Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Apr 8, 2011
    88
    As the highly focused Hanna, Ronan - who had a breakout role in "Atonement" - is simply brilliant.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Apr 7, 2011
    88
    As Hanna confronts her past, the movie becomes like nothing you've ever seen. I'd call it a knockout.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 7, 2011
    88
    Hanna is a goofy and exhilarating mash-up of all sorts of things. Luc Besson's "The Professional" comes to mind, as do the propulsive synth-syncopations of "Run Lola Run" and the dark allegorical menace of Grimms fairy tales.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 6, 2011
    88
    Here we have an odd cross between a fairy tale and a high-tech action movie. It could have been a fairly strained attempt at either, but director Joe Wright ("Atonement") combines his two genres into a stylish exercise that perversely includes some sentiment and insight.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Apr 6, 2011
    88
    Saoirse Ronan shines in the title role, a wily, physically-fit and lethal girl.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 5, 2011
    88
    Although it would be an exaggeration to claim that Hanna "has it all," it is a richer and more compelling white-knuckler than the average roller coaster ride into tension and mystery.
  7. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Apr 7, 2011
    83
    Hanna's intriguing, disorienting pleasures - the movie is part poetic dreamscape, part sinister spy saga - lie more in the filmmaking flourishes than in the narrative.
  8. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Apr 5, 2011
    83
    The resulting adrenaline-packed vehicle delivers a multi-directional sugar rush. It moves so quickly that the bells and whistles blur together.
  9. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    May 2, 2011
    80
    An absurd-sounding concept rendered wholly believable and thrilling by a fearless young actress and a director at the top of his game.
  10. Reviewed by: Elvis Mitchell
    Apr 11, 2011
    80
    Wright applies an artful eye to carnage; he and production designer Sarah Greenwood exhaustively deploy their love for finding colors that mirror the characters' psychological states.
  11. 80
    The beauty of the film and what ultimately makes it more timeless than trenchant, is the way it side-steps the entire issue of Hanna's sex.
  12. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 6, 2011
    80
    An unorthodox delight.
  13. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Mar 30, 2011
    80
    An exuberantly crafted chase thriller that pulses with energy from its adrenaline-pumping first minutes to its muted bang of a finish.
  14. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 7, 2011
    78
    It's a strange and electrifying brew of Hollywood genre tropes recalibrated for a globalized sensibility.
  15. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Apr 16, 2011
    75
    Is there a moral objection to be raised about a movie that features a teenage girl as an assassin? I suppose there is, but I couldn't find it in me to object.
  16. 75
    It's one of those imperfect pictures that manages to command and hold our attention straight from the opening frames.
  17. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Apr 7, 2011
    75
    There's some great fun in the film, and a bit of unexpected wit, and lots of action, much of it ludicrous but some quite engaging.
  18. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Apr 7, 2011
    75
    Hanna's a memorable creation, a girl who carries danger with her like a plague.
  19. 70
    Yes, this farrago of fairy tale and sci-fi conspiracy flick is, on one level, howlingly obvious. But there are howls of derision and howls of amazement, and mine were of the latter kind, mostly.
  20. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 7, 2011
    70
    Hanna is almost a terrific movie, or a partly terrific one, but all its giddy, improvised wonder resolves into nothing more than a ruthless, symmetrical story about a murderous monster.
  21. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Apr 5, 2011
    70
    Despite its handsome presentation and cinematic ingenuity, the film never really goes beyond superficial pleasures.
  22. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 6, 2011
    67
    A fitfully entertaining movie in an awkward position; too arty for the action crowd yet too unsubtle for more refined tastes.
  23. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Apr 7, 2011
    63
    The single most compelling reason to see Hanna is Hanna herself. As played by Saoirse Ronan, who made her first big splash as another morally challenged youngster in Wright's 2007 "Atonement," the character is a fascinating and frustrating cipher.
  24. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Apr 7, 2011
    63
    One of the coldest action films in years and an odd showcase for Saoirse Ronan, a deft actress who is one of the few youngsters capable of pulling off action with acting.
  25. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Apr 7, 2011
    63
    It rockets along entertainingly enough for most of its running time - only that it's made with a self-importance the story itself doesn't warrant.
  26. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Apr 7, 2011
    63
    The film is never more than an amalgamation of other movies.
  27. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Apr 7, 2011
    60
    In the end there might not be much to this tale other than titillation, but there's plenty to be said for Ms. Ronan, who was the best thing about "Atonement" and holds her ground against forceful screen presences like Ms. Blanchett and Mr. Bana.
  28. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Apr 7, 2011
    60
    The movie has more sensibility than sense, but it seems cunning next to such silly tough-girl fare as "Kick-Ass" and "Sucker Punch."
  29. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Apr 6, 2011
    60
    Subtlety is not this movie's strong suit; even the terrific Chemical Brothers score pounds your nerves a bit more than it should.
  30. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 7, 2011
    58
    Superficially exciting and handled with great aplomb. But the film is running to go nowhere.
  31. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 22, 2011
    50
    When Wright literalizes the fantastic, the movie turns squalid. He does better when he lets his visual fancies roam free. [25 April, 2011 p.88]
  32. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Apr 8, 2011
    50
    It's a feast for the eyes, but we're still hungry.
  33. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Apr 8, 2011
    50
    Blessed with considerable virtues, including a clever concept, crackling filmmaking and a charismatic star, it ultimately squanders all of them, undone by an unfortunate lack of subtlety and restraint.
  34. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 8, 2011
    50
    Hanna doesn't go wrong immediately. It takes at least 2½ minutes.
  35. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 7, 2011
    50
    Still, those who meet the movie on its own terms and don't expect a masterpiece may appreciate the commitment of Wright and the actors. Blanchett goes out of her way, for example, to be repellent here.
  36. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Apr 7, 2011
    50
    As "Kick-Ass" proved, there's a ready audience for the spectacle of a school-age girl who's a relentless killing (as opposed to texting) machine.
  37. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Mar 30, 2011
    50
    The overall enterprise, for all its intrigue and visceral impact, feels overly thought out, affected and forced in its stylization.
  38. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 8, 2011
    40
    The forced coming-of-age parable that filmmaker Joe Wright laces with fairy-tale symbolism is heavy-handed from the get-go.
  39. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 7, 2011
    38
    Hanna presents the problem of the well-made diversion that is, at its core, repellent.
  40. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 6, 2011
    25
    Contrived, pretentious and not worth seeing even for the perverse pleasure of watching first-rate talents make second-rate fools of themselves.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 106
  2. Negative: 20 out of 106
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    2
    This is one bizarre movie. It starts out beautifully and quickly evolves into chaos and mire. Eric Bana's and Cate Blanchet's talents areThis is one bizarre movie. It starts out beautifully and quickly evolves into chaos and mire. Eric Bana's and Cate Blanchet's talents are wasted. Nothing in the back-story is adequately explained. Don't waste your time as I did. Full Review »
  2. Apr 9, 2011
    7
    It's a good, but not great, film. It has style to burn, and the lead actors (esp Blanchette) are tremendous, but the story itself is too flatIt's a good, but not great, film. It has style to burn, and the lead actors (esp Blanchette) are tremendous, but the story itself is too flat for my liking. It won't be a memorable movie for me. Doesn't hold a candle to the Bourne movies, though I know it wasn't going for that. Tom Hollander's role ("run, little piggy!") should have been expanded upon. And while I appreciate a good use of the uroboros, the ending was a tad abrupt. Full Review »
  3. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    I think I'll be a little biased to rate this considering I'm a very big Chemical Bros. fan but I must say that this movie is just --handsI think I'll be a little biased to rate this considering I'm a very big Chemical Bros. fan but I must say that this movie is just --hands down-- KICKASS!!! I love how the film score heightens the experience of the film, with each decibel, I also felt every single emotion Hanna must have been going through, particularly the chase scenes. And I have to say that it was so refreshing to see Cate Blanchett play a villain for once, it's something that totally suited her in this film. Lastly, Saoirse Ronan, wow! What more can I say! This movie is a breath of fresh air in terms of originality and cinematography! WTG, Joe Wright! Full Review »