New Line Cinema | Release Date: February 25, 2011
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 172 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
59
Mixed:
81
Negative:
32
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
FDT44Jul 6, 2011
Host to the ever-continuing trend of cinematic themes, the Farrelly brothers don't stray far from lasciviousness as they once again ("Shallow Hal") turn the tables, and put men in the spot light of the unsatisfied; here, we learn thatHost to the ever-continuing trend of cinematic themes, the Farrelly brothers don't stray far from lasciviousness as they once again ("Shallow Hal") turn the tables, and put men in the spot light of the unsatisfied; here, we learn that hedonism is satisfactory...just as long as you have a pass. In this farcically lewd comedy, two men have the once in a lifetime opportunity to relive their pre-marital days, only to the expense and baggage of 20 years, a couple kids, and a rusty dating game that has been played in ages. With their newly-given priviledges, and desperate attempts via Applebee's, they finally reach what they sought after, albeit unlikely, sex with beautiful women. Only now, approached with such recognition, do they realize how lucky they really are to be married--- notwithstanding attractive women already at home. Aside from being offensively indecent and raunchy around the edges, "Hall Pass" is the projection of every man's fantasy, acted on or not, where being average is perceivably desirable, and insecurities are tossed aside. At the surface, you have a movie that will make you laugh to the limits of your waistline, mesmerize to every last 'mental image,' jump from every Jacuzzi, and have you another quote to share with your friends. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
MarcDoyleFeb 26, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The 2 or 3 "money shots" in this film (Owen Wilson with the 2 dicks in the spa; Drunk girl who craps in the shower) pretty much make the rest of this very ordinary film worth seeing - if you have a juvenile humor streak like I do - and if you simply feel like laughing. It's nowhere near the recent best in the genre (Hanover, Wedding Crashers, Old School), but again, if you want something light to laugh with - it'll do. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
OnearFeb 25, 2011
This could be Jason Sudeikis's chance to make it into the public's eye that doesn't watch SNL. With him it is an average movie, but without him it would have been a disaster. Most of the good one-liners were revealed in the trailers. TheThis could be Jason Sudeikis's chance to make it into the public's eye that doesn't watch SNL. With him it is an average movie, but without him it would have been a disaster. Most of the good one-liners were revealed in the trailers. The plot was quite predictable, but I can't hate a movie entirely that rips on Kathy Griffin. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
2PIN-1STINMar 4, 2011
Nope! Note The Hangover, not Due Date, not Get Me to The Greek, not Judd Apatow level stuff here. There is some funny bits in the first third, but the middle drags into a chick flick in that men need women more than visa versa. The moral ofNope! Note The Hangover, not Due Date, not Get Me to The Greek, not Judd Apatow level stuff here. There is some funny bits in the first third, but the middle drags into a chick flick in that men need women more than visa versa. The moral of the story is that men cannot live without their women, but the women can get guys whenever and wherever they want. Not a good guy movie like I had hoped. The real old guy friend in the final third has some funny bits in a club, but the promise in the beginning doesn't pan out. So, just leave after an hour and you should get your money's worth. P.S. Worst haircut on a male movie star since Eraserhead. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Forrestgump1Mar 12, 2011
"As Meteorically funny Hall Pass is , parts get taken to an extreme and can be a turnoff for newcomers. Owen Wilson is hilarious Jason Sudeikis is funny equally but not qualified overall Farrley Brothers bring us a funny , decent , not "so""As Meteorically funny Hall Pass is , parts get taken to an extreme and can be a turnoff for newcomers. Owen Wilson is hilarious Jason Sudeikis is funny equally but not qualified overall Farrley Brothers bring us a funny , decent , not "so" special comedy!" .. B Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
istanbulJun 23, 2011
Hall Pass offers no surprises or deviations from a typical Farrelly movie - juvenile sense of humor, outrageous plot lines and an overblown finales. It's a commodity. If you are into the farrelly formula, you ll have a few laughs, simple asHall Pass offers no surprises or deviations from a typical Farrelly movie - juvenile sense of humor, outrageous plot lines and an overblown finales. It's a commodity. If you are into the farrelly formula, you ll have a few laughs, simple as that. Hall Pass could have been a great vehicle for Sudeikis. He is given the best set-ups and lines yet seems to make little out of it, whereas Christina Applegate shines in her limited screen time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PurpleUrpNov 15, 2011
A clever story, but not able to do much with a dried out cast. There were a few laughs here and there but there was just too much CHEESE with no topping to balance our excitement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuApr 7, 2012
Outrageous but with some laugh out loud moments, basically all you would expect from A Farrelly brother movie. Gets a bit soppy at the end but tends to keep the laugh coming throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jimmydeanApr 23, 2011
There were a lot of "Yikes" for me in this phone in. Bad writing or improving? I like the cast but they did not work well together. I see em like I write em. Renter...maybe cable it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Khunter4382Jan 4, 2012
Fun and funny. This film is another comedy that is worth a rental price, and maybe even a $4 DVD......I got it for that price! Sudeikis and Wilson prove to be a pretty strong team here, and it all works. While this film is ridiculous inFun and funny. This film is another comedy that is worth a rental price, and maybe even a $4 DVD......I got it for that price! Sudeikis and Wilson prove to be a pretty strong team here, and it all works. While this film is ridiculous in nature, it makes for a quite hilarious time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
boxenford92May 14, 2011
Its a Farrelly Brothers movie! What do people expect besides gross out jokes. That's what makes it funny. The theater i was in was cracking up throughout the whole movie. Critics suck at rating movies
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Knicksfan7Jun 3, 2011
Id say this movie deserves the reviews its getting, the story was stupid, and the writing was bad at most points, but it was funny, no need to rip the movie apart, it was made to make people laugh, and at most points in the movie I laughed myId say this movie deserves the reviews its getting, the story was stupid, and the writing was bad at most points, but it was funny, no need to rip the movie apart, it was made to make people laugh, and at most points in the movie I laughed my ass of, it was hilarious at moments, this movie was meant to make guys laugh and thats it, overall I give it a 6/10 but comedy and jokes wise, 10/10 this movie did what it was supposed to, make you laugh and nothing else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
filmtrashreviewJun 8, 2011
Hall Pass has some great laughs. However, it falls short in it's misguided artful meaning. Nudity is minimal and because of this it can't even be placed with other sexual comedies. It's just boring!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
danielb1982Sep 29, 2011
The review on the back of the DVD said that this movie was one of the best since There's Something About Mary.

Well honestly, I can't say I agree. Yes it was funny in parts, but to compare it to There's Something About Mary is mad. I
The review on the back of the DVD said that this movie was one of the best since There's Something About Mary.

Well honestly, I can't say I agree. Yes it was funny in parts, but to compare it to There's Something About Mary is mad.

I normally like movie's with Owen Wilson in, but this wasn't one of them!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxJan 17, 2012
Its a decent comedy. It is funny but most of the jokes are rather generic but executed perfectly by the cast and the situation they are in. I enjoyed it and thought it was well worth the watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Alexander_FredDec 16, 2011
The movie succeeds in one area: the humor, despite being profane, juvenile, misogynistic, and somewhat disturbing at points, nonetheless hits the mark and leaves room for many thick and hearty laughs. On the other side, these moments ofThe movie succeeds in one area: the humor, despite being profane, juvenile, misogynistic, and somewhat disturbing at points, nonetheless hits the mark and leaves room for many thick and hearty laughs. On the other side, these moments of humor, though consistent, are surrounded by more dramatic moments, which become more tiresome than anything else. Ultimately the contrast between the drama and the comedy does not work. The actors are incapable of truly dramatic acts and the point that the Farrelly Brothers attempts make falls to pieces and is almost unidentifiable amongest the sexual humor that pervades throughout. If the script was better written and Wilson and Sudeikis were more than simple comedians, then maybe the film would have been able to take whatever point the Farrelly Brothers were trying to make and actually convey it to the audience. But the truth of the matter is that this film shows us one thing and makes us believe with all out hearts. Owen Wilson needs to stick to comedy and purely comedy, nothing else. But in the end, when I think back to this film, the jokes still stick in my head and I ultimately have to call this a funny and decent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobFeb 24, 2012
A few minor laughs and decent acting by the cast dont even come close to making up for this film. It fails to rise above the level of a generic comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Mar 17, 2013
With a few laughs and some meaningful moments here and there, Hall Pass fails to rise above the level of a generic comedy with characters as dull as dishwater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
dev92Aug 25, 2012
Not a bad film but not a great film either. Maybe if I was older and married I would find this film more funny. Owen Wilson should be able to do better, even if it is as a minture person in a Ben Stiller film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BradySmithJun 5, 2013
Overly dirty, and not very funny, Hall Pass could have been a lot better. There are a few funny scenes, but it doesn't keep any sustained comic momentum, or build to much of anything. In fact by the end it becomes somewhat of a chick-flick.Overly dirty, and not very funny, Hall Pass could have been a lot better. There are a few funny scenes, but it doesn't keep any sustained comic momentum, or build to much of anything. In fact by the end it becomes somewhat of a chick-flick. There are definitely worse comedies, but it won't hurt to skip this one either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FreedomFightersDec 5, 2016
This movie was just boring! It wasn't like "mind-numbingly awful," it was just painfully dull! "Hall Pass" has some likable stars and a few nice messages, but it's flat-out boring, really unfunny and, as I said before, extremely dull. It'sThis movie was just boring! It wasn't like "mind-numbingly awful," it was just painfully dull! "Hall Pass" has some likable stars and a few nice messages, but it's flat-out boring, really unfunny and, as I said before, extremely dull. It's not the worst thing you'll ever watch, but "Hall Pass" is an extremely dull and unfunny affair that you should probably skip out on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Meth-dudeNov 13, 2016
The premise was stupid, the movie was not very believable and it wasn't particularly funny. At least the acting was pretty good and the movie was kind of entertaining. Overall, it's a very average movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Mar 2, 2015
Owen Wilson has been a pretty solid guy in comedy movies for more than a decade but now it finally looks like he is starting to go downhill. Jason Sudeikis is also a guy who pretty much funny in everything, but these guys were both averageOwen Wilson has been a pretty solid guy in comedy movies for more than a decade but now it finally looks like he is starting to go downhill. Jason Sudeikis is also a guy who pretty much funny in everything, but these guys were both average here. Hall Pass is a movie that is for middle aged males, it may not be considered funny if you are a young unwed male like myself. I did have a few laughs scattered all over the movie but this movie is not comparable to movies the stars have already been in. This movie is really hit or miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews