Dimension Films | Release Date: August 5, 1998
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 94 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
69
Mixed:
12
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
GamecubeLoverAug 20, 2016
Finally a halloween movie that is almost good as the original but this movie is still flawed don't get me wrong but the movie is very interesting and creative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ShafeApr 8, 2016
A very good sequel that is a love letter to the original fans,the only thing that it was missing was a good soundtrack and the classic Michael Myers mask,a good story,good flick overall,but it could of been the best of the bunch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
perkjlJan 4, 2016
Heaps & miles above any other Halloween installment trying to succeed the original. Though this film in many ways is unnecessary, it serves as a decent sequel to the original and perhaps even surpassing HII as the better sequel. H20 serves asHeaps & miles above any other Halloween installment trying to succeed the original. Though this film in many ways is unnecessary, it serves as a decent sequel to the original and perhaps even surpassing HII as the better sequel. H20 serves as the true Halloween 3, but only quickly highlights HII's events. This film references more to John Carpenter's Halloween and almost acts as a tribute to that film (and perhaps even Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho.) H20 probably doesn't deserve praise, but Jamie Lee Curtis is back as Laurie Strode to take on Michael Myers. It's a revenge movie, but no where near as good as Mother's Boys- both of which are personal guilty pleasures of mine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GodzillaMutoFanDec 19, 2015
..................................................................................................................................................scary as ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeNov 29, 2014
I'm not a big fan of the Halloween franchise and this is not the movie that will make love the franchise.The acting was great but there is some serious plothole.The death scenes were not so good either but,the movie was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviecritic108Nov 4, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best Halloween movie since the original. The fight with Michael alone makes this worth watching. Too bad it wasn't really him. I feel like this would have been a good place for the series to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscOct 28, 2014
H20 was really actually scary it has alot of tense and volume to the music that actually scares the hell out of you when myers jumps out or the friends jump out as an accident. same story , same plot ,same old dumb resurrecting thats whatH20 was really actually scary it has alot of tense and volume to the music that actually scares the hell out of you when myers jumps out or the friends jump out as an accident. same story , same plot ,same old dumb resurrecting thats what SUCKS ! about the franchise , just kill him hits simple , but thats annoys me about the film series. But this actually a good movie it takes back 20 years of Jamie Lee Curtis' Character " Laurie Strode" it's a good Steve Miner film i am not sure if the original director of halloween John Carpenter had a different view of the story though. Grade A
( i am a huge fan of Carpenter 's halloween series there is so much things that halloween can reveal about Myers tell the unthinkable film of halloween).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AxebrossiaJul 9, 2014
I saw many people say "direct sequel to the original movie" lol.. the other halloweens movies they enter to the history too, the begenning of this movie, they show us all the papers about the all murders from Myers incluyed Halloween 4, 5,I saw many people say "direct sequel to the original movie" lol.. the other halloweens movies they enter to the history too, the begenning of this movie, they show us all the papers about the all murders from Myers incluyed Halloween 4, 5, and 6 and spin offs so this secuel dont have much sense like 20 years later and forgot her daughter and have another son? Is a good secuel but not the best, i think Halloween V , 6 and 2 was much better.. obviously i dont mentioned Halloween resurrection because is complete crap Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
marcmyworksJan 11, 2014
A 'Scream'-type sequel to the original Halloween, featuring the return of Jamie Lee Curtis. This film suffered from seemingly being slapped together as a cash-cow for Dimension Studios rather than a stand alone film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheCriticKidSep 20, 2013
Jamie Lee Curtis returns to reprise her role as the traumatized sister of Michael Myers, Laurie Strode. She delivers this character with much independence and courage. This movie has a fantastic storyline and a fantastic cast. A direct sequelJamie Lee Curtis returns to reprise her role as the traumatized sister of Michael Myers, Laurie Strode. She delivers this character with much independence and courage. This movie has a fantastic storyline and a fantastic cast. A direct sequel to the first two "Halloween" films. Honestly if time would let it, this could be the true "Halloween 3." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
GlitterAug 30, 2013
The true sequel to Halloween II, it tries with great effort to utterly defecate on any quality that the preceding sequels hadn't already deprecated Curtis reprises her role, as does Nancy Stephen's. However the former obliterates anyThe true sequel to Halloween II, it tries with great effort to utterly defecate on any quality that the preceding sequels hadn't already deprecated Curtis reprises her role, as does Nancy Stephen's. However the former obliterates any memorable qualities her character possessed, while the latter exasperates the trivial featuring of her character's existence. While failing to falter into the cesspit that the previous entries dug, it fails to deliver scares or quality that the first two films established (more-so the first.) Halloween VII is best viewed in trilogy format with the first-two, if you understand you're going from an "A" film to a "C" film to a "D" film. Please with all love ignore the final film in the franchise, unless you're open to experiencing rest to the franchise (literally). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LuciusMcGibbonDec 9, 2012
For all its weaknesses, I give this movie major points if only for trying to undo some of the damage to the series from parts 5 and 6; the director is clearly trying to shed some of the franchise' bad habits by de-canonizing the ridiculousFor all its weaknesses, I give this movie major points if only for trying to undo some of the damage to the series from parts 5 and 6; the director is clearly trying to shed some of the franchise' bad habits by de-canonizing the ridiculous "mark of Thorn" timeline. The return of Laurie Strode is strictly good news, as we can finally expect a more fitting conclusion to her story than an off-screen car crash Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ScarTissue1990Mar 11, 2012
Amazing movie! A direct sequel to "Halloween II." This (like other "Halloween" movies) doesn't get enough credit for bringing something new to cinema. I love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
spadenxDec 22, 2011
It was ok. Still a little too generic for my taste and the acting was pretty horrible too. The kills werent all that good either. Takes far too long to get into as well. Just another generic addition to the series.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Anotherday1787Aug 12, 2011
This movie will always have a place in my heart as it is the first horror movie I ever saw. I saw it before the other Halloween films and so I thought it was the greatest thing I'd ever seen. Truthfully, it is not a bad horror movie. HartnettThis movie will always have a place in my heart as it is the first horror movie I ever saw. I saw it before the other Halloween films and so I thought it was the greatest thing I'd ever seen. Truthfully, it is not a bad horror movie. Hartnett and Williams are a lot of fun to watch and Jamie Lee Curtis never disappoints. The problem is that nothing beats the first Halloween and to even try is a fruitless endeavor Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
HWASJul 30, 2011
wow. can we get any gayer? YES! its called halloween resurrection! i cant even believe jamie lee curtis signed on to this abomination of a film. not only does michael myers' mask make him look like he has down syndrome, but nothing about thiswow. can we get any gayer? YES! its called halloween resurrection! i cant even believe jamie lee curtis signed on to this abomination of a film. not only does michael myers' mask make him look like he has down syndrome, but nothing about this movie is scary. NOTHING. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Nov 6, 2010
very nice sequel to the original
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ChristianS.Aug 8, 2009
Tied up with 1981's Halloween II, the second best in the series. Jamie Lee Curtis is back and it gets better. The whole film is very suspenseful and creepy from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottNJun 7, 2009
I went to see this movie in the theatre expecting it to be pretty awful. After all, how many of you expect the 7th movie in a horror series to be any good? Anyway, I came away pleasantly surprised, and this is now probably my 2nd (or 3rd at I went to see this movie in the theatre expecting it to be pretty awful. After all, how many of you expect the 7th movie in a horror series to be any good? Anyway, I came away pleasantly surprised, and this is now probably my 2nd (or 3rd at worst) favorite in the entire series. Really a nice wrap up to the whole Laurie/Michael storyline, and this is where it ends in my mind. Don't be fooled by Resurrection and the fact that Jamie Lee is in it - that movie is a farce and Jamie Lee's appearance is nothing more than a shameful cameo.. H20 is suspenseful, well written, and well acted. Good job!! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeWJan 14, 2008
This is a great film. One of the best thrillers ever made. It's actually much better than the first, in my opinion. This film is quite thrilling, the music made it thrilling actually. The best thing about it is that it scares us rather This is a great film. One of the best thrillers ever made. It's actually much better than the first, in my opinion. This film is quite thrilling, the music made it thrilling actually. The best thing about it is that it scares us rather than showing us gore and stuff like that. Oh yes, the gore is minimal, there's also no sex/nudity. Great film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
patrickJun 11, 2005
Yay!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
bobby-joeb.Feb 3, 2005
Pros: great acting, every moment is scary, screenplay actually makes sense (unlike most other horror's these days) cons: the bastard just never dies does he? Some sadly predictable moments my thoughts: One of the best contemporary Pros: great acting, every moment is scary, screenplay actually makes sense (unlike most other horror's these days) cons: the bastard just never dies does he? Some sadly predictable moments my thoughts: One of the best contemporary horror movies out there. if its a scare you want this movie suplies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoJoApr 19, 2004
Fully Sick, Hallowen H20 Rocks, I love how he comes back and just walks the school, For 1 REASON, To Kill His SISTER. In Ressurection, Why the hell wouldn't the girl tell the god damn police she saw Michael through the window. I Fully Sick, Hallowen H20 Rocks, I love how he comes back and just walks the school, For 1 REASON, To Kill His SISTER. In Ressurection, Why the hell wouldn't the girl tell the god damn police she saw Michael through the window. I wouldn't do it. I mean He walked its halls, he dreamt in its bedrooms, he killed in that house. Fully Sick. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GilbertMulroneycakes:ANewBeginningNov 1, 2003
It works. It's effective. It's tense. It does the necessary. And it's probably the best of a pretty poor bunch of sequels. Surprised to note on this site that Carpenter didn't come back after all - nuts, my Resurrection It works. It's effective. It's tense. It does the necessary. And it's probably the best of a pretty poor bunch of sequels. Surprised to note on this site that Carpenter didn't come back after all - nuts, my Resurrection spiel's going to make me look like a hideous fool now. I'm sure he poked his nose in somewhere, though. Ah, the hell with it. Point is, this is a good movie, if not a great one; if it's greatness you're after, watch the first. But then you knew that already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatrinaG.Oct 28, 2003
It is scary because you don't know where he is all the time and it can get scary and suspenseful great movie i give it a thumbs up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful