Village Roadshow Entertainment | Release Date: November 17, 2006
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 293 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
164
Mixed:
56
Negative:
73
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JayW.Apr 2, 2007
Good graphics? Erm, this is like any other computer animated film - so that doesn't carry this overly-preachy and hardly-entertaining dud.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JaredC.Sep 9, 2007
I tried to laugh, but the giggles never came. Then I started to frown, to much sensual comments of course.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BryanH.Oct 9, 2007
Robin Williams provides some cheap laughs as a small, Latin penguin, but the rest of the movie is deplorable. I really couldn't care less about "sexual overtones" (give me a break, I saw 'Pretty Woman' when I was little. Kids Robin Williams provides some cheap laughs as a small, Latin penguin, but the rest of the movie is deplorable. I really couldn't care less about "sexual overtones" (give me a break, I saw 'Pretty Woman' when I was little. Kids have NO IDEA what those comments mean. Use your head) I was more concerned with the banner-waving environmentalist agenda that the movie has throughout. My fiance wanted to see a cute movie about penguins, and I accidentally took her to see "An Inconvenient Truth (For Kids!)". In addition to all of this, a number of the actors involved don't seem to quite understand the nuances required to do voice acting well. Elijah Wood in particular. The characters felt flat and uninspired because of the rather drab voices that were lent to them. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AndrewR.Apr 13, 2007
The CGI was astounding, but unless you like watching penguins dance and sing and dance and sing and dance and sing the movie was... well, maybe Mumble could dance this one out in Morse code: -... --- .-. .. -. --. (boring).
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MovieFanMay 6, 2007
A strangely hostile little film. Gloria's 'heart song' is downright depressing. Then the rejection of Gloria, by Mumble, with him running off with 'the boys' instead...yes, this is majorly a gay theme. Then we have A strangely hostile little film. Gloria's 'heart song' is downright depressing. Then the rejection of Gloria, by Mumble, with him running off with 'the boys' instead...yes, this is majorly a gay theme. Then we have the supportive mother, plus insensitive father. Hmmmm. Gloria follows Mumble over the ice to tell him she loves him and he tells her that's not for me!! Pulease. Girl hate to the max. There is nothing heart warming about this awful movie; the plot is dull and trite besides Cute little penguin, but that's it. No real humor or warmth. I'm not very religious, but I felt the anti-religious subtext was kind a ugly. Save your clams; don't spend any money on this loser. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MatthewKDec 23, 2006
I don't think this film is about whether one is liberal or not. I'm very liberal and I thought this movie was garbage just because everything about it was horrible. The little kids in the theater didn't laugh once!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ChrisP.Dec 27, 2007
Worst movie ever, I did not like it. They rushed through it too much, he was a kid for like 10 minutes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ryanDec 28, 2007
Broken up storyline, bad character development, music without any relevance, conformistic, and in the end boring beyond believe
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SteveK.Mar 28, 2007
I try not to read too many reviews before watching a movie so it doesn't bias my viewing, but after watching the movie and reading all the glowing praise for this "kid's movie", I just don't get it. As an adult movie, it is I try not to read too many reviews before watching a movie so it doesn't bias my viewing, but after watching the movie and reading all the glowing praise for this "kid's movie", I just don't get it. As an adult movie, it is really, horribly inconsistent with so many themes rolled up into one that not very many are done very well. At times, it felt like many superior movies stitched together into a considersably less entertaining whole. The pacing of the movie is jarring and the last third of the movie is more than a little weird. The singing penguins were bizarre in a Baz Luhrman way but in a much more uncomfortable way.... cuz it's supposed to be a kids' movie! Anyone who says "oh, was it suposed to be a kids' movie?" doesn't know hollywood very well or seen any of the myriad cross-promotions. I kid you not, the first line you hear the penguins sing is "you don't have to be beautiful to turn me on, I just need your body baby from dusk til dawn." (from Prince's "Kiss") and you also get Penguins singing things like "I'll make love to you" (Boys II Men). Plus, the "love story" in the movie takes a much too complicated turn for little kids. Kids absorb EVERY word and lyric spoken in these movies. They know every song and word by heart. I don't mean to be a prude but I'm going to cringe more than a little if I see a little kid singing "Kiss". This movie had so much promise, great action sequences and animation, a noble effort to have a pro-environmental theme, but just in the end, too inconsistent, weird, and disturbing for me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
tugApr 22, 2007
This movie was painful to sit though. If not for my young daughter I would have walked out. Horrible voice work, goofy premise and clumsy handling of the issues.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DevonC.Apr 29, 2007
Boring, lame, inapropriate, crude, disturbing, tiring, not funny, and lame again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
EricC.May 13, 2007
Is it just me, or was anyone else a little uncomfortable with sexual inuendos in a kids movie? Do we really need penguins to explain sex to our youth (this is the second time, by the way)? I guess I could put up with these squirm-inducing Is it just me, or was anyone else a little uncomfortable with sexual inuendos in a kids movie? Do we really need penguins to explain sex to our youth (this is the second time, by the way)? I guess I could put up with these squirm-inducing moments if a decent story could be fasioned, but this doesn't happen. Another movie celebrating uniqueness, super. And there are no loveable characters that kids movies demand. Worst kids movie I've seen in a while, and we'll probably see a sequel, since the ever so wise Academy saw it necessary to grant it an Oscar. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
HarryMay 19, 2007
I normally LOVE animated kids movies like this and, after the amazing reviews I heard for it, I expected this movie to rock. It didn't. It was awful. Maybe it's because I'm an adult and this movie is made for 1 year olds, but I normally LOVE animated kids movies like this and, after the amazing reviews I heard for it, I expected this movie to rock. It didn't. It was awful. Maybe it's because I'm an adult and this movie is made for 1 year olds, but I just did NOT get why anyone would like this film! I only enjoyed this movie and laughed once, and that was when a small group of penguins meet Mumble for the first time and offer the ONLY interesting characters. I hated it, don't even rent it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
CoryH.Jun 18, 2007
The only problem I had with this movie were the sexual innuendos that went way over the line. I watched this movie for the first time with my 9 year old daughter, who I would not have allowed to see this movie had I known earlier that it The only problem I had with this movie were the sexual innuendos that went way over the line. I watched this movie for the first time with my 9 year old daughter, who I would not have allowed to see this movie had I known earlier that it should have been rated pg-13. I think the people that rate these movies must have fallen asleep through these parts to have allowed them into the movie with that rating. Parents beware. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
jonchApr 17, 2008
Happy Feet is the story of Mumble and how he never fits in. Well, it sucked. extremely blatant, it had good effects in all but it was stupid. The humor is weak (I never laughed once). The display of penguins is less fun, and more corky and Happy Feet is the story of Mumble and how he never fits in. Well, it sucked. extremely blatant, it had good effects in all but it was stupid. The humor is weak (I never laughed once). The display of penguins is less fun, and more corky and serious. But this film is for the little kids. This is definitely not suitable. It has content that is innuendo-relaed, sexually-related, and absolutely innapropriate. It also was very disturbing for the younger viewers. And having the humans involved was just lame, at first it was about Mumble trying to prove something, then its all about humans giving penguins the freedom in survival. You can see why it had won the Oscar for best animated film of the year. Its subject is quite big, and it is entertaining, fun, and full of adventure. And they try to base it on the facts of March of the Penguins, but most of us don't care about that. From my opinion, this movie is serious, and not any fun. Overall, it could have been so much better. too make up for this, go see surf's Up, its a great family flick, a lovable and hilarious film. And that movie just makes this one look even worse. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KeenanSJun 15, 2009
This is without a doubt, the worst film I have ever seen. I have literally never hated anything as much as this abomination. I hated not just every second of this film, but every millisecond. This film was mind-blowingly horrible in every This is without a doubt, the worst film I have ever seen. I have literally never hated anything as much as this abomination. I hated not just every second of this film, but every millisecond. This film was mind-blowingly horrible in every conceivable way, and had absolutely no redeeming qualities to speak of. If you want a good animated film about the environment, try the rather good Pixar film; Wall-E. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JCA.Oct 21, 2007
What was this. More of CSI than Happy dancing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JohnTJan 13, 2008
This movie is full of Racial propaganda. All the "cool" penguins had African/American and Latin overtones and accents while all the nasty penguins that gave them a hard time had Scottish (White) dialects. Then we wonder why our kinds form This movie is full of Racial propaganda. All the "cool" penguins had African/American and Latin overtones and accents while all the nasty penguins that gave them a hard time had Scottish (White) dialects. Then we wonder why our kinds form racial prejudices. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MichaelSDec 13, 2006
I have joined Glenn Beck in his fatwa against Happy Feet. I don't want to be bombarded wiht a political statement everytime I see a animated film. And the fact that this is making the UN seem like gods....I'm disgusted. The UN I have joined Glenn Beck in his fatwa against Happy Feet. I don't want to be bombarded wiht a political statement everytime I see a animated film. And the fact that this is making the UN seem like gods....I'm disgusted. The UN barely does anything right. Propaganda. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BillL.Dec 22, 2006
This film was a waste of money for anyone over the age of 8 or 9. My sister and I take our 11 year old girls to the movies every weekend. I usually enjoy animated films. This one put me right to sleep.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
gm101Mar 22, 2011
I get the message being told, but did it have to be so bland? Yes, it may have had a few decent songs, but all the characters looked creepy. If you want a better movie, try "March of the Penguins," at least that looks less creepy and more appealing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
ClankaNov 13, 2010
Uhh... turn off the TV! Horrible. Elijah Wood + Main Protagonist = Sever Displeasure. Honestly do yourslef a favour and DON'T SEE THIS MOVIE! If you want to be tortured don't choose this movie, it'll be worse than fire.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZestovAug 5, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am gonna give this a 10/10. I absolutely love this movie! It is my all time favorite animated feature and has been since I first saw it when it came out. However I do find some things that don't make a lot of sense. Like how did Gloria manage to find Mumble and the Amigos after Mumble was thrown out of Emperor Land? They are in Adelie land and during the seal chase Mumble went through water to find them so either there is a different route they took and she just followed their tracks or she was right behind them but if she was you would think they would have noticed they were being followed long before they did. I would not normally bother to nit pick things like this in such an awesome movie but details to clarify some things are important sometimes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
TheQuietGamerMar 5, 2011
This has to be one of the most boring movie I have ever watched, there isn't a good thing that I can find about this movie, kids and adults of all ages will hate this movie.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Oct 5, 2011
The story of "Happy Feet" doesn't really appeal to the audience, but the cheerful songs do.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
??Jul 21, 2009
This is, hands down, the worst movie I've ever seen. Why? Ok, 1st, the storyline was trash. A penguin is born, and in this ridiculous world the producers threw together, penguins are supposed to sing.(what?) But mumble, the penguin, This is, hands down, the worst movie I've ever seen. Why? Ok, 1st, the storyline was trash. A penguin is born, and in this ridiculous world the producers threw together, penguins are supposed to sing.(what?) But mumble, the penguin, dances instead.(what?) So then he get thrown out of the village and he is somehow compelled to tell humans to stop stealing their fish.(what?) So to ensure the story made even less sense, they threw in characters like lovelace, who have nothing to do with the story at all. Oh, and he gets choked later(Wha-a-a-at?). But to ensure the film was even stupider, they bring you non-animated humans in an animated movie. Nice job, I bet you could get a nick jr. liscense with that! Oh yeah, and the humans dance at the end.(What the-!?) Did that make any sense to you? I bet it didn't. It attempted to be funny, but no. The only remotely funny, or entertaining part at that, were the Spanish penguins. And they lasted about 1/8 of the movie. Come on! So with that information, stay away from this movie, or prepare to have 2 hours (or less) of your life to get sucked out of you. I'll go lay down now. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
SegumiO.Dec 8, 2006
I actually regretted taking my 5 and 4 year-olds to see this movie. There were several things I found rather disturbing about this movie. It had way too much sexual innuendos for a "kids movie". I was glad my kids were not old enough to I actually regretted taking my 5 and 4 year-olds to see this movie. There were several things I found rather disturbing about this movie. It had way too much sexual innuendos for a "kids movie". I was glad my kids were not old enough to fully understand what was going on. There is a scene where a guru-like penguin named "Lovelace" retires to his quarters with a harem of females to... uh, read (I hope). I was also disturbed by the racial stereotyping. I would like to give the benefit of doubt to the producers and think that they were trying to show different ethnic groups tolerating each other and getting along in harmony. But it just doesn't work in this movie. By having the shorter, less serious characters speak Spanish, this film actually does more injustice than good for the Hispanics. Many kids in that theater, including my own, were terrified when the sea lion and killer whales were chasing after Mumble in scenes reminiscent of Jaws. Sometimes being too realistic is not the best in a kids' movie, especially when the characters are trying to kill another. These could have been done in a much less horrifying manner (e.g. Shrek, Nemo). Seeing baby Mumble dance was cute for a while, but it gets tiring very quickly. Over half hour of singing and dancing scenes were a real challenge to sit through. The political statement they are trying to make is very poorly presented. World leaders agreeing to ban commercial fishing in Antarctica only after seeing the penguins dance?!? I still don't get the connection. Are they suggesting that only because of this neat trick the species can perform, they deserve to be conseved? Are they not worth saving otherwise? Do yourself a huge favor. Use the money to see another movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KerryMay 19, 2007
It really was stupid and inconsistent (and the tap dancing that centered around this movie even blew). I tried to shrug off my lack of enjoyment for this movie by saying "oh, it's just for very little kids," but there are STRANGE sexualIt really was stupid and inconsistent (and the tap dancing that centered around this movie even blew). I tried to shrug off my lack of enjoyment for this movie by saying "oh, it's just for very little kids," but there are STRANGE sexual scenes throughout the movie, including lines like "I'll make love you too" or "i need your body from dusk till dawn" or even this uncomfortable scene when the main character dirty dances with another penguin, and another penguin retires for the evening for an implied orgy. WHAT WERE THEY THINKING!?!?!??! Don't even bring your kids to this one! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
LisaS.Jun 17, 2007
This movie was terrible!! This was advertised to be a children's movie so we sat down with our 4 year old only to find out it's loaded with sexual over tones and dark themes. As others have said the only funny part of the movie was This movie was terrible!! This was advertised to be a children's movie so we sat down with our 4 year old only to find out it's loaded with sexual over tones and dark themes. As others have said the only funny part of the movie was when Happy Feet met up with the little penguins. This movie was a huge disappointment. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
AnO.Dec 12, 2006
While Happy Feet is visually impressive it has too many flaws, and ends up only average, in my opinion. First, it's too long for a kids movie. My 3 yr. old liked it but was antsey with about 30 minutes left. The story is just too While Happy Feet is visually impressive it has too many flaws, and ends up only average, in my opinion. First, it's too long for a kids movie. My 3 yr. old liked it but was antsey with about 30 minutes left. The story is just too convoluted, and keeps going when it should've ended. Brittany Murphy can't sing very well, so I question her being cast as the female penguin whose talent everyone oohs & aaahs over (maybe she wants to start a recording career, and WB cast her to promote her?). And I have to say that casting Robin Williams to voice 2 characters as obvious racial stereotypes was misguided at best, cynical and crass at worst. What, they couldn't find any black or hispanic actors that needed work? The movie does have some good to it, however. There are scenes with real emotional resonance (where Mumbles is kicked out of the graduation day celebration and watches & sways from afar; the scene in the zoo) but ultimately they are few and far between. A simpler "be yourself" message without the quest for world salvation would have been sufficient, but regardless 30 minutes could have easily been trimmed from this without much loss. OK but not great, and I agree with others that a couple of scenes are extremely scary for younger viewers. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JudyT.Mar 28, 2007
Could have been better if they had skipped the enviornmental theme. It didn't make my feet dance because the good sequences were cut short.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
TheAnti360FoxMay 1, 2011
Visually spectacular, but Happy Feet seems to not know when to end its tedious, seemingly unending story, and thus makes itself the runt in the litter of movies that won Academy Award for Best Animated Feature.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
GrooveM.May 14, 2007
Totally GAY. this movie really blew hard! I though i was in a gay penguin bar when I heard the soundtrack (did they play "I will Survive"?). I think Robbin Williams is trying to recruit children over to the gay side. with this one. yea yea Totally GAY. this movie really blew hard! I though i was in a gay penguin bar when I heard the soundtrack (did they play "I will Survive"?). I think Robbin Williams is trying to recruit children over to the gay side. with this one. yea yea they'll say the animation was impressive, but it isn't anything we havent seen in a 100 other movies over the last 4 years; a true waste of money and time. (unless you dream of hooking up with a gay penguin boy) the footage should be burned. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MovieGuysJun 23, 2014
Happy Feet is a repetitive, annoying kids movie with a diluted message and one of Robin Williams' career worst (second to Jumanji). And if you are an adult watching this movie, I feel your pain.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
[Anonymous]Mar 30, 2007
I rate it a 6, but only because of the graphics. Otherwise, it's typical Disney childrens' fare whose"wackiness" shouldn't be mistaken for originality.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Rev.R.Dec 11, 2006
Yes, this movie is an overtly pro-environment film. Some have even extracted from its message a secondary message that is treated with equal relevance: a request that we practice tolerance toward those who are different. If they are accused Yes, this movie is an overtly pro-environment film. Some have even extracted from its message a secondary message that is treated with equal relevance: a request that we practice tolerance toward those who are different. If they are accused of "extracting" this message as an aside, then the charge is akin to a dentist spotting a broken molar and saying, "It's no big deal. I'll get to it when I first rid your mouth of pollutants with a good cleaning." Miller makes this a major issue in the flim. As a clergyperson I acknowledge that the dynamics that operate within and define a faith-based community are portrayed as the birth-mother of intolerance. The scene in the movie portraying a destructive community that exercised no care for Sir Elton John's Circle of LIfe even employs the image of a church standing high above the remains of the apathetic community. Is it a fair critique? Herein lies the value of such films: it operates on the assumption that we are intelligent, thinking people who can take criticism and determine its truthfulness and validity. Along with the large number of people in faith-based communities who feel no threat from beliefs that challenge our own, I welcome the challenge. For all who believe the enviornment is the type of issue that addresses the ability of the children in the theater to survive; and, that tolerance for those who tell us "I wish I could change but I cannot" is also important for our survival as humans who intentionally nurture and value the spiritual resource of compassion. Miller refuses to let us bury our heads in the sand (or snow). Now, while I am wrestling with the political and faith-based assertions regarding human destiny, the film presented my 3 year old granddaughter with a simple, entertaining story that is, on her level, a new twist on the "ugle ducking. Thank you George Miller for "layering" this movie for young and old, people of faith and those struggling with doubt, and people who embrace this opportunity to revisit their political views. And George, thank you for one heck of a soundtrack! I can understand (no, I can try to understand) why some will devalue this move for not going far enough, or for going too far in a chldren's movie, etc. However, throw down the gauntlet related to my beliefs, entertain my granddaughter, and fill my ears with a soundtrack fusing some of the best samplings of every genre of rock/pop/ dance and hiphop, (utilizing them in just the right places) and I'll give you a 10 because I really believe it is worth it! Maybe this Christmas we can learn to dance! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
DanielC.Jan 2, 2007
This movie falls into the okay fare but wouldn't watch it again catergory. It's story is reasonable but with many flaws. Number one, the racial sterotyping. Doesn't work. Number two, it's too long for kids, and not funny, This movie falls into the okay fare but wouldn't watch it again catergory. It's story is reasonable but with many flaws. Number one, the racial sterotyping. Doesn't work. Number two, it's too long for kids, and not funny, and rather scary. Number three and this is a the big one, the whole plot of ecological action is rushed. The movie skipped from the penguins saying how horrible it is that our fish is taken to lets stop fishing in about two seconds, the ending of this film seemed rushed and tacked on. I'm all for telling the story about how we butcher our planet as I'm a bleeding heart liberal myself, but this is the wrong place and the wrong people. You don't try and preach environmental notions to 7 year olds, they won't get it. Far better to pitch it in another movie designed for elder viewers. This movie should have been for kids, but it wasn't. Oh well. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RhinnaJ.Jan 7, 2007
Amazing!! The film was purely great and the people who didn't like it did not have a sense of humor. The movie was great and should get a ten.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CraigB.Jan 8, 2007
Absolutely charming ... with breath-taking visuals /amazing CGI. Well worth the entry fee.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
CJApr 6, 2007
The concept of a dancing penguin was interesting and quite original to say the least. Happy Feet provided laughs and tears, which most animated films are unable to do for adults. Painfully let down towards the end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Cool 3d animation musical about the life of penguins. Got Oscar, but in my opinion, Cars 3d animation was much better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
WaldoJun 18, 2009
This movie is actually pretty great- the animation is beautiful, the music is catchy, the dancing looks very fluid, and although the story feels unevenly paced (all the zaniness happens at the end) and it reaches too far, it's an This movie is actually pretty great- the animation is beautiful, the music is catchy, the dancing looks very fluid, and although the story feels unevenly paced (all the zaniness happens at the end) and it reaches too far, it's an overall great film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AngelloC.Dec 22, 2006
La mejor pelicula que habla la verdad en una forma un poco mas clara en una perspectiva muy distinta, ojala hagan mas de estas!! Nuestro Planeta lo estamos Destruyendo y nadie hace nada!!! Felicitaciones Warner Brothers hagan mas de estas!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DonW.Jan 7, 2007
Not a children's movie, no one under 12 should see this movie due to adult themes that those under 4 may not understand. I enjoyed watching dancing penquins and the enviromental slant at the end didn't bother me or detract from the Not a children's movie, no one under 12 should see this movie due to adult themes that those under 4 may not understand. I enjoyed watching dancing penquins and the enviromental slant at the end didn't bother me or detract from the good story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChadShiiraMar 12, 2007
"Happy Feet" is a kids movie; it's also a surprisingly intellectual one. When the penguin elders blame dance for a dip in the fish supply, you'll hear unmistakable echoes of irrational claims made by religious zealots who explain "Happy Feet" is a kids movie; it's also a surprisingly intellectual one. When the penguin elders blame dance for a dip in the fish supply, you'll hear unmistakable echoes of irrational claims made by religious zealots who explain some calamity as being the result of sin. "Happy Feet" also quotes "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" with clever subtlety. Music is used to communicate with the extra-terrestrials in the Spielberg film, but it's dance that is used here to "talk" with the "aliens". Mumble(Elijah Wood) is a prophet(dance is used here as the gospel, or perhaps, Esperanto expressed in a kinetic form) of sorts; rather than speak in tongues, he speaks with his feet to communicate with a higher being. Interestingly, the religion(or organized paganism) in this penguin society is secular music(although Queen's "Somebody to Love" has distinct gospel overtones). Popular song is the text that's followed by the flightless orthodox. These birds are godless Bacchanal heathens who bump and grind to salacious Prince songs. You know, maybe this isn't a kids' movie after all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MaxK.Apr 29, 2007
Happy Feet is a very weird and dark film, notably the scenes where Mumble is locked in a zoo, and looses his mind, then throws fish at wall, and where Mumbles father Nemphis goes: "there hasn't been one day, not one day, that I Happy Feet is a very weird and dark film, notably the scenes where Mumble is locked in a zoo, and looses his mind, then throws fish at wall, and where Mumbles father Nemphis goes: "there hasn't been one day, not one day, that I haven't done right by you" in a dark murky cave. but, surprisingly this movie teaches some sensible depth. The movie is highly hell-bent on teaching the enviromental message of food shortage: fish for penguins becoming lesser abd lesser each day, its nice to see that in a kids cartoon venture. Packed with hot musical numbers, and exceptional computer animation, Happy Feet will dazzle all kids and parents alike with its sensible depth and nice music songs and animation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarkMay 20, 2007
I personally loved this movie. It has amazing animation, top notch voice talent and well placed and enjoyable dance numbers But it also has some darker themes but these i think go very well with the movie. One of the best reviews that i read I personally loved this movie. It has amazing animation, top notch voice talent and well placed and enjoyable dance numbers But it also has some darker themes but these i think go very well with the movie. One of the best reviews that i read about this movie is that its a portayal of "penguin hell" basically. Sure we all know what conservation issues look to humans... because well we are humans. But this movie has an interesting perspective and has a conservation issue (in this case overfishing) from the point of view from the penguins. Throughout the movie you can see examples of this. For example, mumble's disbelief when he discoveres some trash floating in the ocean. "the aliens must be here... i mean why would they leave all of this behind?" Ive read a lot of reviews about this movie, and the main points of them not liking it are: *The main antagonist may have people thinking that this movie is attacking religion *There are at 2 kinda scary scenes that might not be suitable for little little kids, but then again this movie is rated PG for a reason *People think that just because this movie is trying to make people aware of conservation issues that it automatically sucks. It doesn't. *People are suprised at the somewhat darker themes that are portrayed in the movie, when they thought they were going to see a happy little movie about dancing penguins. I kinda agree that the movies was kinda incorrectly advertised, but i enjoyed it more this way. Overall, walk into this movie with an open mind, and try to enjoy it. If you cannot possibly like it then fine. But just know that this movie does have a 77 here on metacritic, a 75 on rotten tomatoes, and both translate to "favorable reviews". Give the movie a chance, thats all anyone can ask. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LindseyLJul 12, 2007
This movie was adorable! Although advertised for children, there are catchy lines that keep adults laughing, and children dancing in their seats. The song choice, at large catering to the adults, were hilarious selections, and it's plot This movie was adorable! Although advertised for children, there are catchy lines that keep adults laughing, and children dancing in their seats. The song choice, at large catering to the adults, were hilarious selections, and it's plot appeals to all ages. I took my four year old to see the movie and he loved it, kids don't lie. As far as sexual comments, first of all, these comments were not very recognizable to most and certainly not children and second, what movie does not have sexual suggestions? Not many. And third, what kind of people really allow these comments to cloud the rest of the brilliant animation? Come on, are you nuns? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
guy!Aug 12, 2007
Great movie. It's like a broadway musical animated into a movie by warner brothers. Like my brother said though, these penguins really are, "Sex-demons".
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidEDec 2, 2009
You should see Happy Feet--not only because it's stupendous, but also because it features the best dancing you'll see on the screen this year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
krissOct 29, 2009
Oka...soo this is far by the best animated movie I've ever seen or possibly the best movie I've ever seen. To my opinion, everything in this movie fits perfectly. There's not one part that I didn't like. I love everything Oka...soo this is far by the best animated movie I've ever seen or possibly the best movie I've ever seen. To my opinion, everything in this movie fits perfectly. There's not one part that I didn't like. I love everything from the sound effects, visual effects, music, comedy, romance, voice acting, and even the penguins itself. I actually thought over the hedge was great but it doesn't compare to happy feet. The only thing that bugs me is that stupid movie Surfs up!...I mean, it was obviously copied from happy feet (the penguins) and what kind of penguin surfs anyway? Its just plain stupid to me....so to keep this short, happy feet is just perfection...I fell sorry for those people that don't actually like it...but then again...its there opinion...but I still don't know what's going on in there heads. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
nickjSep 13, 2009
An extremely well made movie. It is the best Warner Bros. animation of all time. Maybe I have a soft spot because I am a tap dancer, but this movie really touched me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarcC.Dec 10, 2006
Spectacular animation and a wonderful movie - the song and dance numbers are great for young and old alike.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Dec 18, 2006
You've got to give this to us Americans: we may be polarized as never before on war, politics and religion, and completely unable to come to a consensus on who the most deserving Survivor or American Idol is...but we sure do love us You've got to give this to us Americans: we may be polarized as never before on war, politics and religion, and completely unable to come to a consensus on who the most deserving Survivor or American Idol is...but we sure do love us some penguins! (Put Chilly Willy atop the Christmas tree on the lawn of a public school or government office, and I'd wager that even the ACLU will keep is mitts off.) George Miller's strange-but-charming Happy Feet theorizes that if a papa penguin drops the egg, it won't kill the chick inside, as was so fervently, memorably anfd heartwrenchingly noted in March of the Penguins...it'll just rattle his innards, turning him into a mildly eccentric potential social outcast who can't sing like the rest of his breed, but can shake his tail feathers like Fred, Ginger AND Bojangles! Had Miller willingly agreed to jettison the quirkiness he brought to the money-losing Babe: Pig in the City (which nevertheless shot it to Number One on at least one major critic's Best Of list) and dispensed with the social/environmental messages altogether, he undoubtedly would've had an even bigger and more surefire box office smash...so let's all be grateful that Miller listened to HIS heartsong. And unlike all those pushy CGI-fests of the last few years that obnoxiously show off their pop culture smarts (meaning that their makers watch the same TV shows and listen to the same CDs as most of the audience) by shoehorning in hit songs just to score easy jokes and points, Happy Feet ingeniously and endearingly makes them Necessary To The Plot. (And let's not hear anymore about the movie's scary sequences, involving predatory sea lions and other dangers, rendering it unsuitable for most kids. They endured Bambi's mother's death, Dumbo's painful separation from HIS mother, and Simba's extended scene with his father's corpse with very little discernible internal damage. I rest my case.) Elijah Wood, voicing Mumble, displays more animation working behind the microphone than he did in all three Lord of the Rings movies (although Rugrats' E. G. Daily, providing his younger voice, helps immeasurably); Hugh Jackman is surprisingly overbearing as his dad, but Brittany Murphy (Little Black Book, Just Married), as Mumble's childhood friend with the potential to become Something More is even more surprisingly charming...and Robin Williams, playing two roles, is doubly-surprisingly bearable in both. The movie's warmheartedness does a lot to compensate for its somewhat shaky final half-hour, when it shifts gears from being a very imaginative variant on Chicken Little's outcast-gains-acceptance-AND-learns-to-love himself scenario and moves on to bigger issues, transforming rather abruptly ino An Inconvenient Truth: The Junior Edition. Not that Miller hasn't inserted a few clues beforehand, or that the message (you can't really help others, on an individual or group basis, unless you learn to accept yourself first) ISN'T valuable or valid...but Mumble's hero's journey to to convince us humans to quit depriving them of all the fish necessary for their sustenance is flawed from a basic storytelling rather than a thematic viewpoint; it has a tendency to zigzag from point A to point Q while skipping Points B through P altogether. (I was reminded of certain TV comedy skits where the heroic canine, running to get help, barks for about thirty seconds and the strangers he's communicating with deduce that the sawmill's on fire, the heroine is tied to the railroad tracks AND the mortgage is overdue!) Nevertheless, Mumble gets his message across because, of course he IS a dancing penguin, and if dancing penguins can get us to spend more ticket money on them than on James Bond week after week, then they're certainly capable of convincing us of anything! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MiguelG.Dec 20, 2006
Very entertaining and moving as well. Beautiful animation for adults who have ever taken an unpopular stance, like nature documentaries or are enviromentally concious.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HollyBDec 30, 2006
Very enjoyable film for anyone, not just for kids. And those who are rating this movie low because they feel it is too political are just out to lunch. The only thing this movie asks is for people to consider the effect that human actions Very enjoyable film for anyone, not just for kids. And those who are rating this movie low because they feel it is too political are just out to lunch. The only thing this movie asks is for people to consider the effect that human actions are having on the other creatures on our planet. Other than that, it's message is all about accepting and being yourself. Either way, great messages for the whole family! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KareyP.Jan 18, 2007
What a wonderful movie. I almost forgot it was animated!! My 2 yr old son never moved a muscle during the movie and he left the theater dancing!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PataretaJan 25, 2007
I loved the movie. Was it ever labeled as a kids movie? I'm not saying it should or shouldn't be, but I don't agree with the critics that say the movie has deep matters. I really enjoyed it, personally considered it very I loved the movie. Was it ever labeled as a kids movie? I'm not saying it should or shouldn't be, but I don't agree with the critics that say the movie has deep matters. I really enjoyed it, personally considered it very funny, very well done animation (at times it looked almost real), excellent music, touching and very sweet. I loved the way they mixed animation and reality at the end. Great movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CrystalW.Mar 26, 2007
It was great how stupid the humans were and there was an ironic message that people wont help an endangered species unless they do something novel for us.. .like tapdance. It isnt meant to attack religion, and the "sexuality" is not in a It was great how stupid the humans were and there was an ironic message that people wont help an endangered species unless they do something novel for us.. .like tapdance. It isnt meant to attack religion, and the "sexuality" is not in a form that is understandable until prepubescent years so get over it, it was meant to make the adults giggle. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SamuelAJul 19, 2008
I enjoyed the movie, it did not seem rational in the least bit but entertaining nonetheless. I do however have a question for all you who did watch this movie with such scrutiny, what does ramon mouth at the end of the movie once they are I enjoyed the movie, it did not seem rational in the least bit but entertaining nonetheless. I do however have a question for all you who did watch this movie with such scrutiny, what does ramon mouth at the end of the movie once they are done singing? at the very end once the song and dance is done ramon says something under his breath. I was just curious to see if anyone knew. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MikeWDec 5, 2009
I thought it was pretty good, if you just looking for laughs, this isn't the best movie. Its more like one of the old Disney classics, that focuses on the story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RussellL-HNov 28, 2006
Yuk. My children fell asleep in this overly long, overly preachy, confusing mess of a movie. It couldn't decide what it wanted to be or what it wanted to say. Don't go!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TomasD.Dec 15, 2006
I loved this movie very much as i enjoyed it with my kids. Truly a movie for the whole family.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShalandaVNov 24, 2009
Midnight creeps so slowly into hearts of those men who need more than they get Daylight deals a bad hand to a woman Who that has laid too many bets The mirror stares you in the face And says, "Baby, uh, uh, uh, it don't work!" You say Midnight creeps so slowly into hearts of those men who need more than they get Daylight deals a bad hand to a woman Who that has laid too many bets The mirror stares you in the face And says, "Baby, uh, uh, uh, it don't work!" You say your prayers though you don't care you sing, you dance and shake the hurt Dance! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
sreekiranFeb 19, 2011
the movie is really food and can bring a lot of entertainment. the first half is pleasant. the second half is gripping with some strong script. the climax is perfect. somwhere the humans and penguins sequences are trimmed. so i give only 8.the movie is really food and can bring a lot of entertainment. the first half is pleasant. the second half is gripping with some strong script. the climax is perfect. somwhere the humans and penguins sequences are trimmed. so i give only 8. otherwise movie would have got 10/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Nov 3, 2010
awesome movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
InfamousPrinceJan 13, 2011
Definitely amazing movie, and definitely deserved an Academy Award for Best Animated Feature. One of the best animated movies in the past 5 years. Deserves the highest rating.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MichaelDAug 14, 2011
The movie was good. Not the best animated movie I ever seen but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I wouldn't recommend it to everyone but anyone from 7-13 years old would like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RogerSmith97Feb 21, 2011
What A Great Childrens Movie! Sooo Sooo Sooo Cute! :) The Voices Are Perfect....
The Best Movie Of 2006! The Drawings Are Just So Beautiful!
If You Have Not Seen This You Should....
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ImogenDulieu987Oct 30, 2011
thisisagreatfilmireallyenjoyeditandboughtitondvdthedayitcameoutbecauseitwasagoodfilmsowatchitassoonasyoubuythedvdithasalotofgreatscenesinitandihavealotoffavouritecharacterslikeisaiedbeforeitwasag-reatfilm.thatisallihavetosaysogoodbyeandgoodluthisisagreatfilmireallyenjoyeditandboughtitondvdthedayitcameoutbecauseitwasagoodfilmsowatchitassoonasyoubuythedvdithasalotofgreatscenesinitandihavealotoffavouritecharacterslikeisaiedbeforeitwasag-reatfilm.thatisallihavetosaysogoodbyeandgoodluckreadingthis!!! Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
1
Psyco6Mar 18, 2012
This movie has an amazing cast ,but the movie itself is bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
moviefan11Aug 28, 2012
lovley film......................................................................................................................................................
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JeffDec 1, 2006
The best movie of the year! I was shocked at how good this was. Went in thinking it would just be mindless entertainment and I would have a good time, but wow, did not I not expect this to thrill me as much as it did. Must See of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaL.Nov 29, 2006
Fabulous movie -- a truly heartwarming tale, and a uniquely rendered one at that. Great for adults and kids alike. You must see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamB.Nov 20, 2006
A friend and I took our kids to see this movie, ranging in age from 2-13. We laughed more than the kids did! We (the adults) loved the music, dancing, and the story, but there was enough action and humor for the kids too! This is a fun movie A friend and I took our kids to see this movie, ranging in age from 2-13. We laughed more than the kids did! We (the adults) loved the music, dancing, and the story, but there was enough action and humor for the kids too! This is a fun movie -the most entertaining animated flick to come out in a while. And the visuals are stunning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DillonH.Nov 27, 2006
The commercials were very misleading. They made the penguins seem cute and psychotic like the ones from Madagascar. In reality, this movie was just a two hour snore-fest that was pieced together and was full of many plot gaps.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesL.Nov 30, 2006
Happy Feet presents a synergistic combination of compelling visuals and a Broadway musical-quality soundtrack that sets it apart from other animated films in the last few years. I left the movie wishing to hear more of the Spanish adaptation Happy Feet presents a synergistic combination of compelling visuals and a Broadway musical-quality soundtrack that sets it apart from other animated films in the last few years. I left the movie wishing to hear more of the Spanish adaptation of Frank Sinatra's My Way. Like an Emily Bronte novel, just when it seems the movie is ending, a new plot develops and spares the viewers from wishing the movie would keep going. The plot twists can be disorienting, from child penguin outcast growing up to a celebratory homecoming to one penguin overcoming the odds to save his species from the human world. The movie's message of Save the Penguins seems to be a natural outgrowth of the need for dramatic tension other than romantic love interest that characterizes nearly every other animated film in existence. The main message seems to be that one talented and determined penguin can change the world, not that we should stop fishing in the the Antarctic. While some viewers may be disturbed by Happy Feet's play on stereotypes, part of this film's auditory delight is distinguishing the tones of tap dance, fabulous singing voices, and a multitude of dialects that include Latino American, Black American, Scottish, Eastern European, New York Italian, Jamaican, and young child. Happy Feet is a delightful film. This reviewer is waiting anxiously for the release of the original soundtrack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasM.Nov 30, 2006
The first 20 minutes or so play out like an overblown Coca-Cola commercial in winter, with penguins showing off their vocals and main penguin Mumble starting to get his dance on. Once he meets the greatly entertaining Adelai penguins The first 20 minutes or so play out like an overblown Coca-Cola commercial in winter, with penguins showing off their vocals and main penguin Mumble starting to get his dance on. Once he meets the greatly entertaining Adelai penguins (including a surprisingly non-annoying Robin Williams), the story kicks into high gear and doesn't go back. The action is kept suspenseful with smart cuts and editing, and the penguin cast is alive in both CGI and wit. Concerning the eco-friendly message: I didn't feel there was anything harsh or unreasonable about the movie's Green message. Is it wrong to tell children that overfishing penguins' food harms their survival? It's a rather safe position. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CharlesH.Dec 3, 2006
I love animation, but Happy Feet was shallow, poorly written, and it's sound was the worst I've heard on any film in a decade; slurred and indecipherable. What junk!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CarolC.Dec 3, 2006
20 mintutes into the film, my 4 year old daughter asked, "Mommy, are you sure this is Happy Feet? It's so sad." There was no connection or empathy for the characters, and the storyline was all over the place. There's not a lot to 20 mintutes into the film, my 4 year old daughter asked, "Mommy, are you sure this is Happy Feet? It's so sad." There was no connection or empathy for the characters, and the storyline was all over the place. There's not a lot to be happy about in "Happy Feet". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaisyD.Dec 6, 2006
It is the best animation movie ever! The soundtrack is great and Robin Williams is fantastic and very funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JPPaxNov 18, 2006
2006 has turned out to be the year for digital animation. From talking cars to suburban turned forest animals it seems like we've almost seen it all
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EricY.Nov 19, 2006
I thought that the animation was cool. The story was very weak... I get tired of being preached to at the movies. It seems that many of the kids movies that come out have a political message embedded in them. (Ice Age 2--global warming, I thought that the animation was cool. The story was very weak... I get tired of being preached to at the movies. It seems that many of the kids movies that come out have a political message embedded in them. (Ice Age 2--global warming, Happy Feet--humans steal all of the fish from the seas and the poor penguins don't have any food left) Just entertain the kids! They will have time to worry about all that junk later! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MaggieNov 22, 2006
What a waste of time. The art was great but the plot was both silly and boring. Apparently we humans are all ugly, selfish, world-destroying demons who can be taught to love the environment by watching penguins tap dance. Oh, and if you are What a waste of time. The art was great but the plot was both silly and boring. Apparently we humans are all ugly, selfish, world-destroying demons who can be taught to love the environment by watching penguins tap dance. Oh, and if you are even the tiniest bit religious, you will hate the faith-bashing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Mr.CotterNov 25, 2006
What a disappointment. Don't believe the critics' reviews, this is absolutely awful. I enjoy most animated movies and see all of them, but this was by far the worst.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LuisG.Nov 25, 2006
Wondering when talkin animals with finally hit bottom there I was watching HAPPY FEET is visually stunning a bit too long, preachy but then I think it's needed , my younger brother loved it. Nice themes--self worth, independance and Wondering when talkin animals with finally hit bottom there I was watching HAPPY FEET is visually stunning a bit too long, preachy but then I think it's needed , my younger brother loved it. Nice themes--self worth, independance and being resilient.--Happy Feet kept it cool . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BarryS.Nov 25, 2006
This movie is really not good, in spite of what some professional reviewers wrote. My kids were bored. There is almost no story line. The music is sort of fun, but the environmental message is very heavy-handed and the story line is This movie is really not good, in spite of what some professional reviewers wrote. My kids were bored. There is almost no story line. The music is sort of fun, but the environmental message is very heavy-handed and the story line is extremely disconnected. In the car on the way home my kids said, "That didn't make sense" and proceeded to ask me questions like "Why did he do this?" and "Why did that happen?" Also as a parent I was not happy about some of the mildly explicit sexual innuendo in the film. The Prince lyrics, the Rap lyrics, Robin Williams taking his harem to have sex with them and saying, "Ok ladies, who's first?" Personally, I want less environmental preaching and less sexual desensitization in these kid's movies. I would not recommend this show to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobH.Nov 26, 2006
Yet another CGI kids film. Each new one they churn out goes through the exact same formula. One of which being the cast. For some reason Hollywood think that having really famous actors who haven't done voice work before will be good in Yet another CGI kids film. Each new one they churn out goes through the exact same formula. One of which being the cast. For some reason Hollywood think that having really famous actors who haven't done voice work before will be good in these roles. It seems like each new CGI animated film that comes out, each one is trying to best the other in terms of cast. They play "Who's got the biggest number of celebrities?" and the one with the most usually gets the biggest box office gross. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RayH.Nov 27, 2006
I saw this with all of my cousins. The youngest is four and the oldest was thirteen. The other adults in my family also came with. We saw this movie thinking it would be at least somewhat funny. My four year old cousin and my six year old I saw this with all of my cousins. The youngest is four and the oldest was thirteen. The other adults in my family also came with. We saw this movie thinking it would be at least somewhat funny. My four year old cousin and my six year old cousin, the audience the film was aimed at, FELL ASLEEP!!! The script was awful, the plot was pointless, and came from a definite tree- hugger. The only somewhat funny parts in the movie were Robbin williams' character and his friends. Overall I thought this movie was terrible and a waste of five bucks!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyBNov 29, 2006
This is simply one of the best films of the year, an animated masterpiece. Looking over some of the comments below, I find myself wondering what prompted these people to see the film in the first place, and why must some people look for This is simply one of the best films of the year, an animated masterpiece. Looking over some of the comments below, I find myself wondering what prompted these people to see the film in the first place, and why must some people look for symbols and agendas, hidden and overt, all over the place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JadaG.Dec 1, 2006
Robin Williams makes the film for me. If it wasn't for his obvoius though humorous jokes, I would have been a little board. This is not just a cartoon. It is a little opera mixed within the cartoon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MattSDec 1, 2006
An absolutely misguided affair. Whoever said "don't trust the critics" is the only one right, here. The movie has its moments, but they are few and far between. The "save the penguins" message, while admirable, comes out of left field An absolutely misguided affair. Whoever said "don't trust the critics" is the only one right, here. The movie has its moments, but they are few and far between. The "save the penguins" message, while admirable, comes out of left field and seems to be ripped from another movie. By the finale, the film is so morbid and trite, it's almost surreal. Avoid! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TomM.Dec 4, 2006
The kids seemed to like it but there is not much in it for growups.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TiC.Dec 5, 2006
Odd, but fun. Definitely not predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessieHDec 7, 2006
Unfortunately, for all of you who believe that this is a
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ML.Nov 18, 2006
This movie is not good at all. Not that funny, especially if you aren't a Robin Williams fan. But, even if you are, most of the rest of the story will drain the fun out of this film. The whole last 40 mins is depressing, and just plain This movie is not good at all. Not that funny, especially if you aren't a Robin Williams fan. But, even if you are, most of the rest of the story will drain the fun out of this film. The whole last 40 mins is depressing, and just plain stupid. The music is good. But other than that, it was a poor film. My 4 year old son wanted to leave 30 mins in... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MaggieS.Nov 22, 2006
The movie has some cute parts but disappointing overall. I just wish hollywood would entertain and not preach.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidC.Nov 25, 2006
The movie was great. Those who don't want to be preached at in movies should do something about global warming and environmental devastation in their lives then the movies would not have to bring it to the surface.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MDNov 27, 2006
Well, I thought it was going to be a cute happy little kids' flick, but little did I know that I was going to have preachy political messages crammed down my throat. It isn't that I necessarily disagree with all of the messages Well, I thought it was going to be a cute happy little kids' flick, but little did I know that I was going to have preachy political messages crammed down my throat. It isn't that I necessarily disagree with all of the messages that the movie is trying to preach to us, in fact, I agree with the majority of them. The problem is HOW they did it. How they did it was actually rather offensive and heavy-handed. I felt like they were forcing ideas on me and overtly trying to manipulate me into thinking a certain way. As well, they used strange stereotyping that seemed unnecessary and just wrong somehow. Like, why were some of the penguins Mexican? Weird. And how come the leader of the penguins had a strong Irish brogue and all of the rigid penguin leaders seemed kind of like they were penguin Catholic priests? What point were they trying to make by using stereotypes in this way? That religion is bad? That people who are accepting are latino? Strange. And did you need to use these specific stereotypes to make the point you were trying to make? I felt like I was watching one of the newer Star Wars movies, and expected Jar Jar Binks to show up in one of the scenes... And, frankly, all of these stereotypes and political messages changed the movie from being a movie into being a diatribe. The movie stopped being a cute kids movie about a penguin with special tap-dancing skills who wants to be accepted, and started being a vehicle for the movie-maker's political propaganda. Tell a story OR share your opinion--when you try to pretend like you are telling a story when really you are shoving your views on others, it is dishonest and irritating. And, for a children's movie, it was awfully sexual. Yes, I know, much of the movie revolves around mating, but really, some of this stuff was just too adult for children. And just for the record, I am politically pretty liberal, but when watching this movie, I felt like I was being bashed with a liberal propaganda stick so hard that it almost made me want to say, fish all you want, you eco-destroying trawlers! When you push your views so hard that people already on your side want to get away from you, I don't think you have relayed your messages in the best way possible, eh? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
branh.Nov 28, 2006
I'd give this movie an 8 for ambition, but a 3 for execution. The film has 2 agendas, one of which reviewers and audience members alike seem to have totally missed. The first is the well-recognized eco-agenda that shows up in the last I'd give this movie an 8 for ambition, but a 3 for execution. The film has 2 agendas, one of which reviewers and audience members alike seem to have totally missed. The first is the well-recognized eco-agenda that shows up in the last 30 minutes of the movie (practically out of the blue) and which, though creatively and compellingly handled initially, is ridiculously resolved in the closure of the film. The second, which is both the one that is missed and the one that drives the film's plot, is Mumble's personal storyline - which is a very thinly veiled metaphor about the experience of coming out and seeking community acceptance as a gay man. Mumble is "different" from birth, he's inherently happy (read: gay) about who he is and doesn't mind his difference at all, he is rejected by his community and his father particularly, and finds a new community with sassy, brassy, carefree, dancing, party animals who appear to lack serious convictions about major life issues (a metaphor for the gay bar scene). I like that the gay agenda is presented in such honest and matter-of-fact terms and think that the movie could've been a wonderful one had the filmmakers simplified their presentation around that, but the rest of the movie is just so confused and sloppy - once the eco-agenda is added in to the picture, and issues of madness and depression are thrown in, as well as various religious/metaphystical issues... Well, the movie just gets totally confused, loses its momentum, and, as a result, can't support it's story nor it's twin agendas very effectively. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful