Halloween: Resurrection

Halloween: Resurrection Image
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: When a group of teens win a contest to spend a night in Michael Myers' childhood home to be broadcast live on the Internet, things go frightfully wrong and the game turns into a struggle to make it out of the house alive. (Dimension Films)

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 14 out of 17
  1. 50
    Rosenthal observes all the ritual elements -- a veteran of the series, he seems to understand that its fans crave certainty over shock.
  2. Director Rick Rosenthal ("Halloween II") seems to have forgotten everything he ever knew about generating suspense, relying on cliched shadows and grainy, handheld images supposedly shot by the increasingly terrified students.
  3. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    38
    If you only want a sequence of slashings, impalements and head-squishings, you'll get your money's worth. But if you like a little movie with your mayhem, you're out of luck.
  4. 30
    It's not the worst film in the series -- "Halloween III" will never be unseated -- but there's not nearly enough scares, or humor, to make Halloween: Resurrection worthwhile.
  5. 20
    After almost twenty five years, the Halloween series has been reduced to a false alarm. ...the characters are so devoid of human feeling they accomplish the task of making us not wish they were dead, but just gone.
  6. Halloween: Resurrection comes closer to comatainment.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 67
  2. Negative: 37 out of 67
  1. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This isn't the best nor the worst of the halloween films. I do agree with one of the reviewers they put jamie lee curtis in to get a couple extra people to go and waste their hard earned cash, yes the story could have been a lot better, but I actually enjoyed Halloween: Ressurection. It ended in a creepy way and I was entertained by it. Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    This movie is really good, but it has some problems: Why the hell do all the people make fun of Michael Myers in this movie. SCREW ALL YOUThis movie is really good, but it has some problems: Why the hell do all the people make fun of Michael Myers in this movie. SCREW ALL YOU PEOPLE WHO SAID BAD THINGS ABOUT THIS MOVIE!!!!!!1 Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    3
    Michael Myers' mask looks as good as it has since the original. That's pretty much the only good thing I have to say about this movie. TheMichael Myers' mask looks as good as it has since the original. That's pretty much the only good thing I have to say about this movie. The plot screams teen marketing (an internet-based reality show, you say?) and the execution is uninspired at best since most teens in 2002 had no concept of Carpenter's work. The movie once again ups the body count at the expense of building tension, but the death scenes do nothing whatsoever to set it apart. There's just not an original moment in this whole thing... even the opening explanation of how Michael survived H20 is laughable. But the greatest insult of all is the contrived, unceremonious way they kill off Laurie Strode within the first ten minutes, instantly turning what was billed as hers and Michael's final showdown into an undistinguished 90-minute kill-fest of disposable, undeveloped characters nobody cares about. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    2
    This movie was bad. It wasn't even bad in a fun way either, it was just so bad that it was REALLY BAD. I gave it a chance one day during theThis movie was bad. It wasn't even bad in a fun way either, it was just so bad that it was REALLY BAD. I gave it a chance one day during the Halloween season, and figured it would be at least moderately entertaining (the only one that wasn't at least semi-entertaining up until this point was Halloween: The Curse of.., that one was bad too). This movie was poorly directed (the hand-held camera angle did not work) and poorly acted (even for a horror movie). Please do not waste your time like I did. Expand
  5. AlexA.
    Nov 19, 2005
    1
    Okay.... what to say??? as much of a halloween fan as i am, i seriously think this movie is insulting. if there are any halloween fans out Okay.... what to say??? as much of a halloween fan as i am, i seriously think this movie is insulting. if there are any halloween fans out there that are following the whole storyline of this series then don't bother seeing this movie because all that happens that's even SIGNIFICANT to the series is the part when michael kills laurie. (or wounds her. you never know if she comes back for Halloween 9) bringing in Busta Rhymes they destroyed the rest of the movie. but for those guys who are complaining that laurie is dead.. don't be so sure yet. halloween 9 is coming out later... you never know if she comes back... and plus you have to put in perspective that Laurie's son John is alive and Jamie's baby is also out there too. so have some faith and pray that halloween puts everything together. Expand
  6. Sam
    Aug 24, 2005
    0
    If you don't know that bestest isn't a word, stick to the baby einstein flicks or rugrats, which is probably where you learned that If you don't know that bestest isn't a word, stick to the baby einstein flicks or rugrats, which is probably where you learned that from. Ok, if Bestest is a damn word, then i suppose worstest is, which is what this movie is. It sucks, sucks, and it SUCKS! Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder

    20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder  Image
    Published: June 16, 2016
    We pick out 20 great examples of lousy movie sequels.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.