Good Machine | Release Date: October 16, 1998
3.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 145 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
8
Negative:
92
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Nesbitt10Dec 29, 2012
Easily the most disturbing and hilarious film simultaneously ever made; the ultimate of dark humor movies. Happiness is an ensemble drama that skips around between multiple storylines. Three sisters; a young women socially isolated seekingEasily the most disturbing and hilarious film simultaneously ever made; the ultimate of dark humor movies. Happiness is an ensemble drama that skips around between multiple storylines. Three sisters; a young women socially isolated seeking relationships, another happily married with a psychiatrist husband and three kids. Unfortunately, her husband develops an unnatural fascination for his 11 year old son's male classmate, fantasizes about mass killing in a park, and masturbates to teen magazines. One of his patients, Allen (Seymour Hoffman) has a fascination for the third sister who desperately wants to be raped. Meanwhile, the apparently stable 40 year marriage of the sister's parents suddenly unravels when he decides he has had enough and wants to be alone. The lives of these people are all connected by the desire for happiness, often from immoral, dark sources. The only situation that seems out of place is the conversation in a diner where a lady admits to Allen about murdering someone. Clearly this is a film not for everyone due to the disturbing subject matters, it's the zenith of the darkest of dark humor. Fantastic all around performances by a formidable cast, especially Dylan Baker and Seymour Hoffman Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwSep 19, 2014
Truly one of the finest independent American films I have ever seen. A deserved masterpiece. It may be difficult for the modern-day world to watch but it's also equally as necessary. Having seen it now both originally at theatres and nowTruly one of the finest independent American films I have ever seen. A deserved masterpiece. It may be difficult for the modern-day world to watch but it's also equally as necessary. Having seen it now both originally at theatres and now recently on video, my only qualm is that now it seems to be edited somewhat. I hope in future the original version can be seen. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
tonyGreenJul 15, 2011
A memorable if uncomfortable watch. As a comedy it falls short for me as the material is just too depressing to elicit a laugh, BUT it is compelling as drama. Some great performances, not a "feel-good" film in the least, but very well madeA memorable if uncomfortable watch. As a comedy it falls short for me as the material is just too depressing to elicit a laugh, BUT it is compelling as drama. Some great performances, not a "feel-good" film in the least, but very well made none-the less. If it suffers from anything in particular it is just too long - given the pace perhaps best watched over 2 sessions Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
imilhoferDec 27, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is stunningly pessimistic, but in a lighthearted and weirdly optimistic way, lending a great insight into the complexities of the human condition. Great performances (especially from Dylan Baker) compliment this eccentric and brave script that fits together like a beautiful jigsaw and stares with a kind of accusatory tenderness into the soul of its audience. The third of three scenes in which Bill Maplewood (the paedophile) and his son discuss sex is so frank and tense, I had it in my head for weeks afterwards. I'd say the line 'Dad, would you ever me?' is one of the most chilling in cinematic history. Apart from Jane Adams' character (Joy Jordan) being pretty annoying, this film is fairly flawless and should be seen by anyone reading this. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
curiousbystandrJun 6, 2015
This is a thought provoking masterful movie definitely not for the emotionally faint-hearted (or closed-minded, which may amount to the same thing). It really reveals the nature of emotions and sexuality and the pathological disconnectednessThis is a thought provoking masterful movie definitely not for the emotionally faint-hearted (or closed-minded, which may amount to the same thing). It really reveals the nature of emotions and sexuality and the pathological disconnectedness of modern society. The movie is both very sad and extremely funny at the same time. I highly recommend this movie to film buffs and anyone who takes an interest in the heart of things. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JonathanH.Apr 3, 2004
A wonderful film, one that i can understand that a lot of people are going to hate, but i was amazed throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Oh,God,It'sGilbertMulroneycakesAgainDec 6, 2003
Yes, it's me again, and yes, Yoon Min Cho, I'm talking to you again - sorry about that - but I would like to know the REASON that certain truths are best handled discreetly. I thought everything was fair game for artistic Yes, it's me again, and yes, Yoon Min Cho, I'm talking to you again - sorry about that - but I would like to know the REASON that certain truths are best handled discreetly. I thought everything was fair game for artistic commentary, provided it was handled sensitively - which is not the same as discreetly - and which Solondz, I feel does properly in Happiness. Over to you, then. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferH.May 3, 2005
Beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamM.Apr 18, 2002
Never before have I been to a theatre in which the manager gets up before the movie starts to "warn" the audience about the general content of the film. Yes, it deals with pedophilia, but why warn the damned audience? Ridiculous. The guy Never before have I been to a theatre in which the manager gets up before the movie starts to "warn" the audience about the general content of the film. Yes, it deals with pedophilia, but why warn the damned audience? Ridiculous. The guy then told everyone that if they wanted to talk about it afterwards, he would be available near the popcorn machine. Scary thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
YoonMinC.Sep 26, 2003
You gotta give Solondz credit for going for the jugular (or the groin) in depicting the dark obsessions haunting apparently Dilbert-like characters. But, as powerful and illuminating as the movie is about certain naturally taboo aspects of You gotta give Solondz credit for going for the jugular (or the groin) in depicting the dark obsessions haunting apparently Dilbert-like characters. But, as powerful and illuminating as the movie is about certain naturally taboo aspects of our existence, it's ultimately a banal statement about ugliness of humanity. The running(or dripping)motif in the movie is sperm ejaculated by boy and man alike, and maybe it's time we denude Freudianism of its academic pretensions but what are we left with? Nothing more profound than taking a dump with the washroom door wide open so everyone can smell the fumes. Is this truth? Yes, but there is a REASON, a good reason, why certain truths are best handled discreetly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshCNov 20, 2006
Masterfull! Todd Solondz for president.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredMar 11, 2006
An absurdist comedy who's concequences are all too real. Each character bleeds emotion, yet we find ourselves compelled to laugh at their comically tragic situations. It satirizes everything yet remains incredibly poignant. All in all An absurdist comedy who's concequences are all too real. Each character bleeds emotion, yet we find ourselves compelled to laugh at their comically tragic situations. It satirizes everything yet remains incredibly poignant. All in all it is a starkly human movie, with the depravity we so often enjoy, yet so often regret. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelS.Apr 29, 2002
Refreshing...black comedy...irreverent, dark...and BOLD...great cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GilbertMulroneycakesAtTheLondonPalladiumJul 16, 2003
Elliot M. raises a good point - about how there is no feeling for the characters - but forgets one thing: the Your Mileage My Vary? clause. I didn't feel it lacked substance, quite the opposite: it found it brilliant, disturbing Elliot M. raises a good point - about how there is no feeling for the characters - but forgets one thing: the Your Mileage My Vary? clause. I didn't feel it lacked substance, quite the opposite: it found it brilliant, disturbing filmmaking, if terribly hard to watch at times (I made the mistake of eating while watching it. It took me forty minutes to finish the one sandwich. I pity the people who saw it at the cinema, walking out with untouched cartons of popcorn). I don't think that it forgot how to be a movie in its search for this appetite-sucking effect, though: Solondz knows how to make a film, and he knows that the best way to shock people is to put the shocks into a good film. Otherwise it would just have been "David Lynch's Slackers". But it may not work so well for everyone. It is a horrible film. But a good one. In fact, a bloody good one. Though it isn't often very funny, except a few horror-humour hybrid moments. Of course, I was concentrating on swallowing the sandwich, and may have missed a few belly-laughs. But I doubt it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful