Halloween II

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 193

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. TreyW.
    Oct 17, 2009
    8
    Not as good as the original Halloween movie but it is still great in its own right. I like both of these Halloween movies and the way Zombie did them. For people who are going to see it for the story. Your review should not even be counted because you do not rate a Slasher based on its story.. there really is none or its usually very simple. You have to rate it completely different from Not as good as the original Halloween movie but it is still great in its own right. I like both of these Halloween movies and the way Zombie did them. For people who are going to see it for the story. Your review should not even be counted because you do not rate a Slasher based on its story.. there really is none or its usually very simple. You have to rate it completely different from other movies. Anyways like I said it was a good movie. Expand
  2. VampiricgothGothdude
    Oct 30, 2003
    8
    I thought it was a really good movie. Some of the comments I read are from hard-core horror fans that expect too much and don't see what is in front of them.
  3. DannyV.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    Halloween II is an excellent horror film that stands aside from the original Halloween. However, Halloween II really never received the credit it was due. This is partly because most horror movies attract a young immature audience, and secondly related to the fact that John Carpenter did not direct and reincarnate Halloween. Aside from this, what Halloween II does show us is strong Halloween II is an excellent horror film that stands aside from the original Halloween. However, Halloween II really never received the credit it was due. This is partly because most horror movies attract a young immature audience, and secondly related to the fact that John Carpenter did not direct and reincarnate Halloween. Aside from this, what Halloween II does show us is strong -continuity- from the original with a deeper storyline. This is one of the few sequels overall that nicely stands out on its own. Expand
  4. ScottN
    Jun 7, 2009
    8
    The critics are dead wrong on this one to have given it 32/100.. While this film doesn't match the original (nothing can), it is still an effective sequel worthy of watching multiple times. With a strong start detailing the aftermath and police investigation/manhunt for the at-large Michael Myers, the movie loses some steam in the middle part when people start to disappear and others The critics are dead wrong on this one to have given it 32/100.. While this film doesn't match the original (nothing can), it is still an effective sequel worthy of watching multiple times. With a strong start detailing the aftermath and police investigation/manhunt for the at-large Michael Myers, the movie loses some steam in the middle part when people start to disappear and others find themselves searching the hospital for each other, and the body count starts to mount in methodical fashion. A very strong ending saves this flick from a little lower rating IMO. Recommended. Expand
  5. JeffreyG.
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    I enjoyed this film more than the first, the first half of the first was brilliant, but the second half was rushed and took away from the film. This one maintains the story well throughout and makes for a great watch.
  6. StevenR
    Aug 28, 2009
    7
    To say the least: EXPERIMENTAL... I enjoyed the rawness of the look and feel of this HALLOWEEN film... The kills were brutal and the visual presence of all out raw brutality was as real as it gets if the kills were to really happen in life... Stabbing someone in the face 20 times your face will look like raw mangled flesh meat... Now take a close up picture of that and you have 2 hrs of To say the least: EXPERIMENTAL... I enjoyed the rawness of the look and feel of this HALLOWEEN film... The kills were brutal and the visual presence of all out raw brutality was as real as it gets if the kills were to really happen in life... Stabbing someone in the face 20 times your face will look like raw mangled flesh meat... Now take a close up picture of that and you have 2 hrs of the new HALLOWEEN 2... Needed more music from the original picture. Expand
  7. DanteL.
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    Some of the atmospheric visuals in this movie are amazing. Random shots of the moon shining behind tangled tree branches are gorgeous even when the rest of the film is shot in a style intended to make it look grainy and muddy. Old-school fans should know that Michael is completely reinvented in this one: Eating dogs, stabbing each person wayyy more times than are necessary, and grunting Some of the atmospheric visuals in this movie are amazing. Random shots of the moon shining behind tangled tree branches are gorgeous even when the rest of the film is shot in a style intended to make it look grainy and muddy. Old-school fans should know that Michael is completely reinvented in this one: Eating dogs, stabbing each person wayyy more times than are necessary, and grunting his way through each killing. But if you accept the fact that it's meant to be A)different than the originals, and B)different than the 2007 remake, then you won't really be too shocked when you realize half the film is dream sequences. One more thing: If you're confused after it's over, research "Folie a Deux." No, not the Fall Out Boy album. That oughta clear some things up. Expand
  8. Rick
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    The only reason I am giving this movie a 9 instead of a 10 is because I'm looking at it through the Halloween fan's eyes, not a Rob Zombie fan's. There is a LOT of visual effects that might not appeal to the typical horror movie fan, but Zombie lovers will appreciate it.
  9. BMoney
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Great movie. not a better story than the first but def. worth it. critics suck.
  10. SimG
    Aug 31, 2009
    7
    I can't say I hated this movie, nor liked it. The psycho elements around Myers and his family was interesting approach, but the extremes in personality changes reached by the characters of Lorie and Loomis took me away from the story. That and the fact that Myers grunts when he kills people. Maybe it's just me, but I always saw Myers as a ghost and hearing him felt like braking I can't say I hated this movie, nor liked it. The psycho elements around Myers and his family was interesting approach, but the extremes in personality changes reached by the characters of Lorie and Loomis took me away from the story. That and the fact that Myers grunts when he kills people. Maybe it's just me, but I always saw Myers as a ghost and hearing him felt like braking the character. Honestly, I didn't care seeing Jason running in the remake, but I mind hearing a voice on Myers. Overall, the movie isn't bad, I just think it's a shame that Zombie didn't manage to bring his version to the Halloween story where it should've go. Feels like he ran out of gaz. Expand
  11. CodyO.
    Sep 4, 2009
    8
    It's a Rob Zombie movie, it's supposed to be a little weird.
  12. JustinL
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Halloween is incredible period.the music and everything.i hate when people say aww that movie was the worst remake ever,ITS NOT SUPPOSED TO BE THE SAME.its a different perspective and i think people dont like the movie because it was gross in someparts...yeah it was, but rob zombie is that person.whether you people like it or not,this movie rocked becasuse he did a good job interpreting Halloween is incredible period.the music and everything.i hate when people say aww that movie was the worst remake ever,ITS NOT SUPPOSED TO BE THE SAME.its a different perspective and i think people dont like the movie because it was gross in someparts...yeah it was, but rob zombie is that person.whether you people like it or not,this movie rocked becasuse he did a good job interpreting what he believed to be, "Halloween 2." Expand
  13. JakeB.
    Jan 14, 2010
    9
    This was a great sequel to a classic movie. Very tense and highly entertaining. And Robert P. is a moron- this is the original sequel, not the Rob Zombie one. Get it right, idiot.
  14. RobW.
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    This was the best of the sequels.
  15. rickym
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    Halloween 2 is great! a instant classic better than the remake.
  16. AlvaroO.
    Oct 3, 2009
    8
    If you do not like this movie it is because you can not understand rob zombie's mind. He really knows what is doing. This movie isfor a real horror movie fan.
  17. RDemo
    Aug 28, 2009
    8
    I liked it. People probably won't. This is not Citizen Kane. It's Halloween.
  18. JeremyW
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    I am not at all a fan of Zombies directorial take on this iconic charecter and story. However, he sets out to do what all directors fail to do when doing a remake. Remakes are a reimagination of a classic storyline. We as audience members hate the idea of remakes because ultimatly it turns to be corny because they bite off of past films using iconic quotes etc. What Zombie does is he I am not at all a fan of Zombies directorial take on this iconic charecter and story. However, he sets out to do what all directors fail to do when doing a remake. Remakes are a reimagination of a classic storyline. We as audience members hate the idea of remakes because ultimatly it turns to be corny because they bite off of past films using iconic quotes etc. What Zombie does is he changes the format here, he pushes the envelope and creates a whole new list of stakes for all the charecters and his reimagination completly takes over, this agravates a lot of people. Zombie's aartistry in regards to brining gore back to the screen is rather refreshing and orginal... again i do not like his vision of this story and charecters but he pushes buttons and gets people talking and well isnt that what theater and film is all about ... leaving the space talking? Kudos to Zombie for a job well done ... very original and cutting edge! Expand
  19. BekkaS
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    This movie was badass, what's wrong with you people. i am a fan of the original "halloween", i will admit the remake of the first "halloween" by rob zombie was COMPLETELY HORRIBLE. it was the worst remake ever, but rob zombie's halloween 2 was simply amazing, finally brutal killings, with more gore. i love horror movies, but they never make me jump. hands down this movie made me This movie was badass, what's wrong with you people. i am a fan of the original "halloween", i will admit the remake of the first "halloween" by rob zombie was COMPLETELY HORRIBLE. it was the worst remake ever, but rob zombie's halloween 2 was simply amazing, finally brutal killings, with more gore. i love horror movies, but they never make me jump. hands down this movie made me jump! this movie is the shit! simple as that. Expand
  20. JessM
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Movie was great! Did a great job with Laurie's character! Wasn't so much one of those horror movies that makes you jump but it definitely makes you cringe!
  21. ChristianS.
    Aug 8, 2009
    9
    Usually, sequels aren't very good, but Halloween II is one of those good sequels. even if the film cannot surpass the original, it is one of the best of the Halloween franchise.
  22. andrewt.
    Sep 2, 2009
    7
    This movie was pretty good. It had its flaws but then again you are watching a halloween movie not saving private ryan so obviously it will have its flaws. The story was a bit strange and hard to follow at parts but it still was and interesting a fresh approach to this classic franchaise. And Zombie adding this new approach is much better in my opinion then just redoing the original This movie was pretty good. It had its flaws but then again you are watching a halloween movie not saving private ryan so obviously it will have its flaws. The story was a bit strange and hard to follow at parts but it still was and interesting a fresh approach to this classic franchaise. And Zombie adding this new approach is much better in my opinion then just redoing the original series. And for the whole michael grunting when killing people, well watch the original he grunts he's not completely silent throughout the film and lets be realistic here you think that a person who is 6 foot 9 will be like a ghost when he kills no he will be more brute like in his killings. All in all this movie wasn't as bad as everyone tinks and it is a good way to spend a hour and 45 minutes of your day. Expand
  23. samc.
    Sep 3, 2009
    7
    I didn't find this movie to be bad, but I expected a lot more. Actors really bad, but at least the movie manages to deliver what it was meant to deliver: Boobs and gore. I'll give it a 7, because it could have been much better.
  24. MicahD.
    Sep 3, 2009
    8
    Im glad I ignored the critics reviews and watched H2. It kept my interest enough and I felt more involved than in the first installment. Zombie fans will appreciate this one. Not his best, but def worth checking out.
  25. BaileyR
    Sep 8, 2009
    7
    I don't understand all the hate for this movie. It's a breath of fresh air in what was becoming a stagnant, cheesy series...I'm sure we'd all love to pretend Resurection does not exist.. While it is nowhere near the quality of the 2007 re-make, it is interesting to see Rob Zombie taking the story in a direction of his own, while still paying homage to plot developments I don't understand all the hate for this movie. It's a breath of fresh air in what was becoming a stagnant, cheesy series...I'm sure we'd all love to pretend Resurection does not exist.. While it is nowhere near the quality of the 2007 re-make, it is interesting to see Rob Zombie taking the story in a direction of his own, while still paying homage to plot developments of the older movies in the franchise. Sure, the story gets a little messy and hard to follow, but, all things considered, Zombie is still in the fairly early stages of his film career, and were 'warned' prior to the release that this would be like no other Halloween. So, I will agree and rehash what has been said by many: stop comparing to the original, if that's what you want, than just watch it. I think the fact that movie goers are so spit on this one, and the fact that people are having a hard time accepting it in the Halloween franchise should speak clearly to the fact that this is an innovative, welcome approach in today's laughable horror market. Expand
  26. HalloweenCostumeKayla
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    The first of these retellings was excellent. It added new depth to characters that were lacking in portrayal and took new turns into unexplored territories of the franchise. This newest installment did nothing of the sort. I felt the original gave the appearance that the film was set in the 70s and then perhaps the 80s, however in this they have cell phones, make references to Fergie, The first of these retellings was excellent. It added new depth to characters that were lacking in portrayal and took new turns into unexplored territories of the franchise. This newest installment did nothing of the sort. I felt the original gave the appearance that the film was set in the 70s and then perhaps the 80s, however in this they have cell phones, make references to Fergie, there are new cars, etc. Also, they give no explanation as to how Michael miraculously survives multiple .357 (a gun designed to destroy tissue and organs) gunshot wounds. Also, it's indicated that Michael was only grazed by the round Laurie fired into his face at point blank range. However, there is quite a lot of arterial spray for a simple graze. Not to mention, even though Michael is supposed to be this behemoth monster, the pain would be so immeasurable that he would not have made it ten feet. Then of course, there was the portrayal of Michael. After his mother died he never speaks in the slightest. He takes several extremely damaging blows and doesn't so much as whimper. I would have no problem with this but for the most part when he kills someone he grunts like a caveman, something he did not do in the first. I understand that I am referencing the first installment of the retelling quite a bit, but I feel that if you're going to make a sequel that follows nearly directly after the first, then you should at least stick to your character designs and plot concepts. Now, for the final nail in this coffin, Sherri Moon Zombie appears quite a bit in the movie as a ghost. I don't really consider this a spoiler, so I didn't mark it as such. The real reason she is in the movie, is because she loves attention and I don't think Rob zombie could deal with the fact of making a movie that didn't involve his wife in some way. Her ghostly appearances would have been freaky and weird, if she wasn't in every other scene, looking ridiculous and rattling off her dialog in the poorest manner. Also, why is the child version of Michael a ghost with his mother? Last I checked he wasn't dead, he just grew up. I would accept that when Michael put on the mask it represented a fracture in his psyche, but the boy version of Michael is wearing a mask as well. So if Zombie was trying to achieve that point, he simply made it redundant. I only give this movie a 2/5 because the gore was quite good. But if you're looking for something more than that, or perhaps you hope that this movie will broaden the characters more-so than the first, I suggest you look elsewhere. Reluctantly 2/5. (Also, fun fact, a third is already slated and is going to be in 3D. The best part: Rob Zombie isn't directing it.) Expand
  27. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    an excellent follow-up to Halloween
  28. Dec 3, 2010
    8
    Halloween II is a lot better than the lame original, more blood, more gore, it is so much better! TWO THUMBS UP! Rick Rosenthal really had the right idea making this movie with more blood
  29. SFN
    Jan 8, 2011
    10
    ok for one people need to start commenting on the right movie, this is the original halloween 2, the sequel to john carpenter's not that crappy rob zombie bulls**t, second of all this movie is good, alot more killing, alot more story and alot more of everything, this movie is a must have and will be one of the best horror movies of all time
  30. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    1 - People are idiots. This is John Carpenter's version, not Rob Zombie's, I plan on contacting Metacritic and asking them remove the reviews that are based on Zombie's film and not Carpenter's. As for my take on the film - It was suprisingly a rather good horror movie that actually lives up to the first film in everyway.
  31. Sep 9, 2012
    8
    Scary sequel picks up right where the original left off. Not enough character development in this film, and it's riddled with plot holes. Also, Jamie Lee Curtis is too old here to be playing a 17 year old high school girl (and that awful wig!). Not as atmospheric as the original, but has some great scare scenes and a suspenseful chase scene. Could have done without the gore.
  32. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, this film is one of the only sequels to match the frights and scares as the first. One of my personal favorite Halloween films. Even though Jamie Lee Curtis's character doesn't speak throughout most of the film, she delivers her character with depth and range. Truly scary film. Expand
  33. Dec 19, 2015
    10
    ..................................................................................................................................................scary as ****
  34. Jan 28, 2016
    7
    While i do think that this film should have taken more of the same pacing and direction from the previous film, Halloween II still remains a rather good slasher film even if it is taking a more Friday The 13th approach as the film does still have its rather intense sequences and creepy musical score. now some people don't really like how Michael became much more savage and rage filled whenWhile i do think that this film should have taken more of the same pacing and direction from the previous film, Halloween II still remains a rather good slasher film even if it is taking a more Friday The 13th approach as the film does still have its rather intense sequences and creepy musical score. now some people don't really like how Michael became much more savage and rage filled when he murdered somebody in this film but i personally thought it was a good progression for his character he was tired of running around and chasing after Laurie so in turn his lust for her blood increased which made him extremely intimidating.7/10 Expand
  35. Apr 8, 2016
    10
    Incredible atmosphere that really sets a good mood for a fantastic horror flick,good acting,great soundtrack,suspense in the chase scenes is also very well directed,props to Universal for making a good movie :)
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Newsweek
    Reviewed by: David Ansen
    Oct 31, 2015
    50
    The plain fact is that Halloween II is quite scary, more than a little silly and immediately forgettable. [16 Nov 1981, p.117]
  2. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: Rita Kempley
    Oct 31, 2015
    25
    Trash or treat? Halloween II is as dumb as its prequel. The Great Pumpkin isn't going to be pleased with this one. [30 Oct 1981, p.17]
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Emery
    Oct 31, 2015
    30
    A bad sequel to a good movie...The main concentration is on gross-out effects and lame chase scenes.