thinkfilm | Release Date: August 11, 2006
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 224 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
176
Mixed:
25
Negative:
23
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
SteveB.Sep 21, 2006
Once again, a "great performance" does not make a great movie. Also once again, like a lot of other current "edgy" movies, the film just starts at a point and ends at another point, with no particular plot, resolution, or conclusion.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
johnwSep 11, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] The shocker is not the crackhead teacher. Why has nobody mentioned the blatant suggestions of pedophilia?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JayW.Sep 6, 2006
Nicely done take on important Black cultural issues, wrecked by the filmmaker's preoccupation with the angst of a spoiled, self-centered crackhead (and that's the teacher), supposedly so good at what he does that he doesn't Nicely done take on important Black cultural issues, wrecked by the filmmaker's preoccupation with the angst of a spoiled, self-centered crackhead (and that's the teacher), supposedly so good at what he does that he doesn't need no stinkin' lesson plans, and whose class preparation time is taken up bar-hopping, buying dope and using dope. As far as the real problems of educating the urban poor, well, who's got time for reality? (If you liked the pretentious "Crash" you'll love this one.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DianeD.Mar 4, 2007
Teacher is a semi-functioning crack addict. Student is a drug runner. Clearly, that's the basis for their bond. Our only clue that teacher may ever redeem himself is that he shaves off his beard in the end. Student says, "You missed a Teacher is a semi-functioning crack addict. Student is a drug runner. Clearly, that's the basis for their bond. Our only clue that teacher may ever redeem himself is that he shaves off his beard in the end. Student says, "You missed a spot." The whole movie missed a spot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RyanM.Feb 20, 2007
There is no story here and no plot development. Very disappointing, considering all the reviews I've read. Gosling and Epps are flawless, and save this movie from being a complete waste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanielJ.Mar 10, 2007
It's a low-key independent film, muted and restrained in its emotionas. It's also empty. I got excited about seeing it because the word of mouth was pretty hot, all about how Gosling is going to be an actor in the vein of Johny It's a low-key independent film, muted and restrained in its emotionas. It's also empty. I got excited about seeing it because the word of mouth was pretty hot, all about how Gosling is going to be an actor in the vein of Johny Depp, a pretty boy who does it for the art. But it's closer to Brad Pitt, who choses movies with self-depreciating scenes of him getting his ass kicked, just becaues he thinks he looks cool getting his ass kicked. Half Nelson is just as much a vanity project for Gosling as the films that the big stars like Tom Cruise handpick for themselves when they decide to be a Samurai or a Special agent. They're painting a picture over tiem of their own persona from a pallette of exagerated fantasies. Half Nelson is the same thing, only on a small scale, using junkie chic. Every choice, from Gosling's calculator watch, to his shirts, to the ironic and conspicuous use of tighty-whitey underwear, is designed to add hipster aestheitc to a movie that is nothing but hipster aesthetic. What is consistent about the movie is that the character is full of it. He has the kind of hint of ideals that the word "psuedo" was invented for. The moments in the movie that ring true are when he's getting high and tells someone "the kids keep me grounded." As intended, it rings so false, like he's said it countless times for calculated effect. I don't know if the film makers set out to make a vapid movie about a vapid person Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
D.L.B.Mar 29, 2007
Great performance by Gosling. Would have liked just a little more redemption.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcK.Sep 27, 2006
I'll give my props to Epps and Mackie for their performances, but certainly not for Gosling, who is inexplicably receiving raves. His role as the "white teacher in an urban setting" is ridiculously clichéd. I found the film to be I'll give my props to Epps and Mackie for their performances, but certainly not for Gosling, who is inexplicably receiving raves. His role as the "white teacher in an urban setting" is ridiculously clichéd. I found the film to be slow and uninteresting. It's one thing to see a below average film....but it's a huge disappointment when the below average film is one that is receiving a super-high MetaCritic rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
nascentJan 12, 2012
Another cliché-ridden generic drug-related high school movie. The only positive is Gosling's acting, if only the script was worthy of his casting....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews