Hannibal Rising

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 90
  2. Negative: 32 out of 90

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. SergioJ.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    I don't understand why this movie received very terrilbe reviews. It was one of the best recent movies I have viewed. Ive never seen the other two in the Lecter series but this sure is good.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Apr 5, 2007
    8
    The only main problem is that the movie has a slow pace. The acting is good. It is well adapted.
  3. AlanD.
    Feb 10, 2007
    7
    Its always kinda funny to watch critics trip over themselves in blasting something as atrocious when it's merely not that great. it was about as engaging and boringly weird as red dragon and hannibal was, but harris still manages to create that hannibal magnetism that, despite the distracting fluff surrounding him, makes you not care for anything but the pure entertainment from hisIts always kinda funny to watch critics trip over themselves in blasting something as atrocious when it's merely not that great. it was about as engaging and boringly weird as red dragon and hannibal was, but harris still manages to create that hannibal magnetism that, despite the distracting fluff surrounding him, makes you not care for anything but the pure entertainment from his infalliabillity. a good watch, if not a particularly good movie. Expand
  4. KayceeM.
    Feb 20, 2007
    7
    I actually liked this movie. It wasn't the best, true, but it was still entertaining. It's easier to just watch it as it's own movie, and try not to compare it to Silence of the Lambs. It may be a little slow, but overall, it was pretty alright.
  5. JustinB.
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    I was actually impressed. I thought this movie was going to be nothing compared to Silence of the lambs but it did have a good plot line and it did answer some good questions i've had durring this series. Yes he is no Anthony Hopkins at all but i think it really pulled me into Lecters shoes.
  6. AlecB.
    Feb 22, 2007
    7
    It wasn't as bad as everybody is saying it is. I actually enjoyed the movie and I thought this character did a pretty good job of it. Yea, he's no Anthony Hopkins, not by a long shot, but it is his first film and I think it is fair to give him a shot. Very good story line to it.
  7. Dec 3, 2011
    7
    I liked this film just as much as the other films in the franchise. I think the acting was solid and it was rather graphic (but in a good way). I enjoyed it.
  8. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    Contrary to popular belief, this movie is not about Anthony Hopkins experimenting with Viagra. In fact, the man who made Hannibal Lecter a household name, doesn't so much as have a cameo in this film. Hannibal Rising takes the story to where it's never been before, back to the beginning. We see a young Hannibal in Europe, during WWII, and we learn how he grew into the monster he became.Contrary to popular belief, this movie is not about Anthony Hopkins experimenting with Viagra. In fact, the man who made Hannibal Lecter a household name, doesn't so much as have a cameo in this film. Hannibal Rising takes the story to where it's never been before, back to the beginning. We see a young Hannibal in Europe, during WWII, and we learn how he grew into the monster he became. What made this different from the other Lecter films, was that Hannibal is seen as a good guy for much of the film, just out seeking revenge. French film star Gaspard Ulliel is fantastic in his first American film and was the perfect choice to play a young lecter. As a fan of the film franchise, I found this movie fascinating, but as an outsider I can see how some people would find it a bit long and slow. Expand
  9. Nov 8, 2015
    7
    The movie is long and even boring at bits,the acting is not always good and some CGI effects are pretty messy but the good scenario,the final act and the interesting story kind of redeem these defaults
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 30
  2. Negative: 14 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    40
    Gong Li is welcome as Hannibal's Japanese aunt-in-law/mentor, Gaspard Ulliel isn't a bad young Lecter and Webber's direction is intermittently classy -- but this is a footnote rather than a film.
  2. Who would have thought mass murder and cannibalism could be so dull?
  3. 25
    A sort-of combination of "Lambs," "Batman Begins" and "The Joy of Cooking," Hannibal Rising ostensibly dramatizes the atrocities that turned Hannibal Lecter from loving child to serial killer. But this film is larded up with so many food references that I'm undecided whether this story belongs in a film compendium or a recipe file.