and entertaining, but Death Proof is just plain outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianS.May 13, 2007
My wife and I both loved this movie! To try to review this movie would be stupid. It' s just pure non-sensical fun, a throwback to when people did stunts and footage of one explosion was used multiple times to save money. Not like today My wife and I both loved this movie! To try to review this movie would be stupid. It' s just pure non-sensical fun, a throwback to when people did stunts and footage of one explosion was used multiple times to save money. Not like today where everything is computer animated. Go see it without expectations and an open mind - you'll like it alot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelM.May 8, 2007
This movie is so much fun to watch, it's gory, it's hilarious, it's plotless, it's brilliant. This is totally a guy's movie, the guy flick of the year, SO much better than 300. I thought the zombie movie was good but This movie is so much fun to watch, it's gory, it's hilarious, it's plotless, it's brilliant. This is totally a guy's movie, the guy flick of the year, SO much better than 300. I thought the zombie movie was good but Death Proof is awesome, Tarantino's film is hilarious. Really a collective effort that is just a lot of fun to watch. Walk in with an open mind, and you will love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelC.Jun 21, 2007
Wow once again, Tarantino and ... Rodriguez? did it. I hope they work together in the future. No need to rate this movie, I just hope it gets the positive criticism it deserves. Kick asphalt movie. Just see it and, relax (two movies in one) Wow once again, Tarantino and ... Rodriguez? did it. I hope they work together in the future. No need to rate this movie, I just hope it gets the positive criticism it deserves. Kick asphalt movie. Just see it and, relax (two movies in one) grab a snack, and enjoy some "original" b-movie movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShawnF.Sep 22, 2007
Best movie ever made ever its got gore, muscle cars and hot chicks like i said best movie ever made ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnfJul 3, 2008
I don't think what people realize is that these movies are supposed to be bad reliving the old days of an actual grindhouse movie. Planet Terror was one of the greatest zombie movies I've ever seen and the car chase's and I don't think what people realize is that these movies are supposed to be bad reliving the old days of an actual grindhouse movie. Planet Terror was one of the greatest zombie movies I've ever seen and the car chase's and buildup to Death Proof was phenomenal. It might've been 3 and a half hours long but I could watch this over and over again. Every trailer had the theatre laughing with the most frightened looks on their faces, (watch Don't and Thanksgiving and you'll see why). The point of the movies are the mindless violence and exploitation so if people are saying that the movie was bad because of this then it had succeeded because thats what it was looking for. I was on the edge of my seat the entire night either scared as all hell or laughing as hard as I can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful