Hanna

Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Apr 7, 2011
    60
    In the end there might not be much to this tale other than titillation, but there's plenty to be said for Ms. Ronan, who was the best thing about "Atonement" and holds her ground against forceful screen presences like Ms. Blanchett and Mr. Bana.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Apr 7, 2011
    60
    The movie has more sensibility than sense, but it seems cunning next to such silly tough-girl fare as "Kick-Ass" and "Sucker Punch."
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Apr 6, 2011
    60
    Subtlety is not this movie's strong suit; even the terrific Chemical Brothers score pounds your nerves a bit more than it should.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 7, 2011
    58
    Superficially exciting and handled with great aplomb. But the film is running to go nowhere.
  5. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 22, 2011
    50
    When Wright literalizes the fantastic, the movie turns squalid. He does better when he lets his visual fancies roam free. [25 April, 2011 p.88]
  6. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Apr 8, 2011
    50
    It's a feast for the eyes, but we're still hungry.
  7. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Apr 8, 2011
    50
    Blessed with considerable virtues, including a clever concept, crackling filmmaking and a charismatic star, it ultimately squanders all of them, undone by an unfortunate lack of subtlety and restraint.
  8. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 8, 2011
    50
    Hanna doesn't go wrong immediately. It takes at least 2½ minutes.
  9. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 7, 2011
    50
    Still, those who meet the movie on its own terms and don't expect a masterpiece may appreciate the commitment of Wright and the actors. Blanchett goes out of her way, for example, to be repellent here.
  10. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Apr 7, 2011
    50
    As "Kick-Ass" proved, there's a ready audience for the spectacle of a school-age girl who's a relentless killing (as opposed to texting) machine.
  11. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Mar 30, 2011
    50
    The overall enterprise, for all its intrigue and visceral impact, feels overly thought out, affected and forced in its stylization.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 8, 2011
    40
    The forced coming-of-age parable that filmmaker Joe Wright laces with fairy-tale symbolism is heavy-handed from the get-go.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 399 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 110
  2. Negative: 20 out of 110
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    2
    This is one bizarre movie. It starts out beautifully and quickly evolves into chaos and mire. Eric Bana's and Cate Blanchet's talents areThis is one bizarre movie. It starts out beautifully and quickly evolves into chaos and mire. Eric Bana's and Cate Blanchet's talents are wasted. Nothing in the back-story is adequately explained. Don't waste your time as I did. Full Review »
  2. Apr 9, 2011
    7
    It's a good, but not great, film. It has style to burn, and the lead actors (esp Blanchette) are tremendous, but the story itself is too flatIt's a good, but not great, film. It has style to burn, and the lead actors (esp Blanchette) are tremendous, but the story itself is too flat for my liking. It won't be a memorable movie for me. Doesn't hold a candle to the Bourne movies, though I know it wasn't going for that. Tom Hollander's role ("run, little piggy!") should have been expanded upon. And while I appreciate a good use of the uroboros, the ending was a tad abrupt. Full Review »
  3. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    I think I'll be a little biased to rate this considering I'm a very big Chemical Bros. fan but I must say that this movie is just --handsI think I'll be a little biased to rate this considering I'm a very big Chemical Bros. fan but I must say that this movie is just --hands down-- KICKASS!!! I love how the film score heightens the experience of the film, with each decibel, I also felt every single emotion Hanna must have been going through, particularly the chase scenes. And I have to say that it was so refreshing to see Cate Blanchett play a villain for once, it's something that totally suited her in this film. Lastly, Saoirse Ronan, wow! What more can I say! This movie is a breath of fresh air in terms of originality and cinematography! WTG, Joe Wright! Full Review »