Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 2, 2008
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 448 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
249
Mixed:
134
Negative:
65
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
HalfwelshmanMay 22, 2011
Some say that Will Smith makes anything watchable, and in most cases I'd agree. Not so with **** It's the inconsistency that gets me - it really doesn't know whether it wants to be a relatively dark origins story, or a comic take on superheroSome say that Will Smith makes anything watchable, and in most cases I'd agree. Not so with **** It's the inconsistency that gets me - it really doesn't know whether it wants to be a relatively dark origins story, or a comic take on superhero conventions, or a social satire. It tries to be all of these, and therefore fails to be any of them. It's not dark, funny or clever enough. Will Smith's charisma and some nice effects can't hold up the car crash of a screenplay or make the "twist" in the last act even remotely surprising. It's just not very good. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
WallEJun 27, 2008
No. Just no. HORRIBLE execution. Don't let them steal your money!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
MichaelASep 20, 2009
Thank God i finally have a reason to punch Will Smith in the face, not to count the pointless story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MichaelE.Jul 10, 2008
Seriously a wast of time and money seeing this Hollywood churn style of atypical and poor movie making. All hype and no style. This movie has set the African American community back fifty years with it's pathetic plot and characters.. Seriously a wast of time and money seeing this Hollywood churn style of atypical and poor movie making. All hype and no style. This movie has set the African American community back fifty years with it's pathetic plot and characters.. Maybe BET can do something with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChuckB.Oct 8, 2008
This movie blew harder than Will Smith did while trying to get the roll. The twist was sh*ttastic, and the plot was stupid. Smith played himself at a bachelor party, and Charlize Theron was just a lazy bystander who added at least some This movie blew harder than Will Smith did while trying to get the roll. The twist was sh*ttastic, and the plot was stupid. Smith played himself at a bachelor party, and Charlize Theron was just a lazy bystander who added at least some amount of talent. Jason Bateman was the only shinning part of this hell ride. Effing worst film of the year. Well, just above Disaster Movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AngelaP.Jul 3, 2008
I am a huge Will Smith fan and have seen each of his 4th of July Mega movies, but this Hancock is terrible. The story line was ridiculous and boring. I wanted to walk out and leave the other five people who were suffering thru this as well. I am a huge Will Smith fan and have seen each of his 4th of July Mega movies, but this Hancock is terrible. The story line was ridiculous and boring. I wanted to walk out and leave the other five people who were suffering thru this as well. Will's choice in appearing in Hancock seemed to be a "must" do movie even if it is bad. He has to do better to keep his loyal fans happy. Hey, we stuck with him after that Wild Wild West disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DaveJul 5, 2008
This movie was a piece of .....literally. The story was horrible. Not even the good actors/actress made it any better.....just not a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ArtGJul 9, 2008
Should have been rated R we walked out after 15 minutes due to the excessively foul language.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SophieAug 10, 2008
This movie didnt know what it wanted to be it started as a comedy with a few decent jokes here and there, then it went all drama, then action. i couldnt keep up. in aword: awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidC.Jul 18, 2008
A tedious movie that has some moments. Some of the foreshadowing was a bit raw since the characters should have picked up on such obvious ques.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndrewD.Jul 26, 2008
I watched this film and the trailer had looked superb. I was looking forward to watching it and it was not what I expected. It was a very hard to understand storyline and very unrealistic. There were still some good parts that made the film I watched this film and the trailer had looked superb. I was looking forward to watching it and it was not what I expected. It was a very hard to understand storyline and very unrealistic. There were still some good parts that made the film a bit better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeffJul 4, 2008
Charlize Theron looked gorgeous... but besides her, the movie was terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NigeM.Jul 5, 2008
Yet another dire film from Will Smith. Relies totally on CGI for the little bit of entertainment it provides. Avoid if you have an IQ above 30.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AdamV.Jul 8, 2008
the movie was alright it started off good but why did they add in the chick as a super hero? and if she is more powerful then will why is she not helping with crime? also when she is dieing why is will hurting himself and she come back to the movie was alright it started off good but why did they add in the chick as a super hero? and if she is more powerful then will why is she not helping with crime? also when she is dieing why is will hurting himself and she come back to life I didn't get that at all it gave a few laughs i don't think it was good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NikiM.Jul 21, 2008
This is by far one of the stupidest movies I've ever seen in my ife. Maybe rent the movie for the 1st 15mins or so but pls don't waste your money on this movie... By far one of the worst movies i've ever seen in my life!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AlexS.nJul 21, 2008
I've voted 2 just in my respect for Will Smith and 1 for the first 35-40 minutes of action comedy, thats just fun summer movie. Cannot believe the second part! Awful, just awful. Some soap-opera acting and... well... a virtual mess I've voted 2 just in my respect for Will Smith and 1 for the first 35-40 minutes of action comedy, thats just fun summer movie. Cannot believe the second part! Awful, just awful. Some soap-opera acting and... well... a virtual mess throughout. Just as Will started to hit it big... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
APersonJul 22, 2008
This is the worst movie I've seen all year. The idea was pure gold, a great satire of the superhero genre and a great satire of celebrities in general (the bit where he does a press conference looks like a professional athlete doing a This is the worst movie I've seen all year. The idea was pure gold, a great satire of the superhero genre and a great satire of celebrities in general (the bit where he does a press conference looks like a professional athlete doing a press conference after getting in trouble). But after Hancock reforms, the film justs turns to garbage. It's so sappy, sentimental and melodramatic, it's like a made-for-TV chick flick. And at the end when the BIG SAD MUSIC (tm) comes on and just gets louder and louder and louder, like it's trying to force us into thinking that jumping away from a hospital is the most superheroic act ever... come on! As a rough guide, every scene with Charlize Theron in it is absolutely pathetic- not that there's anything wrong with her, just that her character and subplot ruins the whole film. They should have made the whole film about Hancock's attempt to reform and become a better superhero- that premise is a comedy gold mine and there's only, like, two jokes about it! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BlehS.Jul 2, 2008
Overall pretty mediocre. only the first half was good
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LauraRJul 5, 2008
The movie was original in seeing an action hero who rejected his abilities until they threw in a Super Woman version of Hancock and took it down a dangerous sci-fi road.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MichaelD.Jul 6, 2008
Weak script. Acting was good and it had a few funny moments. The special effects were nothing new or groundbreaking. Maybe worth a rental or cable view but not a full price visit to the theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MichaelG.Jul 13, 2008
Sucks! Why did they bother actually releasing this movie. Doesn't someone watch the final cut before sending it to theaters? Foolish story, idiotic "plot twist" and horrible acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyJul 16, 2008
I love Will Smith in just about anything he does. But this movie is the pits and I mean the pits. It is idiotic and the second half is even worse than the first. This is a TURKEY anyway you slice it. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FunesM.Dec 26, 2008
As moving and funny as Wim Wenders's Wings of Desire (1987). I haven't seen Nora Ephron's Michael (1996). But what a triple-bill!
0 of 0 users found this helpful