Hanna

Hanna Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 399 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Raised by her father, an ex-CIA man, in the wilds of Finland, Hanna's upbringing and training have been one and the same, all geared to making her the perfect assassin. The turning point in her adolescence is a sharp one; sent into the world by her father on a mission, Hanna journeysRaised by her father, an ex-CIA man, in the wilds of Finland, Hanna's upbringing and training have been one and the same, all geared to making her the perfect assassin. The turning point in her adolescence is a sharp one; sent into the world by her father on a mission, Hanna journeys stealthily across Europe while eluding agents dispatched after her by a ruthless intelligence operative with secrets of her own. As she nears her ultimate target, Hanna faces startling revelations about her existence and unexpected questions about her humanity. (Focus Features)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Apr 8, 2011
    88
    As the highly focused Hanna, Ronan - who had a breakout role in "Atonement" - is simply brilliant.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 5, 2011
    88
    Although it would be an exaggeration to claim that Hanna "has it all," it is a richer and more compelling white-knuckler than the average roller coaster ride into tension and mystery.
  3. 80
    The beauty of the film and what ultimately makes it more timeless than trenchant, is the way it side-steps the entire issue of Hanna's sex.
  4. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    Apr 5, 2011
    70
    Despite its handsome presentation and cinematic ingenuity, the film never really goes beyond superficial pleasures.
  5. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Apr 7, 2011
    63
    The film is never more than an amalgamation of other movies.
  6. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 22, 2011
    50
    When Wright literalizes the fantastic, the movie turns squalid. He does better when he lets his visual fancies roam free. [25 April, 2011 p.88]
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 6, 2011
    25
    Contrived, pretentious and not worth seeing even for the perverse pleasure of watching first-rate talents make second-rate fools of themselves.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 110
  2. Negative: 20 out of 110
  1. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Joe Wright proves to me, yet again, why he is one of my favorite directors. From the beginning of the film I was interested, I wasn't exactlyJoe Wright proves to me, yet again, why he is one of my favorite directors. From the beginning of the film I was interested, I wasn't exactly sure what to expect, but I was excited. Saoirse Ronan is fantastic, and I hope she gets a lot of recognition for this role, and for future roll she will have, she is very talented, and as for the film, I put it above Source Code for best film of 2011 so far. Fantastic film, all around. Expand
  2. TTT
    Aug 19, 2011
    10
    At start of the film I'm surprised for the arctic environment and the movements, sounds and fighting. The first part is so interesting. ThenAt start of the film I'm surprised for the arctic environment and the movements, sounds and fighting. The first part is so interesting. Then it strikes me as if the quarry to Morocco, where Hanna knows nothing except what he was told by the father of 'encyclopedia. Then I have to congratulate the actress, the director for his magnificent incuadrature and environments. I written this whit google translate . I'm Italian, and I must say that the Italian voice actors are a higher level than any other group of voice actors. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    9
    I didn't know what to expect from this film, as I didn't really watch the trailer, just saw/heard reference to Leon. Wasn't disappointed,I didn't know what to expect from this film, as I didn't really watch the trailer, just saw/heard reference to Leon. Wasn't disappointed, really liked the plot, the style of the film, and Saoirse Ronan was excellent. The score really helps heighten the intensity of the film too.... slick and stylish, check it out. Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2011
    7
    Hanna is the name of a teenage girl, played by Saoirise Ronan, who apparently has spent all of her life in the arctic somewhere with no otherHanna is the name of a teenage girl, played by Saoirise Ronan, who apparently has spent all of her life in the arctic somewhere with no other human contact but her father, played by Eric Bana. He has been training to be the ultimate warrior. She can hunt deer with bow or gun, she knows several languages, she is an expert at mixed martial arts, etc. etc. What is he preparing her for and why her? Well, we donâ Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2013
    7
    With a stylishly invigorating directorial effort from Joe Wright and a particularly memorable set of performances from Ronan, Bana, andWith a stylishly invigorating directorial effort from Joe Wright and a particularly memorable set of performances from Ronan, Bana, and Blanchett, "Hanna" makes for a worthy thriller with an unconventional lasting impact. Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2011
    6
    Shockingly predictable but fun... For a while. Once the mysteries are revealed, uhh not much left to care about. I counted 6 chases beforeShockingly predictable but fun... For a while. Once the mysteries are revealed, uhh not much left to care about. I counted 6 chases before sighing, so theres that. Blanchett and bana and hanna and the story are all interesting for about 2/3, but wright's chem bros music video ploy tires and the climax is more fiiinally than thrilling. Expand
  7. May 9, 2011
    0
    The worst film I have seen for some time. Basically kill bill +Bourne Identity. I never believed in Hanna. The constant shots of her perfectThe worst film I have seen for some time. Basically kill bill +Bourne Identity. I never believed in Hanna. The constant shots of her perfect little face became so tiresome. The story was amateur and the writing was second rate. I was totally bored. Oh god, and the English characters? So cringe worthy. Total waste of money. Expand

See all 110 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 18, 2011
    Get another look at "Thor," "Hanna," and "The Adjustment Bureau," and learn about upcoming projects from Martin Scorsese, Shane Black, and more in our latest weekly roundup.
  2. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  3. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.