New Line Cinema | Release Date: July 20, 2007
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 235 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
176
Mixed:
28
Negative:
31
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ZachZAug 1, 2007
This is one movie that you will be guaranteed to walk out of feeling genuinely happy!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MarkS.Aug 20, 2007
I am a huge fan of the Broadway Hairspray; I even played in the pit with a touring company of it. The composer, Mark Shaiman, is a genius. Who knew that a gay Jew could write such funky music? Anyone who likes movie musicals even a little I am a huge fan of the Broadway Hairspray; I even played in the pit with a touring company of it. The composer, Mark Shaiman, is a genius. Who knew that a gay Jew could write such funky music? Anyone who likes movie musicals even a little bit will LOVE this movie. My only complaint (which applies to almost all filmed dancing now) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KenM.Dec 7, 2007
Just when you thought Hollywood couldn't do anything feel-good, it comes through with this. Blonsky, Efron, Kelley and Bynes are awesome -- and they aren't even the "name" players. John Travolta goes where Harvey Fierstein and Just when you thought Hollywood couldn't do anything feel-good, it comes through with this. Blonsky, Efron, Kelley and Bynes are awesome -- and they aren't even the "name" players. John Travolta goes where Harvey Fierstein and Divine have gone before. Great job. Motormouth wasn't written for Queen Latifah, but she redefined it. This generation's "Grease"? This movie has more substance and better music. Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
jesssJul 22, 2007
A wonderful, exciting, charming musical film with expert performances by the entire cast especially the marvelous Travolta and Blonsky. Go see it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WilliamMJul 24, 2007
People applauded at the end of some of the dance routines and at the end of the movie. For good reason!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TylerDr.Aug 18, 2007
You know, I'm not one that SHOULD like this movie. I'm a 15 year old guy. My girlfriend dragged me along to this movie and at the beginning I thought, "My God, save me." As the movie progressed, I started to like it more and more. You know, I'm not one that SHOULD like this movie. I'm a 15 year old guy. My girlfriend dragged me along to this movie and at the beginning I thought, "My God, save me." As the movie progressed, I started to like it more and more. By the end, I was smiling the entire time. This is a very, very enjoyable movie. Give it a chance. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SandyC.Aug 9, 2007
Great story; great songs - I felt good about taking my 8 year old daughter to it. We both had a great time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SarahP.Jan 6, 2008
This movie was the best movie this year! ( besides Rataouille ) John Travolta was at his best as a woman. If I could, I would of gave this movie a hundred!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SteveM.Jul 19, 2007
The buzz was good on this one, but I only liked the Broadway show, and I was apprehensive about John Travolta from the previews. But from the first moment I got sucked in to the sheer pleasure of this one. It is a sweet confection with a The buzz was good on this one, but I only liked the Broadway show, and I was apprehensive about John Travolta from the previews. But from the first moment I got sucked in to the sheer pleasure of this one. It is a sweet confection with a moral that played much better on film than on stage. Great visually, wonderful choreography and a terrific cast. I recommend it without hesitation. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
EricDJul 21, 2007
an excellent movie, with a wonderful cast and moral greater then all modern movies hairspray puts a unique twist on a challenging yet exciting time period in our history. the singing and dancing were fantastic and the actors helped the show an excellent movie, with a wonderful cast and moral greater then all modern movies hairspray puts a unique twist on a challenging yet exciting time period in our history. the singing and dancing were fantastic and the actors helped the show maintain its high energy level. the only let down was the fact that they cut two great songs: the big doll house and mama I'm a big girl now, resulting in the lyrics changes in without love that were not to my liking. otherwise a great movie to be enjoyed by all Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
jetpackulleySep 9, 2012
One of the best movies I've seen and yet, I'm not really into musicals. The movie just made me stand up and dance all my way to the best "You Can't Stop the Beat". A movie with true and quality content, not the crappy films that are beingOne of the best movies I've seen and yet, I'm not really into musicals. The movie just made me stand up and dance all my way to the best "You Can't Stop the Beat". A movie with true and quality content, not the crappy films that are being released. Simply great! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ArthurCJul 20, 2007
Wow! I haven't felt this good at a movie in quite a long time. It was emotionally peppy, the music was awesome, and John Travolta's role as Edna quickly moves from stunt casting (look, it's Danny Zuko in a fat suit and a Wow! I haven't felt this good at a movie in quite a long time. It was emotionally peppy, the music was awesome, and John Travolta's role as Edna quickly moves from stunt casting (look, it's Danny Zuko in a fat suit and a dress) into a fully realized character that you actually believe is a shut-in longing to break free. Also, this Nikki Blosky is an amazing revelation, easy to fall in love with. I can't fault this movie for anything, it's been a long time that a musical has been this fun. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisV.Aug 14, 2007
Great movie, i usually dont like this kind of movies, like musical and a lot of songs on it, but i think is very funny, and the chubby girl looks amazing in this film, is great... See it on the movie theater!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DoddiJ.Aug 28, 2007
In a summer and year of so many three- and sequels, I find this film to be so upbeat and great. Yes, it's a "remake" of the John Waters film, which is great by the way, but the music and songs are brand new and specifically done for In a summer and year of so many three- and sequels, I find this film to be so upbeat and great. Yes, it's a "remake" of the John Waters film, which is great by the way, but the music and songs are brand new and specifically done for this movie. John Travolta was quoted saying, that the reason he did this musical (after having been in one of the most popular musicals of all time - Grease), that the director's enthusiasm was so enormous and contagious (not a direct quote, but you catch my drift). This enthusiasm is apparent in all the actors, and while I love Michelle Pfeiffer and John Travolta, I think the kids along with James Marsden are a great team here. Wow wow wow - I feel good after this movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SihleMAug 29, 2007
I went with my 2sisters 2 c it. Even though I,m a guy I did enjoy it, much better than dreamgirls. That girl was so energitic it nearlly rubbed of me, as I nearlly joined my sisters on the dancing back home
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaK.Aug 11, 2008
A great movie, loved every minute. Great songs too.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BillySJul 20, 2007
I gotta admit I went into this movie expecting to hate it. I love the John Waters original with Divine and I was ready to rip apart another big Hollywood commercialization of a great cult movie with the big old gimmick of casting John I gotta admit I went into this movie expecting to hate it. I love the John Waters original with Divine and I was ready to rip apart another big Hollywood commercialization of a great cult movie with the big old gimmick of casting John Travolta as Edna. Well, I've gotta suck it up and admit it. Hairspray is one great entertaining movie. When I saw Mr. Waters in a cameo 5 minutes into the film, I figured he must have at least, given the makers his blessing. The thing is, the movie is infectious and grows on you as you watch it. You never really believe Travolta is a woman, but the character somehow grabs you in a great big bear hug and never stops squeezing. Travolta could be looking at a Supporting actor Oscar nomination. Nikki Blonsky makes an impressive debut though not as scene stealing as Jennifer Hudson in last years Dreamgirls. The supporting cast are all very good, especially Allison Janney who practically steals the movie in one knee dropping hysterical scene. The credits are all top notch with the music complimenting the socially aware story with cheery foot tapping lyrics and even a gospel style anthem sung by Queen Latifah that reminds you of the serious subject. The finale of Hairspray sums up the movie perfectly- "You can't stop the beat", and I admit it, you can't! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LaurenceCJul 20, 2007
I can barely breathe. huff huff. It was WONDERFUL!.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GaryM.Jul 28, 2007
It was a brilliant, feel-good movie with an excellent musical soundtrack! If you were a fan of the original Hairspray you immediately clocked John Waters as the flasher.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DougN.Jul 29, 2007
Great music, never a dull moment, well done!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimLAug 1, 2007
John Travolta totally stoled this movie. I am a big fan of both the original and the stage musical and just felt he made Edna his own and when he sang and danced it simply rocked. This movie is one of most entertaining events I have seen in awhile!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CoolGuyAug 1, 2007
I loved this movie. Very amazing talent and awesome story/sequencing of events.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MartinMAug 1, 2007
One of the best films I've seen in theaters in years. Pure fun from beginning to end. I've seen it thrice and will watch it thrice more this week.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HoneyJR.Aug 13, 2007
This is the best movie I've seen this year so far. I'm officially predicting John Travolta will take home the Golden Globe and probably even get an Oscar nod for his amazing performance. His role was an easy one to over or This is the best movie I've seen this year so far. I'm officially predicting John Travolta will take home the Golden Globe and probably even get an Oscar nod for his amazing performance. His role was an easy one to over or underplay, but he got it just right. It's a shame uptight men insecure with their sexuality can't appreciate the fun and brilliance of Travolta's performance and of this movie. And as far as the allegation that this movie racist against whites, I'd say please stop sleeping in history class like Tracy!! This is actually the way it was in the early 60s. White people wouldn't let black people mingle with white people, sit at the same lunch counters or drink from the same drinking fountains or use the same bathrooms and in places like Baltimore, this kind of treatment didn't end until the civil rights movement in the middle 60s. That's what this movie was really about, the birth of the civil rights movement. I actually found the portrayal of the Amber and Velma characters very realistic and not at all racist, as that's exactly how some white people were in 1961, that's how they behaved that those were the beliefs they held, which is why the civil rights movement, Martin Luther King, Jr. the bus strike of Alabama, the march on Washington, happened. I knew quite a few Ambers in my high school days myself. I loved the score, the songs are catchy and fun and let's give props to James Marsden as Corny Collins!! He was great as Scott/Cyclops in the X-men films, but who knew he could sing and dance like that? I loved him!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BenT.Aug 14, 2007
Well first off... one word, PHENOMINAL! this movie has such a great theme most of us in the U.S. and pretty much all over the world can relate to it. It sends out a message to all of us: It doesnt matter what size you are or what color you Well first off... one word, PHENOMINAL! this movie has such a great theme most of us in the U.S. and pretty much all over the world can relate to it. It sends out a message to all of us: It doesnt matter what size you are or what color you may be. Wonderful people come in all shapes and sizes. Amazing Amazing AMAZING songs and daces. And to that one man who said something like: "If you are a guy you will hate it!" well.... im a happy straight guy and you no what??? I LOVED IT!!! so dont speak for the rest of us guys cause i no some straight guys who loved this musical!!!! and youno what maybe it isnt the broadway version but it is just as good if not better. Some say nothing can beat the original well....you're wrong. This movie helps people not be insecure about some of the problems they might have. It shows us that you can have fun with insecurities and maybe show to the world what people thought you could never do. It also tells us to follow your dream and never give up no matter what or who is in your way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrianR.Aug 17, 2007
how can you NOT love this movie! pure joy, great acting and the music is very well done. much like the songs, the movie builds and builds until the beat can't be stopped. Shankman earns his cred 100%.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherH.rAug 18, 2007
Excellent and entertain all the way to the end credits. It truly is a film for everyone and it just makes you feel good and want to tap your feet.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeteAug 21, 2007
A totally amazing film!!! really cant beat it, its so uplifting, and such a feel good movie. Don't listen to the silly people who give it a 1 out of 10 (i mean the idiotic masochistic men, who, because they are "men" the film is A totally amazing film!!! really cant beat it, its so uplifting, and such a feel good movie. Don't listen to the silly people who give it a 1 out of 10 (i mean the idiotic masochistic men, who, because they are "men" the film is rubbish) ignore them, that is narrow minded. Give this film a chance and your full attention, let go, relax, and enjoy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanR.Aug 22, 2007
I'd give it a 20 if I could. I've seen it 7 times so far and went to 2 singalongs. The music is perfect and the talent is unsurpassed. John Travolta I love you1 He plays Edna to perfection: he doesn't play it drag and he I'd give it a 20 if I could. I've seen it 7 times so far and went to 2 singalongs. The music is perfect and the talent is unsurpassed. John Travolta I love you1 He plays Edna to perfection: he doesn't play it drag and he doesn't play it gay. He plays it real, and it works. He's worth the price of 10 admissions. Elijah Kelley who plays Seaweed is one of the most talented singers and dancers in Hollywood these days. Nikki Blondsky makes you want to shout hallelujah there's real talent out there. James Marsden is the perfect Corny Collins. What a voice! I've seen the original movie, the stageplay and now this new movie and each of these productions stands on its own. People who can't get past the whole "gay/straight/female impersonation/ musical/male/female" thing is WHAT the whole movie is about, HELLO. And people who think the movie panders to racial stereotypes don't understand the idea of archtypes and should continue to vote Republican like they always have: they'll never get it and we'll need movies like Hairspray forever, which is fine by me! If you want to laugh, cry, sing and dance in your seat, see this movie! John Travolta deserves an Oscar for Best Supporting Actor and a Golden Globe. Remember all you stick-in-the-muds: You Can't Stop The Beat! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KindredP.Aug 2, 2007
It was a great movie about living your own dream, not just watching it. My friend and I came out of the theater and learned something about the world we never knew. (I never knew where Baltimore was until I looked it up!) See it, I enjoyed It was a great movie about living your own dream, not just watching it. My friend and I came out of the theater and learned something about the world we never knew. (I never knew where Baltimore was until I looked it up!) See it, I enjoyed it and for those people who think it was racist, it wasn't. Thanks Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ErikaN.Aug 24, 2007
John Travolta was absolutely fabulous. I love him.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BeckyAug 7, 2007
YOU CAN'T STOP THE BEAT!! This is a very funny, happy excellently choreographed movie. Guaranteed to make you want to sing and dance along with the songs. I love movie musicals, this my second favorite of all time!!! Nikki Blonsky and YOU CAN'T STOP THE BEAT!! This is a very funny, happy excellently choreographed movie. Guaranteed to make you want to sing and dance along with the songs. I love movie musicals, this my second favorite of all time!!! Nikki Blonsky and John Travolta all the way!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichaelCAug 27, 2007
This is what American cinema can and should be... a celebration of gratuitous enthusiasm, camp, and wonderful homage to Waters, West Side Story, and music. You'll walk out humming and light-hearted.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarkB.Aug 29, 2007
Who would've guessed in 2006 that in 2007 Karl Rove would exit stage left...er, right; that either Paris Hilton or Nicole Richie would serve ANY jail time whatsoever...or that the guy who brought us The Pacifier AND Cheaper by the Dozen Who would've guessed in 2006 that in 2007 Karl Rove would exit stage left...er, right; that either Paris Hilton or Nicole Richie would serve ANY jail time whatsoever...or that the guy who brought us The Pacifier AND Cheaper by the Dozen 2 would actually follow them with a really GOOD movie? Not that the original source material (John waters' cleanest movie to date, an early-1960s-set satirical-sociological study of how a local Baltimore, MD American Bandstand-type TV dance show goes from having a once a month "Negro Day" to making every day "Rainbow Day") isn't already quite irresistable, or that the stars and songs aren't pretty terrific, but Adam Shankman directs (and choreographs) with a flawless lightness and wit I never suspected he had in him. Casting is uniformly spot-on, ranging from John Travolta's amazing ability to find true tenderness in his role as Edna Turnblad, heroine Tracy's painfully shy, overweight shut-in mom (completely making us forget that we're watching him take over a role originally played by Divine!), Christopher Walken as his (her?) novelty-store proprietor husband displaying a deep love for him (her?) as convincingly as he did for Brooke Adams in The Dead Zone, and Michelle Pfeiffer thoroughly relishing her newly-regrown cat claws as a snobbish, bigoted local TV honchette looking to further her daughter's stardom. (Pfeiffer looks a little TOO emaciated, though, even if the role calls for it. If her gaunt appearance isn't the result of the same kind of special effects and makeup magic that helped make Travolta so convincing, only in reverses, then let's hope that now that this movie has long since wrapped, that David E. Kelley has stuffed a few much-needed double cheeseburgers down his wife's gullet.) Best of all, and making the debut of the year, is the infectiously sunny Nikki Blonsky as Charm City teen Tracy, who almost simultaneously discovers the pain of racism, the pleasure of celebrity and the thrill of a first romance; she's adorably cheery and perky without being saccharine, and when she smiles she could pass as Cynthia Stevenson's plus-sized kid sister. Hairspray's box office stealth success as a summer favorite (a notable accomplishment given that most of the movie musicals that followed Chicago were financial disappointments--including, sadly, Dreamgirls) shouldn't be too surprising considering how resonantly it taps into a couple of recent pop-culture undercurrents (even though it's a period piece): America's slowly growing acceptance if not embracing of personality over "perfect" looks, as evidenced by Ugly Betty's status as a TV heroine, and the yearning of many of its youth to define their own paths rather than be defined by steeotypical labels, an essential thematic element of the Disney Channel's wildly beloved High School Musical movies (which feature Hairspray's Zac Efron). Add to all this art direction and set design that flawlessly capture Baltimore at the time (I lived there for the first 25 years of my life, from 1956 to 1981, so if I'm not an expert witness, who is?), endlessly clever, catchy and exuberant songs that top Marc Shaiman's brilliant work with the South Park movie score because here they're LONGER, and a notable cameo appearance early on that undoubtedly made Hitchcock quiver with envy in his grave, and you've got a total triumph that may not necessarily be 2007's best film so far--Zodiac, Grindhouse, Black Snake Moan and Michael Moore's Sicko offer it some hard competition--but it'll certainly make you FEEL the best! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CurtisD.Nov 14, 2007
I LOVED this movie. I am a big fan of the original 1988 movie, never had the chance to see the Broadway show, But thought this movie was perfect. I had some reservation about Travolta and Efron and never knew that Marsden could sing. But I I LOVED this movie. I am a big fan of the original 1988 movie, never had the chance to see the Broadway show, But thought this movie was perfect. I had some reservation about Travolta and Efron and never knew that Marsden could sing. But I was very pleasantly surprised. This is definitely one of the best movies of the year and definitely one to the top Hollywood Musicals of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
EssenceOfSugarJul 24, 2012
It's supposed to be light-hearted, I can guarantee you that, but the bright colours just make everything look so garish. When it comes to making a feel-good musical comedy about racism, you've got to get the ingredients right - this just hasIt's supposed to be light-hearted, I can guarantee you that, but the bright colours just make everything look so garish. When it comes to making a feel-good musical comedy about racism, you've got to get the ingredients right - this just has a little too much sugar in it. Sometimes that songs can also get a little sickening each time you watch it as well. When it comes to John Travolta, he looks a little weird (and perhaps stupid) playing Tracy's mother. Nonetheless, it had clear boundaries over certain characters, understandably pointing out the antagonists from the good guys (and gals). I also found it fascinating about the depth of the exploration of Baltimore, where we met a few eccentric, yet funny, characters. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Nov 26, 2015
A wonderfully entertaining movie. A very funny script with so many diverse characters. They all come together and shine in their performances. Just flat out enjoyable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
xahkdlys119Apr 13, 2012
Bravo! This is the best movie I have seen in years. The songs, dancing and music make this movie an enjoyable musical. Even if you don't like musicals, you are sure to walk out of the cinema or switch off your TV smiling.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
gill000Aug 14, 2013
This is one of those films that is sure to put a smile on your face. I can't think of the film without getting a song stuck in my head. Well worth a watch
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RikiegeNov 1, 2012
The best movie musical of all time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
survivorfan989Dec 31, 2012
Easily my favourite musical and it's not hard to tell why because its full of catchy songs and stand-out performances from the cast. Not only is it a great concept but it's crosses over from a Broadway show to Film so easily! Nikki Blonsky inEasily my favourite musical and it's not hard to tell why because its full of catchy songs and stand-out performances from the cast. Not only is it a great concept but it's crosses over from a Broadway show to Film so easily! Nikki Blonsky in her first major role is just a delight and she is joined by so many talented stars here, but there's no looking past John Travolta and his hilarious portrayal of Edna! Overall a delightful film to watch and it will always be one of my favourites :) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
khviviDec 27, 2013
Ended up watching this because family put it on tv, and i didn't expect much.
However, it was actually very entertaining, musical film really not my thing but definitely worth the watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysMar 19, 2014
Hairspray is a delightful revival of the cult classic. John Travolta is hilarious in his role as a women, and the movie prances along with respect to the original.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
HerlyantiJan 6, 2016
The opening was great and emerged self-confidence inside me. And the story was good actually. Somehow, something's missing here and I'm not quite sure what that is. Is it because it tells the story of the '60? I don't think so. Chicago'sThe opening was great and emerged self-confidence inside me. And the story was good actually. Somehow, something's missing here and I'm not quite sure what that is. Is it because it tells the story of the '60? I don't think so. Chicago's setting is away later than this and I love it so much. Mmm, maybe it's the songs??? Well, I guess they're really not my fave. Yet I'm happy enough to find that this movie is not telling the story of beauty salon as I've predicted from the cover and the title.
Queen Latifah is here and she's a lot skinnier than in Chicago. But I like her better in Chicago. And I don't see something special in John's acting besides the fact that he acts as an obese woman.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JoB.Oct 19, 2007
Great Soundtrack
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrasierM.Dec 6, 2007
This movie is fantastic I think! The music is alive and fresh. I would've gave this a ten, but Zac Efron is in it. Sorry but he is a horrible actor! I don't care how hot girls think he is! He is a horrible actor who needs to be a This movie is fantastic I think! The music is alive and fresh. I would've gave this a ten, but Zac Efron is in it. Sorry but he is a horrible actor! I don't care how hot girls think he is! He is a horrible actor who needs to be a model. He can't sing either! He was a horrible actor in this movie! And he is so not the type to curse in a movie. He sounds like it was a forced cuss word! Please get a good child star that has the balls to not sound all choked whenever he cusses! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennaB.Oct 6, 2007
OMG It was the second best Broadway show I've ever seen next to billy eliot!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathrynSJul 19, 2007
This movie was FANTASTIC!! I was cautious about John Travolta, but I barely even noticed him! The cast, music, and overall energy make this a must-see!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
johnmJul 19, 2007
I went to the premiere in Hollywood the other night and I loved the movie. A couple of notes: - Travolta was pretty funny. I was all set to hate him, but somehow I didn't. - Michelle Pfeiffer was great as the evil Velma Von Tussle - her I went to the premiere in Hollywood the other night and I loved the movie. A couple of notes: - Travolta was pretty funny. I was all set to hate him, but somehow I didn't. - Michelle Pfeiffer was great as the evil Velma Von Tussle - her evil looks were quite camp...clearly she's not the strongest singer in the cast, but her numbers were fune and she hystericaly bitchy. - Nikki Blonsky was wonderful as Tracy Turnblad - she's so exuberant and full of fun. - Queen Latifah was okay...great voice, but played it too much like a NAACP psa - Zak Efron - yawn...CUTE...yawn...but he really shines when he can sing and dance. - The real breakout performance was Elijah Kelley who plays Seaweed. This kid can dance and sing like nobody's business and again, brought a real sense of exuberance and life to what has always been just a supporting part. Here's the thing - the movie is interesting because it is a movie inspired by a broadway musical which was inspired by a cult movie. If you don't like musicals, don't see it. If you want a sweet, funny couple of hours then see it. But don't expect a remake of the original....nothing could be further from the reality...and what's more, it doesn't try to be. In fact, John Water's advice to Adam Shankman (the director) was not to try to remake his movie or the show..but rather to find his own voice. And honestly, while it isn't the original or the broadway version, it succeeds in its own way. I can see how we could all go in with a lot of preconceived notions and while i respect your opinion, I have to say the movie was a lot of fun and I highly recommend it as a fun time at the movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkhJul 20, 2007
High energy movie with John Travolta showing his acting and dancing talents. This film is 90% singing and dancing and the music is a toe-taping sendup of classic rock and roll themes and beats. The theme of the film...acceptance of all who High energy movie with John Travolta showing his acting and dancing talents. This film is 90% singing and dancing and the music is a toe-taping sendup of classic rock and roll themes and beats. The theme of the film...acceptance of all who are different...is wonderfully realized. For the first time in many, many films, the overweight heroine gets to fall in love with and kiss her handsome, thin and sexy co-star. Very entertaining...especially for teenage girls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottDJul 20, 2007
The best movie-musical I have ever seen and one of the best movies I have ever seen. Great cast, great story, and a great movie to make you feel good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BJNJul 20, 2007
Great fun and performances made me want to go dancing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BonnieKJul 23, 2007
One of the most funny and charming movies I have seen in a long time - and this coming from someone who hates musicals. Honestly, no disrespect to Divine intended, I suspect this was the movie John Waters always wanted to make.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelLJul 24, 2007
A joyous piece of fluff. I loved it. Two hours flew by--the music (with a few deletions and additions from the Broadway show) was beautifully executed. The cast was uniformly fine, with Travolta a delightful surprise. He's no Divine, A joyous piece of fluff. I loved it. Two hours flew by--the music (with a few deletions and additions from the Broadway show) was beautifully executed. The cast was uniformly fine, with Travolta a delightful surprise. He's no Divine, nor is he Harvey F., but he's a joy in his own right. Nicky Blonsky steals the show with buckets of charisma and a voice to match. Queen Latifah adds some soul to the bluster of Motormouth Maybelle. And Seaweed--he's AMAZING! Fans of the Broadway show who don't know Waters' 1988 film might quibble with plot changes, but this Hairspray is truer to the original, minus Waters' signature dark edge. With great sets, choreography, makeup, costumes, and art direction along with superb performances, Hairspray should lead the pack in Oscar buzz. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertDJul 25, 2007
Loved every minute of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GingerJJul 25, 2007
Fun, Wonderful, Uplifting!, Super. John Travolta was a hoot - as was Alison Janey (who was only a minor character in the story). The music was wonderful. A must-see! And if all that fun was not enough -- it taught my 10-year-old daughter a Fun, Wonderful, Uplifting!, Super. John Travolta was a hoot - as was Alison Janey (who was only a minor character in the story). The music was wonderful. A must-see! And if all that fun was not enough -- it taught my 10-year-old daughter a little bit about life in the 60's and how far our society has come. Great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeatherR.Apr 26, 2008
Excellent! The songs are very catchy; they never get out of your head! From the first note you fall in love with Niki and Penny. They make a great team and whole cast makes the movie a feel good flick. T They just don't make a lot of Excellent! The songs are very catchy; they never get out of your head! From the first note you fall in love with Niki and Penny. They make a great team and whole cast makes the movie a feel good flick. T They just don't make a lot of movies that are happy anymore; all you see is tears and blood. This movie is awesome and anyone should go see it, then ( just like I did ) go buy the songs of ITunes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JavierMAug 18, 2008
Great movie and great songs. "Hairspray" is a very funny spectacle for all family. Zac Efron and Nikki Blonsky sings like the angels and her characters are unforgetables.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CharlesB.Nov 23, 2007
Very long, poor musics, but impressive actings. John Travolta and Nikki Blonsky should be nominated for an Oscar for Best Supporting Actor and Best Actress respectively. The Art Direction and Costumes should too. The negative side of the Very long, poor musics, but impressive actings. John Travolta and Nikki Blonsky should be nominated for an Oscar for Best Supporting Actor and Best Actress respectively. The Art Direction and Costumes should too. The negative side of the movie is your musics (worse) and your duration (very long), making it exhausting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamJ.Nov 6, 2007
A modern classic! Can't remember when I laughed as hard nor felt as good at the cinema before? John Travolta and Christopher Walken is a cute couple as well! See this movie or regret it for the rest of your life!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanS.Oct 19, 2007
I was slightly skeptical going in, as I love the original, but I already liked the music, and the movie mostly had me when John Waters appeared as the flasher in Good Morning, Baltimore. My second reservation, John Travolta, disappeared the I was slightly skeptical going in, as I love the original, but I already liked the music, and the movie mostly had me when John Waters appeared as the flasher in Good Morning, Baltimore. My second reservation, John Travolta, disappeared the moment he uttered the word "iron." I was in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HaleyRDec 10, 2007
Feel-good movie of the year. The musical numbers were fabulously choreographed (thanks to director-choreographer Adam Shankman), and the performances were fantastic. John Travolta's and Nikki Blonsky's performances were among the Feel-good movie of the year. The musical numbers were fabulously choreographed (thanks to director-choreographer Adam Shankman), and the performances were fantastic. John Travolta's and Nikki Blonsky's performances were among the best of its genre. Definitely one of the best movies of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PeterJ.Dec 19, 2007
I got this movie for my wife to watch even though I HATE musicals. I was pleasantly surprised and actually enjoyed this movie. It was a little long though. If they would have shortened it a little I would have given it an 8.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShirleyC.Oct 28, 2007
I saw the show at the Neil Simon Theater in NYC in October 2007 and enjoyed it, but was not too keen on the guy who played the part of Edna, but enjoyed everyone else in the cast. When I returned to Australia, I saw the movie with John I saw the show at the Neil Simon Theater in NYC in October 2007 and enjoyed it, but was not too keen on the guy who played the part of Edna, but enjoyed everyone else in the cast. When I returned to Australia, I saw the movie with John Travolta playing Edna I thought he was just brilliant and deserves an Oscar nomination. He was so believable in the role. Nicky Blonsky (Tracey) was also terrific. She has a great voice and was just made for the part. I intend to purchase the movie soundtrack CD and I did enjoy the movie more than the Broadway show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulLJul 21, 2007
An exuberant, fun musical that transfers the sheer enjoyment of the play to film. Definitely one of the best of the year, and certainly one of the best musicals to come along in quite a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyBJul 21, 2007
What fun, which I did not expect- although I am not a John Travolta fan he was great in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamEJul 22, 2007
Hairspray completely fulfills everything it attempts; spectacular dance routines (check) catchy songs (check) famous and talented cast (check +) feel good story (check ++)...never does this film slow down or get dull...just a visually Hairspray completely fulfills everything it attempts; spectacular dance routines (check) catchy songs (check) famous and talented cast (check +) feel good story (check ++)...never does this film slow down or get dull...just a visually stunning movie that will leave everyone feeling good and ready to sing and dance! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
brianp.Jul 22, 2007
Pure fun, saw both the original movie and the musical, Travolta was not as bad as i was afraid of. the girl who played Tracie and Michelle p. were the best including Christopher Walken. was very close to the musical with some bits of dark Pure fun, saw both the original movie and the musical, Travolta was not as bad as i was afraid of. the girl who played Tracie and Michelle p. were the best including Christopher Walken. was very close to the musical with some bits of dark humor from the original film. very well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarleneJJul 25, 2007
The best time I've had at the movies in a very long time. I've never seen the original or the Broadway show so I had no preconceived notions. Loved every minute. James Marsden was great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimJul 26, 2007
If you think the film is racist, that's probably because it's about racism and rising above it, and you just happen to be unintelligent. This film is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarisaV.Jul 31, 2007
This movie was the best musical movie since Grease. This is the 1rst movie I will buy since,,, I don't buy movies but this one I will.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Jk9785Feb 26, 2017
I sat down to watch this film after owning the DVD for years, but never actually watching it. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. A feel-good film with great acting, a good story, and great musical numbers, Hairspray delivers on justI sat down to watch this film after owning the DVD for years, but never actually watching it. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. A feel-good film with great acting, a good story, and great musical numbers, Hairspray delivers on just about every level and exceeded my expectations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews