Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 289 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Lenny (Adam Sandler) has relocated his family back to the small town where he and his friends grew up. This time around, the grown ups are the ones learning lessons from their kids on a day notoriously full of surprises: the last day of school. [Sony Pictures]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 24 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jul 11, 2013
    75
    For Sandler, it's not just when he grew up. It's the garden of idiotic innocence, something that, in Grown Ups 2, he is helping to keep alive.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 11, 2013
    40
    You know what you’re going to get, and that is, indeed, what Sandler delivers. It’s juvenile, it’s obvious and it’s crass. But with Sandler at the helm, at least it’s as easy to like as it is to forget.
  3. 38
    It’s another pointless romp through Sandlerland — where the women are buxom, the kids have catch-phrases and the jokes are below average.
  4. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Jul 11, 2013
    20
    It’s hard to imagine another comedy coming along this year that is this abrasive and free of laughs. It’s like everyone involved intentionally tried to create a horrible movie.
  5. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Jul 12, 2013
    20
    This is pap, plain and simple: scattered raunch-lite devoid of emotional resonance. At best, it sells itself on the spectacle of a TV show’s cast reunion — and even then it disappoints.
  6. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jul 11, 2013
    16
    Largely free of Sandler’s usual schmaltz and lame romance, it’s pure plotless, grotesque high jinks, bizarre and inept in a way that’s fascinating without ever being all that funny.
  7. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jul 11, 2013
    0
    Basically, it’s a film made for brainless grunts who like to hang out all day making sub-literate jokes about boobs and gays while watching the game. No wonder the first movie was such a success.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 98
  2. Negative: 63 out of 98
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    I don't see why this movie got bad reviews! While the plot seemed to jump from one to another, the move was still amusing and entertaining.I don't see why this movie got bad reviews! While the plot seemed to jump from one to another, the move was still amusing and entertaining. This movie made my summer! Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    Despite being panned by so called professional critics and normal people I would still recommend Grown Ups 2 to any comedy fan. Some days IDespite being panned by so called professional critics and normal people I would still recommend Grown Ups 2 to any comedy fan. Some days I feel as if people forget what movies are made to do and that is entertain. A comedy movie is meant to make you laugh and Grown Ups 2 did its job in my case. Many people complain because they think Grown Ups 2 has no plot, but the plot is Lenny and the crews life. The overall theme in this movie is family life, unrealistic family life, but still family life. You can't walk into a Adam Sandler movie believing your going to see a high powered dramatic movie. People just need to take a break from life and actually enjoy a movie. If you are willing to take a break then Grown Ups 2 is the movie to see. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    I know it's a crime nowadays to be a fan of Adam Sandler but I am. This movie was absolutely hilarious and I had a blast watching it. However,I know it's a crime nowadays to be a fan of Adam Sandler but I am. This movie was absolutely hilarious and I had a blast watching it. However, a good amount of jokes are about piss and barf and that sort of took me out of the experience. Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2013
    2
    Grown Ups 2 is not like 1. It is gross, insulting and stupid. Occasionally, you will get laughs, but you will most likely be grossed out byGrown Ups 2 is not like 1. It is gross, insulting and stupid. Occasionally, you will get laughs, but you will most likely be grossed out by the things that they do in this movie. I mostly didn't like the movie. Expand
  5. LTR
    Aug 9, 2013
    1
    The only reason why this movie was made was because Adam Sandler wanted us to pay $6 and 50 cents to watch him have fun with his friends.ThisThe only reason why this movie was made was because Adam Sandler wanted us to pay $6 and 50 cents to watch him have fun with his friends.This movie is horrible and I can't believe that people like this. Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2014
    1
    I can't believe I used to like Adam Sandler, but now I hate him, and this movie is a perfect example, unfunny jokes, and even more painfulI can't believe I used to like Adam Sandler, but now I hate him, and this movie is a perfect example, unfunny jokes, and even more painful celebrity cameos. This is one of Sandler's worse movies, and somehow worse than the original, which is saying something, think some about that. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    adam sandler's grown ups 2 is funny but i enjoy the first one . it is a crazy film buts whats crazy then a guys who are rembering theadam sandler's grown ups 2 is funny but i enjoy the first one . it is a crazy film buts whats crazy then a guys who are rembering the childhood memories back in the day ? Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Trailers