Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2013
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 91 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
28
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
TVJerryJan 7, 2014
Sylvester Stallone and Robert De Niro play ex-boxers who never settled their rivalry (in the ring and in love), so they decide to stage a final bout. These two screen icons toss around age and fat jokes, but mostly play the drama. Luckily,Sylvester Stallone and Robert De Niro play ex-boxers who never settled their rivalry (in the ring and in love), so they decide to stage a final bout. These two screen icons toss around age and fat jokes, but mostly play the drama. Luckily, Adam Arkin provides crusty comic commentary and Kevin Hart brings wise ass chatter. Still, the script is only occasionally amusing, painfully predictable and not at all compelling. If you insist on seeing it, be sure to sit thru the closing credits for two surprise cameos that create the film's funniest moment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
VampireRawrJan 17, 2014
This Movie feels like a long joke that never got funny, you hear Robert De Niro and Sylvester Stallone (my childhood icons) in a movie about boxing you think this is probably going to be funny, in the end it is not. The story is terrible andThis Movie feels like a long joke that never got funny, you hear Robert De Niro and Sylvester Stallone (my childhood icons) in a movie about boxing you think this is probably going to be funny, in the end it is not. The story is terrible and the character feel like they are written for guys in their 30s to 40s, Alan Arkin is funny at times but then also very disgusting the same thing with Robert De Niro very disgusting he talked for a movie that came out for Christmas that families probably went to see. It is something to see just because Stallone and De Niro is in it but overall if you're not a fan of them then this is not something to see Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SchroederRockJan 6, 2014
Grudge Match is a little fun with a lot of missed opportunity. The script felt mashed together in a day or two without much revision. The movie lacks intention that could have made it a really great experience. Instead I felt like it wasGrudge Match is a little fun with a lot of missed opportunity. The script felt mashed together in a day or two without much revision. The movie lacks intention that could have made it a really great experience. Instead I felt like it was just OK. If you're being selective about what to see in theaters right now, perhaps this one is best left until its available at a Redbox. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Movie1997Jan 4, 2014
While you can still have fun with this movie, I still wish this could have been better than just being a plain comedy. It doesn't really feel like you're watching a big rivalry between Sylvester Stallone and Robert DeNero, it feels more likeWhile you can still have fun with this movie, I still wish this could have been better than just being a plain comedy. It doesn't really feel like you're watching a big rivalry between Sylvester Stallone and Robert DeNero, it feels more like slapstick comedy no one will remember, but never the less, it still brings in laughs and touches a little on the main stars. Overall, it's a decent re-hash of former Rocky and Jack! I give it a B-! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
catcarloJan 24, 2014
Va bene, a mente fredda si finisce per pensare che, in fondo, è una stupidata. Però, stando al gioco, ci si diverte per un centinaio di minuti senza troppi pensieri: basta lasciarsi andare alla sfacciata inverosimiglianza e osservare i dueVa bene, a mente fredda si finisce per pensare che, in fondo, è una stupidata. Però, stando al gioco, ci si diverte per un centinaio di minuti senza troppi pensieri: basta lasciarsi andare alla sfacciata inverosimiglianza e osservare i due vecchi leoni fare il verso al proprio passato e sovente gigioneggiare appoggiati a una storia in cui non mancano spunti e battute (dopo pochi minuti, De Niro proclama ‘sono un grande attore’ mentre a Stallone viene vietato di prendere a pugni i quarti di manzo in una cella frigorifera). Razor (Sly) e il Kid (Bob) si odiano da trent’anni – da cui il titolo originale ‘Il match del rancore’ - per motivi sportivi e sentimentali: da quando il primo ha rinunciato al confronto che avrebbe dovuto sancire la superiorità di uno dei due (e alla boxe tutta) dopo che il secondo gli ha messo incinta la fidanzata (Basinger e, nelle immagini degli anni Ottanta, la figlia Ireland). Dante, il tascabile erede del vecchio promoter (un Kevin Hart che fa parecchio il verso a Eddie Murphy), prova a resuscitare la sfida per soldi e i due, dopo qualche tentennamento accettano: Razor ha un posto di lavoro traballante e mantiene il vecchio allenatore (Alan Arkin fa il Burt Young senza la vena di amarezza ma con un rumorosissimo apparecchio acustico) mentre Kid è un vanaglorioso figlio di buona donna e non può certo tirarsi indietro. Inizia così l’allenamento parallelo, in cui si inserisce il figlio della colpa come manager di papà, e si arriva alla grande sfida davanti a mezza Pittsburgh: dodici round di irreale scazzottamento a guardia bassa (del resto i due sono stati protagonisti di match cinematografici tra i più sanguinolenti della storia) al termine del quale Razor grida ‘Adrianaaaaaa’ – no, ok, stavo scherzando – e Kid recupera un po’ di dignità. Ambientata in una periferia urbana abbastanza anonima, la sceneggiatura di Tim Kelleher e Rodney Rothman delinea due antagonisti tagliati con l’accetta mettendo via via più a fuoco il confronto tra un ‘buono’ e un ‘cattivo’ o, quantomeno, un ‘simpatico’ e un ‘antipatico’: Stallone è monolitico come di prammatica nell’interpretare il rude-ma-sensibile Razor mentre De Niro (il cui doppiaggio lo fa sempre sembrare strafatto di elio) utilizza il suo ghigno beffardo per rendere la meschinità che contraddistingue il suo personaggio. Il grande Bob dà l’impressione di divertirsi e rende assai di più rispetto ai tanti ruoli ‘alimentari’ interpretati di puro mestiere in varie commedie degli ultimi anni, e anche gli altri attori sembrano condividere l’atmosfera generale, con la spalla comica di Arkin che si fa preferire a quella sopra le righe di Hart, mentre Basinger – il cui personaggio è nonna di un bimbo di otto anni – rende lustro ai miracoli della chirurgia estetica. Il regista Peter Segal mette in immagini il tutto senza voli pindarici, ma con una buona attenzione al ritmo e un’inevitabile attenzione al citazionismo visivo: il risultato è un onesto prodotto medio che si regge sul carisma dei suoi interpreti e che assolve al suo compito di divertire senza troppi retropensieri accompagnato da una simpatica colonna sonora d’epoca (‘Back in black’ degli AC/DC accompagna Razor sull’ultimo ring). Da notare che i titoli di coda sono inframezzati da un paio di scenette conclusive (non al termine del rullo, perciò non c’è da aspettare tanto): in una, Dante cerca di organizzare un nuovo incontro fra Tyson e Holyfield – li chiama per cognome per farli riconoscere, si suppone – prendendosi i suoi rischi. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
lloydharrisonNov 17, 2014
Grudge Match is one of the most desperate ideas for a film I can recall. I've grown up watching and loving Sylvester Stallone & a Robert De Niro. And the 10 year old boy in me wanted Rocky Balboa vs Jake La Motta to be great. ButGrudge Match is one of the most desperate ideas for a film I can recall. I've grown up watching and loving Sylvester Stallone & a Robert De Niro. And the 10 year old boy in me wanted Rocky Balboa vs Jake La Motta to be great. But realistically it's absolutely ridiculous. Ultimately this is a cringe worthy parody just trying to cash in on the former glory of two much loved and iconic characters. I love the Rocky films, but this is one boxing film too many for Sylvester Stallone. And it's embarrassing here to think Robert De Niro was once the Raging Bull. Alan Arkin is fun in a supporting role and I suppose for a glimmer of nostalgia that the fight is worth a watch once. But otherwise this is a tired and cheap gimmick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
travellynMay 4, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not the best film to come from stalone but it is not god awful it's got the right amount of comedy and doesn't take it's self to serious and doesn't go over the top worth a watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Grudge Match" 10 Scale Rating: 4.5 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: While the vast majority of them were in the previews, the film did have a couple of amusing scenes and lines. The idea and set up were solid and at least kept my interest enough
"Grudge Match" 10 Scale Rating: 4.5 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: While the vast majority of them were in the previews, the film did have a couple of amusing scenes and lines. The idea and set up were solid and at least kept my interest enough to see it through to the end.

The Bad: The dramatic elements miss the mark completely and I didn't really care about any of the subplots. The film is completely predictable and full of cliche scenes that we've seen in several other movies. While DeNiro was serviceable, Stallone was pretty much awful. Even Kevin Hart's comedy couldn't save this one.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews