Lions Gate Films | Release Date: August 12, 2005
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 138 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
100
Mixed:
17
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
RayP.Feb 4, 2006
I liked Herzog's commentary, but who really was Treadwell? No background on why he became involved with the bears in the first place. What was the real danger to the bears - who was he protecting them from? What did he do when he I liked Herzog's commentary, but who really was Treadwell? No background on why he became involved with the bears in the first place. What was the real danger to the bears - who was he protecting them from? What did he do when he wasn't living with the bears? Dedicating 10 mins to some background would have made this a more complete documentary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarcK.Jan 2, 2006
I didn't dislike this movie by any means, but this film is nowhere near as good as the great critical acclaim it received. Were the critics just starstruck because it was directed by Werner Herzog? The best documentary in 2005 was I didn't dislike this movie by any means, but this film is nowhere near as good as the great critical acclaim it received. Were the critics just starstruck because it was directed by Werner Herzog? The best documentary in 2005 was "Murderball." This film isn't even close to that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JuleM.Feb 7, 2006
We get it. The animals are dangerous. So WHY, in the name of all things good, are you SHOVING A CAMERA in their faces and talking to them like they are teddy bears? Honestly. I disliked it most of all because the maker of this film really We get it. The animals are dangerous. So WHY, in the name of all things good, are you SHOVING A CAMERA in their faces and talking to them like they are teddy bears? Honestly. I disliked it most of all because the maker of this film really thinks too much of the bear guy, and you KNOW that there is something this guy did that was bad towards these bears, but there is absolutely no mention of anything but the most glowing of comments! If I were a bear, I would have probably have swatted him early on, just so he'd get the picture; stop shoving that stupid camera in our faces, dummy! Shoulda known he'd come across one in need of anger managment eventually.. Also, the narrator's accent really distracted me. Just saying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MatthewB.Apr 4, 2006
The last reader's comment said the "film was real." But here's the problem I have with Herzog, his staging many key scenes, then pretending he doesn't. The coroner for instance, who is obviously reading lines. Not to mention The last reader's comment said the "film was real." But here's the problem I have with Herzog, his staging many key scenes, then pretending he doesn't. The coroner for instance, who is obviously reading lines. Not to mention the "actor friend." The scene where Herzog pretends he's hearing the tape for the first time is especially painful, only because it highlights Herzog's superficial qualities that only point toward his filmmaking tendencies. I had the same problem with this film that I had with his most recent "White Diamond," only moreso, feeling its subject exploited in the name of the filmmaker's thesis. At the same time, the Treadwell footage was in and of itself absolutely fascinating, if not disturbing, in that all too familiar Reality Television kind of way (the confessions to the camera, for instance). All in all, a not very good film from a very problematic filmmaker, whose work leaves me more and more frustrated, often infuriated, as the years go on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SpankyV.May 29, 2006
Goofball movie. Guy is a nut case. Why is awards go to the "kookiest"movies? Oh yeah, the people giving the awards are kooks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
laurarSep 15, 2008
I am glad that they movie started with the conclusion of Timothy's 13 summers in the Alaskan Park where he camped among Grizzly Bears. He came across as a bit dilusional. However he did mention that they could kill people, it just did I am glad that they movie started with the conclusion of Timothy's 13 summers in the Alaskan Park where he camped among Grizzly Bears. He came across as a bit dilusional. However he did mention that they could kill people, it just did not make sense to me why he would try to pet them, and he thought they were friends. it was sad, and disturbing. I am glad they did not play the audio tape of the killings. I felt haunted after watching the film and could not sleep aftterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JackG.Dec 29, 2005
Too much whining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FloGSep 14, 2005
I found the movie very disturbing in the sense that Herzog uses the life of a man who appears to be bipolar while filming in an amateurish style, as if it was a last hommage to a lost friend. People who are interviewed have seen too many I found the movie very disturbing in the sense that Herzog uses the life of a man who appears to be bipolar while filming in an amateurish style, as if it was a last hommage to a lost friend. People who are interviewed have seen too many reality or talk shows and try to "overexplain" their emotions. The movie is more about filming people, showing the power of the camera, how it makes an ordinary person believes his or her 15 mn fame is up and choosing what you want to show the public, than the life of the deranged Treadwell. The way Herzog films the coroner, the girlfriend, the ceremony of the ashes is made to make us laugh. The only time he is truly objective is when he shows us the comment of a true [inuit?] person to remind us that we are not supposed to approach bears. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GregT.Jan 24, 2006
Odd and somewhat interesting documentary in which a man develops a touching relationship with a fox, but a death wish fascination with grizzly bears. At least 20 or more times in this movie, Treadwell relates, over and over again, that his Odd and somewhat interesting documentary in which a man develops a touching relationship with a fox, but a death wish fascination with grizzly bears. At least 20 or more times in this movie, Treadwell relates, over and over again, that his endeavours in Alaska with grizzlies are dangerous, that this could lead to him being seriously injured or killed. So, he fulfilled his own prophecy and what other point did he have to make? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimGDec 29, 2005
Wonderfully shot picture of how some people save themselves with obsession. Rather than substance abuse, they lock onto a thought or cause (think, "I never want what happened to my [wife, son, whomever] to happen to someone else"). The Wonderfully shot picture of how some people save themselves with obsession. Rather than substance abuse, they lock onto a thought or cause (think, "I never want what happened to my [wife, son, whomever] to happen to someone else"). The thought provoked--do the great things obsessed people achieve outweigh the consequences? Fascinating. Sure, there are opportunities for petty complaints -- might be a bit overlong, Herzog's omnipotence is a little too omnipresent, while simply photographing the choices obviously tell the story Herzog's way (for example, seems he ridicules the parents a little bit by focusing on innocent household kitsch). But solid winner here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful