Village Roadshow Entertainment | Release Date: November 17, 2006
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 286 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
158
Mixed:
54
Negative:
74
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ZestovAug 5, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am gonna give this a 10/10. I absolutely love this movie! It is my all time favorite animated feature and has been since I first saw it when it came out. However I do find some things that don't make a lot of sense. Like how did Gloria manage to find Mumble and the Amigos after Mumble was thrown out of Emperor Land? They are in Adelie land and during the seal chase Mumble went through water to find them so either there is a different route they took and she just followed their tracks or she was right behind them but if she was you would think they would have noticed they were being followed long before they did. I would not normally bother to nit pick things like this in such an awesome movie but details to clarify some things are important sometimes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Rev.R.Dec 11, 2006
Yes, this movie is an overtly pro-environment film. Some have even extracted from its message a secondary message that is treated with equal relevance: a request that we practice tolerance toward those who are different. If they are accused Yes, this movie is an overtly pro-environment film. Some have even extracted from its message a secondary message that is treated with equal relevance: a request that we practice tolerance toward those who are different. If they are accused of "extracting" this message as an aside, then the charge is akin to a dentist spotting a broken molar and saying, "It's no big deal. I'll get to it when I first rid your mouth of pollutants with a good cleaning." Miller makes this a major issue in the flim. As a clergyperson I acknowledge that the dynamics that operate within and define a faith-based community are portrayed as the birth-mother of intolerance. The scene in the movie portraying a destructive community that exercised no care for Sir Elton John's Circle of LIfe even employs the image of a church standing high above the remains of the apathetic community. Is it a fair critique? Herein lies the value of such films: it operates on the assumption that we are intelligent, thinking people who can take criticism and determine its truthfulness and validity. Along with the large number of people in faith-based communities who feel no threat from beliefs that challenge our own, I welcome the challenge. For all who believe the enviornment is the type of issue that addresses the ability of the children in the theater to survive; and, that tolerance for those who tell us "I wish I could change but I cannot" is also important for our survival as humans who intentionally nurture and value the spiritual resource of compassion. Miller refuses to let us bury our heads in the sand (or snow). Now, while I am wrestling with the political and faith-based assertions regarding human destiny, the film presented my 3 year old granddaughter with a simple, entertaining story that is, on her level, a new twist on the "ugle ducking. Thank you George Miller for "layering" this movie for young and old, people of faith and those struggling with doubt, and people who embrace this opportunity to revisit their political views. And George, thank you for one heck of a soundtrack! I can understand (no, I can try to understand) why some will devalue this move for not going far enough, or for going too far in a chldren's movie, etc. However, throw down the gauntlet related to my beliefs, entertain my granddaughter, and fill my ears with a soundtrack fusing some of the best samplings of every genre of rock/pop/ dance and hiphop, (utilizing them in just the right places) and I'll give you a 10 because I really believe it is worth it! Maybe this Christmas we can learn to dance! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RhinnaJ.Jan 7, 2007
Amazing!! The film was purely great and the people who didn't like it did not have a sense of humor. The movie was great and should get a ten.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CraigB.Jan 8, 2007
Absolutely charming ... with breath-taking visuals /amazing CGI. Well worth the entry fee.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
CJApr 6, 2007
The concept of a dancing penguin was interesting and quite original to say the least. Happy Feet provided laughs and tears, which most animated films are unable to do for adults. Painfully let down towards the end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Cool 3d animation musical about the life of penguins. Got Oscar, but in my opinion, Cars 3d animation was much better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
WaldoJun 18, 2009
This movie is actually pretty great- the animation is beautiful, the music is catchy, the dancing looks very fluid, and although the story feels unevenly paced (all the zaniness happens at the end) and it reaches too far, it's an This movie is actually pretty great- the animation is beautiful, the music is catchy, the dancing looks very fluid, and although the story feels unevenly paced (all the zaniness happens at the end) and it reaches too far, it's an overall great film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AngelloC.Dec 22, 2006
La mejor pelicula que habla la verdad en una forma un poco mas clara en una perspectiva muy distinta, ojala hagan mas de estas!! Nuestro Planeta lo estamos Destruyendo y nadie hace nada!!! Felicitaciones Warner Brothers hagan mas de estas!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DonW.Jan 7, 2007
Not a children's movie, no one under 12 should see this movie due to adult themes that those under 4 may not understand. I enjoyed watching dancing penquins and the enviromental slant at the end didn't bother me or detract from the Not a children's movie, no one under 12 should see this movie due to adult themes that those under 4 may not understand. I enjoyed watching dancing penquins and the enviromental slant at the end didn't bother me or detract from the good story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChadShiiraMar 12, 2007
"Happy Feet" is a kids movie; it's also a surprisingly intellectual one. When the penguin elders blame dance for a dip in the fish supply, you'll hear unmistakable echoes of irrational claims made by religious zealots who explain "Happy Feet" is a kids movie; it's also a surprisingly intellectual one. When the penguin elders blame dance for a dip in the fish supply, you'll hear unmistakable echoes of irrational claims made by religious zealots who explain some calamity as being the result of sin. "Happy Feet" also quotes "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" with clever subtlety. Music is used to communicate with the extra-terrestrials in the Spielberg film, but it's dance that is used here to "talk" with the "aliens". Mumble(Elijah Wood) is a prophet(dance is used here as the gospel, or perhaps, Esperanto expressed in a kinetic form) of sorts; rather than speak in tongues, he speaks with his feet to communicate with a higher being. Interestingly, the religion(or organized paganism) in this penguin society is secular music(although Queen's "Somebody to Love" has distinct gospel overtones). Popular song is the text that's followed by the flightless orthodox. These birds are godless Bacchanal heathens who bump and grind to salacious Prince songs. You know, maybe this isn't a kids' movie after all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MaxK.Apr 29, 2007
Happy Feet is a very weird and dark film, notably the scenes where Mumble is locked in a zoo, and looses his mind, then throws fish at wall, and where Mumbles father Nemphis goes: "there hasn't been one day, not one day, that I Happy Feet is a very weird and dark film, notably the scenes where Mumble is locked in a zoo, and looses his mind, then throws fish at wall, and where Mumbles father Nemphis goes: "there hasn't been one day, not one day, that I haven't done right by you" in a dark murky cave. but, surprisingly this movie teaches some sensible depth. The movie is highly hell-bent on teaching the enviromental message of food shortage: fish for penguins becoming lesser abd lesser each day, its nice to see that in a kids cartoon venture. Packed with hot musical numbers, and exceptional computer animation, Happy Feet will dazzle all kids and parents alike with its sensible depth and nice music songs and animation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarkMay 20, 2007
I personally loved this movie. It has amazing animation, top notch voice talent and well placed and enjoyable dance numbers But it also has some darker themes but these i think go very well with the movie. One of the best reviews that i read I personally loved this movie. It has amazing animation, top notch voice talent and well placed and enjoyable dance numbers But it also has some darker themes but these i think go very well with the movie. One of the best reviews that i read about this movie is that its a portayal of "penguin hell" basically. Sure we all know what conservation issues look to humans... because well we are humans. But this movie has an interesting perspective and has a conservation issue (in this case overfishing) from the point of view from the penguins. Throughout the movie you can see examples of this. For example, mumble's disbelief when he discoveres some trash floating in the ocean. "the aliens must be here... i mean why would they leave all of this behind?" Ive read a lot of reviews about this movie, and the main points of them not liking it are: *The main antagonist may have people thinking that this movie is attacking religion *There are at 2 kinda scary scenes that might not be suitable for little little kids, but then again this movie is rated PG for a reason *People think that just because this movie is trying to make people aware of conservation issues that it automatically sucks. It doesn't. *People are suprised at the somewhat darker themes that are portrayed in the movie, when they thought they were going to see a happy little movie about dancing penguins. I kinda agree that the movies was kinda incorrectly advertised, but i enjoyed it more this way. Overall, walk into this movie with an open mind, and try to enjoy it. If you cannot possibly like it then fine. But just know that this movie does have a 77 here on metacritic, a 75 on rotten tomatoes, and both translate to "favorable reviews". Give the movie a chance, thats all anyone can ask. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LindseyLJul 12, 2007
This movie was adorable! Although advertised for children, there are catchy lines that keep adults laughing, and children dancing in their seats. The song choice, at large catering to the adults, were hilarious selections, and it's plot This movie was adorable! Although advertised for children, there are catchy lines that keep adults laughing, and children dancing in their seats. The song choice, at large catering to the adults, were hilarious selections, and it's plot appeals to all ages. I took my four year old to see the movie and he loved it, kids don't lie. As far as sexual comments, first of all, these comments were not very recognizable to most and certainly not children and second, what movie does not have sexual suggestions? Not many. And third, what kind of people really allow these comments to cloud the rest of the brilliant animation? Come on, are you nuns? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
guy!Aug 12, 2007
Great movie. It's like a broadway musical animated into a movie by warner brothers. Like my brother said though, these penguins really are, "Sex-demons".
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidEDec 2, 2009
You should see Happy Feet--not only because it's stupendous, but also because it features the best dancing you'll see on the screen this year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
krissOct 29, 2009
Oka...soo this is far by the best animated movie I've ever seen or possibly the best movie I've ever seen. To my opinion, everything in this movie fits perfectly. There's not one part that I didn't like. I love everything Oka...soo this is far by the best animated movie I've ever seen or possibly the best movie I've ever seen. To my opinion, everything in this movie fits perfectly. There's not one part that I didn't like. I love everything from the sound effects, visual effects, music, comedy, romance, voice acting, and even the penguins itself. I actually thought over the hedge was great but it doesn't compare to happy feet. The only thing that bugs me is that stupid movie Surfs up!...I mean, it was obviously copied from happy feet (the penguins) and what kind of penguin surfs anyway? Its just plain stupid to me....so to keep this short, happy feet is just perfection...I fell sorry for those people that don't actually like it...but then again...its there opinion...but I still don't know what's going on in there heads. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
nickjSep 13, 2009
An extremely well made movie. It is the best Warner Bros. animation of all time. Maybe I have a soft spot because I am a tap dancer, but this movie really touched me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarcC.Dec 10, 2006
Spectacular animation and a wonderful movie - the song and dance numbers are great for young and old alike.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Dec 18, 2006
You've got to give this to us Americans: we may be polarized as never before on war, politics and religion, and completely unable to come to a consensus on who the most deserving Survivor or American Idol is...but we sure do love us You've got to give this to us Americans: we may be polarized as never before on war, politics and religion, and completely unable to come to a consensus on who the most deserving Survivor or American Idol is...but we sure do love us some penguins! (Put Chilly Willy atop the Christmas tree on the lawn of a public school or government office, and I'd wager that even the ACLU will keep is mitts off.) George Miller's strange-but-charming Happy Feet theorizes that if a papa penguin drops the egg, it won't kill the chick inside, as was so fervently, memorably anfd heartwrenchingly noted in March of the Penguins...it'll just rattle his innards, turning him into a mildly eccentric potential social outcast who can't sing like the rest of his breed, but can shake his tail feathers like Fred, Ginger AND Bojangles! Had Miller willingly agreed to jettison the quirkiness he brought to the money-losing Babe: Pig in the City (which nevertheless shot it to Number One on at least one major critic's Best Of list) and dispensed with the social/environmental messages altogether, he undoubtedly would've had an even bigger and more surefire box office smash...so let's all be grateful that Miller listened to HIS heartsong. And unlike all those pushy CGI-fests of the last few years that obnoxiously show off their pop culture smarts (meaning that their makers watch the same TV shows and listen to the same CDs as most of the audience) by shoehorning in hit songs just to score easy jokes and points, Happy Feet ingeniously and endearingly makes them Necessary To The Plot. (And let's not hear anymore about the movie's scary sequences, involving predatory sea lions and other dangers, rendering it unsuitable for most kids. They endured Bambi's mother's death, Dumbo's painful separation from HIS mother, and Simba's extended scene with his father's corpse with very little discernible internal damage. I rest my case.) Elijah Wood, voicing Mumble, displays more animation working behind the microphone than he did in all three Lord of the Rings movies (although Rugrats' E. G. Daily, providing his younger voice, helps immeasurably); Hugh Jackman is surprisingly overbearing as his dad, but Brittany Murphy (Little Black Book, Just Married), as Mumble's childhood friend with the potential to become Something More is even more surprisingly charming...and Robin Williams, playing two roles, is doubly-surprisingly bearable in both. The movie's warmheartedness does a lot to compensate for its somewhat shaky final half-hour, when it shifts gears from being a very imaginative variant on Chicken Little's outcast-gains-acceptance-AND-learns-to-love himself scenario and moves on to bigger issues, transforming rather abruptly ino An Inconvenient Truth: The Junior Edition. Not that Miller hasn't inserted a few clues beforehand, or that the message (you can't really help others, on an individual or group basis, unless you learn to accept yourself first) ISN'T valuable or valid...but Mumble's hero's journey to to convince us humans to quit depriving them of all the fish necessary for their sustenance is flawed from a basic storytelling rather than a thematic viewpoint; it has a tendency to zigzag from point A to point Q while skipping Points B through P altogether. (I was reminded of certain TV comedy skits where the heroic canine, running to get help, barks for about thirty seconds and the strangers he's communicating with deduce that the sawmill's on fire, the heroine is tied to the railroad tracks AND the mortgage is overdue!) Nevertheless, Mumble gets his message across because, of course he IS a dancing penguin, and if dancing penguins can get us to spend more ticket money on them than on James Bond week after week, then they're certainly capable of convincing us of anything! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MiguelG.Dec 20, 2006
Very entertaining and moving as well. Beautiful animation for adults who have ever taken an unpopular stance, like nature documentaries or are enviromentally concious.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HollyBDec 30, 2006
Very enjoyable film for anyone, not just for kids. And those who are rating this movie low because they feel it is too political are just out to lunch. The only thing this movie asks is for people to consider the effect that human actions Very enjoyable film for anyone, not just for kids. And those who are rating this movie low because they feel it is too political are just out to lunch. The only thing this movie asks is for people to consider the effect that human actions are having on the other creatures on our planet. Other than that, it's message is all about accepting and being yourself. Either way, great messages for the whole family! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KareyP.Jan 18, 2007
What a wonderful movie. I almost forgot it was animated!! My 2 yr old son never moved a muscle during the movie and he left the theater dancing!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PataretaJan 25, 2007
I loved the movie. Was it ever labeled as a kids movie? I'm not saying it should or shouldn't be, but I don't agree with the critics that say the movie has deep matters. I really enjoyed it, personally considered it very I loved the movie. Was it ever labeled as a kids movie? I'm not saying it should or shouldn't be, but I don't agree with the critics that say the movie has deep matters. I really enjoyed it, personally considered it very funny, very well done animation (at times it looked almost real), excellent music, touching and very sweet. I loved the way they mixed animation and reality at the end. Great movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CrystalW.Mar 26, 2007
It was great how stupid the humans were and there was an ironic message that people wont help an endangered species unless they do something novel for us.. .like tapdance. It isnt meant to attack religion, and the "sexuality" is not in a It was great how stupid the humans were and there was an ironic message that people wont help an endangered species unless they do something novel for us.. .like tapdance. It isnt meant to attack religion, and the "sexuality" is not in a form that is understandable until prepubescent years so get over it, it was meant to make the adults giggle. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SamuelAJul 19, 2008
I enjoyed the movie, it did not seem rational in the least bit but entertaining nonetheless. I do however have a question for all you who did watch this movie with such scrutiny, what does ramon mouth at the end of the movie once they are I enjoyed the movie, it did not seem rational in the least bit but entertaining nonetheless. I do however have a question for all you who did watch this movie with such scrutiny, what does ramon mouth at the end of the movie once they are done singing? at the very end once the song and dance is done ramon says something under his breath. I was just curious to see if anyone knew. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MikeWDec 5, 2009
I thought it was pretty good, if you just looking for laughs, this isn't the best movie. Its more like one of the old Disney classics, that focuses on the story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TomasD.Dec 15, 2006
I loved this movie very much as i enjoyed it with my kids. Truly a movie for the whole family.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShalandaVNov 24, 2009
Midnight creeps so slowly into hearts of those men who need more than they get Daylight deals a bad hand to a woman Who that has laid too many bets The mirror stares you in the face And says, "Baby, uh, uh, uh, it don't work!" You say Midnight creeps so slowly into hearts of those men who need more than they get Daylight deals a bad hand to a woman Who that has laid too many bets The mirror stares you in the face And says, "Baby, uh, uh, uh, it don't work!" You say your prayers though you don't care you sing, you dance and shake the hurt Dance! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
sreekiranFeb 19, 2011
the movie is really food and can bring a lot of entertainment. the first half is pleasant. the second half is gripping with some strong script. the climax is perfect. somwhere the humans and penguins sequences are trimmed. so i give only 8.the movie is really food and can bring a lot of entertainment. the first half is pleasant. the second half is gripping with some strong script. the climax is perfect. somwhere the humans and penguins sequences are trimmed. so i give only 8. otherwise movie would have got 10/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Nov 3, 2010
awesome movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
InfamousPrinceJan 13, 2011
Definitely amazing movie, and definitely deserved an Academy Award for Best Animated Feature. One of the best animated movies in the past 5 years. Deserves the highest rating.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MichaelDAug 14, 2011
The movie was good. Not the best animated movie I ever seen but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I wouldn't recommend it to everyone but anyone from 7-13 years old would like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RogerSmith97Feb 21, 2011
What A Great Childrens Movie! Sooo Sooo Sooo Cute! :) The Voices Are Perfect....
The Best Movie Of 2006! The Drawings Are Just So Beautiful!
If You Have Not Seen This You Should....
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ImogenDulieu987Oct 30, 2011
thisisagreatfilmireallyenjoyeditandboughtitondvdthedayitcameoutbecauseitwasagoodfilmsowatchitassoonasyoubuythedvdithasalotofgreatscenesinitandihavealotoffavouritecharacterslikeisaiedbeforeitwasag-reatfilm.thatisallihavetosaysogoodbyeandgoodluthisisagreatfilmireallyenjoyeditandboughtitondvdthedayitcameoutbecauseitwasagoodfilmsowatchitassoonasyoubuythedvdithasalotofgreatscenesinitandihavealotoffavouritecharacterslikeisaiedbeforeitwasag-reatfilm.thatisallihavetosaysogoodbyeandgoodluckreadingthis!!! Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
moviefan11Aug 28, 2012
lovley film......................................................................................................................................................
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JeffDec 1, 2006
The best movie of the year! I was shocked at how good this was. Went in thinking it would just be mindless entertainment and I would have a good time, but wow, did not I not expect this to thrill me as much as it did. Must See of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaL.Nov 29, 2006
Fabulous movie -- a truly heartwarming tale, and a uniquely rendered one at that. Great for adults and kids alike. You must see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamB.Nov 20, 2006
A friend and I took our kids to see this movie, ranging in age from 2-13. We laughed more than the kids did! We (the adults) loved the music, dancing, and the story, but there was enough action and humor for the kids too! This is a fun movie A friend and I took our kids to see this movie, ranging in age from 2-13. We laughed more than the kids did! We (the adults) loved the music, dancing, and the story, but there was enough action and humor for the kids too! This is a fun movie -the most entertaining animated flick to come out in a while. And the visuals are stunning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesL.Nov 30, 2006
Happy Feet presents a synergistic combination of compelling visuals and a Broadway musical-quality soundtrack that sets it apart from other animated films in the last few years. I left the movie wishing to hear more of the Spanish adaptation Happy Feet presents a synergistic combination of compelling visuals and a Broadway musical-quality soundtrack that sets it apart from other animated films in the last few years. I left the movie wishing to hear more of the Spanish adaptation of Frank Sinatra's My Way. Like an Emily Bronte novel, just when it seems the movie is ending, a new plot develops and spares the viewers from wishing the movie would keep going. The plot twists can be disorienting, from child penguin outcast growing up to a celebratory homecoming to one penguin overcoming the odds to save his species from the human world. The movie's message of Save the Penguins seems to be a natural outgrowth of the need for dramatic tension other than romantic love interest that characterizes nearly every other animated film in existence. The main message seems to be that one talented and determined penguin can change the world, not that we should stop fishing in the the Antarctic. While some viewers may be disturbed by Happy Feet's play on stereotypes, part of this film's auditory delight is distinguishing the tones of tap dance, fabulous singing voices, and a multitude of dialects that include Latino American, Black American, Scottish, Eastern European, New York Italian, Jamaican, and young child. Happy Feet is a delightful film. This reviewer is waiting anxiously for the release of the original soundtrack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasM.Nov 30, 2006
The first 20 minutes or so play out like an overblown Coca-Cola commercial in winter, with penguins showing off their vocals and main penguin Mumble starting to get his dance on. Once he meets the greatly entertaining Adelai penguins The first 20 minutes or so play out like an overblown Coca-Cola commercial in winter, with penguins showing off their vocals and main penguin Mumble starting to get his dance on. Once he meets the greatly entertaining Adelai penguins (including a surprisingly non-annoying Robin Williams), the story kicks into high gear and doesn't go back. The action is kept suspenseful with smart cuts and editing, and the penguin cast is alive in both CGI and wit. Concerning the eco-friendly message: I didn't feel there was anything harsh or unreasonable about the movie's Green message. Is it wrong to tell children that overfishing penguins' food harms their survival? It's a rather safe position. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaisyD.Dec 6, 2006
It is the best animation movie ever! The soundtrack is great and Robin Williams is fantastic and very funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyBNov 29, 2006
This is simply one of the best films of the year, an animated masterpiece. Looking over some of the comments below, I find myself wondering what prompted these people to see the film in the first place, and why must some people look for This is simply one of the best films of the year, an animated masterpiece. Looking over some of the comments below, I find myself wondering what prompted these people to see the film in the first place, and why must some people look for symbols and agendas, hidden and overt, all over the place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JadaG.Dec 1, 2006
Robin Williams makes the film for me. If it wasn't for his obvoius though humorous jokes, I would have been a little board. This is not just a cartoon. It is a little opera mixed within the cartoon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TiC.Dec 5, 2006
Odd, but fun. Definitely not predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessieHDec 7, 2006
Unfortunately, for all of you who believe that this is a
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidC.Nov 25, 2006
The movie was great. Those who don't want to be preached at in movies should do something about global warming and environmental devastation in their lives then the movies would not have to bring it to the surface.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
heyitsmegrif4Jan 16, 2012
Although we have seen the center of the story many times before; Happy Feet is very touching, fantastically animated and funny. It benefits from its extreme heart mostly. I give this film 84%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oscarrNov 28, 2011
For an animated movie, it is very emotional. No doubt: the best animated movie of the year, with Surf's Up at number 2. I felt so sad when the penguin got trapped.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GriffinJan 28, 2013
This movie certainly isn't among the best ever made, but it still has great computer animation, great musical numbers, & enjoyable characters. Fans of romance will be left empty by the lack of interaction between the main character & the loveThis movie certainly isn't among the best ever made, but it still has great computer animation, great musical numbers, & enjoyable characters. Fans of romance will be left empty by the lack of interaction between the main character & the love interest, but there's still things to appreciate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
18jcroneApr 25, 2013
I kind of liked this movie, I liked the animation it was kind of realistic in a way and it tells a pretty decent story and uses some live action to make it more realistic, the voice acting is decent also but the penguins singing and dancingI kind of liked this movie, I liked the animation it was kind of realistic in a way and it tells a pretty decent story and uses some live action to make it more realistic, the voice acting is decent also but the penguins singing and dancing was annoying to me and it may be annoying to other viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FreedomFightersNov 6, 2016
Here's something that'll surprise some of you: "Happy Feet" actually won the Academy Award for Best Animated Film over a Pixar film (granted, it was "Cars," and many people don't love that film as much as Pixar's other efforts, but still). IfHere's something that'll surprise some of you: "Happy Feet" actually won the Academy Award for Best Animated Film over a Pixar film (granted, it was "Cars," and many people don't love that film as much as Pixar's other efforts, but still). If it can do that, something's gotta be going right. Sure enough, "Happy Feet" is quite the charmer: beautifully animated and well-written, while also featuring some great characters and solid music, "Happy Feet" just works. It may not be the best that animation has to offer, but it certainly has a lot going for it that ultimately makes it worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TimeOfTheChimpsSep 5, 2014
Words cannot describe my love of this film. Boasting an entertaining story and unbelievably realistic animation, Happy Feet qualifies as one of the most entertaining animated films I've ever had the pleasure of watching. It's a very heartfeltWords cannot describe my love of this film. Boasting an entertaining story and unbelievably realistic animation, Happy Feet qualifies as one of the most entertaining animated films I've ever had the pleasure of watching. It's a very heartfelt movie with a theme that blends quite nicely with the amazing story and memorable characters. I would give this film a 20, but unfortunately, the rating only goes up to 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mordovan89Mar 5, 2014
Great, the story is good, entertaining, and contains very significant environmental messages. But exaggeration is still present, as the adventure is not very awesome. Well, I think he deserves 8, but no more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoJul 25, 2015
a fascinating story of penguins willing to make a difference to save their livelihoods , excellent work of George Miller , also remember that Brittany Murphy died five years ago.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 19, 2016
There's nothing you can hate about this film. If you want something to hate on, look for my 0's. It's no wonder opinions are forever opinions and no opinion can be a fact ever. Happy Feet is a decent musical that actually works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FuturedirectorJul 19, 2016
A nice —but predictable— message, simple characters, color-free story-telling, clever and original direction, talented cast and fresh spirit, is mixed with great and cool music, that makes this film to deserve the Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EndermanJan 20, 2017
Yes, this movie is an overtly pro-environment film. Some have even extracted from its message a secondary message that is treated with equal relevance: a request that we practice tolerance toward those who are different. If they are accusedYes, this movie is an overtly pro-environment film. Some have even extracted from its message a secondary message that is treated with equal relevance: a request that we practice tolerance toward those who are different. If they are accused of "extracting" this message as an aside, then the charge is akin to a dentist spotting a broken molar and saying, "It's no big deal. I'll get to it when I first rid your mouth of pollutants with a good cleaning." Miller makes this a major issue in the flim. As a clergyperson I acknowledge that the dynamics that operate within and define a faith-based community are portrayed as the birth-mother of intolerance. The scene in the movie portraying a destructive community that exercised no care for Sir Elton John's Circle of LIfe even employs the image of a church standing high above the remains of the apathetic community. Is it a fair critique? Herein lies the value of such films: it operates on the assumption that we are intelligent, thinking people who can take criticism and determine its truthfulness and validity. Along with the large number of people in faith-based communities who feel no threat from beliefs that challenge our own, I welcome the challenge. For all who believe the enviornment is the type of issue that addresses the ability of the children in the theater to survive; and, that tolerance for those who tell us "I wish I could change but I cannot" is also important for our survival as humans who intentionally nurture and value the spiritual resource of compassion. Miller refuses to let us bury our heads in the sand (or snow). Now, while I am wrestling with the political and faith-based assertions regarding human destiny, the film presented my 3 year old granddaughter with a simple, entertaining story that is, on her level, a new twist on the "ugle ducking. Thank you George Miller for "layering" this movie for young and old, people of faith and those struggling with doubt, and people who embrace this opportunity to revisit their political views. And George, thank you for one heck of a soundtrack! I can understand (no, I can try to understand) why some will devalue this move for not going far enough, or for going too far in a chldren's movie, etc. However, throw down the gauntlet related to my beliefs, entertain my granddaughter, and fill my ears with a soundtrack fusing some of the best samplings of every genre of rock/pop/ dance and hiphop, (utilizing them in just the right places) and I'll give you a 10 because I really believe it is worth it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews