Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: February 9, 2007
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 92 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
36
Mixed:
23
Negative:
33
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SergioJ.Jun 1, 2007
I don't understand why this movie received very terrilbe reviews. It was one of the best recent movies I have viewed. Ive never seen the other two in the Lecter series but this sure is good.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Apr 5, 2007
The only main problem is that the movie has a slow pace. The acting is good. It is well adapted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlanD.Feb 10, 2007
Its always kinda funny to watch critics trip over themselves in blasting something as atrocious when it's merely not that great. it was about as engaging and boringly weird as red dragon and hannibal was, but harris still manages toIts always kinda funny to watch critics trip over themselves in blasting something as atrocious when it's merely not that great. it was about as engaging and boringly weird as red dragon and hannibal was, but harris still manages to create that hannibal magnetism that, despite the distracting fluff surrounding him, makes you not care for anything but the pure entertainment from his infalliabillity. a good watch, if not a particularly good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KayceeM.Feb 20, 2007
I actually liked this movie. It wasn't the best, true, but it was still entertaining. It's easier to just watch it as it's own movie, and try not to compare it to Silence of the Lambs. It may be a little slow, but overall, it I actually liked this movie. It wasn't the best, true, but it was still entertaining. It's easier to just watch it as it's own movie, and try not to compare it to Silence of the Lambs. It may be a little slow, but overall, it was pretty alright. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinB.Apr 24, 2007
I was actually impressed. I thought this movie was going to be nothing compared to Silence of the lambs but it did have a good plot line and it did answer some good questions i've had durring this series. Yes he is no Anthony Hopkins at I was actually impressed. I thought this movie was going to be nothing compared to Silence of the lambs but it did have a good plot line and it did answer some good questions i've had durring this series. Yes he is no Anthony Hopkins at all but i think it really pulled me into Lecters shoes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlecB.Feb 22, 2007
It wasn't as bad as everybody is saying it is. I actually enjoyed the movie and I thought this character did a pretty good job of it. Yea, he's no Anthony Hopkins, not by a long shot, but it is his first film and I think it is fair It wasn't as bad as everybody is saying it is. I actually enjoyed the movie and I thought this character did a pretty good job of it. Yea, he's no Anthony Hopkins, not by a long shot, but it is his first film and I think it is fair to give him a shot. Very good story line to it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
spadenxDec 3, 2011
I liked this film just as much as the other films in the franchise. I think the acting was solid and it was rather graphic (but in a good way). I enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Contrary to popular belief, this movie is not about Anthony Hopkins experimenting with Viagra. In fact, the man who made Hannibal Lecter a household name, doesn't so much as have a cameo in this film. Hannibal Rising takes the story to whereContrary to popular belief, this movie is not about Anthony Hopkins experimenting with Viagra. In fact, the man who made Hannibal Lecter a household name, doesn't so much as have a cameo in this film. Hannibal Rising takes the story to where it's never been before, back to the beginning. We see a young Hannibal in Europe, during WWII, and we learn how he grew into the monster he became. What made this different from the other Lecter films, was that Hannibal is seen as a good guy for much of the film, just out seeking revenge. French film star Gaspard Ulliel is fantastic in his first American film and was the perfect choice to play a young lecter. As a fan of the film franchise, I found this movie fascinating, but as an outsider I can see how some people would find it a bit long and slow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeNov 8, 2015
The movie is long and even boring at bits,the acting is not always good and some CGI effects are pretty messy but the good scenario,the final act and the interesting story kind of redeem these defaults
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews