Metascore
21

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 266 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Catching up with Hansel and Gretel 15 years after their incident involving a gingerbread house, the siblings have evolved into bounty hunters who hunt witches.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 16 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jan 27, 2013
    75
    Wirkola tears through Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters with such giddy abandon, it ends up being splattery fanboy fun. Preposterous, clearly, but fun.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Jan 25, 2013
    42
    An intermittently fun, but overexcited and predictable mish-mash.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    Jan 25, 2013
    40
    The film is smart enough not to wear out its welcome. But that's the only sign of true intelligence in this juvenile caper.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jan 25, 2013
    25
    This genre stew throws in so many ingredients - including sundry body parts that are cut off and go flying, and heads that explode - that the result is a tasteless mash-up that's hard to stomach.
  5. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 29, 2013
    25
    In an age of zombies, werewolves and oversexed vampires, teens won't be shaking in their Uggs over ugly women with bad teeth flying around on brooms, and with its graphic depictions of tortures, mutilations, gang rapes and myriad examples of child abuse, it's no longer a fairy tale suitable for children.
  6. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 30, 2013
    11
    In his English-language debut, Wirkola dabbles in everything but commits to nothing, making for an unmemorable brew best left untasted.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jan 25, 2013
    0
    An exceedingly dull and stillborn attempt to update the Brothers Grimm.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 76
  2. Negative: 24 out of 76
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    Not sure why this is getting such low reviews. It's a FUN movie, plain and simple. Just sit back and enjoy the cheesy one-liners and watching people get blown up. No, it's not a 10, but I gave it one to counter the unnecessarily low rating.

    Oh, and, this is coming from someone who thought that Zero Dark Thirty and The Master were two of the best movies of last year.
    Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not get it! Why so low marks? I loved it! Funniest movie in a long time. It was funny, exciting, adventures, epic and has a great classic story to it with a twist .The parts that I like most in the movie is when the witches get their ass kicked in by the witch hunters I think that witches and witch hunters are going to be the next big thing, so good bye vampires and werewolves and hello witches.
    But there are some disadvantages of the movie, like it was short and parts of the movie got boring for me but overall it was a good movie.
    Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Silly, violent and ridiculously great fun! Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters stays true to its title in the best possible way and really brings in the witch fighting awesomeness. With plenty of humour and bloody violence, this film is definitely one of the most fun 3D films in a while and will be enjoyed by fans of horror, fantasy and comedy alike. Expand
  4. May 25, 2014
    6
    Well i knew that when i was going to watch this movie is wasn't going to be anything special and i was right. Rather then taking the story serious i took it as a joke and that's what it should be taken as. thought the film tries to make itself seem serious i watch it and laugh. The action was cool with a couple great death scenes. Jeremy Renner, Gemma Arterton do a good job that was one thing about this is that they didn't completely suck Famke Janssen on the other hand though was just sad.

    Overall i give it a 6.0 Gemma Arterton was the main reason why i watched this film and ill most likely re-watch at least one more time
    Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    5
    Ridicilous, fairy tale based action film akin to Sleepy Hollow is fun in spots but feels low budget. A good thing that the film makers (and the casts) knew what they are making, and tried to have as much fun as possible. Nevertheless, it's a wonder how this became a box office hit as it is. Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2013
    2
    I don't like Renner. His acting is always awful. This film is very predictable, I can always tell what will happen next. Too much blood and gore, leave those kind of things to Tarantino. Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2013
    0
    My eyes! My eyes! Oh the humanity! I'll never be able to unsee the horror I've just been witness to. Yes some people in the theater enjoyed the movie, but they also wear helmets in public and are otherwise mouthbreathers. I'm not sure what Hollywood was shooting for with this movie, I just wonder if they are happy with this effort. Sometimes I wish they would just admit defeat and not release a movie like this. I won't bother to itemize the flaws of the film as well...everything was bad. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews