Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 25, 2010
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 345 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
129
Mixed:
90
Negative:
126
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
JacobMay 12, 2013
“Grown Ups” is a great movie. The plot sets the stage for a great film, the jokes are for the most part funny, and the cast is pretty good. For the most part I found myself laughing; however, there were numerous instances where I felt like“Grown Ups” is a great movie. The plot sets the stage for a great film, the jokes are for the most part funny, and the cast is pretty good. For the most part I found myself laughing; however, there were numerous instances where I felt like this was one of those movies where it’s more a treat for the adults than for the kids. Regardless of all my criticism, “Grown Ups” is a good time and will leave you laughing and wishing for the film to keep the jokes coming. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JohnBJun 25, 2010
If i listened to the critics, I'd never go see anything.
12 of 17 users found this helpful
10
chrismars8Apr 16, 2013
by far the funniest movie I have ever seen in my life I love all these guys in it sandler is always good except jack and jill but the whole movie is hilarious and everytime I watch this I still laugh each time
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RobertJ.Jun 25, 2010
Best movie of the year, hands down.
3 of 7 users found this helpful
10
JosephM.Jun 25, 2010
Who ever wrote the 1st review I saw is just a hater!! Grow up!
6 of 17 users found this helpful
10
BatmanJun 25, 2010
It is a great movie, funny,idiotic,crazy, Is just how a funny movie should be period. Adam and crew great job.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
10
JaysonH.Jun 25, 2010
I rate this movie a 10, because the critics hate it...and I really don't have any respect for someone who's job is watching movies and critiquing them.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
Sue-beeS.Jun 25, 2010
"Grown Ups" is presented as dumb schtick, and that's what viewers have come to expect of Adam Sandler. He delivered very well. As for James Rocchi's comment "This, America, is why we can't have nice things." Is it about "Grown Ups" is presented as dumb schtick, and that's what viewers have come to expect of Adam Sandler. He delivered very well. As for James Rocchi's comment "This, America, is why we can't have nice things." Is it about things, or is it about the experiences in life (remember Pop in "Grumpy Old Men"? And every rare once in a while I want an opportunity to laugh at some schtick. If you take this for real, you have a problem. Engage your inner immature child once ina while and LAUGH! Collapse
1 of 3 users found this helpful
7
MikeDJun 26, 2010
Crude? Absolutely. It was stupid, contrived, and obvious but despite that, it was damn funny. It seemed as though it was scriptless, but rather a general plot line and 5 talented comedians just riffing. Dumb movie, but quite enjoyable.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
8
BrianMJun 26, 2010
A solid movie. Lots of laughs throughout.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
8
JohnJ.Jun 27, 2010
If you do not like this movie you are not a party animal or fun lover and I feel sorry for you. Perhaps you would be better suited as a Monk or Hermit!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
8
LondonTrueloveNov 10, 2010
A very fun and easy to watch movie. No twists or anything, pretty much what you'd expect it to be. Provides some good laughs throughout. Don't understand how it has such a low score, people don't seem to have a sense of humor.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
RandalP.Jun 25, 2010
Adam Sandler's( et al., 2010) movies have always been known to contain humor that is ranked more of a childish genre that is meant to stir the child in all of us. This film competes on that same level and succeeds in the department of Adam Sandler's( et al., 2010) movies have always been known to contain humor that is ranked more of a childish genre that is meant to stir the child in all of us. This film competes on that same level and succeeds in the department of proving summer safety issues are never to be disregarded as these reunited friends continue to find themselves in less than desired situations. Many of these reenactments have occurred. So let your vainness go and enjoy the movie for the way it is meant... to trigger a little laughter and bring a little "I'm not going to be that stupid"-enjoyment into our lives that are to often caught up in triviality, reality, and repetitiousness. -Enjoy! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
8
ShaneS.Jun 25, 2010
I've learned that the most entertaining movies are usually the ones the critics hate. In general, the more insulting the critics are and the more they bitch about plot lines and how deep the characters are, the more I'll enjoy the I've learned that the most entertaining movies are usually the ones the critics hate. In general, the more insulting the critics are and the more they bitch about plot lines and how deep the characters are, the more I'll enjoy the movie. Nobody expects former SNL alumns or stand-up comedians to give oscar caliber performances. We expect them to make us laugh and entertain us. If movie goers decide to see this film, they will laugh, and they will be entertained. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
CoDFatherAug 14, 2010
(This movie was attended by the CoDFather, his grandma, aunt, father, and brother) This movie sort of embarrassed me on account the movie was my decision. The humor is a little, "over the line", if you know what I mean. But, in all other(This movie was attended by the CoDFather, his grandma, aunt, father, and brother) This movie sort of embarrassed me on account the movie was my decision. The humor is a little, "over the line", if you know what I mean. But, in all other cases, the movie was pretty funny. I don't see what's so bad about this movie, I mean, yeah, Adam Sandler has been in a few movies that weren't that successful, but this couldn't have been one of 'em. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyBigBossSep 14, 2010
This is the funniest movie I've seen this year. The characters are funny and while the story is lighthearted and soft, execution is great. Don't expect a genious movie and come ready to laugh and you'll find yourself dying of laughter.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellNov 18, 2011
This movie is filled with so many funny characters and somehow there is character development for almost all of them. This movie has a lot of funny moments and somehow there is a heart in it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JohnnyStephensAug 24, 2013
It is without doubt one of the most underrated movies ever made. I really loved it!!! Do not listen to anyone who says that it's a bad film because they have to grow up someday!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BrianJ.Jun 25, 2010
I'm a big fan of any comedy. I think Critics get caught up in there own BS. The wallow around in the English patient or any other Artsy crap fest staring Sean Penn or Gweneth P. They miss the whole point of Adam Sandler Movies. The good I'm a big fan of any comedy. I think Critics get caught up in there own BS. The wallow around in the English patient or any other Artsy crap fest staring Sean Penn or Gweneth P. They miss the whole point of Adam Sandler Movies. The good ole fashion Belly Laugh. A movie I can sit with my kid and enjoy that moment. Adam Sandler makes movies that remind me of growing up and kinda wishing I was that Lucky guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidC.Jun 25, 2010
You know, I find it amazing that people will come to a movie and rip it apart the way they do. Let's be serious for a minute here. "Lazy, mean-spirited, incoherent, infantile and, above all, witless." Don't tell me you've not You know, I find it amazing that people will come to a movie and rip it apart the way they do. Let's be serious for a minute here. "Lazy, mean-spirited, incoherent, infantile and, above all, witless." Don't tell me you've not been like this before, and now that you're probably older... That you don't sometimes feel like being "Infantile," or "lazy," or even "incoherent." Lay off, people. Sometimes it's good to find a movie that isn't taken seriously, and can make you laugh, because in the case of this movie... That's what it's for. People say that movies like this are just one of the small reasons we can't have nice things. Well, you're wrong. People like you guys are the reason we can't have nice things. Think about it for a bit, unless of course you lack the ability to do so... Or it just hurts too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnD.Jun 25, 2010
With 8 critic reviews ( combined I. Q. 100 ) !!!!. What are these critics looking for, reality? Hit the high spots. Go for entertainment or don't go at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElizabethR.Jun 25, 2010
The perfect summer comedy. "Arrow roulette" destined to be a classic--"Last Child In The Woods" might get hurt out there, remember? Great guys and great women in cast. See this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JacobFJun 26, 2010
It's not a movie smart people would go see. But I laughed all the way through and after it was over I was very pleased with the comedy and my jaw was sore from laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeMJun 27, 2010
A absolutely hilarious movie i thought everybody's performance was awesome and i don't see why all the best Adam Sandler movies and classics get hated on by critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tech953Sep 4, 2010
This movie was charming and funny to its very core.
Some unnecessary jokes and dirty themes may seem stupid, but they do little to varnish these great actors careers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JemsSep 17, 2010
Such a surprisingly decent comedy. 'Grown Ups' opens with a scene from a basketball team's past. The star cast includes Adam Sandler, Salma Hayek and Chris Rock. There are many laughs in this movie including the old moaning and farting grannySuch a surprisingly decent comedy. 'Grown Ups' opens with a scene from a basketball team's past. The star cast includes Adam Sandler, Salma Hayek and Chris Rock. There are many laughs in this movie including the old moaning and farting granny and then there's my favourite moment where the good looking guy turns out to have a very squeaky voice due to all the steroids he's been taking. I've given this a seven because it's not one of the best comedies I've seen but it's a great time filler. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
willfisher123Sep 11, 2010
this movie really isn't as bad as everyone says it is, if you go into the cinema in a god mood then you'll find the humor funny, it may not be ads good as the likes of Kick-ass or Get Him To The Greek but it's still a respectable good movie,this movie really isn't as bad as everyone says it is, if you go into the cinema in a god mood then you'll find the humor funny, it may not be ads good as the likes of Kick-ass or Get Him To The Greek but it's still a respectable good movie, like every comedy there's a fat guy, a black guy, a single annoying sex driven guy and the other guy, this has all of them and a hippy, all of which work well together, not amazingly together but well enough to make it worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Oct 9, 2010
"Tho this will not be marked down as Sandler's Best, this movie is full of genuine laughs , great comedic timing , and the cast was perfect , this is a great summer movie , and Adam Sandler is great as always, i had alot fun with this movie .." .. B+
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
xXAnthonyXxJan 21, 2011
I don't understand the negative reviews. When I first went to go see it in the theaters, I couldn't stop laughing! It is full of funny moments where you just can't stop laughing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerOct 18, 2011
This movie can be very funny but some times the humor falls flat, and the plot is little weak, but you really just watch this to get a good laugh and you will get that here, and it is very believable because when I was watching this movie IThis movie can be very funny but some times the humor falls flat, and the plot is little weak, but you really just watch this to get a good laugh and you will get that here, and it is very believable because when I was watching this movie I kept thinking wow me and my friends are just like that! extremely hilarious, but not one you want your kids to watch, in the end it may not be one you watch several times, but you'll have fun the one or two times you do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PurpleUrpNov 15, 2011
Grown Ups isn't Hangover funny, but a mellow movie you can sit back and chill to. A few chuckles but no ab ripper laughs here. Not enough heat to make Grown Ups a blockbuster, but enough warmth to keep you satisfied.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
warhead0Jul 7, 2011
Enjoyable & Entertaining!

There was not much to the story, but sometimes you don't even need a story to enjoy a movie, this is the perfect example of that.

Great humour, excellent movie.

8/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DMuhnyJul 10, 2011
Great movie. A bit slow paced, but this movie is hilarious. Most of the comedy is directed towards adults, so if you don't find this movie funny, you simply aren't mature enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mattwowlJul 29, 2011
Hilarious! Outrageous! are just a couple of words to describe this intelligently funny film. Anyone who's says they don't like must be boring and grumpy. This film made me laugh the most I have laughed in ages. There is obviously greatHilarious! Outrageous! are just a couple of words to describe this intelligently funny film. Anyone who's says they don't like must be boring and grumpy. This film made me laugh the most I have laughed in ages. There is obviously great writing behind this film and the actors make it even funnier. Brilliant 9/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Bruce722Nov 13, 2013
I thought this movie was pure genius. The critics hated it but when do they ever get anything right? I don't know what they wanted from this movie but it is a comedy and it was non-stop laughter from beginning to end. Isn't that what'sI thought this movie was pure genius. The critics hated it but when do they ever get anything right? I don't know what they wanted from this movie but it is a comedy and it was non-stop laughter from beginning to end. Isn't that what's supposed to define a comedy... how funny it is? By far, the funniest movie I've seen since the Hangover. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give this a 8.75 out of 10. It can be really funny, but it can also be rally stupid. Still, it's pretty hilarious. Sound good, story good. Overall, great comedy for the whole family. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Aug 5, 2013
We all now this isn't supposed to be some Oscar contender, but for pure entertainment value, you can tell the actors are having fun and it transcends well on the screen for the viewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MakorovOct 30, 2012
This movie was generally quite funny, The storyline wasn't very solid but hey its a comedy. I bought this movie new and was very happy I spent the money. This comedy is only funny to a certain type of person. From its reviews I get the vibesThis movie was generally quite funny, The storyline wasn't very solid but hey its a comedy. I bought this movie new and was very happy I spent the money. This comedy is only funny to a certain type of person. From its reviews I get the vibes I may be that one person but its great buy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
M0vieAddictMay 12, 2013
While not a-maze-ing, all five comediens are on top form here. Rob and David are definitive highlights, Sandler just lags behind with a sense of fun and humor while Rock and James prove they can be great with the right material. The wives andWhile not a-maze-ing, all five comediens are on top form here. Rob and David are definitive highlights, Sandler just lags behind with a sense of fun and humor while Rock and James prove they can be great with the right material. The wives and children are simply present for a family setting but the big five deliver warm laughs, crude jokes and feel good attitudes in front of their beautiful lake house. Dismisses the myth that the older you get, the more boring you become. Perfect for the kids and the grown ups. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JmsbppAug 21, 2013
Mirando las cosas de una manera mejor la pelicula contiene muy buenos momentos del buen humor de Adam Sandler y cada uno de sus compañeros............
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jeff_reviewsJul 6, 2013
"Grownups" may not be put in too depth and wit, but from its top notch comedians such as the works of Adam Sandler and Chris Rock, the film is able to pass with its humor. With actors playing on wonderful parts and a group of crazy"Grownups" may not be put in too depth and wit, but from its top notch comedians such as the works of Adam Sandler and Chris Rock, the film is able to pass with its humor. With actors playing on wonderful parts and a group of crazy middle-aged men acting like kids, "Grownups" can be idiotic to most, but an enjoyable one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LostInThoughtJul 31, 2013
I don't understand AT ALL why people hate this movie so much. I found this movie funny, create and very entertaining. The movie felt like it was over in 5 minutes: that's how enjoyable it was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Viper8787May 23, 2014
I probably found this movie funnier than I should, I don't know why I just really enjoyed it. I found it hilarious and I remember seeing it in a packed theater and everyone was laughing the whole time. Some great one liners and scenes that II probably found this movie funnier than I should, I don't know why I just really enjoyed it. I found it hilarious and I remember seeing it in a packed theater and everyone was laughing the whole time. Some great one liners and scenes that I will always remember. It is on TV so much and usually when I see it on I will put it on. A funny movie buy Sandler. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MasterRileyDec 20, 2016
Grown Ups is a decent comedy/family movie. Its nothing amazing or brilliant in any way, but its a fun mainstream type movie you can watch without having to think too much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews