Grindhouse

Grindhouse Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 494 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: An homage to exploitation B-movie thrillers that combines two feature-length segments into one double-bill designed to replicate the grind house theatergoing experience of the 70s and 80s.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 100
    This monumentally pointless movie is best summarized by a line from Planet Terror: "At some point in your life, you find a use for every useless talent you have." Rodriguez, Tarantino, and Co. aim for nothing more noble than to freak the funk, and it's about godd--- time. Go wasted, go stoned, go without your parents' permission. In paying homage to an obsolete form of movie culture, Grindhouse delivers a dropkick to ours.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Bell
    90
    The only criticism that seems to merit any real discussion is whether directors Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino actually did make real grindhouse-style fare. To whit, I can easily say: yes, they not only made two on-point grindhouse films, they did them to painful perfection.
  3. Critics are already comparing the two movies and largely agreeing that Tarantino?s story about a psychopathic stuntman who targets women for highway carnage is the best. I disagree.
  4. The Rodriguez segment is terrific; the Tarantino one long-winded and juvenile.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    75
    Though it could probably use an intermission, Grindhouse is three hours of mostly campy fun.
  6. 70
    The obsessive crosshatching of allusion, spoof and homage that gives Grindhouse its texture is the product of a highly refined generational sensibility.
  7. The mock trailers are for impossibly schlocky Z-movies with titles like "Machete," "Don't Scream," "Thanksgiving" and "Werewolf Women of the S.S." They're by far the funniest part of the program, possibly because they're mercifully brief.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 171
  1. KennethP.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    By the end of Death Proof, the copacity audience I witnessed this with raised a rather large applaud, and rightfully so at 2:30am on the By the end of Death Proof, the copacity audience I witnessed this with raised a rather large applaud, and rightfully so at 2:30am on the Friday opening night. See this like many midnight movies were meant to be seen... drunk, stoned, and with all your best guy friends. [ed m.d.: I think I will!] Expand
  2. ChrisK
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Unbelievably fun. Very, very, very worth the 3+ hours and price of admission. I never wanted it to end.
  3. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    oh my god... it is so crazy and funny and gory and all at the same time, keeping cool and witty. Tarentino and Rodrigez... bravooh my god... it is so crazy and funny and gory and all at the same time, keeping cool and witty. Tarentino and Rodrigez... bravo jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj Expand
  4. Robert
    Apr 14, 2007
    8
    Great fun. The audience clapped loudly at the end of each movie. Rodriguez's is high energy over-the-top parody from beginning to end, Great fun. The audience clapped loudly at the end of each movie. Rodriguez's is high energy over-the-top parody from beginning to end, and very funny. Tarantino cheats in his version and doesn't go for exploitive sleaze or parody... he just does what interests him. The first half slows down the pace considerably and the characters are not as interesting as Tarantino seems to think, nor is self-parody Kurt Russell. The second half of Death Proof is better with a better cast and a great car chase/ homage. The fake trailers are hilarious. Expand
  5. EstherN.
    Apr 7, 2007
    7
    Planet Terror was bang on. Go to see it for Planet Terror and the trailers. As to the enormous problem... Holy Crap did Tarantino's Planet Terror was bang on. Go to see it for Planet Terror and the trailers. As to the enormous problem... Holy Crap did Tarantino's Death Proof suck. There was endless, witless, meaningless dialogue ad infinitum. I saw it with a group of very bright, very funny people, and it nearly had the group of us screaming in frustration and fleeing to watch paint. Death Proof could be a successful 35 minute short. The man has no ideas. Anyone who praises his tedious writing in this film hates you, and wants you to die an unhappy death. Expand
  6. RoccoD.
    Apr 13, 2007
    5
    If you see Grindhouse , watch Planet Terror , skip Deathproof. I'm a fan of Tarantino's work but his movie is too slow, not funny If you see Grindhouse , watch Planet Terror , skip Deathproof. I'm a fan of Tarantino's work but his movie is too slow, not funny and pointless, there is nothing good about it sadly. Planet Terror on the other is more action packed and far more entertaining. But it wasn't good enough to make up for DP. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Apr 15, 2007
    0
    Politically correct garbage.

See all 171 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  3. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.