User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 130
  2. Negative: 83 out of 130
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Brandon
    Jul 6, 2009
    5
    Good: This movie has a great mask and theme and shows the final fight between Michael and laurie bad: has nothing to do about Michael going after his family (whole reason for Michael to kill) after the first 10 minutes.
  2. Angel
    Oct 10, 2002
    5
    If you like slasher horror then watch and either scream through it or laugh at it! Either way take it for what it was ment to be...ten million pounds of cheep horror. Don't expect it to compete with the original!
  3. MitchM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    5
    I was totally surprised that JLC decided to do this one! Her part wasn't bad, but come on! Busta Rhymes doing karate moves on Michael Myers?? What's up with that?? At least the lead actress is a hottie. Keep the Halloweens coming!!
  4. Leanne
    Oct 28, 2002
    5
    Its good for basic horror, but Bhusta rhymes incessant swearing and crude acting is 100% annoying and the Big brother style stuff is pointless. the killings are brutal, but theres too many of them. One is silly. If you are a die Hard fan of Halloween films then you will be slightly peeved with this film, but newbies might enjoy it.
  5. ChristinaH.
    Dec 2, 2005
    6
    This movie is in between. It is mor gruesome, but not as scary as the others. The suspence wasn't anywhere to be found and nothing seemed real. They should leave the same character for micheal myers in every movie. All in all it was pretty good. Hopefull the next one will be REALLY scary and full of suspence and just being the movie and fulfilling the plot.
  6. Kate
    Oct 29, 2005
    5
    This was the first time I've seen any of the halloween movies (and my first MA) so GOD was I scared! It didn't really have a plot though... The end was definitely the scariest!!! I get shivers just thinkin of it.
  7. stanleyh.
    Oct 27, 2005
    5
    Michael meyers could of done a better job.i have seen all of them and all of the friday the 13th movies and other horror movies and i have to say that this is not the worst one of the series ,thought h2o was the worst total crap.but this one could of been better, about as suspensefull as wes cravens shocker not much at all.Plot could of been alot better and the cast much better.nothing i Michael meyers could of done a better job.i have seen all of them and all of the friday the 13th movies and other horror movies and i have to say that this is not the worst one of the series ,thought h2o was the worst total crap.but this one could of been better, about as suspensefull as wes cravens shocker not much at all.Plot could of been alot better and the cast much better.nothing i think jamie lee curtis did or guy playing michael meyers,but rest of cast truely sucked,i think they should of been in tv show instead not horror movie. Collapse
  8. Dec 22, 2011
    4
    I wouldnt say it's the worst entry in the series. It had good kills and it got back to it's roots (of suspensful stalking then killing) and that sort of saved it from being another terrible addition. The acting was terrible (Busta Rhymes...really?) but everything else was solid. The story was some what interesting as well but it was executed poorly.
  9. Nov 4, 2014
    4
    I like the reality horror thing, but this is not a good way to end the series. I like that busta rhymes actually tries to fight Michael, but it is not done very well.
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 14 out of 17
  1. 38
    Like its parade of predecessors, this Halloween is a gory slash-fest. It can't escape its past, and it doesn't want to.
  2. 0
    It's so devoid of joy and energy it makes even "Jason X" - a recent attempt to prolong the rival "Friday the 13th" slasher franchise - look positively Shakesperean by comparison.
  3. 20
    Spectators will indeed sit open-mouthed before the screen, not screaming but yawning.