Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 6, 2011
    88
    Here we have an odd cross between a fairy tale and a high-tech action movie. It could have been a fairly strained attempt at either, but director Joe Wright ("Atonement") combines his two genres into a stylish exercise that perversely includes some sentiment and insight.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Apr 7, 2011
    83
    Hanna's intriguing, disorienting pleasures - the movie is part poetic dreamscape, part sinister spy saga - lie more in the filmmaking flourishes than in the narrative.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Apr 5, 2011
    83
    The resulting adrenaline-packed vehicle delivers a multi-directional sugar rush. It moves so quickly that the bells and whistles blur together.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Apr 6, 2011
    88
    Saoirse Ronan shines in the title role, a wily, physically-fit and lethal girl.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 7, 2011
    88
    Hanna is a goofy and exhilarating mash-up of all sorts of things. Luc Besson's "The Professional" comes to mind, as do the propulsive synth-syncopations of "Run Lola Run" and the dark allegorical menace of Grimms fairy tales.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 5, 2011
    88
    Although it would be an exaggeration to claim that Hanna "has it all," it is a richer and more compelling white-knuckler than the average roller coaster ride into tension and mystery.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Apr 7, 2011
    88
    As Hanna confronts her past, the movie becomes like nothing you've ever seen. I'd call it a knockout.
  8. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Apr 8, 2011
    88
    As the highly focused Hanna, Ronan - who had a breakout role in "Atonement" - is simply brilliant.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 105
  2. Negative: 19 out of 105
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    2
    This is one bizarre movie. It starts out beautifully and quickly evolves into chaos and mire. Eric Bana's and Cate Blanchet's talents are wasted. Nothing in the back-story is adequately explained. Don't waste your time as I did. Full Review »
  2. Apr 9, 2011
    7
    It's a good, but not great, film. It has style to burn, and the lead actors (esp Blanchette) are tremendous, but the story itself is too flat for my liking. It won't be a memorable movie for me. Doesn't hold a candle to the Bourne movies, though I know it wasn't going for that. Tom Hollander's role ("run, little piggy!") should have been expanded upon. And while I appreciate a good use of the uroboros, the ending was a tad abrupt. Full Review »
  3. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    I think I'll be a little biased to rate this considering I'm a very big Chemical Bros. fan but I must say that this movie is just --hands down-- KICKASS!!! I love how the film score heightens the experience of the film, with each decibel, I also felt every single emotion Hanna must have been going through, particularly the chase scenes. And I have to say that it was so refreshing to see Cate Blanchett play a villain for once, it's something that totally suited her in this film. Lastly, Saoirse Ronan, wow! What more can I say! This movie is a breath of fresh air in terms of originality and cinematography! WTG, Joe Wright! Full Review »