Gulliver's Travels Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In a contemporary re–imagining of the classic tale, Jack Black stars as Gulliver, a big–talking mailroom clerk who, after he's mistakenly assigned a travel piece on the Bermuda Triangle, suddenly finds himself a giant among men when he washes ashore on the hidden island of Lilliput, home toIn a contemporary re–imagining of the classic tale, Jack Black stars as Gulliver, a big–talking mailroom clerk who, after he's mistakenly assigned a travel piece on the Bermuda Triangle, suddenly finds himself a giant among men when he washes ashore on the hidden island of Lilliput, home to a population of very tiny people. At first enslaved by the diminutive and industrious Liliputians, and later declared their hero, Gulliver comes to learn that it’s how big you are on the inside that counts. (20th Century Fox)
    Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 32
  2. Negative: 14 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 22, 2010
    83
    This is what the holidays need: a good, Swift kick in the funny bone.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Dec 25, 2010
    63
    For a novel written nearly 300 years ago by a dour Irish cleric with a mad-on about the material world and a satiric mindset dark enough to flirt with misanthropy, it's amazing how well Gulliver's Travels travels. Even Jack Black can't ruin the thing, although not for lack of trying.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 25, 2010
    50
    The cast gamely tries to keep up, with the scene-stealing O'Dowd making the strongest impression. Still, it all feels so lazy and familiar that adults may find themselves hoping Black will start to challenge himself again - and the more swiftly the better.
  4. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    Dec 22, 2010
    40
    A movie that ought to entice people to want to travel with Gulliver instead inveigles them to run from him.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 25, 2010
    38
    The villains are weak and the narrative has little drive to it.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jan 7, 2011
    25
    At one point, Black puts out a fire by pissing on it. It's my job as a critic to piss on this dumb excuse for a movie. Consider it done.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 21, 2010
    0
    A movie of such stupendous uninspiration that, watching it, I didn't know whether to be affronted or hornswoggled. Movies this monumentally dreadful, after all, don't come along every day.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Jul 6, 2015
    10
    I've really enjoyed this movie. It's the second time I've seen it now, and some parts really made me laugh. When I saw the metascore, II've really enjoyed this movie. It's the second time I've seen it now, and some parts really made me laugh. When I saw the metascore, I couldn't believe my eyes. It deserves a much better score in my opinion. Thumbs up for Jack Black! Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2011
    8
    This is a cool movie. I thought it was funny, even if others did not laugh. In some ways, I think the story of this movie is better than theThis is a cool movie. I thought it was funny, even if others did not laugh. In some ways, I think the story of this movie is better than the story of the book. I also prefer this modern story better. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2015
    7
    Ok, I'm assuming from reading all these other reviews that a lot of you are die-hard fanatics of the book. There's nothing wrong with that butOk, I'm assuming from reading all these other reviews that a lot of you are die-hard fanatics of the book. There's nothing wrong with that but when was this movie advertised as a faithful adaptation? If you get past how different it is from its source material, it's a funny, enjoyable movie with a hilarious performance from Jack Black and some committed performances from Jason Segal, Chris O' Dowd, and Emily Blunt. The jokes are much smarter than reviews would have you believe and I was Laughing out loud at a lot of them. Lighten up and stop being so serious people-enjoy it for what it is! Collapse Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2010
    5
    "Gulliver's Travels rely's way to much on its childlike humor and potty jokes to save itself , but really never succeeds , considering the"Gulliver's Travels rely's way to much on its childlike humor and potty jokes to save itself , but really never succeeds , considering the source material. Jack Black never gets a grip on things. But still i laughed hear and there so a mild recommendation" .. C Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2010
    3
    This movie is unrealistic in so many ways from the original one. Seriously, they added a super giant robot in the film. That didn't even makeThis movie is unrealistic in so many ways from the original one. Seriously, they added a super giant robot in the film. That didn't even make sense ! It wasn't funny (maybe a few chuckles), the plot was to simple (so simple that it became boring) and the acting was average. Jack Black played, again, the same type of character (nothing different). The 3D effects wasn't necessary (approximately ten minutes of the entire film).The other effects were cool. This is easily one of the worst movies of 2010. At least Emily Blunt was hot in this movie. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2016
    2
    A movie failure based on the book which is way better than this movie. If you actually read the book, guess what? This movie doesn't containA movie failure based on the book which is way better than this movie. If you actually read the book, guess what? This movie doesn't contain what it has on the book. Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2010
    0
    This was the worst film I have ever seen. It is what prompted me to find and register on this site to submit my first ever review. My kidsThis was the worst film I have ever seen. It is what prompted me to find and register on this site to submit my first ever review. My kids thought it was stupid and a waste of time. Not funny. Portrays the very worst of sleazy lazy north American non-culture. A cheesy money grab. Don't bother seeing it-read the book. Given that it is based on literature, too bad they waste such great potential. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers