Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Lenny (Adam Sandler) has relocated his family back to the small town where he and his friends grew up. This time around, the grown ups are the ones learning lessons from their kids on a day notoriously full of surprises: the last day of school. [Sony Pictures]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 24 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jul 11, 2013
    75
    For Sandler, it's not just when he grew up. It's the garden of idiotic innocence, something that, in Grown Ups 2, he is helping to keep alive.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 11, 2013
    40
    You know what you’re going to get, and that is, indeed, what Sandler delivers. It’s juvenile, it’s obvious and it’s crass. But with Sandler at the helm, at least it’s as easy to like as it is to forget.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 10, 2013
    38
    It’s another pointless romp through Sandlerland — where the women are buxom, the kids have catch-phrases and the jokes are below average.
  4. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Jul 11, 2013
    20
    It’s hard to imagine another comedy coming along this year that is this abrasive and free of laughs. It’s like everyone involved intentionally tried to create a horrible movie.
  5. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Jul 12, 2013
    20
    This is pap, plain and simple: scattered raunch-lite devoid of emotional resonance. At best, it sells itself on the spectacle of a TV show’s cast reunion — and even then it disappoints.
  6. Reviewed by:  Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jul 11, 2013
    16
    Largely free of Sandler’s usual schmaltz and lame romance, it’s pure plotless, grotesque high jinks, bizarre and inept in a way that’s fascinating without ever being all that funny.
  7. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jul 11, 2013
    0
    Basically, it’s a film made for brainless grunts who like to hang out all day making sub-literate jokes about boobs and gays while watching the game. No wonder the first movie was such a success.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 85
  2. Negative: 51 out of 85
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    I don't see why this movie got bad reviews! While the plot seemed to jump from one to another, the move was still amusing and entertaining. This movie made my summer! Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    Despite being panned by so called professional critics and normal people I would still recommend Grown Ups 2 to any comedy fan. Some days I feel as if people forget what movies are made to do and that is entertain. A comedy movie is meant to make you laugh and Grown Ups 2 did its job in my case. Many people complain because they think Grown Ups 2 has no plot, but the plot is Lenny and the crews life. The overall theme in this movie is family life, unrealistic family life, but still family life. You can't walk into a Adam Sandler movie believing your going to see a high powered dramatic movie. People just need to take a break from life and actually enjoy a movie. If you are willing to take a break then Grown Ups 2 is the movie to see. Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2013
    6
    Grown Ups 2 is(of course) the second installment in the Grown Ups series and maybe Sandler's first sequel, but does the film surpass the first one? Everyone from the first film (and then some) are back for more wacky adventures, delivering what you Grown Ups fans would expect. Beyond the film's exterior, you can see that the children are getting older and the main characters are trying to accept that, but it's just shrouded in crazy jokes. In most parts of the film, vomiting, homosexual undertones and male butts are the butt of the jokes, so it's not for everyone, but I'm pretty sure that teens would love it. Although there are way better comedies out there, this is a guilty pleasure of mine. The film's very colorful and filled with life and it's fun to watch once in a while. But all in all, it depends on the type of person you are. So if you liked the first one, I'm pretty sure you'll enjoy this. Not much has changed. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2013
    2
    This movie is awful and lazy, even by Adam Sandler standards. It's just pretentious how bad his films are now because he knows people will pay to see any of his crap. People were laughing throughout this and look if you like Sandler movies then more power to you. Just know you're sense of humor isn't too intelligent and Sandler thinks you're an idiot. Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2013
    1
    Although I am a huge Adam Sandler fan, I felt he really let us down in this movie. Easily one of the worst he has put together. Yet I will go back for the next but the loyalty is starting to run out. Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2014
    1
    I can't believe I used to like Adam Sandler, but now I hate him, and this movie is a perfect example, unfunny jokes, and even more painful celebrity cameos. This is one of Sandler's worse movies, and somehow worse than the original, which is saying something, think some about that. Expand
  7. May 1, 2014
    0
    This is an insult to movies. The first one was already awful, but the sequel is way more awful, with laughable acting and nonsense flat plot, that tries to make us laugh, buy it only make us want to walk out of the theatre before it finishes. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews

Trailers