Paramount Pictures | Release Date: January 25, 2013
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 320 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
144
Mixed:
90
Negative:
86
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Unbelievable21Jan 25, 2013
Not sure why this is getting such low reviews. It's a FUN movie, plain and simple. Just sit back and enjoy the cheesy one-liners and watching people get blown up. No, it's not a 10, but I gave it one to counter the unnecessarily low rating.Not sure why this is getting such low reviews. It's a FUN movie, plain and simple. Just sit back and enjoy the cheesy one-liners and watching people get blown up. No, it's not a 10, but I gave it one to counter the unnecessarily low rating.

Oh, and, this is coming from someone who thought that Zero Dark Thirty and The Master were two of the best movies of last year.
Expand
20 of 30 users found this helpful2010
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerJul 19, 2013
I'm a fan of the idea of taking classic fairy tales and making them into more goofy and violent territory and this movie does just that. The movie isn't trying to be the smartest thing out there, it's just trying to be a violent, fun time andI'm a fan of the idea of taking classic fairy tales and making them into more goofy and violent territory and this movie does just that. The movie isn't trying to be the smartest thing out there, it's just trying to be a violent, fun time and it succeeds at doing so. It's got gory action that's over the top, cheesy lines, and a heck of a lot of fun backing it up. So if you're in the mood to just watch a straight up over the top movie with a fairy tale theme then check out this one. You may just end up surprised at how much fun you had with it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JaWhiteMay 1, 2013
From gore, to guts, Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters sure did live up to the title. The title is what sold the story. If you are the type of viewer who can handle an abundance of gory awesomeness, then I really recommend this film. If you areFrom gore, to guts, Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters sure did live up to the title. The title is what sold the story. If you are the type of viewer who can handle an abundance of gory awesomeness, then I really recommend this film. If you are the type of viewer who loves the twists on classic fairy tales, then I also recommend this film. Most critics are being disgruntle these days, and definitely did not give this film the correct rating in my opinion, but who am I to talk. Word to wise.. This film didn't become a box-office sensation for no reason. The film earned it's spot rightfully. I recommend this film a billion times. I am not a big movie person, and hardly watch films, but I saw this film twice in theaters. It was just that amazing. Soon, this film will be available on DVD and BluRay for consumers to purchase. When it is released, RENT, or PURCHASE. The film will not have you sleeping, but on your toes, waiting for the next battle scene. Happy Watchings! -Jake Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BrandonBonaseraMar 15, 2013
Silly, violent and ridiculously great fun! Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters stays true to its title in the best possible way and really brings in the witch fighting awesomeness. With plenty of humour and bloody violence, this film isSilly, violent and ridiculously great fun! Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters stays true to its title in the best possible way and really brings in the witch fighting awesomeness. With plenty of humour and bloody violence, this film is definitely one of the most fun 3D films in a while and will be enjoyed by fans of horror, fantasy and comedy alike. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Iky009Dec 31, 2013
Um dos piores filmes do ano, a história, os efeitos visuais e seus personagens são irritantes, ainda nem sei o motivo que me fez assistir essa bomba do cinema.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
StaffyMar 14, 2013
Surprised to see such a low score from the critics.... this is no kiddie movie, but the "updated" story pulled me in and I really enjoyed it. I have always wondered what happened to the little kiddies of the kiddie story of old, now we know,Surprised to see such a low score from the critics.... this is no kiddie movie, but the "updated" story pulled me in and I really enjoyed it. I have always wondered what happened to the little kiddies of the kiddie story of old, now we know, in a very bloody and violent, however very entertaining way.
Looking forward to more "updated" stories of kiddie stories, next Jack the Giant Slayer
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mahmoodJun 12, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not get it! Why so low marks? I loved it! Funniest movie in a long time. It was funny, exciting, adventures, epic and has a great classic story to it with a twist .The parts that I like most in the movie is when the witches get their ass kicked in by the witch hunters I think that witches and witch hunters are going to be the next big thing, so good bye vampires and werewolves and hello witches.
But there are some disadvantages of the movie, like it was short and parts of the movie got boring for me but overall it was a good movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Kai82Aug 10, 2014
Why does this film get low reviews? It is such an entertaining movie which takes itself not serious. It was one the most entertaining films i have seen so far. Overall the humor works well, the characters are entertaining and the fight scenesWhy does this film get low reviews? It is such an entertaining movie which takes itself not serious. It was one the most entertaining films i have seen so far. Overall the humor works well, the characters are entertaining and the fight scenes are great. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SyntrixJan 26, 2013
This movie is an updated modern telling of the wicked witch story with a depth to the story that is at first hidden by the killer action sequences. I loved the light fast paced style and likeable stars. Ultimately, the point of the story isThis movie is an updated modern telling of the wicked witch story with a depth to the story that is at first hidden by the killer action sequences. I loved the light fast paced style and likeable stars. Ultimately, the point of the story is that killing witches is fun for so many reasons, and that every witch story doesn't have to be a takeoff on The Wizard of Oz to be meaningful. For me, the breakthrough this movie makes is to take an entirely fun path toward de-sympathizing wishes. Gone is the story that all witches are misunderstood weirdos who deserve to live. Instead, here is a clear cut evil that has to be destroyed, and unlike zombies and vampires who have also been sentimentalized, this movie hopefully introduces a new trend of kicking evil in the ass. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineJan 25, 2013
Very fast-paced, lots of action, not much dialogues, awesome battle scenes, memorable characters. Firearms and gadgets that make a different feel than just a nightmarish fairytale. Hopefully the ending meant that there will be a continuation.Very fast-paced, lots of action, not much dialogues, awesome battle scenes, memorable characters. Firearms and gadgets that make a different feel than just a nightmarish fairytale. Hopefully the ending meant that there will be a continuation. P.S. No idea why the score is so low. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
TheSHOJan 30, 2013
I also don't understand why so many low reviews. This was a really fun movie to watch! It was not sloppy like people are saying. It was very coherent. Again, it was a ton of FUN. The key word is fun. Give it a try. I hope it does wellI also don't understand why so many low reviews. This was a really fun movie to watch! It was not sloppy like people are saying. It was very coherent. Again, it was a ton of FUN. The key word is fun. Give it a try. I hope it does well enough for a 2nd installment. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
natey2k4Jan 26, 2013
Rock 'em, sock 'em fun time. I laughed at least 10 times (so much ridiculous stuff), saw some sweet witch kills, got to stare at Gemma Arterton, and most importantly, I had a ton of fun. This movie is a blast and everyone who likes to haveRock 'em, sock 'em fun time. I laughed at least 10 times (so much ridiculous stuff), saw some sweet witch kills, got to stare at Gemma Arterton, and most importantly, I had a ton of fun. This movie is a blast and everyone who likes to have fun should see it. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
RobyLula555May 19, 2013
Cool weapons, many blood, and whol movie is full of action. I really recomend this movie to everyone because it's SOOOO FUN TO WATCH!!!!!!!!!!!WATCH IT NOW!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
geoinlimbo69Jan 29, 2013
The movie is awesome, fun, funny, gory, good story, a little short though. The only reason why I gave it a 9 it's because it should have been slightly longer. Loved the costumes and sets. The candy house was great. The witches were great. TheThe movie is awesome, fun, funny, gory, good story, a little short though. The only reason why I gave it a 9 it's because it should have been slightly longer. Loved the costumes and sets. The candy house was great. The witches were great. The actors were where they needed to be. The critics who gave poor reviews are retards, the trailer was very clear in showing what to expect, it's a fast paced action packed dark fairytale for adults. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
mickelwickFeb 16, 2013
so... i just saw this, and it is, along with gangster squad, the most criminally underrated film of the year thus far, it is a real treat to watch in 3d, the action is badass and entertaining, the characters are well developed and unique,so... i just saw this, and it is, along with gangster squad, the most criminally underrated film of the year thus far, it is a real treat to watch in 3d, the action is badass and entertaining, the characters are well developed and unique, there are some genuinely funny moments, and all the cast (even peter stormare) does a fine job, if you love action movies, i cannot emphasize this enough: WATCH THIS MOVIE... ESPECIALLY IN 3D Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
8
SpankyJan 26, 2013
Great mindless CGI movie that's fun to watch. Only three complaints: I didn't care for the stupid humor that was the sole purpose of a minor character and I really hate action sequences that are shot in close and fast with a handheld camera.Great mindless CGI movie that's fun to watch. Only three complaints: I didn't care for the stupid humor that was the sole purpose of a minor character and I really hate action sequences that are shot in close and fast with a handheld camera. The choppy editing was also extremely annoying; otherwise I would have given this popcorn movie a 9 or 10. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
NavQJan 28, 2013
Storyline: This is the story of Hansal and Gretel but this is the adult horror version. Hansal (Jeremy Renner) and Gretel (Gemma Arterton) are now famous witch hunters and travel the ancient lands fighting witches in all their guises. This isStoryline: This is the story of Hansal and Gretel but this is the adult horror version. Hansal (Jeremy Renner) and Gretel (Gemma Arterton) are now famous witch hunters and travel the ancient lands fighting witches in all their guises. This is not a film you take too seriously and all though there's loads of blood and guts there are funny moments too.

Acting: Famke Janssen, who I enjoy in movies, plays the main evil witch and with the make-up is brilliant. She looked as if she enjoyed herself. Jeremy Renner was not bad either but of the two Gemma Arterton gave the better performance. I loved Peter Stormare as the sheriff, he must be busy as I just saw him in The Last Stand a few days ago. Overall I really enjoyed everyone in this.

Direction: This is Tommy Wirkola's first English speaking movie and the first time he's had a big budget. The film doesn't exactly suffer for it but you can't help feeling the problems I noticed with the pacing and how the timing in certain scenes is out when the actors are interacting with one another might not have occurred in someone else's hands.

Production: $60 million is a fair budget and mostly it was well spent like the make up, CG and of course the actors but the set designs were too generic and had no touches that lent to authenticity. I loved all the gadgets they used and thought they helped make the story a bit more exciting. Also the CG guys were great too.

Conclusion: I enjoy these types of film and liked the cast too. The effects weren't the best I've seen but were acceptable and the blood and gut effects were great and there's loads of them. Recommended

Score: 7/10
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
TheTruth69Jan 28, 2013
What is wrong with you people? This movie is a fun, re imagining of the hansel and gretel story. You should definitely buy this and see it in theaters. The story is good with no plot holes. The characters are good, none of them are bland. TheWhat is wrong with you people? This movie is a fun, re imagining of the hansel and gretel story. You should definitely buy this and see it in theaters. The story is good with no plot holes. The characters are good, none of them are bland. The Special effect are good especially when i tell you that most of the special effects in that movie were practical. The 3D is better than most movies you will see in 3D, mostly because there is alot of it. The art style is great, Their weapons are most definitely bad ass. the Villains of this movie are cool. There is a lot of variation between the witches so they don't all look the same, but you will hate this one short haired **** witch. The sound track is awesome. The dialogue is great, with alot of emotion put in this movie. All in all this is an awesome fun action movie that's worth a look. Now if you excuse me, me and my high caliber rifle, need to go kill some witches Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
BaardsenJan 31, 2013
hahaha, I loved it! Funniest movie in a long time.
I wish this director could team up with people like Jonah Hill! Renner does not fit for this kind of movies
10!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
HaithamBayazeedFeb 1, 2013
I thing I hated this movie because it holds the idea of Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter 3D, which is so unbelievably Stupid this one differs nothing except that the thing made me change the ZERO into THREE..That the actors fit right in, theyI thing I hated this movie because it holds the idea of Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter 3D, which is so unbelievably Stupid this one differs nothing except that the thing made me change the ZERO into THREE..That the actors fit right in, they rocked! The movie SUCKED! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
dharmaJun 5, 2013
Ridicilous, fairy tale based action film akin to Sleepy Hollow is fun in spots but feels low budget. A good thing that the film makers (and the casts) knew what they are making, and tried to have as much fun as possible. Nevertheless, it's aRidicilous, fairy tale based action film akin to Sleepy Hollow is fun in spots but feels low budget. A good thing that the film makers (and the casts) knew what they are making, and tried to have as much fun as possible. Nevertheless, it's a wonder how this became a box office hit as it is. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
bigfoot6463Jan 25, 2013
This was a fun movie and was different and action packed from start to finish. It is a short movie and the audience seemed to like it also as I randomly ask people what they thought about the movie. All responses I got were good. You want toThis was a fun movie and was different and action packed from start to finish. It is a short movie and the audience seemed to like it also as I randomly ask people what they thought about the movie. All responses I got were good. You want to see a bad bad movie go watch Zero Dark Thirty. I was falling asleep which I have never done before. Give President Obama and our military a 10 for getting Bin Laden. The popcorn was good, but Zero Dark Thirty stunk like sh*t. 2 thumbs up for Hansel & Gretal. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
2
MarcDoyleJan 28, 2013
It's almost charming, it's almost funny, and the action is almost exciting. Nothing flows, the writing is poor and it's essentially brain-dead fare. A waste of a handful of pretty solid actors - and it's no wonder that Paramount and MGM choseIt's almost charming, it's almost funny, and the action is almost exciting. Nothing flows, the writing is poor and it's essentially brain-dead fare. A waste of a handful of pretty solid actors - and it's no wonder that Paramount and MGM chose to share this risk of this sucker. It's too bad that McKay & Ferrell didn't get more involved in the making of this film - it could have used some punching up. Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
5
singingbatmanJan 26, 2013
Going into this movie i knew exactly what to expect and i was right. its a fun movie but not a good one.. Its loud and dumb but it doesnt try to be anything else. the effects were kinda cool but nothing we havent seen before. overall i hadGoing into this movie i knew exactly what to expect and i was right. its a fun movie but not a good one.. Its loud and dumb but it doesnt try to be anything else. the effects were kinda cool but nothing we havent seen before. overall i had fun but i would never watch it again, once through was plenty Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
Sir_BrandonJan 28, 2013
No matter how low or high they may be, we all have expectations each time we go see a movie. We are satisfied if they are met and pleasantly surprised if they are exceeded. But when expectations are not met, we become disappointed andNo matter how low or high they may be, we all have expectations each time we go see a movie. We are satisfied if they are met and pleasantly surprised if they are exceeded. But when expectations are not met, we become disappointed and sometimes borderline pissed off, and that is how I felt after seeing Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters. My mindset going in was to not expect too much, but it could at least be fun and somewhat entertaining. Well I was wrong. The ridiculous story should already be known before you walk in to the theatre. Yet no one could have known how empty Hansel & Gretel is with the lack of suspense, intelligence, and overall interest in what is going on. I cannot even tell you how bad I feel for those who spent even more money to see it in 3D. It almost brings a tear to my eye.

The story of Hansel and Gretel is well-known by most people. A brother and sister are abandoned in the woods and left all alone until they encounter a house made out of candy. Who wouldn
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
Disliker21Jan 29, 2013
Really bad movie. Loud, flashy but lacks substance. Really no way to enjoy it if you weren't a fan of the cast. Totally wouldn't reconment watching it.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
TheGeographer52Jan 25, 2013
Why Jeremy? Why!? First Bourne Legacy and now this piece of crap. You're Better than that!
6 of 17 users found this helpful611
All this user's reviews
2
nightmare4928Feb 3, 2013
The idea of having a movie made in this day and age about a classic fairytale is just not a good idea. I am pretty sick of movies like this, I understand it may be fun, but is it forgettable? In my opinion yes.
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
0
psyprbsfan1Feb 6, 2013
hansle and gretle are horrible witch hunters only garfiled can be a witch hunter 0/10000 DONT BOTHER WATCHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
2
LawGimenezJul 29, 2013
I don't like Renner. His acting is always awful. This film is very predictable, I can always tell what will happen next. Too much blood and gore, leave those kind of things to Tarantino.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews