Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 32
  2. Negative: 12 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Dec 24, 2013
    75
    Formulaic, yes. Settled with as many reconciliations and promises of happiness as “A Christmas Carol,” absolutely. But a familiar pleasure, nonetheless.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Dec 24, 2013
    50
    Even though it's all preliminaries, no main event, Grudge Match is harmless enough as entertainment. Just not as harmless as its poor protagonists.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Dec 25, 2013
    50
    Stallone and De Niro simply don’t generate enough combative spark to make this anything more than an amiably mediocre diversion.
  4. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Dec 25, 2013
    40
    Even by low standards, Grudge Match is astonishingly undercooked.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Dec 23, 2013
    38
    Grudge could have saved itself with a rousing finale, but the buildup is so tedious you just want the fight to end.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Dec 24, 2013
    30
    [An] overlong, drab, not-so-funny sports comedy.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Dec 18, 2013
    0
    This is a strange, unfunny, and unmoving boxing riff that simultaneously apes the hoary templates of Thirties and Forties fisticuffs films, nails cliches, and telegraphs its eventual outcome at every opportunity. A remarkably uninspired movie overall, Grudge Match is pure pablum melodrama all the way down to the final count.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. MB_
    Apr 3, 2014
    10
    I came in not expecting too much but was very happy with the film.

    Yes there were a few throwaway tribute gags to the old boxing films and
    by half way through things get a little predictable. But I can enjoy the virtues of the film.

    The problem with modern films to me is that characters do things that don't make sense and just act to move the film forward, this incongruence is glaring but in this case each character was actually acting in character.

    Not really a fan of DeNiro, his performances are usually that showy, he doesn't usually play an actual human being more panto villain. Stallone was his usual old self and didn't embarrass himself and everyone else in the case were great, Arkin didn't emulate Meredith at all which was a great choice and Hart was pretty amusing as the comedy relief.

    The critic snobbery is of course no surprise, they hate anything with Stallone, this is fact. They could have written their reviews months ago, they are that predictable.

    I'm giving it a ten because I liked the characters and script that's what I'm all about.
    Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    I really like this movie a lot. Kinda reminds me of "Rocky." If you guys actually like the movie "Rocky," then you're going to love "Grudge Match." I suggest seeing it. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    Grudge Match tells the story of two boxers Henry " Razor " Sharpe ( Sylvester Stallone ) and Billy "The Kid" McDonagh (Robert De Niro ) Won each other for one match . 30 years later, they met at a crucial Grudge Match . The film proved to be a comedy in the genre with great jokes and great acting.

    Sylvester Stallone played perfectly " Razor ." His character soperezhivaeshdazhe knowing that he will win .

    Robert De Niro is Sylvester Stallone opponent because his story is very touching.

    Grudge Match is a very funny comedy with a great cast , good sauntrek and a good storyline .
    Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2014
    6
    While you can still have fun with this movie, I still wish this could have been better than just being a plain comedy. It doesn't really feel like you're watching a big rivalry between Sylvester Stallone and Robert DeNero, it feels more like slapstick comedy no one will remember, but never the less, it still brings in laughs and touches a little on the main stars. Overall, it's a decent re-hash of former Rocky and Jack! I give it a B-! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2014
    6
    Va bene, a mente fredda si finisce per pensare che, in fondo, è una stupidata. Però, stando al gioco, ci si diverte per un centinaio di minuti senza troppi pensieri: basta lasciarsi andare alla sfacciata inverosimiglianza e osservare i due vecchi leoni fare il verso al proprio passato e sovente gigioneggiare appoggiati a una storia in cui non mancano spunti e battute (dopo pochi minuti, De Niro proclama ‘sono un grande attore’ mentre a Stallone viene vietato di prendere a pugni i quarti di manzo in una cella frigorifera). Razor (Sly) e il Kid (Bob) si odiano da trent’anni – da cui il titolo originale ‘Il match del rancore’ - per motivi sportivi e sentimentali: da quando il primo ha rinunciato al confronto che avrebbe dovuto sancire la superiorità di uno dei due (e alla boxe tutta) dopo che il secondo gli ha messo incinta la fidanzata (Basinger e, nelle immagini degli anni Ottanta, la figlia Ireland). Dante, il tascabile erede del vecchio promoter (un Kevin Hart che fa parecchio il verso a Eddie Murphy), prova a resuscitare la sfida per soldi e i due, dopo qualche tentennamento accettano: Razor ha un posto di lavoro traballante e mantiene il vecchio allenatore (Alan Arkin fa il Burt Young senza la vena di amarezza ma con un rumorosissimo apparecchio acustico) mentre Kid è un vanaglorioso figlio di buona donna e non può certo tirarsi indietro. Inizia così l’allenamento parallelo, in cui si inserisce il figlio della colpa come manager di papà, e si arriva alla grande sfida davanti a mezza Pittsburgh: dodici round di irreale scazzottamento a guardia bassa (del resto i due sono stati protagonisti di match cinematografici tra i più sanguinolenti della storia) al termine del quale Razor grida ‘Adrianaaaaaa’ – no, ok, stavo scherzando – e Kid recupera un po’ di dignità. Ambientata in una periferia urbana abbastanza anonima, la sceneggiatura di Tim Kelleher e Rodney Rothman delinea due antagonisti tagliati con l’accetta mettendo via via più a fuoco il confronto tra un ‘buono’ e un ‘cattivo’ o, quantomeno, un ‘simpatico’ e un ‘antipatico’: Stallone è monolitico come di prammatica nell’interpretare il rude-ma-sensibile Razor mentre De Niro (il cui doppiaggio lo fa sempre sembrare strafatto di elio) utilizza il suo ghigno beffardo per rendere la meschinità che contraddistingue il suo personaggio. Il grande Bob dà l’impressione di divertirsi e rende assai di più rispetto ai tanti ruoli ‘alimentari’ interpretati di puro mestiere in varie commedie degli ultimi anni, e anche gli altri attori sembrano condividere l’atmosfera generale, con la spalla comica di Arkin che si fa preferire a quella sopra le righe di Hart, mentre Basinger – il cui personaggio è nonna di un bimbo di otto anni – rende lustro ai miracoli della chirurgia estetica. Il regista Peter Segal mette in immagini il tutto senza voli pindarici, ma con una buona attenzione al ritmo e un’inevitabile attenzione al citazionismo visivo: il risultato è un onesto prodotto medio che si regge sul carisma dei suoi interpreti e che assolve al suo compito di divertire senza troppi retropensieri accompagnato da una simpatica colonna sonora d’epoca (‘Back in black’ degli AC/DC accompagna Razor sull’ultimo ring). Da notare che i titoli di coda sono inframezzati da un paio di scenette conclusive (non al termine del rullo, perciò non c’è da aspettare tanto): in una, Dante cerca di organizzare un nuovo incontro fra Tyson e Holyfield – li chiama per cognome per farli riconoscere, si suppone – prendendosi i suoi rischi. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    6
    Grudge Match is a little fun with a lot of missed opportunity. The script felt mashed together in a day or two without much revision. The movie lacks intention that could have made it a really great experience. Instead I felt like it was just OK. If you're being selective about what to see in theaters right now, perhaps this one is best left until its available at a Redbox. Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2014
    4
    If this had happen 20-30 years ago, People would go crazy, but now that both guys are up there in age and their star power is fading fast, It's no where near as compelling to see. It's painfully generic through out and while there are bits of humor here and there, It's not enough to justify sitting through the overly long two hour run time. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Trailers