Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 264 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Raised by her father, an ex-CIA man, in the wilds of Finland, Hanna's upbringing and training have been one and the same, all geared to making her the perfect assassin. The turning point in her adolescence is a sharp one; sent into the world by her father on a mission, Hanna journeys stealthily across Europe while eluding agents dispatched after her by a ruthless intelligence operative with secrets of her own. As she nears her ultimate target, Hanna faces startling revelations about her existence and unexpected questions about her humanity. (Focus Features)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Apr 8, 2011
    88
    As the highly focused Hanna, Ronan - who had a breakout role in "Atonement" - is simply brilliant.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 5, 2011
    88
    Although it would be an exaggeration to claim that Hanna "has it all," it is a richer and more compelling white-knuckler than the average roller coaster ride into tension and mystery.
  3. 80
    The beauty of the film and what ultimately makes it more timeless than trenchant, is the way it side-steps the entire issue of Hanna's sex.
  4. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Apr 5, 2011
    70
    Despite its handsome presentation and cinematic ingenuity, the film never really goes beyond superficial pleasures.
  5. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Apr 7, 2011
    63
    The film is never more than an amalgamation of other movies.
  6. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 22, 2011
    50
    When Wright literalizes the fantastic, the movie turns squalid. He does better when he lets his visual fancies roam free. [25 April, 2011 p.88]
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 6, 2011
    25
    Contrived, pretentious and not worth seeing even for the perverse pleasure of watching first-rate talents make second-rate fools of themselves.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 104
  2. Negative: 19 out of 104
  1. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Joe Wright proves to me, yet again, why he is one of my favorite directors. From the beginning of the film I was interested, I wasn't exactly sure what to expect, but I was excited. Saoirse Ronan is fantastic, and I hope she gets a lot of recognition for this role, and for future roll she will have, she is very talented, and as for the film, I put it above Source Code for best film of 2011 so far. Fantastic film, all around. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Beautiful film, visually sumptuous, outstanding fight choreography, amazing Chemical Brothers soundtrack, really excellent cast... See it! Saoirse Ronan is brilliant in this, with a lead performance to match each of the other members of a great cast. I'm a big fan of Eric Bana, Cate Blanchett and Tom Hollander, and Ronan is as good as any of them. Really, really impressive actor and she has an otherworldly look that completely fits this character. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    I viewed "Hanna" with a mild curiosity. It feels that it started out as an average revenge thriller that was later enhanced by above average talents. The cast and crew of this film did more for the story that it could have asked of them. Sure, a lot of shooting and chasing goes around, but you can sense an evidence of planning and patience within them. The creators of "Hanna" operated with a vision of an audience with an attention span slightly longer than that of others.

    The film opens somewhere near the Arctic Circle. A teenage girl, named Hanna (Saoirse Ronan), has just killed a deer with an arrow, followed by a bullet. She drags the carcass of the animal through the deep, icy snow to a cabin in the woods where her father, Erik (Eric Bana), is waiting for her. Not the best conditions for a teenage girl, I'm sure. We learn that father and daughter have been in this place since Hanna was still an infant. She has been homeschooled all her life. And because Erik is a wanted CIA agent, he forms Hanna into the perfect assassin.

    Not everyone gets to master martial arts and firearms at that early age, and the secluded home of Hanna offers little distractions. But, this lifestyle is not without disadvantages. Except for her own father, Hanna has not known any other person. Her books tell her that the world contains so much, and she knows that she is a stranger to almost all of them. That is probably why she was more than eager to find out that her mission will require her to travel in order to eliminate lots of bad guys, including a secretive CIA officer, Marissa Wiegler (Cate Blanchett).

    Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/hanna-movie-review/
    Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2011
    7
    I love the original script, but the film stutter steps around a little bit with a pacing issue. The film's first hour is as good as any this year; however, once it moves on to the middle third of the movie, it changes from action mode and frenetic pace to more of a wonderous adolescent coming of age experience. Hanna (Saoirse Ronan) was raised in the frigid woods of the north by her father (Eric Bana) since she was a baby. She has every outdoor, hunting, and fighting skill imaginable. She also speaks at least five languages. Unfortunately, Hanna was not exposed to certain modern characteristice such as electricity and loud noises. Because of this particular education deficit, the audience must endure Hanna's first frightening (and boring) experiences with the civilized world. How Hanna and her father arrived in the woods is revealed to the audience through bits and pieces in flashbacks. The role of the antagonist is effectively played by Cate Blanchett. She is so deliberately evil and singled minded that her character from Indinana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull comes to mind. I wonder if the pacing issue is a result of Joe Wright's direction considering this is his first action film. He is paired with Ronan again (the two worked together on Atonement) and she is able to pull off the incredibly difficult role of a physically small, but lethal, young teenager. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2013
    7
    With a stylishly invigorating directorial effort from Joe Wright and a particularly memorable set of performances from Ronan, Bana, and Blanchett, "Hanna" makes for a worthy thriller with an unconventional lasting impact. Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2011
    6
    Shockingly predictable but fun... For a while. Once the mysteries are revealed, uhh not much left to care about. I counted 6 chases before sighing, so theres that. Blanchett and bana and hanna and the story are all interesting for about 2/3, but wright's chem bros music video ploy tires and the climax is more fiiinally than thrilling. Expand
  7. May 9, 2011
    0
    The worst film I have seen for some time. Basically kill bill +Bourne Identity. I never believed in Hanna. The constant shots of her perfect little face became so tiresome. The story was amateur and the writing was second rate. I was totally bored. Oh god, and the English characters? So cringe worthy. Total waste of money. Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Trailers