User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 251 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 251
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. kriss
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Oka...soo this is far by the best animated movie I've ever seen or possibly the best movie I've ever seen. To my opinion, everything in this movie fits perfectly. There's not one part that I didn't like. I love everything from the sound effects, visual effects, music, comedy, romance, voice acting, and even the penguins itself. I actually thought over the hedge was Oka...soo this is far by the best animated movie I've ever seen or possibly the best movie I've ever seen. To my opinion, everything in this movie fits perfectly. There's not one part that I didn't like. I love everything from the sound effects, visual effects, music, comedy, romance, voice acting, and even the penguins itself. I actually thought over the hedge was great but it doesn't compare to happy feet. The only thing that bugs me is that stupid movie Surfs up!...I mean, it was obviously copied from happy feet (the penguins) and what kind of penguin surfs anyway? Its just plain stupid to me....so to keep this short, happy feet is just perfection...I fell sorry for those people that don't actually like it...but then again...its there opinion...but I still don't know what's going on in there heads. Expand
  2. ShalandaV
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Midnight creeps so slowly into hearts of those men who need more than they get Daylight deals a bad hand to a woman Who that has laid too many bets The mirror stares you in the face And says, "Baby, uh, uh, uh, it don't work!" You say your prayers though you don't care you sing, you dance and shake the hurt Dance!
  3. DavidE
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    You should see Happy Feet--not only because it's stupendous, but also because it features the best dancing you'll see on the screen this year.
  4. MarcC.
    Dec 10, 2006
    9
    Spectacular animation and a wonderful movie - the song and dance numbers are great for young and old alike.
  5. Rev.R.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    Yes, this movie is an overtly pro-environment film. Some have even extracted from its message a secondary message that is treated with equal relevance: a request that we practice tolerance toward those who are different. If they are accused of "extracting" this message as an aside, then the charge is akin to a dentist spotting a broken molar and saying, "It's no big deal. I'll Yes, this movie is an overtly pro-environment film. Some have even extracted from its message a secondary message that is treated with equal relevance: a request that we practice tolerance toward those who are different. If they are accused of "extracting" this message as an aside, then the charge is akin to a dentist spotting a broken molar and saying, "It's no big deal. I'll get to it when I first rid your mouth of pollutants with a good cleaning." Miller makes this a major issue in the flim. As a clergyperson I acknowledge that the dynamics that operate within and define a faith-based community are portrayed as the birth-mother of intolerance. The scene in the movie portraying a destructive community that exercised no care for Sir Elton John's Circle of LIfe even employs the image of a church standing high above the remains of the apathetic community. Is it a fair critique? Herein lies the value of such films: it operates on the assumption that we are intelligent, thinking people who can take criticism and determine its truthfulness and validity. Along with the large number of people in faith-based communities who feel no threat from beliefs that challenge our own, I welcome the challenge. For all who believe the enviornment is the type of issue that addresses the ability of the children in the theater to survive; and, that tolerance for those who tell us "I wish I could change but I cannot" is also important for our survival as humans who intentionally nurture and value the spiritual resource of compassion. Miller refuses to let us bury our heads in the sand (or snow). Now, while I am wrestling with the political and faith-based assertions regarding human destiny, the film presented my 3 year old granddaughter with a simple, entertaining story that is, on her level, a new twist on the "ugle ducking. Thank you George Miller for "layering" this movie for young and old, people of faith and those struggling with doubt, and people who embrace this opportunity to revisit their political views. And George, thank you for one heck of a soundtrack! I can understand (no, I can try to understand) why some will devalue this move for not going far enough, or for going too far in a chldren's movie, etc. However, throw down the gauntlet related to my beliefs, entertain my granddaughter, and fill my ears with a soundtrack fusing some of the best samplings of every genre of rock/pop/ dance and hiphop, (utilizing them in just the right places) and I'll give you a 10 because I really believe it is worth it! Maybe this Christmas we can learn to dance! Expand
  6. AngelloC.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    La mejor pelicula que habla la verdad en una forma un poco mas clara en una perspectiva muy distinta, ojala hagan mas de estas!! Nuestro Planeta lo estamos Destruyendo y nadie hace nada!!! Felicitaciones Warner Brothers hagan mas de estas!!!
  7. HollyB
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    Very enjoyable film for anyone, not just for kids. And those who are rating this movie low because they feel it is too political are just out to lunch. The only thing this movie asks is for people to consider the effect that human actions are having on the other creatures on our planet. Other than that, it's message is all about accepting and being yourself. Either way, great Very enjoyable film for anyone, not just for kids. And those who are rating this movie low because they feel it is too political are just out to lunch. The only thing this movie asks is for people to consider the effect that human actions are having on the other creatures on our planet. Other than that, it's message is all about accepting and being yourself. Either way, great messages for the whole family! Expand
  8. RhinnaJ.
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Amazing!! The film was purely great and the people who didn't like it did not have a sense of humor. The movie was great and should get a ten.
  9. CraigB.
    Jan 8, 2007
    9
    Absolutely charming ... with breath-taking visuals /amazing CGI. Well worth the entry fee.
  10. KareyP.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    What a wonderful movie. I almost forgot it was animated!! My 2 yr old son never moved a muscle during the movie and he left the theater dancing!!
  11. Patareta
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    I loved the movie. Was it ever labeled as a kids movie? I'm not saying it should or shouldn't be, but I don't agree with the critics that say the movie has deep matters. I really enjoyed it, personally considered it very funny, very well done animation (at times it looked almost real), excellent music, touching and very sweet. I loved the way they mixed animation and I loved the movie. Was it ever labeled as a kids movie? I'm not saying it should or shouldn't be, but I don't agree with the critics that say the movie has deep matters. I really enjoyed it, personally considered it very funny, very well done animation (at times it looked almost real), excellent music, touching and very sweet. I loved the way they mixed animation and reality at the end. Great movie. Expand
  12. CrystalW.
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    It was great how stupid the humans were and there was an ironic message that people wont help an endangered species unless they do something novel for us.. .like tapdance. It isnt meant to attack religion, and the "sexuality" is not in a form that is understandable until prepubescent years so get over it, it was meant to make the adults giggle.
  13. Mark
    May 20, 2007
    9
    I personally loved this movie. It has amazing animation, top notch voice talent and well placed and enjoyable dance numbers But it also has some darker themes but these i think go very well with the movie. One of the best reviews that i read about this movie is that its a portayal of "penguin hell" basically. Sure we all know what conservation issues look to humans... because well we are I personally loved this movie. It has amazing animation, top notch voice talent and well placed and enjoyable dance numbers But it also has some darker themes but these i think go very well with the movie. One of the best reviews that i read about this movie is that its a portayal of "penguin hell" basically. Sure we all know what conservation issues look to humans... because well we are humans. But this movie has an interesting perspective and has a conservation issue (in this case overfishing) from the point of view from the penguins. Throughout the movie you can see examples of this. For example, mumble's disbelief when he discoveres some trash floating in the ocean. "the aliens must be here... i mean why would they leave all of this behind?" Ive read a lot of reviews about this movie, and the main points of them not liking it are: *The main antagonist may have people thinking that this movie is attacking religion *There are at 2 kinda scary scenes that might not be suitable for little little kids, but then again this movie is rated PG for a reason *People think that just because this movie is trying to make people aware of conservation issues that it automatically sucks. It doesn't. *People are suprised at the somewhat darker themes that are portrayed in the movie, when they thought they were going to see a happy little movie about dancing penguins. I kinda agree that the movies was kinda incorrectly advertised, but i enjoyed it more this way. Overall, walk into this movie with an open mind, and try to enjoy it. If you cannot possibly like it then fine. But just know that this movie does have a 77 here on metacritic, a 75 on rotten tomatoes, and both translate to "favorable reviews". Give the movie a chance, thats all anyone can ask. Expand
  14. LindseyL
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    This movie was adorable! Although advertised for children, there are catchy lines that keep adults laughing, and children dancing in their seats. The song choice, at large catering to the adults, were hilarious selections, and it's plot appeals to all ages. I took my four year old to see the movie and he loved it, kids don't lie. As far as sexual comments, first of all, these This movie was adorable! Although advertised for children, there are catchy lines that keep adults laughing, and children dancing in their seats. The song choice, at large catering to the adults, were hilarious selections, and it's plot appeals to all ages. I took my four year old to see the movie and he loved it, kids don't lie. As far as sexual comments, first of all, these comments were not very recognizable to most and certainly not children and second, what movie does not have sexual suggestions? Not many. And third, what kind of people really allow these comments to cloud the rest of the brilliant animation? Come on, are you nuns? Expand
  15. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    Definitely amazing movie, and definitely deserved an Academy Award for Best Animated Feature. One of the best animated movies in the past 5 years. Deserves the highest rating.
  16. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    What A Great Childrens Movie! Sooo Sooo Sooo Cute! :) The Voices Are Perfect....
    The Best Movie Of 2006! The Drawings Are Just So Beautiful!
    If You Have Not Seen This You Should....
  17. PamB.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    A friend and I took our kids to see this movie, ranging in age from 2-13. We laughed more than the kids did! We (the adults) loved the music, dancing, and the story, but there was enough action and humor for the kids too! This is a fun movie -the most entertaining animated flick to come out in a while. And the visuals are stunning.
  18. DavidC.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    The movie was great. Those who don't want to be preached at in movies should do something about global warming and environmental devastation in their lives then the movies would not have to bring it to the surface.
  19. JessicaL.
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    Fabulous movie -- a truly heartwarming tale, and a uniquely rendered one at that. Great for adults and kids alike. You must see this movie.
  20. TonyB
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    This is simply one of the best films of the year, an animated masterpiece. Looking over some of the comments below, I find myself wondering what prompted these people to see the film in the first place, and why must some people look for symbols and agendas, hidden and overt, all over the place.
  21. ThomasM.
    Nov 30, 2006
    9
    The first 20 minutes or so play out like an overblown Coca-Cola commercial in winter, with penguins showing off their vocals and main penguin Mumble starting to get his dance on. Once he meets the greatly entertaining Adelai penguins (including a surprisingly non-annoying Robin Williams), the story kicks into high gear and doesn't go back. The action is kept suspenseful with smart The first 20 minutes or so play out like an overblown Coca-Cola commercial in winter, with penguins showing off their vocals and main penguin Mumble starting to get his dance on. Once he meets the greatly entertaining Adelai penguins (including a surprisingly non-annoying Robin Williams), the story kicks into high gear and doesn't go back. The action is kept suspenseful with smart cuts and editing, and the penguin cast is alive in both CGI and wit. Concerning the eco-friendly message: I didn't feel there was anything harsh or unreasonable about the movie's Green message. Is it wrong to tell children that overfishing penguins' food harms their survival? It's a rather safe position. Collapse
  22. JamesL.
    Nov 30, 2006
    9
    Happy Feet presents a synergistic combination of compelling visuals and a Broadway musical-quality soundtrack that sets it apart from other animated films in the last few years. I left the movie wishing to hear more of the Spanish adaptation of Frank Sinatra's My Way. Like an Emily Bronte novel, just when it seems the movie is ending, a new plot develops and spares the viewers from Happy Feet presents a synergistic combination of compelling visuals and a Broadway musical-quality soundtrack that sets it apart from other animated films in the last few years. I left the movie wishing to hear more of the Spanish adaptation of Frank Sinatra's My Way. Like an Emily Bronte novel, just when it seems the movie is ending, a new plot develops and spares the viewers from wishing the movie would keep going. The plot twists can be disorienting, from child penguin outcast growing up to a celebratory homecoming to one penguin overcoming the odds to save his species from the human world. The movie's message of Save the Penguins seems to be a natural outgrowth of the need for dramatic tension other than romantic love interest that characterizes nearly every other animated film in existence. The main message seems to be that one talented and determined penguin can change the world, not that we should stop fishing in the the Antarctic. While some viewers may be disturbed by Happy Feet's play on stereotypes, part of this film's auditory delight is distinguishing the tones of tap dance, fabulous singing voices, and a multitude of dialects that include Latino American, Black American, Scottish, Eastern European, New York Italian, Jamaican, and young child. Happy Feet is a delightful film. This reviewer is waiting anxiously for the release of the original soundtrack. Expand
  23. Jeff
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    The best movie of the year! I was shocked at how good this was. Went in thinking it would just be mindless entertainment and I would have a good time, but wow, did not I not expect this to thrill me as much as it did. Must See of the year!
  24. DaisyD.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    It is the best animation movie ever! The soundtrack is great and Robin Williams is fantastic and very funny!
  25. JessieH
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    Unfortunately, for all of you who believe that this is a
  26. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    lovley film......................................................................................................................................................
  27. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    Words cannot describe my love of this film. Boasting an entertaining story and unbelievably realistic animation, Happy Feet qualifies as one of the most entertaining animated films I've ever had the pleasure of watching. It's a very heartfelt movie with a theme that blends quite nicely with the amazing story and memorable characters. I would give this film a 20, but unfortunately, theWords cannot describe my love of this film. Boasting an entertaining story and unbelievably realistic animation, Happy Feet qualifies as one of the most entertaining animated films I've ever had the pleasure of watching. It's a very heartfelt movie with a theme that blends quite nicely with the amazing story and memorable characters. I would give this film a 20, but unfortunately, the rating only goes up to 10. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. The essence of this inventive though erratic animated feature is joyous music and eye-popping motion.
  2. This curious ecological parable was directed by George Miller (Babe: Pig in the City), who still has an eye and a sense of humor but on this particular outing can't get the script he wrote with three others to make much sense.
  3. In the year of the animated movie, this one soars above them all.