Dimension Films | Release Date: August 5, 1998
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 97 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
65
Mixed:
16
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ScottNJun 7, 2009
I went to see this movie in the theatre expecting it to be pretty awful. After all, how many of you expect the 7th movie in a horror series to be any good? Anyway, I came away pleasantly surprised, and this is now probably my 2nd (or 3rd at I went to see this movie in the theatre expecting it to be pretty awful. After all, how many of you expect the 7th movie in a horror series to be any good? Anyway, I came away pleasantly surprised, and this is now probably my 2nd (or 3rd at worst) favorite in the entire series. Really a nice wrap up to the whole Laurie/Michael storyline, and this is where it ends in my mind. Don't be fooled by Resurrection and the fact that Jamie Lee is in it - that movie is a farce and Jamie Lee's appearance is nothing more than a shameful cameo.. H20 is suspenseful, well written, and well acted. Good job!! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TheCriticKidSep 20, 2013
Jamie Lee Curtis returns to reprise her role as the traumatized sister of Michael Myers, Laurie Strode. She delivers this character with much independence and courage. This movie has a fantastic storyline and a fantastic cast. A direct sequelJamie Lee Curtis returns to reprise her role as the traumatized sister of Michael Myers, Laurie Strode. She delivers this character with much independence and courage. This movie has a fantastic storyline and a fantastic cast. A direct sequel to the first two "Halloween" films. Honestly if time would let it, this could be the true "Halloween 3." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
HWASJul 30, 2011
wow. can we get any gayer? YES! its called halloween resurrection! i cant even believe jamie lee curtis signed on to this abomination of a film. not only does michael myers' mask make him look like he has down syndrome, but nothing about thiswow. can we get any gayer? YES! its called halloween resurrection! i cant even believe jamie lee curtis signed on to this abomination of a film. not only does michael myers' mask make him look like he has down syndrome, but nothing about this movie is scary. NOTHING. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
spadenxDec 22, 2011
It was ok. Still a little too generic for my taste and the acting was pretty horrible too. The kills werent all that good either. Takes far too long to get into as well. Just another generic addition to the series.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AxebrossiaJul 9, 2014
I saw many people say "direct sequel to the original movie" lol.. the other halloweens movies they enter to the history too, the begenning of this movie, they show us all the papers about the all murders from Myers incluyed Halloween 4, 5,I saw many people say "direct sequel to the original movie" lol.. the other halloweens movies they enter to the history too, the begenning of this movie, they show us all the papers about the all murders from Myers incluyed Halloween 4, 5, and 6 and spin offs so this secuel dont have much sense like 20 years later and forgot her daughter and have another son? Is a good secuel but not the best, i think Halloween V , 6 and 2 was much better.. obviously i dont mentioned Halloween resurrection because is complete crap Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ChristianS.Aug 8, 2009
Tied up with 1981's Halloween II, the second best in the series. Jamie Lee Curtis is back and it gets better. The whole film is very suspenseful and creepy from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeWJan 14, 2008
This is a great film. One of the best thrillers ever made. It's actually much better than the first, in my opinion. This film is quite thrilling, the music made it thrilling actually. The best thing about it is that it scares us rather This is a great film. One of the best thrillers ever made. It's actually much better than the first, in my opinion. This film is quite thrilling, the music made it thrilling actually. The best thing about it is that it scares us rather than showing us gore and stuff like that. Oh yes, the gore is minimal, there's also no sex/nudity. Great film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MovieLonely94Nov 6, 2010
very nice sequel to the original
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Anotherday1787Aug 12, 2011
This movie will always have a place in my heart as it is the first horror movie I ever saw. I saw it before the other Halloween films and so I thought it was the greatest thing I'd ever seen. Truthfully, it is not a bad horror movie. HartnettThis movie will always have a place in my heart as it is the first horror movie I ever saw. I saw it before the other Halloween films and so I thought it was the greatest thing I'd ever seen. Truthfully, it is not a bad horror movie. Hartnett and Williams are a lot of fun to watch and Jamie Lee Curtis never disappoints. The problem is that nothing beats the first Halloween and to even try is a fruitless endeavor Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ScarTissue1990Mar 11, 2012
Amazing movie! A direct sequel to "Halloween II." This (like other "Halloween" movies) doesn't get enough credit for bringing something new to cinema. I love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LuciusMcGibbonDec 9, 2012
For all its weaknesses, I give this movie major points if only for trying to undo some of the damage to the series from parts 5 and 6; the director is clearly trying to shed some of the franchise' bad habits by de-canonizing the ridiculousFor all its weaknesses, I give this movie major points if only for trying to undo some of the damage to the series from parts 5 and 6; the director is clearly trying to shed some of the franchise' bad habits by de-canonizing the ridiculous "mark of Thorn" timeline. The return of Laurie Strode is strictly good news, as we can finally expect a more fitting conclusion to her story than an off-screen car crash Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
GlitterAug 30, 2013
The true sequel to Halloween II, it tries with great effort to utterly defecate on any quality that the preceding sequels hadn't already deprecated Curtis reprises her role, as does Nancy Stephen's. However the former obliterates anyThe true sequel to Halloween II, it tries with great effort to utterly defecate on any quality that the preceding sequels hadn't already deprecated Curtis reprises her role, as does Nancy Stephen's. However the former obliterates any memorable qualities her character possessed, while the latter exasperates the trivial featuring of her character's existence. While failing to falter into the cesspit that the previous entries dug, it fails to deliver scares or quality that the first two films established (more-so the first.) Halloween VII is best viewed in trilogy format with the first-two, if you understand you're going from an "A" film to a "C" film to a "D" film. Please with all love ignore the final film in the franchise, unless you're open to experiencing rest to the franchise (literally). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
marcmyworksJan 11, 2014
A 'Scream'-type sequel to the original Halloween, featuring the return of Jamie Lee Curtis. This film suffered from seemingly being slapped together as a cash-cow for Dimension Studios rather than a stand alone film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscOct 28, 2014
H20 was really actually scary it has alot of tense and volume to the music that actually scares the hell out of you when myers jumps out or the friends jump out as an accident. same story , same plot ,same old dumb resurrecting thats whatH20 was really actually scary it has alot of tense and volume to the music that actually scares the hell out of you when myers jumps out or the friends jump out as an accident. same story , same plot ,same old dumb resurrecting thats what SUCKS ! about the franchise , just kill him hits simple , but thats annoys me about the film series. But this actually a good movie it takes back 20 years of Jamie Lee Curtis' Character " Laurie Strode" it's a good Steve Miner film i am not sure if the original director of halloween John Carpenter had a different view of the story though. Grade A
( i am a huge fan of Carpenter 's halloween series there is so much things that halloween can reveal about Myers tell the unthinkable film of halloween).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeNov 29, 2014
I'm not a big fan of the Halloween franchise and this is not the movie that will make love the franchise.The acting was great but there is some serious plothole.The death scenes were not so good either but,the movie was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GodzillaMutoFanDec 19, 2015
..................................................................................................................................................scary as ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviecritic108Nov 4, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best Halloween movie since the original. The fight with Michael alone makes this worth watching. Too bad it wasn't really him. I feel like this would have been a good place for the series to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ineedausernamenJul 6, 2017
Abandonment. Sweet abandonment, in all of its glory. That's what Halloween 4-6 is facing. And it's all because of Halloween H20, the "redemptive" chapter. Well, almost. Halloween H20 actually isn't as good as Halloween 4, or even III, butAbandonment. Sweet abandonment, in all of its glory. That's what Halloween 4-6 is facing. And it's all because of Halloween H20, the "redemptive" chapter. Well, almost. Halloween H20 actually isn't as good as Halloween 4, or even III, but even so, it's a hell of a lot better than Halloween 5+6, two awful movies as I stressed in my two previous reviews. Halloween H20 is hardly scary, and I don;t know what the hell was going on with the mask in this movie, but there's something about it. something better, like serious improvement. Maybe it's critical conditioning. Brainwashing, I mean. Critics typically review it more favorably than Halloweens II-6, and audiences tend to review it more highly as well, so maybe I'm just going with the crowd. Then again, maybe it's comparative. I see Halloween 5 and 6, and then I see Halloween H20, and it's such a relief. It's sort of like coming down from a high (Halloween I-4{yes, even HIII}) and then burning out (H5+6), and then coming back up again just briefly, but you can't get back to that good state you were in before (H20 {don't worry; not personal experience, I just watched Breaking Bad}). That's what H20 is. An okay movie because the critics say so, and because it's better than the last two. So, I guess I recommend it. Kind of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
perkjlJan 4, 2016
Heaps & miles above any other Halloween installment trying to succeed the original. Though this film in many ways is unnecessary, it serves as a decent sequel to the original and perhaps even surpassing HII as the better sequel. H20 serves asHeaps & miles above any other Halloween installment trying to succeed the original. Though this film in many ways is unnecessary, it serves as a decent sequel to the original and perhaps even surpassing HII as the better sequel. H20 serves as the true Halloween 3, but only quickly highlights HII's events. This film references more to John Carpenter's Halloween and almost acts as a tribute to that film (and perhaps even Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho.) H20 probably doesn't deserve praise, but Jamie Lee Curtis is back as Laurie Strode to take on Michael Myers. It's a revenge movie, but no where near as good as Mother's Boys- both of which are personal guilty pleasures of mine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ShafeApr 8, 2016
A very good sequel that is a love letter to the original fans,the only thing that it was missing was a good soundtrack and the classic Michael Myers mask,a good story,good flick overall,but it could of been the best of the bunch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GamecubeLoverAug 20, 2016
Finally a halloween movie that is almost good as the original but this movie is still flawed don't get me wrong but the movie is very interesting and creative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MrTacoBobJul 13, 2017
It has a good story and its like the original. It is still really scary. This is just what I wanted and Michael's death in this movie (no spoilers who kills him) is really cool! I recommend it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews