Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 2, 2008
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 445 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
247
Mixed:
133
Negative:
65
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
ydnar4Mar 17, 2015
I think Hancock was an excellent movie. I think it may gain more recognition later on, it was released the same year as the Dark Knight and took a bit of a back seat to it despite the box office success. I find the movie very underrated. TheI think Hancock was an excellent movie. I think it may gain more recognition later on, it was released the same year as the Dark Knight and took a bit of a back seat to it despite the box office success. I find the movie very underrated. The whole cast is strong. Will Smith is always doing something cool and different and this may even be my favorite film he's done so far. Charlize Theron is also very good and Jason Bateman plays a role that I think he should be playing more rather than be the smart straight laced guy in a comedy movie. Hancock follows a new formula, its not full of clichés and it shows a side to a superhero that has never been seen before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeSep 14, 2014
Hancock is a original superhero movie starring a lazy and selfish superhero.Will Smith is at his best in his role of John Hancock. Jason Bateman is really good too.This is one of the best superhero movies i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ZilcellMay 25, 2012
The idea is well executed... well for the most part. The story is not quite what you would expect so it comes out as a surprise. Its good but you may want to approach the story with caution.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 25, 2014
The movie had several phases of sorts: first funny and obnoxious, then the moment of growth and responsibility. After that seemed to start a completely new era: revelations of past, the question "who am I?" and "where do I belong?" becomingThe movie had several phases of sorts: first funny and obnoxious, then the moment of growth and responsibility. After that seemed to start a completely new era: revelations of past, the question "who am I?" and "where do I belong?" becoming apparent.

By the end of the movie it seemed the humor was pushed down a little and gave way to seriousness.

In the final scene of action, I wasn't completely certain of what was really going on, and what was happening to whom and because of what.

All in all, I couldn't quite grasp Will Smith in this role. I don't know why. The movie looks good, sounds good, and has all the proper elements. The acting isn't bad either.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
Will Smith as a washed-up, alcoholic, homeless super hero who causes more damage than good when trying to save people. Jason Bateman steps in to improve his image.
It reminded me of an 80's feel good film in parts & Smith & Charlize Theron
Will Smith as a washed-up, alcoholic, homeless super hero who causes more damage than good when trying to save people. Jason Bateman steps in to improve his image.
It reminded me of an 80's feel good film in parts & Smith & Charlize Theron (phwoarrr) are very good. Effects are top notch & plenty of laughs throughout.
It surprised me that I enjoyed it so much.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gm101Aug 8, 2011
The movie has some good stuff in it, like an interesting backstory and great acting (especially by Will Smith). But one huge problem was Charlize Theron's character, who almost ruined the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineJan 5, 2014
A movie about a scumbag superhero becoming a good guy with good actors and interesting twist/idea in the middle. But overall not too amusing, I'd say it's just okay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
talisencrwSep 19, 2014
I found the premise intriguing and commendable--however, the writing was terrible. I'm not a huge fan of Will Smith and though he did his best with the material, he did nothing to change that impression.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelDDec 29, 2010
Whenever I first watched this movie, I just thought wow! Why I like it is because it's unique to other superhero movies. One of the best films I ever watched.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Critic2012Apr 17, 2013
is an hilarious twist on the modern-day version of a superhero. He destroys cities while fighting crime, and he is often intoxicated during the process. He is rude and crass to everyone he meets. Does this guy need help? Sure, and its going is an hilarious twist on the modern-day version of a superhero. He destroys cities while fighting crime, and he is often intoxicated during the process. He is rude and crass to everyone he meets. Does this guy need help? Sure, and its going to be a great experience to watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ViolettSep 14, 2015
Sometimes naïve, sometimes predictable, but good and kind movie about love, devotion, faith in yourself. Grab your girlfriend and big bucket of popcorn and watch this. "You will change the world."
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Castiel_AngelSep 5, 2016
Hancock is a really good movie. Will Smith plays him really well. The whole concept of this guy who starts off as a total good for nothing jerk off and eventually becomes this really likable guy is just awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jrmintAug 6, 2011
Not a perfect blockbuster action film but it's hard to say no to Will Smith, Jason Bateman and Charlize Theron. I found their chemistry to be interesting. Jason Bateman really brings out the funny in anyone. I felt the ending was a littleNot a perfect blockbuster action film but it's hard to say no to Will Smith, Jason Bateman and Charlize Theron. I found their chemistry to be interesting. Jason Bateman really brings out the funny in anyone. I felt the ending was a little weak, but I still kept watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanielwWhiteNov 27, 2015
Hancock has an interesting story line and character's. However, the ending of the movie is not that great and is very predictable. Typical Will Smith movie with a interesting premise but no content.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gamer_dudeSep 27, 2011
this film is one of d best films ive ever seen
Its got tons of action,really funny,great acting and an okay story..must watch!
Personally its ma favourite will smith movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AshutoshD.Jul 3, 2008
The story was weak in a lot of places, however, the acting and over all entertainment factor made up for the missing content to a certain extent. Now THIS is a film that begs for a remake with a more fully fleshed-out script and better plot The story was weak in a lot of places, however, the acting and over all entertainment factor made up for the missing content to a certain extent. Now THIS is a film that begs for a remake with a more fully fleshed-out script and better plot and character development. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
CyrusG.Jul 6, 2008
For the first 65 minutes of "Hancock," I was ready to give the movie a perfect 10. We saw great action, strong performances from the leads, original storyline, thought-provoking themes, and a great twist. But then at the climax, the film For the first 65 minutes of "Hancock," I was ready to give the movie a perfect 10. We saw great action, strong performances from the leads, original storyline, thought-provoking themes, and a great twist. But then at the climax, the film went down hill. The villain came across too much as a plot device than a real character, and the explanation of Hancock's powers gave me the "that's it?" reaction. So because of those two things, I have to bring the rating down by two notches. Still, it is worth the price of admission and worthy of a sequel/prequel and buying on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregJul 7, 2008
Clever and fun with good pacing and effects. Charlize Theron plays it cool as a cucumber and Will Smith brings some real heat to this movie. For some reason, Will Smith's recent action movies haven't gotten the lovin' they Clever and fun with good pacing and effects. Charlize Theron plays it cool as a cucumber and Will Smith brings some real heat to this movie. For some reason, Will Smith's recent action movies haven't gotten the lovin' they deserved. This one deserves plenty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanA.Jul 13, 2008
LOVED this movie. I don't understand why it has received so many poor reviews. It was really entertaining and not just the same old superhero type of movie, I think it was a cut above the rest and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone LOVED this movie. I don't understand why it has received so many poor reviews. It was really entertaining and not just the same old superhero type of movie, I think it was a cut above the rest and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for an hour and a half of fun escapism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricC.Jul 2, 2008
I thought it was one of the funniest movies ive seen in years alot better then these dumb criticts are beter then other movies theve reviewed like zohan are you kidding me that got a 54 and hancock a 48 zohan was garbage worst adam sandler I thought it was one of the funniest movies ive seen in years alot better then these dumb criticts are beter then other movies theve reviewed like zohan are you kidding me that got a 54 and hancock a 48 zohan was garbage worst adam sandler movie ever made im sorry hancock deserves a way better score i personaly give it atleast a 98 the movie was great it was fun entertaining and full of laughs i recomend everyone to go se this movie screw the criticts the dont know anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricL.Jul 2, 2008
70 min of great movie, 20 min of mediocrity. Still, one of the great summer movies this year, not that that says much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveJul 2, 2008
Enjoyed this a lot more than I thought I would. Listen people. It's summertime. Movies are supposed to be fun. This one is. And the acting is actually pretty solid. Funny? Exciting? Visually stimulating? Check, check, and check. I found Enjoyed this a lot more than I thought I would. Listen people. It's summertime. Movies are supposed to be fun. This one is. And the acting is actually pretty solid. Funny? Exciting? Visually stimulating? Check, check, and check. I found myself wondering how Iron Man got such strong reviews while Hancock seems destined for critical mediocrity, and the simple fact that the thought even entered my mind should tell you all you need to know. Do yourself a favor and drop ten bucks to see this flick, because all the action translates best to the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JenniferJul 24, 2008
I am so torn with scoring this movie. It was like two different movies. The first half was great but then it took a sharp turn in a different direction and for me kind of got stale for me. I would give the first half a strong 7 but the I am so torn with scoring this movie. It was like two different movies. The first half was great but then it took a sharp turn in a different direction and for me kind of got stale for me. I would give the first half a strong 7 but the second half a low 6. Will was great and I loved Bateman too. The last half of the movie simply left me feeling unsatisfied. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaB.Jul 4, 2008
This movie is well worth your time. I am a huge will smith fan, but skeptical of this role. I didn't think this was going to fit him, but I was wrong. Will smith is spectacular, along with opposite Charlize Theron, and suprisingly well This movie is well worth your time. I am a huge will smith fan, but skeptical of this role. I didn't think this was going to fit him, but I was wrong. Will smith is spectacular, along with opposite Charlize Theron, and suprisingly well Juno co-star Jason Bateman. A must see amongst all movies this summer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NsisongEJul 5, 2008
You really have to judge for your self. Its a good movie. Love the mix of comedy, drama, and action; but i wish it was longer. Unique storyline. Would watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArtemG.Jul 5, 2008
A really interesting twist of ideas combined with decent acting and cinematography. Not bad at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RicoGJul 5, 2008
I dont care what critics think, i watch a movie and decide for myself. Sometimes critics dont know what their talking about. I think they just watch to many movies in the long run and are unhappy with their jobs. I loved this Movie and want I dont care what critics think, i watch a movie and decide for myself. Sometimes critics dont know what their talking about. I think they just watch to many movies in the long run and are unhappy with their jobs. I loved this Movie and want to watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeH.Jul 6, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. Action is good, comedy is spot on, and good performances all around. I recommend seeing it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RenarldoM.Jul 6, 2008
Nice twist,critics are stupid.Not much of a family movie,but it was good.Very funny good to see a super hero movie without marvel and dc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BetsyMJul 6, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie. Good story, good acting. I guess the professional reviewers think they know better about how to critique a movie, but they missed the boat on this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StECStECDec 1, 2008
This was the best superhero movie of the summer only behind Dark Knight. Really this was a fantastic twist on the genre and it worked not too mention Will Smith is simply amazing in these big summer epic roles!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElliottWDec 30, 2008
Oh come on, the movie isnt THAT bad. Sure, the plot's thin, and the characters are un-developed, but it's enjoyable on the whole. The twist doesnt really ruin the movie at all, but it was a bit sudden. A good movie, with plenty of Oh come on, the movie isnt THAT bad. Sure, the plot's thin, and the characters are un-developed, but it's enjoyable on the whole. The twist doesnt really ruin the movie at all, but it was a bit sudden. A good movie, with plenty of funny moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieF.Jun 27, 2008
Great comedy/action/etc!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JanetN.Jul 1, 2008
This movie has everything you could want in a summer blockbuster -- great humor & action. Will Smith is fabulous but Jason Bateman almost steals the show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveS.Jul 13, 2008
Once again, the critics prove they have the intellectual depth of a carrot. As with all super-hero movies, this one does require some ability to suspend disbelief, but it certainly doesn't deserve the negative attention it's Once again, the critics prove they have the intellectual depth of a carrot. As with all super-hero movies, this one does require some ability to suspend disbelief, but it certainly doesn't deserve the negative attention it's received to garner a "49" rating. The effects are superb, but effects don't make a movie. What makes a movie is the story. This one has it. The characters, at least the three primary characters, are three dimensional, as is the plot. If you got "Unbreakable," you'll get this one, and you'll appreciate it. If "Unbreakable" was beyond your understanding - as it also was for some of the same critics - then "Hancock" will be beyond you as well. For me, it was one of the better super-hero flicks we've seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndréL.Jul 13, 2008
This movie is good, i don´t know why the majority don´t think the same, it´s original because put a black as a hero, it is very fun, and has good special effects, that´s it, if the history in the end is not so good, This movie is good, i don´t know why the majority don´t think the same, it´s original because put a black as a hero, it is very fun, and has good special effects, that´s it, if the history in the end is not so good, that´s alright, but still, the movie is very good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MartinS.hJul 14, 2008
Actually 7.5. Like "My Super Ex Girlfriend" I fell in love with the premise of the movie before I even entered the theater. Will Smith does a decent job as the alcoholic super hero but like most hollywood fare once the character "redeems" Actually 7.5. Like "My Super Ex Girlfriend" I fell in love with the premise of the movie before I even entered the theater. Will Smith does a decent job as the alcoholic super hero but like most hollywood fare once the character "redeems" himself the starch kind of falls out of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardJ.Jul 15, 2008
Once again critics have made them selves look stupid. This movie apart from Iron Man is the best movie of the year so far, big statement I know but this film has everything, action, romance, comedy and drama. It is a superhero movie with a Once again critics have made them selves look stupid. This movie apart from Iron Man is the best movie of the year so far, big statement I know but this film has everything, action, romance, comedy and drama. It is a superhero movie with a heart, and is humanistic, everyone is waiting for the new Batman but for me the lead characters in this film are outstanding(not Oscar quality but very good all the same). Maybe most critics like to dis Will Smith he has done some incredible commercial movies, but this one has merit like Enemy of The State, and I-Robot. sorry to say this but the critics are very misguided on this film and I only trust two critics before watching Movies, The NY times and Rolling Stone magazine especially Pete Travers. So ignore the majority of critics watch this film and be surprised at how good it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattSJul 10, 2008
Although not perfect, i think critics are being way to harsh on this film. I enjoyed it quite a bit. I think the biggest problem is that this isn't the big action comedy as it's being presented in trailers... so expectations are a Although not perfect, i think critics are being way to harsh on this film. I enjoyed it quite a bit. I think the biggest problem is that this isn't the big action comedy as it's being presented in trailers... so expectations are a bit skewed. Although it has action and has comedy, this has a emotional/dark streak that is completely unexpected. It ends up being a lament on loneliness and relationships as much as anything else. The movie could have been brilliant, but it does stop a bit short of that. It does end up having a bit more depth then your average summer blockbuster though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeCJul 16, 2008
Your same old super hero movie until the eccentric plot twist in the middle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshNJul 2, 2008
This movie is seriously great. No reason for you to doubt it being a blockbuster. Very funny, very intriguing, and maybe suffers from a bit of flatness, but it's definitely a very good movie. Go see it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyG.Jul 2, 2008
Great movie! will smith and jason bateman are great together-this is just a fun summer popcorn movie!!! Bring on part 2!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisG.Jul 2, 2008
Great action and humor ... what else could you want from a summer blockbuster!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarquesHJul 2, 2008
Loved the movie, Love Will Smith! Forget what the critics have to say. If you are a Will Smith fan, go see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jul 2, 2008
They're immortals. Angels. John Hancock(Will Smith) is not a superhero per se. That's the gist of Mary's words as she tries to delineate their species. Superheroes are concepts that the media hatched up. Hancock is a god. And They're immortals. Angels. John Hancock(Will Smith) is not a superhero per se. That's the gist of Mary's words as she tries to delineate their species. Superheroes are concepts that the media hatched up. Hancock is a god. And gods don't exert their will on the physical world. They do nothing. But like Mary Embrey(Charlize Theron), names change, so the god became a superhero, and superheroes are supposed to save people. That's why Hancock drinks. His existence preceeded the advent of "Action Comics" in 1938. Before Superman, before Spider Man, Hancock and Mary were less definable. When Hancock's PR man(Mary's husband) Roy presents his client with a crime-fighting costume, the eternal man feels the pressure to live up to this fictionalized ideal of himself. Now that Hancock wears a comic book get-up, he conforms to the social norms of superhuman crime-fighting. Meanwhile, his soulmate approached her "otherness" by becoming a post-feminist. Mary is like a Stepford wife. She met her husband in a supermarket. She's never going to age. Roy's discovery about his domestic goddess' true identity could have been handled with a bit more subtlety. "Hancock", at times, reimagines Wim Wenders' "Wings of Desire" as a superhero movie. How do you say "with great power comes great (ir)responsibility" in German? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamH.Jul 2, 2008
Very good satire comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Jul 2, 2008
Everything a Will Smith summer movie should be! If your expecting "Iron Man", "the Incredible Hulk", or "the Dark Knight" you may be disappointed, just think of it as a Will Smith picture with a superhero twist, cause that's what it is!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanteMJul 3, 2008
All the critics seem to be inacting exactly what Hancock did to he 2 prisoners. This movie was amazing, it had everything a true movie lover would want. You haters are just a bunch of movie loving posers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ColinJul 3, 2008
This movie is getting some pretty baffling and undeserved bad reviews from the lower prestige papers and media outlets. The truth is that while this film is not perfect (it could be longer to avoid less jarring changes in tone as one This movie is getting some pretty baffling and undeserved bad reviews from the lower prestige papers and media outlets. The truth is that while this film is not perfect (it could be longer to avoid less jarring changes in tone as one reviewer pointed out), it is somewhat daring and scratches beneath the surface of super hero, emotionally speaking. This guy is not just flawed but he's hurt, alone and very much vulnerable in a less superficial way than say, Bruce Banner. The film delivers a pantload of action but generally speaking that's the most boring stuff in it. The interaction between Bateman, Theron, Smith and the child actor whose name escapes me were really what held my attention. I hope that they release a much more extended version for DVD so we can see a lot of the story and character stuff that the studio or director felt would "bog down" the film. I hate when they cut out valid pieces of storytelling for the sake of pacing. The end product inevitably gives the viewer the sense that they are watching the Cliffnotes version of the original screenplay. Nonetheless, "Hancock" is definitely one of the more original and interesting summer blockbusters to come out in a while. It raises some ideas you might end up thinking about after the film is over. That's kind've amazing in itself for this sort of picture. I recommend it as a first day rental at least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KeithA.Jul 3, 2008
I really enjoyed the movie. It wasn't too long, Will Smith was great as per usual, and despite the unexpected turn, I still found it to be quite enjoyable. I appreciate any movie that doesn't give you what you expected. Don't I really enjoyed the movie. It wasn't too long, Will Smith was great as per usual, and despite the unexpected turn, I still found it to be quite enjoyable. I appreciate any movie that doesn't give you what you expected. Don't be bothered by any negative reviews, It's a fun ride throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkJul 4, 2008
I agree with some of the negative remarks by the critics but in the end I was moved. I enjoyed the performances and I thought the story moved along quite well. Bateman was the real star of this one. Thumbs up from me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnUSNJul 4, 2008
Funny movie. Obnoxious Hancock is better/funnier than politically correct Hancock...but, still, a fun movie to see. Mike Epps is in the final credits...with 2 of the funnier lines in the whole movie....stay for the credits!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonS.Jul 5, 2008
Good movie. Great effects, great acting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolP.Jul 5, 2008
I really don't understand the bad reviews. Great acting. Interesting plot. Thoughtful ideas. Limited special effects subject to last three. What is this with the stupid critics?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeeT.Jul 5, 2008
It's nice to have a comic book/superhero movie that has some emotionally moving parts to it. Jason Bateman, Will Smith & Charlize Theron put on great performances. The movie enjoyable but wasn't anything special. It's It's nice to have a comic book/superhero movie that has some emotionally moving parts to it. Jason Bateman, Will Smith & Charlize Theron put on great performances. The movie enjoyable but wasn't anything special. It's certainly worth seeing but don't expect it to rock your world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CoreyF.Jul 5, 2008
Very action packed, and funny stupid story but i dont care because it entertained me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesR.Jul 5, 2008
Great movie, a good twist on the superhero movie theme. Both thrilling and funny, and Arrested development star Jason Bateman dominates the movie with a larger speaking role than Will smith. Definitely does not deserve a worse rating than Great movie, a good twist on the superhero movie theme. Both thrilling and funny, and Arrested development star Jason Bateman dominates the movie with a larger speaking role than Will smith. Definitely does not deserve a worse rating than "You don't mess with the zohan," i mean, come on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Dr.GhettoblasterJul 5, 2008
Wow. I really don't understand all the negative reviews of this movie. Peoples expectaions are must be WAY to high these days. I thought this movie was excellent! So did my wive and so did our 15 year old daughter. Hilarious, good Wow. I really don't understand all the negative reviews of this movie. Peoples expectaions are must be WAY to high these days. I thought this movie was excellent! So did my wive and so did our 15 year old daughter. Hilarious, good action, VERY original story, and good all around acting. Trust me, forget the reviews, judge for yourself. Great movie. I'd see it again and thats my true judgment. Peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanaM.Jul 6, 2008
Hey, its a super hero movie fer cryin' out loud. Don't take it too seriously. Get some popcorn and sit back. Worth ten bucks, as long as you can avoid these teenagers with their text messaging. Why can't these cinemas block Hey, its a super hero movie fer cryin' out loud. Don't take it too seriously. Get some popcorn and sit back. Worth ten bucks, as long as you can avoid these teenagers with their text messaging. Why can't these cinemas block their cellphone signal? Anyway, go see the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeR.Jul 6, 2008
Very good fun movie. Don't go in expecting a masterpiece because it's not and was never meant to be. Great acting from the 3 major roles and a very entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricG.Jul 7, 2008
Great movie, brought some humanistic traits to the superhero world that makes it a nice change.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KathyM.Jul 7, 2008
I really liked the movie. You may be let down if you are going to the see a superhero movie; however, this movie had a good storyline and was pretty enjoyable. I could have used a little more time with Will in the tight suit but hey, I really liked the movie. You may be let down if you are going to the see a superhero movie; however, this movie had a good storyline and was pretty enjoyable. I could have used a little more time with Will in the tight suit but hey, that's justs me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaxC.Jul 8, 2008
I had a lot of fun watching this movie and will watch again. I can't wait for the DVD with the bonus features.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NeilBJul 8, 2008
The whole movie felt kind of flat. The cgi special effects were not that good. I did like the surprise in the middle of the movie though. Overall it just struck me as slightly better then average.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveKAug 15, 2008
Rushed and undercooked, but interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimS.Aug 3, 2008
This movie was great, it was hilarious Had a good story and was serious at parts, It is the best movie I've seen this summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyY.Aug 8, 2008
I really don't understand why the critics gave this bad reviews. It was really awesome
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillKJan 10, 2009
It was just OK. I would have felt rated it lower had I paid movie theater prices to see it... glad it was just a $1 DVD rental from RedBox...Not one of Will Smith's best. Not that his acting was poor, it just wasn't the best storylines.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KimQ.Dec 1, 2008
Hancock brings a true tour de force of action, curiousity and angst to the screen. A brilliant movie that ranges through all emotions. Brava!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Hexen29Dec 22, 2008
What an unexpected surprise! Yes in parts it's really odd, but I loved it all the more for that. It made me laugh lots too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JCJul 11, 2008
This movie is so great! It has a perfect storyline, plot, and has a great twist! It had so much action and it is hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarleyB.Jul 10, 2008
keeps you entertained the whole time, which is something most movies now days don't do. and even with its plot twists it shows you the side of superheroes that should be shown more often.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArtB.Jul 10, 2008
I really cant believe so many people DIDN'T like this movie!?! I thought it was great and had it explained the characters better, (Their explanation of why he was a super hero was lame admittedly) I would have gave it a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RatKJul 1, 2008
Thoroughly entertaining and funny movie! The history behind Hancock's superpowers could have been explained better, but that is not the major plot of the movie. Great performances and excellent special effects. Another blockbuster from Thoroughly entertaining and funny movie! The history behind Hancock's superpowers could have been explained better, but that is not the major plot of the movie. Great performances and excellent special effects. Another blockbuster from Will Smith. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatriciaM.Jul 12, 2008
I love will smith he is a great actor and this movie is very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TroySJul 13, 2008
Good, solid summer fare. Honestly, I have no idea what the critics were expecting. This movie has laughs, actions, good special effects, and the still-smokin' Charlize Theron. What more do you want with your popcorn and Coke?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesN.Jul 17, 2008
Hancock was hilarious... it won't win any Academy Awards, but it was very entertaining!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottS.Jul 2, 2008
I saw Hancock at the Midnight release. The theater was less packed than I thought it would be for a release. Will Smith did an exelent job in bringing humor and crazima to the roll. The only down sidew was the very jumpy camera during the I saw Hancock at the Midnight release. The theater was less packed than I thought it would be for a release. Will Smith did an exelent job in bringing humor and crazima to the roll. The only down sidew was the very jumpy camera during the action scenes. The twist is a side-swipe.This movie is a true movie that will get a sequel!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattJ.Jul 2, 2008
This movie was really good. After reading the reviews I was bummed that it wasn't going to be good but when I went I really liked it. It was funny, good action and a great plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnnyL.Jul 23, 2008
One of the best movies this year don't listen to the critic's they don't know shit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TrajanTJul 29, 2008
I liked it. in fact i am a bit confused by the bad reviews. i didn't find anything to really dislike.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NikolaiC.Jul 3, 2008
A good quality movie with a sound script. Good character development with a feasible plot throughout. It could have become a cliche ridden film but the message was told and the "villian" was realistic for this film. Go see for yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeB.Jul 3, 2008
This movie was awesome, funny, had a lot of action, story wasnt too bad, great performances by the actors. GO SEE IT!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelixG.Jul 4, 2008
I think the Amercian public is getting spoiled. I have no clue why they would rate this movie low when there is so much crap out there. The bottom line. this movie was enjoyable! Go see it !!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JillH.Jul 5, 2008
Very entertaining. And, an interesting and sensitive storyline, once you get past the initial hoopla. Not all superheroes are flawless. Enjoy the unpredictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShadeJul 5, 2008
Its unbelievable for these reviews to be bad, and yet to be good. I originally went to see the movie wondering why the deficit was so high with either a 90 or a 0. After seeing the movie I realized why only one reason why this movie got so Its unbelievable for these reviews to be bad, and yet to be good. I originally went to see the movie wondering why the deficit was so high with either a 90 or a 0. After seeing the movie I realized why only one reason why this movie got so many mixed reviews. It is because of the Interracial implications that are in this film thus giving us a gauge on how reviewers can be. If you have an heart to put that aside, it to me was a solid super hero film, (I watch them all), not quite as good as Iron Man, but much more intense as the Hulk plus much funnier than both. Hancock uses super powers from many comic book superheroes, yet it stands as original in many ways. If you are about superhero films,I say give it a try. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DouglasHJul 5, 2008
The action plus humor made this an overall great movie. Will Smith did a great job playing this role. Cannot believe that it did not score a better rating by the critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimM.Jul 5, 2008
This film was much better than I anticipated after reading earlier reviews. It actually had a message along with the action and comedy but not to the point of being "heavy". It's a film I could enjoy over again--it's like a good This film was much better than I anticipated after reading earlier reviews. It actually had a message along with the action and comedy but not to the point of being "heavy". It's a film I could enjoy over again--it's like a good summer beach book -- entertaining and energetic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
THATMOVIEGUYJul 5, 2008
Fun and interesting and not too complex... Will Smith is everything good about it, and a "not so finished" feeling script holds it back a bit. Go see it, and I'm sure you'll like it. Although, I didn't LOVE it, I'm sure a Fun and interesting and not too complex... Will Smith is everything good about it, and a "not so finished" feeling script holds it back a bit. Go see it, and I'm sure you'll like it. Although, I didn't LOVE it, I'm sure a lot of you might. You certainly won't hate it... Will Smith is great, Charlize Theron is hot, and bottom line... It's fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DuaneG.Jul 6, 2008
A very entertaining film and even though it didn't fully explain who/what/how the "superheroes" are, it was a great summer afternoon movie outing. Will Smith is somehow endearing in a role as a super jerk, Jason Bateman is awesome and A very entertaining film and even though it didn't fully explain who/what/how the "superheroes" are, it was a great summer afternoon movie outing. Will Smith is somehow endearing in a role as a super jerk, Jason Bateman is awesome and Charlize Theron is...well you know. Give it a chance and I think you will be pleasantly surprised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewK.Jul 6, 2008
I enjoyed this movie if not solely for the novelty of Will Smith as a drunk superhero. The plot is not spectacular, but the premise itself is very interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RedSonJul 6, 2008
I think its unfair to compare Hancock to Will Smith's prior summer blcokbusters. Movies like Men In Black and Independence Day were family films, pg13 from start to finish, Hancock deserved an R rating and dumbing it down to fit a pg13 I think its unfair to compare Hancock to Will Smith's prior summer blcokbusters. Movies like Men In Black and Independence Day were family films, pg13 from start to finish, Hancock deserved an R rating and dumbing it down to fit a pg13 audience probably ruined the movie. Hopefully an unrated dvd will fill in some of the blanks but this movie is not as bad as some critics make it out to be. If Independence Day was a 9 and MiB was an 8, Hancock comes in at a solid ; go see it and decide for yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnJul 6, 2008
I didn't expect much from this movie and I was quite please when I left the theater! It's not perfect and I thought it was a bit short but, nonetheless, it is very entertaining. And it's always a pleasure to see the beautiful I didn't expect much from this movie and I was quite please when I left the theater! It's not perfect and I thought it was a bit short but, nonetheless, it is very entertaining. And it's always a pleasure to see the beautiful miss Theron. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jul 7, 2008
Any movie that has Will Smith, Jason Bateman, or Charlize Theron in it is automatically a good one, let alone all of them. The movie has a good concept like most critics admitted and it is a good film thats meant to be entertaining. Overall Any movie that has Will Smith, Jason Bateman, or Charlize Theron in it is automatically a good one, let alone all of them. The movie has a good concept like most critics admitted and it is a good film thats meant to be entertaining. Overall there could have been more action but the story progressed very quickly. I cant imagine someone being bored during the movie, but i can see how someone wouldn't like it. Personally I like any movie that will entertain me and this movie had two of my favorite actors in it that worked together well. Oh yeah and then theres Charlize too. But about halfway into the movie there is a big surprise and thats why the critics didn't like it. You will most likely love it and say "That was a cool concept" or you will hate it and say "They must have come up with this cuz they had no where to go with the story". I liked it and id say def see it once and i will def buy it on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AJJ.Jul 7, 2008
This movie was absolutely awesome!!!!! I think critics just hate Will Smith, get over it, he's not going anywhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidDJul 7, 2008
I really liked this movie! It was totally different then anything that you will see in a superhero type movie. Personally i liked the story. I know some didn't. I liked the bad guys to just humans. In so many movies, they move too fast I really liked this movie! It was totally different then anything that you will see in a superhero type movie. Personally i liked the story. I know some didn't. I liked the bad guys to just humans. In so many movies, they move too fast and have some unbeatable bad guy that makes the "hero" look weak. Leave that for the sequels. But there is one thing i could not agree more then what James B said. What in the hell is wrong with Hollywood and their jiggling cameras?!!!! Do they think thats cool? I think it is just stupidly annoying as hell!! So many of these movies would be soooo much better if there was a still camera like the good ole days. Can we please get back to that?!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanD.Jul 8, 2008
I loved it, I gave it a 9 because the plot kind of meandered a bit, and I feel they sort of sacrificed an amazing ending for a happy ending, but It was still great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamAAug 14, 2008
I really liked this movie. However, it was much more complicated than it needed to be. They should have made it simpler and left out the twist. This movie takes itself too seriously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NDAug 17, 2008
Come on - this is a good action movie. It's not high end costume drama, full of lovies and darlings cooing over each others' poncing around, it's just good fun. And there's a great twist too. Bit of a "fluffy" ending Come on - this is a good action movie. It's not high end costume drama, full of lovies and darlings cooing over each others' poncing around, it's just good fun. And there's a great twist too. Bit of a "fluffy" ending perhaps but thoroughly enjoyable nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesJ.Nov 27, 2008
Come on... It's a B Movie! It really wasn't meant to be anything else, and as such it was great. And a fun film to see with my kids. Schizophrenic, didn't really know whether it was a comedy or a drama. We enjoyed it. Jason Come on... It's a B Movie! It really wasn't meant to be anything else, and as such it was great. And a fun film to see with my kids. Schizophrenic, didn't really know whether it was a comedy or a drama. We enjoyed it. Jason Bateman was a treat, I will go find other films that he's in. Will Smith can play roles like this in his sleep. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful