Dimension Films | Release Date: July 12, 2002
2.7
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 130 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
26
Negative:
85
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
marcmyworksJan 11, 2014
Strangely it was decided to use techniques used in 'The Blair Witch Project' in an attempt to make this film scarier. We have a bunch of kid using hand-held cameras videotaping their experiences in Michael Myers house for a reality show. IsStrangely it was decided to use techniques used in 'The Blair Witch Project' in an attempt to make this film scarier. We have a bunch of kid using hand-held cameras videotaping their experiences in Michael Myers house for a reality show. Is it surprising that he comes back to kill them all? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
vernApr 20, 2011
This movie was bad. It wasn't even bad in a fun way either, it was just so bad that it was REALLY BAD. I gave it a chance one day during the Halloween season, and figured it would be at least moderately entertaining (the only one thatThis movie was bad. It wasn't even bad in a fun way either, it was just so bad that it was REALLY BAD. I gave it a chance one day during the Halloween season, and figured it would be at least moderately entertaining (the only one that wasn't at least semi-entertaining up until this point was Halloween: The Curse of.., that one was bad too). This movie was poorly directed (the hand-held camera angle did not work) and poorly acted (even for a horror movie). Please do not waste your time like I did. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
LuciusMcGibbonDec 8, 2012
Michael Myers' mask looks as good as it has since the original. That's pretty much the only good thing I have to say about this movie. The plot screams teen marketing (an internet-based reality show, you say?) and the execution is uninspiredMichael Myers' mask looks as good as it has since the original. That's pretty much the only good thing I have to say about this movie. The plot screams teen marketing (an internet-based reality show, you say?) and the execution is uninspired at best since most teens in 2002 had no concept of Carpenter's work. The movie once again ups the body count at the expense of building tension, but the death scenes do nothing whatsoever to set it apart. There's just not an original moment in this whole thing... even the opening explanation of how Michael survived H20 is laughable. But the greatest insult of all is the contrived, unceremonious way they kill off Laurie Strode within the first ten minutes, instantly turning what was billed as hers and Michael's final showdown into an undistinguished 90-minute kill-fest of disposable, undeveloped characters nobody cares about. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
ScottNJun 7, 2009
I watched this movie knowing that Jamie Lee Curtis was in it, but as it turns out [***SPOILER***], she was only included in the movie so that she would be whacked by Michael Myers in the first five minutes in the movie. What a shameful way I watched this movie knowing that Jamie Lee Curtis was in it, but as it turns out [***SPOILER***], she was only included in the movie so that she would be whacked by Michael Myers in the first five minutes in the movie. What a shameful way to dispose of (besides Michael) the core character of the entire franchise simply so the producers of this movie could put Jamie Lee's face on the movie poster in order to get a few extra people out to the theatres and spend their hard earned $$$.. Nevertheless, I still hated the concept of this movie. Going into the Myers house to do a live internet feed. I know it's the 21st century, but can we please dispense with horror movies being built around computer and cell phone themes? Blah. I also found the characters to be dumb and irritating. Oh yeah, you can't tell me that Michael managed to pull the switcharoo in H20 and it was some other poor sap who was decapitated. No way. He never got out of the cockadoodie car!!!! I can't stand this movie and I refuse to acknowledge it. It ended with H20 as far as I'm concerned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
eddieDec 3, 2005
Should've stopped at two , or at least take the time to write a good script, and some worth while actors, it couldve been good if done right,kung-fu what the hell, anyone who ''knows the history'' better be packin, Should've stopped at two , or at least take the time to write a good script, and some worth while actors, it couldve been good if done right,kung-fu what the hell, anyone who ''knows the history'' better be packin, the plot was as bad as all the other horror sequals,friday the 13, nightmare on elmstreet, should just call it sesame street , and childs play, ive seen more scarey crap on romper room,lets not even get into jaws,hellraiser and god forbid scream.ive written better on the toilet , and i still have a life..... anyway the beginning of the movie was really good, they shouldve ended it when he gave crazy boy the knife. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
benOct 7, 2007
Horrible. one of the worst movies i have ever seen. i am a huge Halloween fan and this is unacceptable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KMMar 24, 2009
The worst entry in the Halloween franchise by far. I agree with Lou Lumenick of the New York Post. This movie was hard for me to watch, and not because it was scary, but because it was god awful. DON'T WATCH.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BumisJul 31, 2003
This movie was a complete sham. Michael Myer's is not suppose to be invincible! He's a fucking human! This is not a god damn Jason movie! They send in that "Busta Rhymes" who pretends he can act... Michael Myers was decapitated in This movie was a complete sham. Michael Myer's is not suppose to be invincible! He's a fucking human! This is not a god damn Jason movie! They send in that "Busta Rhymes" who pretends he can act... Michael Myers was decapitated in H20... Unless someone else fell down the hill, got hit with the fan and was stuck agenst the tree, just as Michael's mask landed on his face, Michael should not be here! Michael's objective in life is to kill his family, now what? He's going to go molest a bunch of teens in a house full of cameras. If you think, this movie is garbage and anyone who thinks this movie was scary, should get there balls checked, and probably reattached. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamAug 24, 2005
If you don't know that bestest isn't a word, stick to the baby einstein flicks or rugrats, which is probably where you learned that from. Ok, if Bestest is a damn word, then i suppose worstest is, which is what this movie is. It If you don't know that bestest isn't a word, stick to the baby einstein flicks or rugrats, which is probably where you learned that from. Ok, if Bestest is a damn word, then i suppose worstest is, which is what this movie is. It sucks, sucks, and it SUCKS! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KevinOct 25, 2006
Just like the lame as Jason x movie. They have to make a lame ass situation. Also I hate when they put fucking stupid B even low as a C celebrities into any films. Busta Ryhmes was lame and I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexA.Nov 19, 2005
Okay.... what to say??? as much of a halloween fan as i am, i seriously think this movie is insulting. if there are any halloween fans out there that are following the whole storyline of this series then don't bother seeing this movie Okay.... what to say??? as much of a halloween fan as i am, i seriously think this movie is insulting. if there are any halloween fans out there that are following the whole storyline of this series then don't bother seeing this movie because all that happens that's even SIGNIFICANT to the series is the part when michael kills laurie. (or wounds her. you never know if she comes back for Halloween 9) bringing in Busta Rhymes they destroyed the rest of the movie. but for those guys who are complaining that laurie is dead.. don't be so sure yet. halloween 9 is coming out later... you never know if she comes back... and plus you have to put in perspective that Laurie's son John is alive and Jamie's baby is also out there too. so have some faith and pray that halloween puts everything together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ScarTissue1990Mar 11, 2012
So disappointing in this movie. It came out and I expected an amazing slasher flick, but the first thing that is wrong with it is that they killed Jamie Lee Curtis's character Laurie Strode. I just pretend that this movie was never maid andSo disappointing in this movie. It came out and I expected an amazing slasher flick, but the first thing that is wrong with it is that they killed Jamie Lee Curtis's character Laurie Strode. I just pretend that this movie was never maid and pretend that it stopped at Halloween H20. The only good thing about this movie is the mask.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MCotsalasFeb 16, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What an awful addition to the Halloween series. This movie the bed more than Curse of Michael Myers did. Busta Rhymes doing Kung-Fu on a less-than-mediocre Michael Myers is just the diarrhea on the cake. At least the Rob Zombie Halloween movies weren't half bad as this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
GlitterAug 30, 2013
If Halloween II, IV, V, VI, and VII did not already destroy any amount of quality the original possessed in creating an unforgettable fear for The Shape, as the master of Horror film villainy, I can assure you that Halloween VIII takes theIf Halloween II, IV, V, VI, and VII did not already destroy any amount of quality the original possessed in creating an unforgettable fear for The Shape, as the master of Horror film villainy, I can assure you that Halloween VIII takes the largest bowel movement, and proceeds to complete with a 80 minute urination sequence. Of course that aforementioned bowel takes place in the literal lunacy of Curtis' Laurie Strode playing throughout the first ten minutes. Following the happy ending you've waited nearly 25 years for, you're given another eighty minutes to question your life, existence, and being in wasting time on such insignificant Horror filming since Friday the 13th mothered a plethora of sequels. Not even possessing the comical and unforgettable camp of Halloween V, or the hamstrung, jarring, and butchered plot of Halloween VI, Halloween VIII ends the series with a death you've waited decades to not see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
bfoore90Oct 6, 2017
Should have left the franchise alone after H20, this is clearly a point where the Halloween franchise has been milked for all the scares it could muster. Michael returns and he brings great on-screen presence but the story is poorly done andShould have left the franchise alone after H20, this is clearly a point where the Halloween franchise has been milked for all the scares it could muster. Michael returns and he brings great on-screen presence but the story is poorly done and everything about this film is lackluster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MissDraeMar 2, 2014
Did not appeal to me was quite stupid really and one of the worst remakes or sequels that were ever made. This is an embarrassment to the Halloween franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
GodzillaMutoFanDec 19, 2015
What the **** did I just watch, this movie was so bad that I rather watch Superman 4: The Quest for peace! that is how bad that this movie is. the sequels are better than this ****ing piece of ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
The3AcademySinsOct 13, 2017
This movie fails on almost every level. The direction is cookie-cutter and boring, Jamie Lee Curtis is only in this movie to receive free money, the script is as bad as a script from the early 2000s can be, and the film's device of aThis movie fails on almost every level. The direction is cookie-cutter and boring, Jamie Lee Curtis is only in this movie to receive free money, the script is as bad as a script from the early 2000s can be, and the film's device of a web-based reality show only takes away from the story's action, as opposed to building tension. There are a few enjoyable, laughably bad moments (sorry Busta) and I personally ended up enjoying the relationship between the main heroine and the Deckard character, but these good moments are few and far between. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
GamecubeLoverAug 20, 2016
No no no this movie I thought would be good! Sure still scary but its not a so bad its good type of movie it is a so bad it is horrible type of movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
robertoiglesiasOct 1, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Halloween: Resurrection is considered as the worst Halloween movie and my least favorite. Reality TV? Bull crap! The ending to H20 is a great ending that has to be ruined because of this! I was fine with Laurie's death until I saw the actual main characters in this film. None of them except for Nora are likable at all. H20 is the real ending of the 2nd timeline of the series, not this junk! 2/10. Ugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews