Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: When a would-be hockey player (Sandler) hits a golf ball 400 yards, he realizes that his true calling is in pro golf, so he trades in his skates for a 3-wood and a tee, and joins the PGA tour.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    63
    Slap Happy. [16 February 1996, p.D4]
  2. Reviewed by: Darren Bignell
    60
    The real surprise is that it's a lot of fun, with Sandler becoming more personable as the film progresses, and a couple of truly side-splitting scenes.
  3. 50
    Several strokes short of a respectable finish.
  4. 38
    Tells the story of a violent sociopath. Since it's about golf, that makes it a comedy.
  5. Adam Sandler stars in a one-joke Caddyshack for the blitzed and jaded.
  6. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    30
    Sorry excuse for a comedy.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    10
    Added together, there are about three minutes of funny material in Happy Gilmore, and pretty much all of them are in the trailer, leaving a sometimes painfully unfunny 90 minutes with which to contend.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53
  1. JesseH
    May 23, 2009
    10
    The critics must've been on some pretty heavy shit, because this movie is fantastic. I laugh like hell every time I watch it.
  2. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    If you didn't like this film, it's probably because you where smashed in the head with a golf club..

    That or you have something against comedies. .
  3. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Roger Ebert you are a fool! This film is one of the greatest comedies of all time! I don't think I go a day without saying "Shooter!". ThisRoger Ebert you are a fool! This film is one of the greatest comedies of all time! I don't think I go a day without saying "Shooter!". This one of my favorite films and everyone I know loves it so screw you critics the fans have spoken! I made this account because of this garbage. Im giving it a 10 to balance the ridiculous 31. But i'd give it an 80 overall. Expand
  4. AnthonyS.
    Nov 24, 2005
    9
    Not the best Adam Sandler film but it was still good.
  5. May 27, 2013
    8
    A comedy that carries someone hilarious scenes with one liners that you'll remember for a long time. Not a piece of genius but definitely aA comedy that carries someone hilarious scenes with one liners that you'll remember for a long time. Not a piece of genius but definitely a hole in one. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Just about the only good Adam Sandler movie (I'm talking to you, Grown Ups!). Happy Gilmore is funny at times, and the message is prettyJust about the only good Adam Sandler movie (I'm talking to you, Grown Ups!). Happy Gilmore is funny at times, and the message is pretty heartfelt. It's not a classic for the ages, but Happy Gilmore is still up to par. Expand
  7. May 27, 2014
    0
    Typical Adam Sandler film, awful product placement, people getting hurt for cheap laughs, celebrity cameos, and an awful script. It is kindaTypical Adam Sandler film, awful product placement, people getting hurt for cheap laughs, celebrity cameos, and an awful script. It is kinda sad that people pay to see this Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 15 Movies the Critics Got Wrong

    15 Movies the Critics Got Wrong Image
    Published: June 14, 2010
    The critics can't get it right every time. We have searched our database for 15 poorly-reviewed movies that, upon closer examination, are much better than reviewers originally suggested.