User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 277

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2014
    9
    Glad I didn't listen to any of the idiots on here!! I would have missed a great movie with awesome fight scenes!! Would make a great video game!! Had a real good time with this movie!!
  2. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    Why does this film get low reviews? It is such an entertaining movie which takes itself not serious. It was one the most entertaining films i have seen so far. Overall the humor works well, the characters are entertaining and the fight scenes are great.
  3. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    best Movie ever made after Movies like evil dead gore an blood some funny elements in it to you have be a person that really like good old fantasy gore great from the begining too the end hej då

    its getting bad score from the persons that have lost they fantasy that persons should stop Reviews Movie like this. look forward to the second Movie
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Don't trust the reviews that movies is just Great!Trust your gut and enjoy the movie.Movie have everything you want good acting,good actions,great sense of humor,great fun
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    This movie was awesome. Great action and a good amount of gore. This movie is definitely better than its other competitors (Snow White and the Huntsman and Jack the Giant Slayer). I guess its because the makers of the movie decided to let the R Rating be. I loved it. One of my favorite action-horror movies. IGNORE THE CRITIC REVIEWS.
  6. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    I think the critics have scored this film very unfairly. This is one of those films that is so bad that it's good. If you take it for what I perceive it to be which is tongue in cheek, full of cheese and prepared to laugh at itself then you'll enjoy it. If you watch it looking for a serious film then you will be very disappointed. I would watch another one.
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    I'm a fan of the idea of taking classic fairy tales and making them into more goofy and violent territory and this movie does just that. The movie isn't trying to be the smartest thing out there, it's just trying to be a violent, fun time and it succeeds at doing so. It's got gory action that's over the top, cheesy lines, and a heck of a lot of fun backing it up. So if you're in the mood to just watch a straight up over the top movie with a fairy tale theme then check out this one. You may just end up surprised at how much fun you had with it. Expand
  8. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not get it! Why so low marks? I loved it! Funniest movie in a long time. It was funny, exciting, adventures, epic and has a great classic story to it with a twist .The parts that I like most in the movie is when the witches get their ass kicked in by the witch hunters I think that witches and witch hunters are going to be the next big thing, so good bye vampires and werewolves and hello witches.
    But there are some disadvantages of the movie, like it was short and parts of the movie got boring for me but overall it was a good movie.
    Expand
  9. May 19, 2013
    10
    Cool weapons, many blood, and whol movie is full of action. I really recomend this movie to everyone because it's SOOOO FUN TO WATCH!!!!!!!!!!!WATCH IT NOW!
  10. May 1, 2013
    10
    From gore, to guts, Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters sure did live up to the title. The title is what sold the story. If you are the type of viewer who can handle an abundance of gory awesomeness, then I really recommend this film. If you are the type of viewer who loves the twists on classic fairy tales, then I also recommend this film. Most critics are being disgruntle these days, and definitely did not give this film the correct rating in my opinion, but who am I to talk. Word to wise.. This film didn't become a box-office sensation for no reason. The film earned it's spot rightfully. I recommend this film a billion times. I am not a big movie person, and hardly watch films, but I saw this film twice in theaters. It was just that amazing. Soon, this film will be available on DVD and BluRay for consumers to purchase. When it is released, RENT, or PURCHASE. The film will not have you sleeping, but on your toes, waiting for the next battle scene. Happy Watchings! -Jake Expand
  11. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Silly, violent and ridiculously great fun! Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters stays true to its title in the best possible way and really brings in the witch fighting awesomeness. With plenty of humour and bloody violence, this film is definitely one of the most fun 3D films in a while and will be enjoyed by fans of horror, fantasy and comedy alike.
  12. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    A nice pleasant surprise here as this was much better than I was expecting. Corny, perhaps, but there was certainly enough action gore to make up for it. Both of our leads were likable and played their roles, as did the villains. It was so refreshing not to see the film under so much CGI like a lot of recent Horror films, and there was a nice amount of stunt work involved! Overall I thoroughly enjoyed it, and while slightly predictable, it's too fun and enjoyable not to like! Expand
  13. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    so... i just saw this, and it is, along with gangster squad, the most criminally underrated film of the year thus far, it is a real treat to watch in 3d, the action is badass and entertaining, the characters are well developed and unique, there are some genuinely funny moments, and all the cast (even peter stormare) does a fine job, if you love action movies, i cannot emphasize this enough: WATCH THIS MOVIE... ESPECIALLY IN 3D Expand
  14. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    This is called a Movie. An actual, splatterfest with so much gore you will end up laughing. Hansel and Gretel Witch hunters is a GREAT movie, it's really good because all we see today is critically acclaimed movies like Argo and Flight. I mean those movies were great but this is real entertainment. It's just a entertaining movie. The witches idea was well compelled by the director Tommy Wirkola, so this movie is basically Shaun Of The Dead with Fancy Guns with Hunters and With Witches. It's is a real movie. If critics could have examined it closely......... Well 10/10 for me! Splatterfest ahoy! Expand
  15. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    hahaha, I loved it! Funniest movie in a long time.
    I wish this director could team up with people like Jonah Hill! Renner does not fit for this kind of movies
    10!
  16. Jan 30, 2013
    9
    I also don't understand why so many low reviews. This was a really fun movie to watch! It was not sloppy like people are saying. It was very coherent. Again, it was a ton of FUN. The key word is fun. Give it a try. I hope it does well enough for a 2nd installment.
  17. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    The movie is awesome, fun, funny, gory, good story, a little short though. The only reason why I gave it a 9 it's because it should have been slightly longer. Loved the costumes and sets. The candy house was great. The witches were great. The actors were where they needed to be. The critics who gave poor reviews are retards, the trailer was very clear in showing what to expect, it's a fast paced action packed dark fairytale for adults. Expand
  18. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    This movie is an updated modern telling of the wicked witch story with a depth to the story that is at first hidden by the killer action sequences. I loved the light fast paced style and likeable stars. Ultimately, the point of the story is that killing witches is fun for so many reasons, and that every witch story doesn't have to be a takeoff on The Wizard of Oz to be meaningful. For me, the breakthrough this movie makes is to take an entirely fun path toward de-sympathizing wishes. Gone is the story that all witches are misunderstood weirdos who deserve to live. Instead, here is a clear cut evil that has to be destroyed, and unlike zombies and vampires who have also been sentimentalized, this movie hopefully introduces a new trend of kicking evil in the ass. Expand
  19. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    Rock 'em, sock 'em fun time. I laughed at least 10 times (so much ridiculous stuff), saw some sweet witch kills, got to stare at Gemma Arterton, and most importantly, I had a ton of fun. This movie is a blast and everyone who likes to have fun should see it.
  20. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    Not sure why this is getting such low reviews. It's a FUN movie, plain and simple. Just sit back and enjoy the cheesy one-liners and watching people get blown up. No, it's not a 10, but I gave it one to counter the unnecessarily low rating.

    Oh, and, this is coming from someone who thought that Zero Dark Thirty and The Master were two of the best movies of last year.
  21. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    This was a fun movie and was different and action packed from start to finish. It is a short movie and the audience seemed to like it also as I randomly ask people what they thought about the movie. All responses I got were good. You want to see a bad bad movie go watch Zero Dark Thirty. I was falling asleep which I have never done before. Give President Obama and our military a 10 for getting Bin Laden. The popcorn was good, but Zero Dark Thirty stunk like sh*t. 2 thumbs up for Hansel & Gretal. Collapse
Metascore
21

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 16 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Mar 2, 2013
    20
    This movie is a case in point. It's a film which is so demeaningly bad, so utterly without merit, that there is a kind of purity in its awfulness. There is a Zen mastery in producing a film which nullifies the concept of pleasure.
  2. Reviewed by: Josh Winning
    Feb 9, 2013
    40
    Though it gives good splat and the scenery’s to die for, Hansel & Gretel gets just about everything wrong. Hammy, boring, chronically unfunny - there’ll be nightmares before bedtime.
  3. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 30, 2013
    11
    In his English-language debut, Wirkola dabbles in everything but commits to nothing, making for an unmemorable brew best left untasted.