User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 292
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    There is clever shock value and forced shock value. For 100 minutes Grown Ups 2 assaults you with some of the most tasteless, gross, and insulting comedy known to mankind. The bar has been set so low for this franchise that I am actually scared to see even trailers for the inevitable third film. Mark my words; Grown Ups 2 is so insufferably awful it will win Razzie awards. Good luckThere is clever shock value and forced shock value. For 100 minutes Grown Ups 2 assaults you with some of the most tasteless, gross, and insulting comedy known to mankind. The bar has been set so low for this franchise that I am actually scared to see even trailers for the inevitable third film. Mark my words; Grown Ups 2 is so insufferably awful it will win Razzie awards. Good luck searching for a worse comedy in 2013. Expand
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    2
    This movie is awful and lazy, even by Adam Sandler standards. It's just pretentious how bad his films are now because he knows people will pay to see any of his crap. People were laughing throughout this and look if you like Sandler movies then more power to you. Just know you're sense of humor isn't too intelligent and Sandler thinks you're an idiot.
  3. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    The ending of Grown Ups 2 encapsulates the cultural legacy of Adam Sandler: He is simultaneously farting, burping, and sneezing while having sex with Salma Hayek. Mr. Sandler how does it feel to be a complete and utter sell out?
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    0
    Forced to see this movie with a couple of guys, and I had very low expectations (and I thought the original grown ups was good). I was 100% correct. This movie is one of the worst films I have ever seen in the past decade. There is no plot/story whatsoever, a bunch of pee/poop/ass jokes that even kids can't laugh at, and terrible acting by nearly the entire cast. This film is so bad itForced to see this movie with a couple of guys, and I had very low expectations (and I thought the original grown ups was good). I was 100% correct. This movie is one of the worst films I have ever seen in the past decade. There is no plot/story whatsoever, a bunch of pee/poop/ass jokes that even kids can't laugh at, and terrible acting by nearly the entire cast. This film is so bad it should not be considered a movie, but a f****d up, very bad sitcom from the 90s that never hit tvs. Never see this movie in your life. Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2013
    0
    people that likes bad comedies like grown ups 1 and 2 and other bad movies are idiots and losers that needs to get a life, that you shouldn't trust them you should trust the critics and smart people like me! but what's the use of telling you not to see it, you'll still see it anyway, so why am i wasting my time with you?
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    The hope is that whatever studio execs Adam Sandler blackmails into funding his garbage will eventually call his bluff and tell him to release the photographs and video of their crimes. Sandler, who earned $37m in 2012, releases yet another unfunny and offensive film on the public. That he genuinely thinks his films have worth reveals more about Sandler's state of mind than the state ofThe hope is that whatever studio execs Adam Sandler blackmails into funding his garbage will eventually call his bluff and tell him to release the photographs and video of their crimes. Sandler, who earned $37m in 2012, releases yet another unfunny and offensive film on the public. That he genuinely thinks his films have worth reveals more about Sandler's state of mind than the state of the industry. Eventually the rest of Hollywood will see the light. Terrible. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    1
    Have you watched The Hangover? Well, this is basically a water down, kid friendly version of it. The story is unappealing and some of the gags just drag on forever. You will get a couple of laughs but that doesn't make up for the irritating characters and cheesy dialogue.
  8. Aug 5, 2013
    3
    I give this a 3 because of SHAQ alone. I laughed on occasion (mostly because of SHAQ) but when you look back on this film you begin to realize just how stupid it really is. I know it's Adam Sandler so don't expect and Oscar nominee but this was on a whole other level of stupid. The fact that this was top box office shows just how dumb our country is. Save this for a rental at home. 2.5/10
  9. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    The worst movie I've ever seen. I didn't even smile once, let alone laugh. I wasn't expecting much, but I was expecting at least a 3/10. The absolute worst part about this movie is that Sandler and his washed-up buddies laugh at ALL of their own jokes. On screen. That is not good. Just an insult to films as a form of entertainment.
  10. Jul 25, 2013
    1
    This was horrible, I felt like I was being attacked by an onslaught of rejected Saturday Night Live sketches. Don't watch it, I don't want Adam Sandler to carry on with these films, we need him to return to the good old days or at least fun films like Hotel Transylvania!
  11. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    If your a fan of stupid movies watch Grown Ups 2 but if you like good movies watch something else. This is what you get when Adam Sandler makes a movie a piece of garbage that is not worth 12 dollars to go see I mean I felt like they should have at least bring down the price a couple of bucks because I felt like I wasted a night of my life. Now I will say this though some parts will makeIf your a fan of stupid movies watch Grown Ups 2 but if you like good movies watch something else. This is what you get when Adam Sandler makes a movie a piece of garbage that is not worth 12 dollars to go see I mean I felt like they should have at least bring down the price a couple of bucks because I felt like I wasted a night of my life. Now I will say this though some parts will make you laugh but it's not enough to take your mind off the stupidness of this movie. I have to say this though I felt this movie had potential a lot to because it has such a funny trailer but when you watch this you fell like you watched a lie. So I would give it a little less if I didn't laugh at something's but this is a movie that you rent and watch with your friends because I rather get it a redbox for 1 dollar than pay 12 for this garbage. Expand
  12. Mar 3, 2014
    1
    This was a complete waste of time to watch. Everything was off color or topic or whatever . Apparently ever aspect of this turd was hit with a shovel .
  13. LTR
    Aug 9, 2013
    1
    The only reason why this movie was made was because Adam Sandler wanted us to pay $6 and 50 cents to watch him have fun with his friends.This movie is horrible and I can't believe that people like this.
  14. Oct 23, 2013
    0
    Gave up on it after barely being able to get through the first 10 minutes of it. I actually quite liked the first film because it did well with it's mixture of drama and comedy. This film is all about pathetic shock humor that is far more stupid than funny. A perfect summary of this film by Rotten Tomatoes "It's certainly the movie event of the year for filmgoers passionate about DeerGave up on it after barely being able to get through the first 10 minutes of it. I actually quite liked the first film because it did well with it's mixture of drama and comedy. This film is all about pathetic shock humor that is far more stupid than funny. A perfect summary of this film by Rotten Tomatoes "It's certainly the movie event of the year for filmgoers passionate about Deer Urine humor". Couldn't agree more because Grown Ups 2 is easily one of the worst films of all time. Expand
  15. Dec 15, 2013
    1
    This is one the worst comedies I've ever seen. There was not one funny joke and anyone who has a sense of humor above an 8 year old will find this movie garbage. It feels like a bunch of rejected SNL skits that Adam Sandler took and morphed into this frankenstien of a movie.
  16. Jul 28, 2013
    2
    This sloppy second of semi-funny predecessor looks like a collection of leftover clips parsed hastily together. Grown Ups 2 is not for anyone who has actually grown up. To add to its misery, the appreciating audience for boobie and pee pee humor is not able to see it due PG-13. Razzie award awaits.
  17. Aug 14, 2013
    2
    Although I must admit, I did laugh several times, most of this humor is silly, dumb, and frankly, not funny. Even though I didn't expect this movie to be good whatsoever... I was still very disappointed. Don't waste your money going to see it in theaters, wait till it comes out on DVD.
    The first movie is better by far.
  18. Jul 18, 2013
    2
    Short answer "Grown Ups 2" complete waste of time! It's not the worst comedy movie of the year (Scary Movie 5 reserved that title), but having that cast and delivering this dull, dumb, pointless picture
  19. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    Please Mr Sandler stop embarrassing yourself with these god awful movie just do something different and for the rest of the cast I like Chris Rock David Spade Kevin James but why do films like this they have not meaning not funny in anyway what happened to these actors they use to be good now i have lost hope my advice stay away from this piece of
  20. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    I thought the first movie was bad but leave it to Adam Sandler to once again out do himself in the god awful film department. The movie has no story to speak of and the plot was forgotten in a haze of bad bodily function jokes and Nick Swardson once again trying way to hard to be funny and failing at every turn. The film sets up dozens of potential plotlines but most are forgotten aboutI thought the first movie was bad but leave it to Adam Sandler to once again out do himself in the god awful film department. The movie has no story to speak of and the plot was forgotten in a haze of bad bodily function jokes and Nick Swardson once again trying way to hard to be funny and failing at every turn. The film sets up dozens of potential plotlines but most are forgotten about or quickly thrown back in to try and recover by giving it a poorly constructed resolution. To top it off, the jokes in the film are so painfully bad that it should come with a warning that expecting mothers should avoid the film and how it will destroy your ability to ever find joy in this world again. The worse part, Adam Sandler will make sure to be a part of something even worse in 2014. Expand
  21. Aug 12, 2013
    3
    Okay, so because this movie is a sequel and we all know how sequel's generally only exist due to the production team wanting to cash in on the success of the first movie, this review is based on this movie living up to the same standard of it's predecessor. Grown Ups (The first one) was quite a heart-warming film, about a group of childhood friends reuniting to bid their Basketball couchOkay, so because this movie is a sequel and we all know how sequel's generally only exist due to the production team wanting to cash in on the success of the first movie, this review is based on this movie living up to the same standard of it's predecessor. Grown Ups (The first one) was quite a heart-warming film, about a group of childhood friends reuniting to bid their Basketball couch farewell, who seemed to have given all of them a sense of purpose and drive to continue their lives into adulthood. The second film, has none of the first movie's seemingly moral stature. There doesn't seem to be any apparent plot, and it merely follows the group of friends around their everyday existence in their neighborhood. There were a few minor chuckles here and there, but with the amount of lame, "teenage" toilet humor jokes, it's clear that the only reason this movie had a theatrical release was because of the cast, and I suppose also because they expected the same crowds that flocked to the first installment. This movie was a disappointment, and not worth paying money to watch at the cinema. Wait for dvd, even better, wait till your local broadcaster airs it, because technically it's a bit embarrassing people would contribute to a million plus in box office sales, as it certainly isn't worth it. Expand
  22. Oct 31, 2013
    2
    Grown Ups 2 is not like 1. It is gross, insulting and stupid. Occasionally, you will get laughs, but you will most likely be grossed out by the things that they do in this movie. I mostly didn't like the movie.
  23. Dec 21, 2013
    0
    This was a horrible movie. I can't say anything positive about it. WHERE'S THE PLOT? They gave the masses this atrocious movie, just to make a great amount of money off of prepubescent boys. The humor offended me greatly with insipid toilet jokes that a twelve year old could think of very easily. Where's my $11 refund check? If you want your I.Q to be drastically lower after a short amountThis was a horrible movie. I can't say anything positive about it. WHERE'S THE PLOT? They gave the masses this atrocious movie, just to make a great amount of money off of prepubescent boys. The humor offended me greatly with insipid toilet jokes that a twelve year old could think of very easily. Where's my $11 refund check? If you want your I.Q to be drastically lower after a short amount of time (approximately an hour and a half), view this movie. Expand
  24. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    Holy god, this was bloody terrible, the 'only' laugh and kinda excitement I got out of this film was when one of the cast members wore a Devo outfit for that Costume party.
    (1 for Devo)
  25. Jan 29, 2014
    0
    This movie isn't really a movie. Rather it is a series of fart joke skits edited together with one bad joke repeated through said fart skits. 0/10

    The first movie had some funny parts, this series of fart jokes edited together feels like a money grab. Very poorly written and directed. By far the worst Adam Sandler movie of all time, even worse than 50 first dates.
  26. May 1, 2014
    0
    This is an insult to movies. The first one was already awful, but the sequel is way more awful, with laughable acting and nonsense flat plot, that tries to make us laugh, buy it only make us want to walk out of the theatre before it finishes.
  27. Jul 13, 2013
    0
    This movie was horrible on so many levels, from all the gay and pee jokes, to the objectifying of women and awful acting. This movie is not a comedy,it is a hot, steaming pile of crap... which would be a WHOLE lot funnier than this nonsense. If you feel like dropping your IQ over 100 points, this is the movie for you. The fact that this movie and the first one makes money goes to show howThis movie was horrible on so many levels, from all the gay and pee jokes, to the objectifying of women and awful acting. This movie is not a comedy,it is a hot, steaming pile of crap... which would be a WHOLE lot funnier than this nonsense. If you feel like dropping your IQ over 100 points, this is the movie for you. The fact that this movie and the first one makes money goes to show how bored people are. Expand
  28. Jul 13, 2013
    0
    I had a free pass to see any movie this weekend, and I chose this since it wasn't redeemable for IMAX 3D Pacific Rim, after the extensive use of lame fart jokes and lack of plot I did something I've never done before: I walked out
  29. Aug 10, 2013
    2
    Adam Sandler's very first sequel... my A**! It's just another excuse for Sandler to hang out with his buddies. Honestly, it feels like all of Sandler's movies are sequels of one another. The real problem with this movie is that its not funny. The only thing I laughed at were the raft scenes. Other than that, it was just completely stupid and unfunny! Be sure to check out my YouTube channelAdam Sandler's very first sequel... my A**! It's just another excuse for Sandler to hang out with his buddies. Honestly, it feels like all of Sandler's movies are sequels of one another. The real problem with this movie is that its not funny. The only thing I laughed at were the raft scenes. Other than that, it was just completely stupid and unfunny! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" and let me know what you think. Overall, it's a waste of time and potential! Expand
  30. Nov 3, 2013
    1
    Adam Sandler just stop your not funny biggest piece of movie of the year lucky for it their another movie this year that pissed me off more SCARY MOVIE V
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 24 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Aug 15, 2013
    20
    So, what happens in Grown Ups 2? Almost absolutely nothing.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jul 17, 2013
    11
    The Land of Lazy can crown a new king because with Grown Ups 2 Adam Sandler has officially nabbed the throne.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 14, 2013
    20
    A few decent one-liners notwithstanding, the movie comes off as willfully uninspired.