User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 249 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 249
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2014
    6
    I liked the fact that the didn't try to reinvent the wheel with this remake. Certainly not as good as the original but they are two different movies. I enjoyed the extension on the film that showed what happened during Michael Myers years away. It really shows the intensity building. I think Rob Zombie changed just enough of the story to make it enjoyable and didn't try to recreate theI liked the fact that the didn't try to reinvent the wheel with this remake. Certainly not as good as the original but they are two different movies. I enjoyed the extension on the film that showed what happened during Michael Myers years away. It really shows the intensity building. I think Rob Zombie changed just enough of the story to make it enjoyable and didn't try to recreate the greatness of the original film. I'm not touching the sequel though. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    This movie takes a new look at the classic original horror movie and answers most of the questions we all had on the original....I think it is a very good movie remake
  3. Nov 4, 2014
    6
    A great remake of a horror classic! However I do wish there would have been a sequel after resurrection. I didn't want that film to end the original series. This is exactly where the series should have ended.
  4. Oct 8, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. JJesus That family has issues. And that poor boy's rat died.
    18 hrs · Like
    Jesus Those boys are bullies
    18 hrs · Like
    Jesus Certainly Michael didn't kill those animals. Kids with clown masks don't ever kill things
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus Well, the bully deserved to die. He was a bully after all. Maybe it's the mask that's possessed
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus That's certainly a respectable young man to leave you're daughter at home with.
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus Oh look, mom's an entertainer
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus Hey, the boyfriend has the mask from yesterday's movie. How'd he find that?
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus That boy's eating far too much sugar
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus What's he doing with that duct tape?
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus And that's why kids with possessed masks shouldn't eat too much sugar. Mass murder is just bound to happen.
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus Uh oh. We know that mask is a bad one!
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus See, he only killed the bad ones. The baby was saved. He's not totally bad
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus That boy just needs a haircut and some new clothes and he'd be good as new
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus That wasn't nice. Forks are not for jabbing into jugular veins
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus Mikey got big!
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus That trucker lost that fight.
    17 hrs · Like
    Jesus Ok. Maybe Michael needs something more than counseling. I wonder if they ever tried shock treatment.
    16 hrs · Like
    Stephen Colbert Dude it appears that you enjoy talking to yourself, not that there is anything wrong with that !! Just sayin !!!
    16 hrs · Like
    Jesus What do you mean? We're all listening
    16 hrs · Like · 2
    Jesus Well she shot him in the head. I'm sure he's dead now
    15 hrs · Like
    Johan Sebastian Bach Just watch the damn movie
    12 hrs · Like · 1
    Katoy Toy I am entertained. Cut and paste the entire thread to metacritic as a review.
    5 hrs · Like
    Jesus You should do that Katoy
    Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2014
    0
    An atrocious attempt to make the audience feel sorry for the poor psychopathic mass murderer. Carpenter himself said that the audience should never try and relate with Michael Myers. Even if we took the broken childhood explanation at face value, it still seems inadequate, since everyone around Michael already is a reprehensible supervillain in the making.

    The part of Dr. Loomis'
    An atrocious attempt to make the audience feel sorry for the poor psychopathic mass murderer. Carpenter himself said that the audience should never try and relate with Michael Myers. Even if we took the broken childhood explanation at face value, it still seems inadequate, since everyone around Michael already is a reprehensible supervillain in the making.

    The part of Dr. Loomis' reactions in the original Halloween was paramount to the full Michael Myers experience, here Loomis is just an incompetent bumbler who needs to remind the audience constantly that he failed in his treatment of Michael.

    Even the horror factor is too much in your face to make it build up any tension from one jumpscare to another.
    Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2014
    5
    This is not a bad movie, but it plays in the comfort zone of horror movies.

    It's not a problem of execution but a problem of simplicity, the original movie keeps the character of Micheal Myers has a sadistic and cold killer, while this movie gives him a tragic back story that is taken from the "generic back story" book; the problem with this is that it makes Michael an regular
    This is not a bad movie, but it plays in the comfort zone of horror movies.

    It's not a problem of execution but a problem of simplicity, the original movie keeps the character of Micheal Myers has a sadistic and cold killer, while this movie gives him a tragic back story that is taken from the "generic back story" book; the problem with this is that it makes Michael an regular psychopath instead of an unstoppable force like in the original...

    The movie holds very well on it's own however, is well shoot, well acted and well directed; the problems with this movie is that is based on a classic when it didn't need to. I don't blame if somebody likes this movie because it's good, it just has problems when compared to the classic.
    Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've done reviews on this horror film before I feel like I've done them hundreds of times. Okay. The storyline is decent, the acting is overdone and terrible at times. But it's nothing compared to the sequel. Halloween starts out good, then goes no where. With Scout Taylor Compton screaming like a maniac unrealistically she really is no Laurie Strode compared to Jamie Lee Curtis. The film follows young Michael Myers at a young age. Age: 10 to be precise. He kills his school bully in the woods and he returns home to kill three people.
    One of them is his older sister Judith. The others are his mothers' boyfriend and and his sisters' boyfriend.

    All of this is fine story telling. He gets locked up in a mental institute. Smiths' Grove sanitarium. Dr. Loomis questions him. Days later he kills a nurse while Loomis walks Mrs. Myers out to her car. It is clear that he'll never leave after the security camera captures him. After fast forwarding 15 years later Michael is still is in the sanitarium making his masks. But during a transfer he breaks out and heads to Haddonfield after killing a truck driver at a shop and stealing his jump suit. At this point it all goes down hill. John Carpenters' story is
    repeated. There's only mild differences. The ending is different. But it's not a big difference. Overall only rent Halloween (2007) don't by it. Also the cinematography was to gritty, raw and dark.
    Expand
  8. Jan 11, 2014
    5
    The error in this reboot was making it so violent. There is nothing left to the imagination in this film and the acts of murderous rage almost seem unnatural.
  9. Oct 31, 2013
    6
    A pretty solid remake. I love Michael's prequel back-story and Malcolm McDowell does a good job as Loomis. That being said, I think it was a little too loyal to the original film. I'd have liked to see more originality from it. Other than that, It's certainly worth watching, I'd recommend it.
  10. Oct 17, 2013
    4
    THIS IS WHAT ROB ZOMBIE MADE OF MY FAVOURITE HORROR FILM? Well, this is. This is it. My review of watching a crappy version of Halloween. Director Rob Zombie returns with his reimagining of John Carpenter's classic- Halloween. You must be thinking- is this the same cheap excellent horror? Nope. Not at all. Halloween has 90% more sex than the original and 100% more gore than the original.THIS IS WHAT ROB ZOMBIE MADE OF MY FAVOURITE HORROR FILM? Well, this is. This is it. My review of watching a crappy version of Halloween. Director Rob Zombie returns with his reimagining of John Carpenter's classic- Halloween. You must be thinking- is this the same cheap excellent horror? Nope. Not at all. Halloween has 90% more sex than the original and 100% more gore than the original. Sex and horror work. Well, at least for some movies. Halloween isn't that crappy, ya know. Rob Zombie has great imagination here and does what the trailer promises. It's demons, sex and gore. What we want. The problem with this one is that boobs are not something that makes a slasher movie. This film has so much sexual and bloody issues that Carpenter's cult was wwwaaaaaaaaayyyyy better. Zombie gathers an okay cast but makes a cheesy sex, rock and roll version of Carpenter's classic. Expand
  11. Oct 10, 2013
    4
    Zombie does not succeed here. The movie is a hollow remake of the satisfying original, and doesn't live up to it at all, even in a "remake" kind of way.
  12. Jun 20, 2013
    4
    Finally the retelling of the classic story of a killer escaping a mental asylum and returning to his home town to continue his killing spree. To think that it wouldn't be too hard to remake such a simple idea, but I was surprised in how brutal, and how boring this flick is. I mean wow, is it that hard to make a remake about something that isn't that hard to do. Yet here we got twoFinally the retelling of the classic story of a killer escaping a mental asylum and returning to his home town to continue his killing spree. To think that it wouldn't be too hard to remake such a simple idea, but I was surprised in how brutal, and how boring this flick is. I mean wow, is it that hard to make a remake about something that isn't that hard to do. Yet here we got two different films, the origin part and the remake part. In all honesty the first part is the only part that is somewhat interesting. We sorta get the history of Michael Myers, that he was just a messed up kid in a bad family environment. I'am just inserting my opinion here, but wouldn't be more interesting if he was a messed up child, but had good parents? I don't know, I don't know what the right decision would have been. I am going to say right now what the major problem of this flick is: it's too brutal. To think that a horror movie can be too cruel, but here it's different. The original was great for its subtle killings and camera technique, it's the exact opposite here. Too much violence, and an annoying shaking camera. The only good parts in this movie are the people who play Michael Myers, the kid is pretty creepy, and that Sabertooth guy (Taylor Mane) is pretty bruiting. Expand
  13. May 14, 2013
    8
    ''i dont no why people have to bash robs movies i really dont this is his own taste of horrorr the killings are more brutal intense and good acting i thought this film was a great one i guess you gotta be a rob zombie fan to like his movies''
  14. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Personally, I like movies in which a murderer kills naked women. Expand
  15. Jan 22, 2013
    1
    A movie so utterly devoid of tension, it desperately tries to make up for it with T&A, gore and constant action. Athough it delivers all of the latter, it never comes together and every scene seems like it was smacked on just because the director needed the actors to have somewhere to go so he could film 'm. Will definitely not be known as a classic, not a cult horror nor even an amusingA movie so utterly devoid of tension, it desperately tries to make up for it with T&A, gore and constant action. Athough it delivers all of the latter, it never comes together and every scene seems like it was smacked on just because the director needed the actors to have somewhere to go so he could film 'm. Will definitely not be known as a classic, not a cult horror nor even an amusing B-horror movie. It is just plain bad. Expand
  16. Dec 9, 2012
    2
    I've watched and re-watched this movie despite myself, trying to find some reason not to finally and conclusively write off Rob Zombie as a one-note hack... and I simply can't do it. Not only does he fail to capture any of the style and essence of John Carpenter's source material, he can barely make this movie stand on its own legs. Don't be fooled by the vastly improved production values
  17. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    A brutal, twisted, and shocking study of the decomposition of the human mind. Halloween is brilliant and unforgettable. It cannot; however, be compared to 1978 classic that inspired it, because this is an entirely different film. The director has taken a pitch perfect psychological thriller and turned it into an mind blowing and savagely real exploitation horror.
  18. Sep 9, 2012
    5
    Disappointing and dreadful remake of John Carpenter's 1978 original scary movie. Rob Zombie's directing style is offensive and crude, as are the characters that populate this film. On a good note, the film does give the viewer some insight into Michael's background as a child. Other than that, not much going for this film. Not scary, just brutal and full of disgusting language.
  19. Sep 7, 2012
    6
    It was suspenseful and had the eerie creepy horror vibe about it. Pretty stupid, but it is not half bad. Seeing in once a year (maybe) is good enough for me. That kid was a psycho and it was funny.
  20. Mar 20, 2012
    3
    Really disappointing. This film is not only meant to be a remake of the brilliant horror film Halloween from the 70s but it is also meant to explore and explain how Michael became the brutal killer that he is, but this film fails on both fronts. It doesn't really explain why he is a murderer, instead we just see Michael killing people as a child and by the time the film reaches the classicReally disappointing. This film is not only meant to be a remake of the brilliant horror film Halloween from the 70s but it is also meant to explore and explain how Michael became the brutal killer that he is, but this film fails on both fronts. It doesn't really explain why he is a murderer, instead we just see Michael killing people as a child and by the time the film reaches the classic Halloween premise with Michael returning as an adult, the film just turns into completely mindless gore and violence that quickly stops being scary. There's just nothing clever in the horror, the only things it has to offer are its jump scares and its gore. There also seems to be a number of completely pointless events to get a reaction from the audience, such as a random rape scene...I'm not joking. This film had potential but it has sadly failed to give us anything more than just a few mild scares. Expand
  21. j30
    Jan 26, 2012
    0
    Really no need for this movie. Does Hollywood have any new ideas nowadays? Rob Zombie has interesting ideas, but they go to waste in this pile of poo. Who's really interested in disgusting people, who we don't care about, do horrible things for 109 minutes? The film is like going into a strip club at 6 in the morning, you just feel dirty and stupid.
  22. Oct 13, 2011
    5
    Zombie does well here in trying make a story his own while paying small tribute to the ultimate Carpenter horror classic. The best part of this film is witnessing the origins of Michael Myers. The cast is strong, but ultimately one cannot help but compare this film to Carpenter's version. Though Zombie had no intention of duplicating the original, the audience can't help but to wish forZombie does well here in trying make a story his own while paying small tribute to the ultimate Carpenter horror classic. The best part of this film is witnessing the origins of Michael Myers. The cast is strong, but ultimately one cannot help but compare this film to Carpenter's version. Though Zombie had no intention of duplicating the original, the audience can't help but to wish for more of the same from one of the best horror films ever made. Expand
  23. Sep 25, 2011
    6
    I am surprised that boobs, blood, and gore can actually work in this movie.
  24. Aug 16, 2011
    8
    Brutal and Psychologically Turbulent, Rob Zombie's remake of halloween and new vision for michael myers is everything a great horror movie needs to be. This remake, although I am still a massive fan of carpenter's 1978 master piece, blows the original out of the water with the sheer imagery and level of psychosis and trauma unleashed on the characters within this nightmare of a story.Brutal and Psychologically Turbulent, Rob Zombie's remake of halloween and new vision for michael myers is everything a great horror movie needs to be. This remake, although I am still a massive fan of carpenter's 1978 master piece, blows the original out of the water with the sheer imagery and level of psychosis and trauma unleashed on the characters within this nightmare of a story. Excellent film-making. One of the most underrated movies I have ever seen. Expand
  25. Aug 12, 2011
    1
    I hated this movie. I know he wanted to expand on the idea of the sibling relationship and explore Michael's childhood, but honestly who cares? All I could think was how I wanted it to get to him when he was older. The simple story that the first Halloween portrayed was utterly ruined.
  26. Jun 12, 2011
    4
    When I watched the original Halloween I just remember thinking "this needs more boob and blood." Oh wait no I didn't. One thing thats been lost on the horror genre is that we as an audience don't need to see everything. We all have our imaginations and most of the time that can be a whole lot scarier then anything that can be put on screen. I don't need to see every single gory detail ofWhen I watched the original Halloween I just remember thinking "this needs more boob and blood." Oh wait no I didn't. One thing thats been lost on the horror genre is that we as an audience don't need to see everything. We all have our imaginations and most of the time that can be a whole lot scarier then anything that can be put on screen. I don't need to see every single gory detail of the murder just the person being killed by the killer can be scary enough. Also why did we need the rape scene. It did nothing to further the plot except in telling us that Michael got out while two red necks were raping a girl. The theater version didn't have the rape and I didn't have any issues with how he got out. The only positive from this movie is that it does a good job of giving a back story too Michael. But the truth is we didn't need a back story, again no back story is almost scarier. Watch the original its a much better film. Expand
  27. Apr 22, 2011
    3
    Horrifically brutal, unoriginal, topped with a poor script and cast, Halloween is one of the worst remakes to hit the horror genre yet. It is hard to watch not only from the gore, but also from every other individual aspect. Pass on this one.
  28. Mar 22, 2011
    4
    After watching so many greatest horror movies of all time, I heard that this remake was made and I haven't even seen it in theaters besides other great movies in 2007. Later, I decided to watch this on Youtube just to look at it. When I saw Michael Myers' parents arguing at each other, I was like, "Did that happen in the 1970s version?", and waited to see Michael kill her sister JudithAfter watching so many greatest horror movies of all time, I heard that this remake was made and I haven't even seen it in theaters besides other great movies in 2007. Later, I decided to watch this on Youtube just to look at it. When I saw Michael Myers' parents arguing at each other, I was like, "Did that happen in the 1970s version?", and waited to see Michael kill her sister Judith Myers(just like that other movie), but When I saw his mother kill herself after seeing Michael killing another person, I stopped watching it and went on to something else.

    I hate to say this, but Rob Zombie just simply failed to put some charm from the original. I mean, some of the scenes have reenactments from the original and Malcolm Mcdowell was the right actor for Dr. Loomis, but the storyline was very confusing, so uninteresting, and boringly dull. I'm sorry, but Rob Zombie would've at least try to make this remake good.

    This movie may not be the worst ever, but its just forgettable.

    At my highest hopes, this one deserves a 4/10 thanks to its reenactments and Malcolm Mcdowell.
    Expand
  29. Feb 15, 2011
    5
    This movie is good if you're just looking for a decent scare, some blood, and enjoy the anticipation of wondering when he'll jump out from behind the door, but it really isn't anything spectacular. The plot was okay at best.
  30. SFN
    Jan 8, 2011
    7
    i came into this movie and was expecting another remake where they change the story completely and basically mess everything up and even though rob zombie did that, it was actually really good, he actually added a story behind the reason why micheal killed his sister and why he wants to finish off his lil sister, he added so much more to the movie that it was enjoyable for me to watch andi came into this movie and was expecting another remake where they change the story completely and basically mess everything up and even though rob zombie did that, it was actually really good, he actually added a story behind the reason why micheal killed his sister and why he wants to finish off his lil sister, he added so much more to the movie that it was enjoyable for me to watch and want more, i really enjoyed this movie but its not better than the original Expand
  31. JohnR.
    May 6, 2010
    5
    Rob Zombies attempt at a re-imagining succeeds on some levels, but falls quite short in a few other aspects making this re-imagining/re-telling a dull sit.
  32. JakeV.
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    This movie was great! Although it could never top John Carpenters masterpiece. Rob Zombie gave a modern twist on a classic horror movie and made it almost as good. If you haven't seen it you should because its by far Rob Zombies best work.
  33. [Anonymous]
    Aug 30, 2009
    1
    Why did this get remade?
  34. ChristianS.
    Aug 8, 2009
    5
    It was ok at best, but the original was far better. I am not a huge fan of Rob Zombie and the acting was below par. the thing that I really liked was when they went deep in how Micheal became more psychotic.
  35. ScottN
    Jun 29, 2009
    0
    First off, I am not particularly bothered by profanity, but when the movie is just "F this" and "F that", it's just completely stupid and over the top and is nothing more than a distraction. Nice job of "modernizing" Halloween. The acting in this movie was inferior across the board compared to the original, and the time-consuming, heavy-handed Michael Myers back story left little First off, I am not particularly bothered by profanity, but when the movie is just "F this" and "F that", it's just completely stupid and over the top and is nothing more than a distraction. Nice job of "modernizing" Halloween. The acting in this movie was inferior across the board compared to the original, and the time-consuming, heavy-handed Michael Myers back story left little time for the Haddonfield part of the story, which should have been the main event, but if felt very rushed and artificial. It was almost like Zombie realized after he was done with the Myers backstory "Oh, I still have to write the Haddonfield part of the story!" and threw something together. This movie was very dull (Unless you like the F word). Total crap. Expand
  36. joeh
    May 27, 2009
    0
    I walked into this movie without much prior knowledge of the series or what I was about to see; which was my first mistake. This movie is the antithesis of films like 1408, having not the least bit of intelligence or atmosphere, it is and unrefined, clumsy mess of a bloodbath. It wasn't scary, it wasn't horror and it certainly wasn't enjoyable in any sense of the word. I walked into this movie without much prior knowledge of the series or what I was about to see; which was my first mistake. This movie is the antithesis of films like 1408, having not the least bit of intelligence or atmosphere, it is and unrefined, clumsy mess of a bloodbath. It wasn't scary, it wasn't horror and it certainly wasn't enjoyable in any sense of the word. Don't get me wrong, I like movies about sociopaths- seven was great and Silence of the lambs is one of my favorites- but what makes these movies good is their delicate tact and eloquence, observing the characters from an objective point of view; as opposed to reveling in the bloody carnage they create. One common mistake made during the creation of films like these is the inclusion of background stories, which tend to ruin all the mystery and intrigue of these psychopathic antagonists, such as Hannibal Rising did. Well this movie is no exception, since after the first hour of getting to know little Mikey, not only was I bored and offended, but I knew there was nothing left to show aside from a bloody string of murders committed by this newly and fully realized monster. Honestly, there isn't a whole lot left to say, after that it was a gore fest that never created tension, suspense or any sense of emotional attachment. The sheer fumbling of the films execution earned this movie a 0, everything after that takes it into the negative zone. Just plain out, unrelenting, unremorseful and unforgiving torture porn that is bent on making you feel uncomfortable. Judging by the rest of these reviews, I intend to see the original Halloween with hopes that this travesty is simply a horrible misrepresentation of a once great series. Expand
  37. FbFb
    Feb 13, 2009
    6
    Well i thought this was just okay but zombie's best his other movies are just awful house of a 1000 corpses to name one. Anyway the acting was ok but some scenes seem unnessary and violent with a little to much nudity some scenes seemed forced and it lacked suspense just alot of gore. The music was good though. So the movie not terrible but nothing to write home about either.
  38. RobinS
    Mar 17, 2008
    6
    I have to say Mark Bell is spot on. Not the great film it could've been, but certainly not a horrible one (in every sense of the word). It has grit, and doesn't compromise, but the entertainment value is lost in the apathetic world of Michael Myers.
  39. brendam
    Feb 2, 2008
    9
    I think that rob Zombie did an excellent job on this movie. Jogn carptner should have done a movie like this. I like that way it explained how michael became a killer.
  40. LouD.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    Great movie. Not too much like the original, but if I wanted that, I'd watch the original. This movie is incredible, the kill scenes are well done and the reimagining is top-notch. Half-remake, half-new. Rob Zombie is paving his way in this genre and he continues to move forward. Michael's childhood explains many previously unanswered questions and as long as you go into the Great movie. Not too much like the original, but if I wanted that, I'd watch the original. This movie is incredible, the kill scenes are well done and the reimagining is top-notch. Half-remake, half-new. Rob Zombie is paving his way in this genre and he continues to move forward. Michael's childhood explains many previously unanswered questions and as long as you go into the movie with an open mind and look for a 9th movie, you will be happy. If you want a remake, watch the original. Theres no point in someone making a copy of something perfect, that is what Zombie avoided and thankfully so. Masterpiece. Expand
  41. TomV
    Jan 23, 2008
    9
    On its own merit, without judging various elements of the movie in relation to other Halloween/series films or Rob's previous films - its a great movie. If you watch it with preconceived notions of what you're going to see (vs with an open mind) - of course you will be disappointed. The second half of the movie could have strayed even a bit more from the original plot (1978) but On its own merit, without judging various elements of the movie in relation to other Halloween/series films or Rob's previous films - its a great movie. If you watch it with preconceived notions of what you're going to see (vs with an open mind) - of course you will be disappointed. The second half of the movie could have strayed even a bit more from the original plot (1978) but the compromise is fine - it does plenty of justice to John Carpenter while creating its own identity. Excellent soundtrack too. Expand
  42. BrandonF.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    The movie was AWESOME! It is hard to find a movie that looks realistic and has a sense of humor. It was a real treat to see the background behind Michael Myers and all his gruesome killings. It is an excellent movie!
  43. RobertR.
    Jan 18, 2008
    5
    Halloween is clearly unimpressive as it fails to enhance Zombie
  44. Bobbyn
    Jan 4, 2008
    3
    This movie had the potential to do justice to the original Halloween. It starts off promising, giving us a thorough examination of Michael Myers psychology, but things nosedive soon after that. The ending is a major disappointment and as many others have noted, there is little suspense involved in the murders. The cast does a decent job of delivering some terrible dialogue also. It all This movie had the potential to do justice to the original Halloween. It starts off promising, giving us a thorough examination of Michael Myers psychology, but things nosedive soon after that. The ending is a major disappointment and as many others have noted, there is little suspense involved in the murders. The cast does a decent job of delivering some terrible dialogue also. It all just seemed over-the-top. Expand
  45. AMovieCritic
    Dec 28, 2007
    7
    Rob Zombie has created a re-imagining of a story that's been done to death but he does a great job. The movie's at its best when it focuses on the childhood of the killer, and the movie's extremely intense and very disturbing. The 2nd half of the movie, though, becomes a bit repetitive, as it becomes the typical "serial killer" movie and it goes on for a bit too long. The Rob Zombie has created a re-imagining of a story that's been done to death but he does a great job. The movie's at its best when it focuses on the childhood of the killer, and the movie's extremely intense and very disturbing. The 2nd half of the movie, though, becomes a bit repetitive, as it becomes the typical "serial killer" movie and it goes on for a bit too long. The unrated version contains a very disturbing rape scene that was apparently entirely absent from the theatrical cut, as well as 11 minutes of additional footage....it was a bit too long for me, but still, what we have is a very disturbing and well-made movie, and Rob Zombie should be proud of adding a lot of depth to the character and story. Expand
  46. KidA
    Dec 25, 2007
    0
    Seriously, this movie was absolute garbage. The dialogue is achingly terrible, there is not one actual scare in the entire film, and the murders are not even effective in their purpose. If you enjoy watching a 5th grader being beat to death for minutes on end until your stomach turns, then this might be your movie. Doesn't even hold a candle to the original.
  47. JulianT
    Dec 23, 2007
    3
    Rob Zomie shouldn't made this classic. He just destroyed it. First of all, Danielle Harris (Annie Brackett, Jamie Lloyd in Halloween 4 & 5) shouldn't been in the movie. She played Jamie Lloyd in Part 4 and 5, and decided not to play in "The Curse of Michael Myers" and now she is back in this one.. Second, this movie is nothing like the original one. This movie was like a 30 Rob Zomie shouldn't made this classic. He just destroyed it. First of all, Danielle Harris (Annie Brackett, Jamie Lloyd in Halloween 4 & 5) shouldn't been in the movie. She played Jamie Lloyd in Part 4 and 5, and decided not to play in "The Curse of Michael Myers" and now she is back in this one.. Second, this movie is nothing like the original one. This movie was like a 30 minute fireworks show; a little bangs here and there and then the finale at the end where everything is in one. Expand
  48. JBs
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    Zombie's best film by far. I was blown away.
  49. LukeM
    Dec 20, 2007
    8
    Entertaining, not as good as the original but includes some very interesting stances such as having child Mike fascinated with masks. The reason for the low reviews is because it isnt the original and not what people wanted.
  50. ES
    Dec 19, 2007
    3
    Imagine a second grader taking three or four of his favorite toy dolls and play-acting out the original "Halloween" at the kitchen table. Yeah. It's kind of like that.
  51. Ryencoke
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Brilliant remake. To all of you haters that are posting this less than a 6, clearly you either like big hollywood stupid films such as "Transformers". This movie was so dark, and shows what created Michael and how he became was he is. This movie was excellent. Rob, keep directing movies.
  52. HenrikS.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    These days its rare to see an original remake. But thats exactly what this is. Not only is Michael a monster, but in this movie he is also a person, at least in the beginning. Although he is mentally disturbed already as a child, you can still see the human reflecting inside of him. But fade will that he is abandoned by his whole family and then later by the society by putting him in These days its rare to see an original remake. But thats exactly what this is. Not only is Michael a monster, but in this movie he is also a person, at least in the beginning. Although he is mentally disturbed already as a child, you can still see the human reflecting inside of him. But fade will that he is abandoned by his whole family and then later by the society by putting him in isolation. Its not human to act normal when these to things are mixed together. Naturally his hate will grow over the years and he cant let anyone see what is hiding beneath the mask. That is all what this masterpiece tells us. Even though we people are most afraid of the unknown, this story show us that the truth can be even more terrifying. And to all you people who hated it, watch it again and tell me what you would feel if you were in Michaels shoes! Expand
  53. EduardoF.
    Nov 29, 2007
    4
    Rob Zombie tried to make Halloween his own and i respect him for that...but in doing so he made a slasher film, that has no atmosphere at all, therefore it isn't scary or even remotely good.
  54. JamesT
    Nov 27, 2007
    8
    I don't really like horror movies all that much due to the generally cliche nature and lame scares, but I actually really enjoyed this. Yes, it's brutal and pretty disturbing, but this works in its favor... what would you expect a psychopath killing people to do? Unlike movies like Saw II, etc, it wasn't mindless gore just to shock. There weren't many lame LOUD NOISE I don't really like horror movies all that much due to the generally cliche nature and lame scares, but I actually really enjoyed this. Yes, it's brutal and pretty disturbing, but this works in its favor... what would you expect a psychopath killing people to do? Unlike movies like Saw II, etc, it wasn't mindless gore just to shock. There weren't many lame LOUD NOISE SUDDENLY scares, just the scary knowledge that Michael is a large man that will stab you in painful ways. The repeated use of 'Don't Fear the Reaper' by Blue Oyster Cult was BRILLIANT. Creepy, scary, and fitting to the lyrics in a twisted way :) Yes it had cliches, but he was blatantly aware of these cliches and used them well making a horror movie. Unlike most new ones, I actually felt this wasn't just a boring retread. It was a retread that was modern and fun. Expand
  55. ScottN.
    Nov 23, 2007
    2
    Mr. Zombie, I love your music, but I think you should stay out of the filmmaking business. The remake of Halloween is really not much more than an exhibition of repulsive characters dropping f-bombs all over the place. Lost are the suspense and terror of the original Halloween, only to be replaced with buckets of profanity, nudity, and gore. A good movie requires some actual substance, Mr. Zombie, I love your music, but I think you should stay out of the filmmaking business. The remake of Halloween is really not much more than an exhibition of repulsive characters dropping f-bombs all over the place. Lost are the suspense and terror of the original Halloween, only to be replaced with buckets of profanity, nudity, and gore. A good movie requires some actual substance, not over-the-top trash. I guess that fits in nicely with the type of horror movies we are getting these days though. I found myself stifling yawns during this movie when it was almost an hour in and Michael Myers still had not even escaped from Smith's Grove. Just FAR too much time spent (or wasted) on explaining why Michael Myers turned into a brutal killer. What really should have been the main event in Myers returning to Haddonfield turned into a rushed bloodbath with all of the main characters introduced and promptly swept under the carpet. This movie pales in comparison to the original, and used copies will quickly start showing up in droves at Movie Stop, etc. Expand
  56. ChadS.
    Nov 21, 2007
    4
    Maybe it's true of "The Devil's Rejects" as well, but here, this unnecessary but not altogether pointless remake of the John Carpenter "classic", unmistakably has that David Lynch touch(one man's misogyny is another man's realism) of unerotic female nudity(an instance of a topless corpse and then there's the girl who's topless and bloody) and overstylized Maybe it's true of "The Devil's Rejects" as well, but here, this unnecessary but not altogether pointless remake of the John Carpenter "classic", unmistakably has that David Lynch touch(one man's misogyny is another man's realism) of unerotic female nudity(an instance of a topless corpse and then there's the girl who's topless and bloody) and overstylized regional-situated dialogue. "Halloween" owes a debt of gratitude to "Blue Velvet". The bloody and topless girl who gets in the way of Michael's warpath is comparable to Isabella Rossellini's full-frontal stagger across Kyle McLachlan's lawn. There's breasts on the screen but you want to look away. In a slasher pic, you accept the blood, you accept the screaming woman in peril, but you shouldn't accept something that looks straight out of a snuff film. What "Halloween" has going for it, however, is the weird white trash energy of Michael Myers' family. Sheri Moon is a very underrated actress. Expand
  57. ErnestM.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Much better than anybody anticipated, the remake outshines the original and has moments worthy of Hitchcock. Who is this Rob Zombie guy anyway???
  58. AngelaC.
    Oct 7, 2007
    0
    Horrible insult to the original. Doesn't have the suspense or scare factor of the first, just zombie's typical gore.
  59. DanD.
    Oct 6, 2007
    5
    I am going to sit on the fence a little over this film. Mainly because i can as I have seen a number of Rob Zombie films and I have also seen all of the Halloween sequels. Firstly, i think that it was good shot at a backstory by Zombie but I've always had my idea of "Mikey" being a neglected child who did not really get on with anyone in his family. So the trailer trash approach was I am going to sit on the fence a little over this film. Mainly because i can as I have seen a number of Rob Zombie films and I have also seen all of the Halloween sequels. Firstly, i think that it was good shot at a backstory by Zombie but I've always had my idea of "Mikey" being a neglected child who did not really get on with anyone in his family. So the trailer trash approach was a bit different ( and a little to modern for my liking). I have many qualms with the remake though: 1) I wasn't too happy with the size of Myers ( 6'8 is a bit too big and kid of makes it impossible for any of the other characters to realistically stand a chance against him). However, his size does make his strength abilities more viable. i mean, they claim that he can lift more than half a ton for Christ sake!!! 2) Maybe I missed something in the other sequels, but he has never been blonde (its only a subtle but being an avid fan I have to be meticulous about these things). I had this idea that maybe the Zomb man could have started of with his hair being a blonde at a young age, then when it makes the transition into Micheal 15 years later, maybe make his hair a really dark brown which could be significant of his deterioration to psychosis. Expand
  60. SophiaB.
    Oct 1, 2007
    0
    This movie was horrible. It is not scary, just disgusting and disturbing. The people who create these kinds of movies have deranged minds creating graphic, violent, bloody movies for anyone to see and to get ideas from
  61. WaltS.
    Sep 24, 2007
    0
    Shame on you, Mr. Zombie. In a better world, a movie like this wouldn't be enjoyed by anyone. In a better world, a movie like this wouldn't be made because no one would go see it. Ugly, repulsive, unforgivable. How this movie didn't receive a rating of at least NC-17 is beyond me. AVOID.
  62. James
    Sep 22, 2007
    0
    If you have any respect for the original, avoid this travesty. Zombie inflates the first ten minutes of the original Halloween to nearly an hour, giving Michael Myers a ridiculous caricature of a white trash family and a cliched psychological development that seems to have been gleaned from the back of "Abnormal Psychology for Dummies." The remaining hour is spent ineptly and If you have any respect for the original, avoid this travesty. Zombie inflates the first ten minutes of the original Halloween to nearly an hour, giving Michael Myers a ridiculous caricature of a white trash family and a cliched psychological development that seems to have been gleaned from the back of "Abnormal Psychology for Dummies." The remaining hour is spent ineptly and unsuspensefully butchering the original film. The only thing that prevents this from being a total waste of time is that it's so poorly conceived and crudely executed that it's often hilarious. Also, seeing this might make you appreciate those last few Halloween sequels that previously seemed so awful. Expand
  63. IanB.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    A complete crazy massacre just what Michael Myers needs to be scary and crazy.
  64. MarkB.
    Sep 21, 2007
    4
    Legendary producer and studio head Samuel Goldwyn never uttered wiser words than when he advised Hollywood to, rather than remaking hit movies and trying to make lightning strike twice, instead redo their flops until they get them right. However, two recent terrific remakes (or perhaps more accurately, reimaginings) of legendary works prove that even the best of us aren't right 100% Legendary producer and studio head Samuel Goldwyn never uttered wiser words than when he advised Hollywood to, rather than remaking hit movies and trying to make lightning strike twice, instead redo their flops until they get them right. However, two recent terrific remakes (or perhaps more accurately, reimaginings) of legendary works prove that even the best of us aren't right 100% of the time: last year's Casino Royale, in reinventing the James Bond saga (but keeping it present day rather than returning it to a Cold War time capsule) made 007 far less superhuman and more vulnerable, and thus much closer to Ian Fleming's original conception. And while nobody loves and reveres the 1933 King Kong more than Peter Jackson (who has often admitted in interviews that it's the movie that inspired him to become a filmmaker in the first place), his brilliant 2005 take didn't shy away from correcting its two sorest points: the original's inherent racism and Fay wray's frustrating refusal to acknowledge the big guy as something other than a scary best, much less treat him with even the slightest iota of kindness, let alone affection. It would be nice to report that Rob Zombie's ambitious meditation on John Carpenter's seminal 1978 horror classic joins this worthy duo, but--and this is putting it VERY kindly--the talented horror auteur fails to pull off the hat trick. In trying to flesh out amorphous mad slasher Michael Myers (whose unmasked face is only glimpsed twice onscreen in Carpenter's original) and explain what happened in his childhood to make him the remorseless, unstoppable killing machine he beacame, Zombie succeeds only in trivializing his source material. Fans of this previous efforts, House of 1000 Corpses and The Devil's Rejects (count me in) will not be surprised to learn that Mikey's troubles germinated from being brought up by a group of foulmouthed, subhuman white-trash rednecks, but they'll be hard pressed not to consider that Zombie's creative well is getting more than a little parched: might I suggest to Zombie that his next horror thriller feature no male characters with hair longer than that worn by Spencer Tracy in any movie he made in 1938? Equally predictably, the scenes that work the most effectively are the ones that most directly parrot Carpenter's original staging (and admittedly his legendary electronic music score sounds dynamite in Dolby stereo!) but Zombie shoots, stabs and amputates his own foot by adding astonishingly unpleasant ultrarealistic carnage and gore to a property that Richard Corliss accurately described in its original run as having as little blood onscreen as an anemic ant...which helped Carpenter, despite the body count, to deliver a wonderful campfire ghost story that was a delicious bit of fun escapism. Even Zombie's most likable characteristic--his frequent casting of 1970s and 80s actors he admires (Sid Haig, Leslie Easterbrook, etc.)--goes for naught; his distasteful, nihilistic use of Dee Wallace, who was so memorably sympathetic in E.T., The Howling and Blake Edwards' 10, made me genuinely angry. Zombie has too much imagination and far too distinctive a voice to be lumped in with all the current torture porn directors, and his apparent intention to unflinchingly depict the psychological and physical pain beneath the surface of Carpenter's original is certainly unique, but to this mind the only viewers who can possibly enjoy two hours of child abuse, unrelenting viscera and Michael's victims pleading with him to finish the job are those who, like Michael himself, cause their neighbors to keep their household pets locked up. The closest thing to a compliment I can bring myself to offer Zombie's Halloween is that it's one of the rarest of birds: a movie whose intentions are intriguing--maybe even honorable--but whose realization of same is so relentlessly scummy and repugnant that many who have experienced it will not want to go six blocks or less near a theater showing it (or, in the near future, a Blockbuster Video renting the DVD) without wanting to take three long hot showers and undergo a thorough delousing afterward. Expand
  65. ChrisT.
    Sep 17, 2007
    9
    This movie is sheer brilliance a excellent remake of the original plus a bit more, the movie adds great extra scenes how michael.m ends up the way he does don't get me wrong the original is very good but this is better great acting and fully entertaining (go and see if u dare).
  66. AlexC.
    Sep 16, 2007
    9
    I loved this version of Halloween. My favorite part about it is the lack of playing around. Michael Myers goes right for the kill, which in a way, makes it disturbing. He has a purpose in this film. He's not just walking around in circles and randomly appears. He is human in this movie and the subtle emotions that he shows makes him seem like a psycho-path, rather than a force of I loved this version of Halloween. My favorite part about it is the lack of playing around. Michael Myers goes right for the kill, which in a way, makes it disturbing. He has a purpose in this film. He's not just walking around in circles and randomly appears. He is human in this movie and the subtle emotions that he shows makes him seem like a psycho-path, rather than a force of evil. He seemed consumed, and not inhumane, because there are parts when as a child, he shows happy emotions. He is human. Collapse
  67. ChristopherW.
    Sep 13, 2007
    5
    More of an homage, than an actual remake, Halloween is a relatively bloodless thriller despite the fact that it's a pretty bloody movie. It's certainly overlong and takes a long time to get going. Once it does, an actual story never truly develops. It just meanders about as Myers happens upon this person or that person with inevitable results. There is also nobody to cheer for More of an homage, than an actual remake, Halloween is a relatively bloodless thriller despite the fact that it's a pretty bloody movie. It's certainly overlong and takes a long time to get going. Once it does, an actual story never truly develops. It just meanders about as Myers happens upon this person or that person with inevitable results. There is also nobody to cheer for as all the characters seem embued with portents of their own demise. While it does have some style and some technical strengths such as in the editing and photography, overall, Zombie's film left me glaring at my wrist watch. BooHoo! Expand
  68. BlancoA.
    Sep 12, 2007
    8
    Definitely one of the best horror remakes I've ever seen. Clearly, Rob Zombie was a fan of the original. I was pleasantly surprised at the end to see that the production stayed in the Akkad family. RIP Mustapha.
  69. YomoH.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    This movie is great!
  70. Kewlkat
    Sep 10, 2007
    6
    No supspense. No terror. No excitement. Just......there. I would have died the first 10 minutes into the film. You know why? Because I would have called Michael BORING, something him and this film have in common. Yeah, there's interesting moments, but that's just what they are. MOMENTS. Nothing happens. Ever. Throughout this ENTIRE 109 minute film, we watch michael- OMG- BEING No supspense. No terror. No excitement. Just......there. I would have died the first 10 minutes into the film. You know why? Because I would have called Michael BORING, something him and this film have in common. Yeah, there's interesting moments, but that's just what they are. MOMENTS. Nothing happens. Ever. Throughout this ENTIRE 109 minute film, we watch michael- OMG- BEING MICHAEL. Next time, when a filmaker tries to remake a classic, remember one thing: TRY TO SURPRISE US. Expand
  71. VitorA.
    Sep 10, 2007
    1
    This has even worse camera work than Bourne Ultimatum. There was too much cropping on characters. Zombie didn't think focus was important. Shaking is everywhere... while cropped. There is so much cropping that many times I didn't get a feel for the surroundings. Zombie was just filming people and a house on another part of town could've been two houses over for all I knew. This has even worse camera work than Bourne Ultimatum. There was too much cropping on characters. Zombie didn't think focus was important. Shaking is everywhere... while cropped. There is so much cropping that many times I didn't get a feel for the surroundings. Zombie was just filming people and a house on another part of town could've been two houses over for all I knew. It was like I was watching the movie through a tiny box that kept shaking left and right. This made my eyes tired half way through the movie. I couldn't look anymore - it was torture. It's not like the camera is filming at 60fps. How about doing some real filming? This really ruined the movie. I was more interested in this movie than Ultimatum, but ironically, there was worse camera work here. My other thoughts: Myers was more mysterious in the original; Jamie Lee Curtis' vocal chords were missed; Many scenes were just too amusing, ruinning the terror in climactic parts. That last one really hurts the movie because it distracts from the reak drama that influienced Mike's life of inflicting pain to others. Expand
  72. ClarkeJ.
    Sep 10, 2007
    0
    What an ugly movie this is. In the first 5 minutes of the movie two adults are arguing, firing off f-bombs and every crude anatomical reference -- all in front of a baby, one who is caused to cry on two occasions due to the tension and violent noise. Subjecting a child to this ugliness for entertainment is abusive. So foul and heedless to any respect for humanity. As for the rest of the What an ugly movie this is. In the first 5 minutes of the movie two adults are arguing, firing off f-bombs and every crude anatomical reference -- all in front of a baby, one who is caused to cry on two occasions due to the tension and violent noise. Subjecting a child to this ugliness for entertainment is abusive. So foul and heedless to any respect for humanity. As for the rest of the movie, no style or intelligence. The original Halloween is 100x more terrifying and creepy than this garbage, which was not either of these in the least. Don't waste your time and money. Expand
  73. SteveT.
    Sep 9, 2007
    8
    When H20 has received a better score than this, you know something is wrong. Rob Zombie made an honorable attempt to remake the film and give Michael Myers back story some guts, and that he did pretty damn well. The original is king, but this remake brought something new to the table, which, if every remake accomplished that, I wouldn't cringe when I heard the term "remake", music, When H20 has received a better score than this, you know something is wrong. Rob Zombie made an honorable attempt to remake the film and give Michael Myers back story some guts, and that he did pretty damn well. The original is king, but this remake brought something new to the table, which, if every remake accomplished that, I wouldn't cringe when I heard the term "remake", music, film or otherwise. Expand
  74. JoJ.
    Sep 9, 2007
    2
    this movie was trash its so pathetic how zombie actually thinks hes a director and having the first 15 minutes being about Micheal as a child was probably the worst thing about this movie the worst movie of the summer by far!!
  75. TonyS.
    Sep 7, 2007
    7
    I had a feeling that this film wasn't going to get a fair chance. Fans of the original would say its bad just because they don't want any changes. And Rob Zombie fans would say that the movie is good because....well there Rob Zombie fans. I'd never seen one of MR. Zombies films before, but I have to say that overall I did enjoy this one.
  76. JimmyG.
    Sep 7, 2007
    8
    Better than most are giving it, probably because they are too much in love with the original. This one is scary, more intense, and just all around better IMO...but then again I was born in 85 so when I eventually did get to see the original Halloween, I was pretty old and the movie looked like it had aged a lot. This doesn't take away that I still like the remake more. This Myers Better than most are giving it, probably because they are too much in love with the original. This one is scary, more intense, and just all around better IMO...but then again I was born in 85 so when I eventually did get to see the original Halloween, I was pretty old and the movie looked like it had aged a lot. This doesn't take away that I still like the remake more. This Myers isn't a pansy that walks slowly towards you and cuts you a couple times. He brutally grabs you and stabs you over and over. Every time he is on screen he is intimidating due to his size and knowing that he is going to kill everyone else on screen with him....and he does just that. I don't need build up to something that I know that he is going to do, just do it! It's more-so entertaining to see how he does it and how his victims try to get out of the situation. My only complaint is some of th deaths were too much alike. Myers would stab them and they would try to crawl away and he would kill them as they crawled. Other than that, the look of the film is fantastic and the loud fast music was great. I only would of liked to see a little less time on kid Myers and some dialog that didn't have cusswords every 2 seconds (but this problem was only at the beginning). Expand
  77. RaymondH
    Sep 7, 2007
    1
    It's a Zombie film so I expected what I saw in the first twenty minutes of the movie: rednecks cursing and unlistenable rock music that takes away from the cinematography. After this it's pretty much a who's-who of B-movie legends and dialogue so bad even Tarantino wouldn't use it. It felt more like a ninety minute promo for WWE's Summerslam than a real movie.
  78. EricM.
    Sep 6, 2007
    8
    Rob Zombie is successful at making what he stated; a Halloween film that mainly focuses on Michael and not on the pointless conversations between the girls. The scenes are disturbing but luckily not disgusting. The origins of Michael were shown but there could have been more in the timeline. I know Zombie has a lot of scenes he didn't use, so why didn't he? The point is Michael Rob Zombie is successful at making what he stated; a Halloween film that mainly focuses on Michael and not on the pointless conversations between the girls. The scenes are disturbing but luckily not disgusting. The origins of Michael were shown but there could have been more in the timeline. I know Zombie has a lot of scenes he didn't use, so why didn't he? The point is Michael has never been scarier and the mask couldn't be more perfect. Thank You Rob. Expand
  79. AB
    Sep 6, 2007
    0
    Just as I began to believe that this summer's arbitrary comedies ("Who's Your Caddy?", "Chuck and Larry") were offensive, this ridiculous sequel places any of my complaints about those abominations in unprecedented silence. The new "Halloween" is about little more than hideously revolting, ravenous, gruesome, and repugnant wanton violence against children, animals, and anything Just as I began to believe that this summer's arbitrary comedies ("Who's Your Caddy?", "Chuck and Larry") were offensive, this ridiculous sequel places any of my complaints about those abominations in unprecedented silence. The new "Halloween" is about little more than hideously revolting, ravenous, gruesome, and repugnant wanton violence against children, animals, and anything else that claims an insignificant existence inside the frames of this despicable film. Even by low standards, "Halloween" disappoints. Expand
  80. Cables
    Sep 6, 2007
    3
    This film is terrible. Everyone giving it a high score is doing it simply because they're a rob zombie fan. I like rob zombie. I love the Halloween series. I hated this movie.
  81. blakK
    Sep 5, 2007
    7
    I didn't see the original Halloween, so I can't really make a comparison between the original and this re-make. I have seen Zombie's other two films, however, and I feel that he's definitely grown as a director. It was also nice to see some familiar faces from the other films. Still, I didn't feel any tension or fear throughout the movie, and actually felt a I didn't see the original Halloween, so I can't really make a comparison between the original and this re-make. I have seen Zombie's other two films, however, and I feel that he's definitely grown as a director. It was also nice to see some familiar faces from the other films. Still, I didn't feel any tension or fear throughout the movie, and actually felt a little bored during the last scenes. I think the story surrounding Michael Meyers was interesting, but the movie failed to set the right atmosphere. It's also hard to feel any fear when you're getting teenage breasts thrown in your face every 10 minutes.... not that I'm complaining. Expand
  82. Aestrangel
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    Rob Zombie's re-make/re-envisioning of the classic horror film, "Halloween", was not only scary, but extremely thought provoking and sad. Zombie's third shot at film making (writing/directing) has solidified his status as a formidable player in the horror genre. The movie is separated into 3 acts: the 1st exploring the sad and disturbing childhood of Michael Myers, the 2nd Rob Zombie's re-make/re-envisioning of the classic horror film, "Halloween", was not only scary, but extremely thought provoking and sad. Zombie's third shot at film making (writing/directing) has solidified his status as a formidable player in the horror genre. The movie is separated into 3 acts: the 1st exploring the sad and disturbing childhood of Michael Myers, the 2nd dealing with Myers's stay at the sanitarium, and the 3rd basically being an updated version of the original film. Zombie has amped up the blood and body count, which is in stark contrast to the original film (and which I'm not personally complaining). Overall, Zombie's new additions to the Myers Legend add a fresh spin to the original. Of course, Zombie's film doesn't have the amazing Jamie Lee Curtis, and for die hard fans of the series, this may prove problematic. While Scout Taylor Compton was good in the role of Laurie Strode, she just didn't have that innocent, pure quality that Curtis brought to the character. In the original, the audience is truly focused on Strode's fears and anxieties. In Zombie's version, the suspense is near absent, as the focus of the tale is all about Michael himself. As far as dialog is concerned, I actually expected more of the demented wit that Zombie's other movies were peppered with. Zombie has a way with writing dialog, and for me this was just on par. *******Fans (like myself) of Zombie's other two movies ("House of 1000 Corpses" and "The Devil's Rejects") will enjoy some inside jokes throughout! My husband and I chuckled at a few scenes! Expand
  83. KayS.
    Sep 4, 2007
    3
    Very disappointing. There was NO suspense....no "hold your breath" moments waiting and wondering what will happen next. This movie was NOT scary....it was merely GORY. There was an economy of talent, performing a plodding story that simply laid everything out on the table, leaving nothing to the imagination. The back story idea could have been a real gem, and could have begun a sense of Very disappointing. There was NO suspense....no "hold your breath" moments waiting and wondering what will happen next. This movie was NOT scary....it was merely GORY. There was an economy of talent, performing a plodding story that simply laid everything out on the table, leaving nothing to the imagination. The back story idea could have been a real gem, and could have begun a sense of mystery and suspense. Instead, it played like an over-the-top Saturday Night Live made-for-TV segment. Throughout the movie, cute was too cutesy, and vile was shouted instead of whispered. This could have been a great horror movie. It SHOULD have been a great horror movie. Instead, it was a poorly written, poorly acted, poorly directed, suspense-less and horror-less flop. I give it a "3" rating based solely on the idea behind the back story and the unrealized potential for a modern horror classic that lurks beneath the surface. Expand
  84. CAENT
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    Very solid re-creation of Halloween through the eyes of Rob Zombie. Although Rob didn't ace this horror classic, he sure did add some of that Zombie flavor. The most enjoyable portion of the film to me was the 1st quarter, when Rob uses is imagination and dives into Michael Myers young mind. The boy actor was superb. His cold stare alone had me a believer. Great casting on young Very solid re-creation of Halloween through the eyes of Rob Zombie. Although Rob didn't ace this horror classic, he sure did add some of that Zombie flavor. The most enjoyable portion of the film to me was the 1st quarter, when Rob uses is imagination and dives into Michael Myers young mind. The boy actor was superb. His cold stare alone had me a believer. Great casting on young Michael. The rest of the cast however, leave much to be desired, (minus mike myers of course). Overall, a must see for fans of the original Halloween (series) as well as Rob Zombie fans and horror fans alike. Expand
  85. ArthurC.
    Sep 4, 2007
    3
    This is the biggest disappointment of the summer. Rob Zombie showed such promise with The Devil's Rejects, and here, he loses all that. The film is disjointed, plays around too much with the Halloween myth, and worse of all, isn't scary or suspenseful in the slightest. By giving a back story to Michael Myers, he strips away what truly made him frightening, his unrelenting evil. This is the biggest disappointment of the summer. Rob Zombie showed such promise with The Devil's Rejects, and here, he loses all that. The film is disjointed, plays around too much with the Halloween myth, and worse of all, isn't scary or suspenseful in the slightest. By giving a back story to Michael Myers, he strips away what truly made him frightening, his unrelenting evil. A faceless, voiceless monster who has no rhyme or reason to what he does. It had potential, but Zombie should've focused on something here. Anything really. Either a prequel or a remake, not both. The final half of this film is so dull and pointless, I kept looking at my watch. Something I didn't even do during Halloween 6. Rob, please, make a better movie next time. Expand
  86. Rick
    Sep 4, 2007
    3
    Probably the best in the series since the original but that isn't saying much. The opening scene was just painfully to watch. I haven't heard that much dialogue without anything remotely important being said since QT's Deathproof. The problem with this movie is the backstory of Myers doesn't work. The original had one scene a boy holding a bloody knife that left so Probably the best in the series since the original but that isn't saying much. The opening scene was just painfully to watch. I haven't heard that much dialogue without anything remotely important being said since QT's Deathproof. The problem with this movie is the backstory of Myers doesn't work. The original had one scene a boy holding a bloody knife that left so much to the imagination that we personally made what we thought his creepy story was in our heads. The story is not important but the image is. Less is more especially in this movie. Expand
  87. KimS
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    This movie was phenomenal! The original still holds its place but rob Zombie really took it up a notch. It made you feel for little Mikey yet at the same time be sickened with his anger and violence at people and animals. A++ This movie was VERY entertaining and in my opinion, scary.
  88. GeorgeH.
    Sep 4, 2007
    3
    The first 45 minutes is brilliant with Zombie creating psychological backstory but as soon as we hit the "15 years later" section, it's as if he had no ideas left and the movie stumbles hopelessly. You set up Myers as a complex sociopath and the world Zombie creates is very believable. How can we then expect to believe that after being shot multiple times and stabbed in the neck The first 45 minutes is brilliant with Zombie creating psychological backstory but as soon as we hit the "15 years later" section, it's as if he had no ideas left and the movie stumbles hopelessly. You set up Myers as a complex sociopath and the world Zombie creates is very believable. How can we then expect to believe that after being shot multiple times and stabbed in the neck Myers can shake it off like an annoying mosquito bite? Expand
  89. nic-
    Sep 3, 2007
    6
    Terrible.. trying to put a background and make the viewer try to sympathize with Michael falls flat on its face.
  90. AustinW.
    Sep 3, 2007
    9
    Rob Zombie stands alone in the horror genre. His touch, his direction, the pacing, the framing, the lighting - everything is exquisite and contributes to the story. The cast is great too, especially the regulars like Bill Moseley and Sherri Moon Zombie.
  91. bh
    Sep 3, 2007
    1
    an absolutely horrible movie in every aspect...extremely poor acting, uninspiring writing and cinematography. the 'prequel' portion of this movie does not clue you into why Michael Myers came to be...it is just a little kid carrying out the same pointless acts of violence as in every other Halloween. the entire story is poorly sequenced with pointless characters and an absolutely horrible movie in every aspect...extremely poor acting, uninspiring writing and cinematography. the 'prequel' portion of this movie does not clue you into why Michael Myers came to be...it is just a little kid carrying out the same pointless acts of violence as in every other Halloween. the entire story is poorly sequenced with pointless characters and dialogue...this movie is so bad zombie could have taken it into the ridiculous realm of a no-budget Grindhouse b-movie...but he doesn't. you couldn't pay me to watch this movie again. Expand
  92. gus
    Sep 3, 2007
    0
    Hideous !! How is it possible that this trash wasn't slapped with an NC-17 rating based on the fist 20 minutes alone, the very part of the film where the youngest members of the cast are put through its most violent sequences !?! What stinking hypocrisy ! Forget the inane plot deviations from the original. They're worthless.. What stays is how depraved Zombie's clear Hideous !! How is it possible that this trash wasn't slapped with an NC-17 rating based on the fist 20 minutes alone, the very part of the film where the youngest members of the cast are put through its most violent sequences !?! What stinking hypocrisy ! Forget the inane plot deviations from the original. They're worthless.. What stays is how depraved Zombie's clear reverence for this monster is and the slow, clinical butchery of people with no concern for any attachment to the victims. They are there to be slaughtered as a demonstration of the monster's satanic beauty. Scream, baby. Chop slice. So animalistic. Expand
  93. PatriciaB.
    Sep 3, 2007
    0
    One need not be a fan of the original to be extremely disappointed by this film. I had to walk out after an hour because it was so ridiculously bad. I have to wonder about the people who claim to have loved this movie or even liked it - the acting and casting were atrocious! Zombie's sense of pacing is extraordinarily poor and there wasn't a scary moment to be found. Just One need not be a fan of the original to be extremely disappointed by this film. I had to walk out after an hour because it was so ridiculously bad. I have to wonder about the people who claim to have loved this movie or even liked it - the acting and casting were atrocious! Zombie's sense of pacing is extraordinarily poor and there wasn't a scary moment to be found. Just because someone can make a murder scene look real - that doesn't make it frightening or even horrifying. Everything that was suspenseful about the original - or the genre, in general - is missing in this "re-imagining." Watching a guy walking around killing people when he's in plain sight the ENTIRE TIME isn't frightening. It's boring. The dialogue is some of the worst I've ever heard, made worse by really bad acting. Michael Myers' family -- a stripper mom, a slutty sister, and a foul-mouthed boozer father in a wheelchair -- don't explain why he becomes a serial killer -- they do a better job of explaining why he might get an STD. That "family" looks like they met the day they started shooting and decided to use the first take of every scene. I've never seen a less convincing group of actors in my life. And what sense does it make for the cops to leave Michael ALONE in the car after he's butchered all those people? Or for Dr. Loomis to wait 15 YEARS to finally give up on him... yet still call him his "best friend"? As for the critics who gave this a decent rating, I have to think they're older folks who want to try to be cool by liking a director with a cult fan base... despite having little talent on display in this movie. Expand
  94. Steven
    Sep 3, 2007
    9
    Rob Zombie has accomplished the very difficult task of taking a beloved classic and making it his own while respecting all that is so loved in the original. Much like the 2003 remake of Texas Chainsaw Massacre, the filmmakers took the idea of the original film and made it different in enough ways to make it stand on its own. Never boring, the film gives a different perspective on Michael Rob Zombie has accomplished the very difficult task of taking a beloved classic and making it his own while respecting all that is so loved in the original. Much like the 2003 remake of Texas Chainsaw Massacre, the filmmakers took the idea of the original film and made it different in enough ways to make it stand on its own. Never boring, the film gives a different perspective on Michael Myers that is absent in the original. What it lacks in John Carpenter's suspenseful style and restraint, it makes up for in savage brutality. What is most interesting about the new Halloween is how it is able to evoke some real emotional moments. I am a real fan of the original film, but I really enjoyed the new one as well. Expand
  95. ChazL.
    Sep 3, 2007
    8
    Very solid film (don't know if it's better than 'The Devil's Rejects", but it's good). Kind of surprised at how badly the film is being reacted to in some corners. Trying to squeeze almost the entire original into the last 40 minutes of the film (after an excellent first hour) seems a little forced. Perhaps RZ should have not followed the original so closely.
  96. ChrisV.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    I think this movie is very well done, i enjoyed every second of it... i think Rob Zombie did a great job.. See it in the movie theaters!! It scares the hell out of you!!!!
  97. JonerdC.
    Sep 3, 2007
    1
    Wow. I can't believe that people enjoyed this film. It left nothing to the imagination and created absolutely no suspense. Much of the beginning and end were totally uncalled for and made the movie drag on. The cinematography would have been ok for a 4 minute music video but not a feature film. The soundtrack was also retarded, you would think rob zombie would do better. waste of time.
  98. G-RadAndrew
    Sep 3, 2007
    9
    It's scary. It's exciting. Halloween has come to the big screen this Summer.
  99. Josh
    Sep 3, 2007
    1
    Really pointless movie. Everyone I was with hated it too. I love horror movies, but this one sucked. I can't believe all the 9's and 10's.
  100. SimonM.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    If you saw the Carpenter original and liked it you'll like this. Rob Z does a great job on his charecterization of Myers. You really get how utterly F'd up the guy is.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    30
    Leaves nothing to the imagination: Michael Myers is always right there in plain sight, committing mayhem sans suspenseful buildup or mystique.
  2. 50
    This is not a good movie but, considering what Halloween has evolved into over the course of seven sequels, it's perhaps better than it has a right to be.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Bell
    60
    As it stands, he made a noble attempt, and it could've been a Hell of a lot worse, but it's not as great a film as its potential hints at.