Hard Candy

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 254
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mike
    Oct 9, 2006
    0
    The first 15 mins of the movie, were great! Very interesting and it kept me interested in what would have happened next. But then it went down hill it kept on getting more and more unbelievable, stay away from this movie!
  2. Aug 26, 2010
    3
    The strange philosophies of "Hard Candy" will no doubt polarize audiences, but pure exploitation tends to overcome any sense of right; there is a lot of brutality and sadism for the sake of justification - the exact type of movie that Michael Haneke's "Funny Games" was made to criticize. It's a shame because the colors are astounding and the acting is terrific, albeit acting forThe strange philosophies of "Hard Candy" will no doubt polarize audiences, but pure exploitation tends to overcome any sense of right; there is a lot of brutality and sadism for the sake of justification - the exact type of movie that Michael Haneke's "Funny Games" was made to criticize. It's a shame because the colors are astounding and the acting is terrific, albeit acting for frustrating impossible characters. Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2011
    0
    This flick gave as an example of how bluntly depressive now days entertainment could be."Masterpiece" in therms of, how to make a low-budget movie that aspiring to be a blockbust...sorry a ballcutter
  4. RadC.
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    Good acting; but no points can be awarded when that great acting creats an abhorrent, distasteful film. The film denounces pedophilia, while embracing sadism, torture, and the ultimate of all sins -- suicide. I have never seen a bigger steaming pile of hypocritical filth in my life. The evil of pedophilia and alleged, unproven murder is minimized to an infinite degree by the larger evil Good acting; but no points can be awarded when that great acting creats an abhorrent, distasteful film. The film denounces pedophilia, while embracing sadism, torture, and the ultimate of all sins -- suicide. I have never seen a bigger steaming pile of hypocritical filth in my life. The evil of pedophilia and alleged, unproven murder is minimized to an infinite degree by the larger evil of the young girl's psychotic and inverted brand of "justice". When you start thinking the pedophiles aren't such bad guys after all, the film has obviously plunged into an endless chasm of pure failure (unless, of course, that's what the author wanted you to think, which would of course be infinitely more disturbing than the already incomprehensibly twisted message within the film itself) -- A must-not-see!!!!!! Expand
  5. TomI
    Oct 18, 2006
    1
    I fell asleep watching the movie. I was bored with all the suspenseful monologues and occasional conversation. I fast forwarded through it to see things actually happening in the film. In this way, I saw the movie, but only wasted about 15-20 minutes of my time.
  6. StevenH
    Jan 25, 2010
    1
    A low-budget film with an implausible story, annoying characters, and no particular message. Wilson plays a stereotypical paedophile but with Hollywood good looks and Page plays a psychopathic Dirty Harriet militant feminist fantasy. Essentially the movie consists of Ellen Page pestering Patrick Wilson with annoying banter, tying him up, and calling him a kiddie fiddler, with the climax A low-budget film with an implausible story, annoying characters, and no particular message. Wilson plays a stereotypical paedophile but with Hollywood good looks and Page plays a psychopathic Dirty Harriet militant feminist fantasy. Essentially the movie consists of Ellen Page pestering Patrick Wilson with annoying banter, tying him up, and calling him a kiddie fiddler, with the climax of the film being the opening of his super secret kiddie porn stash located in a DaVinci Code vault (lmao). About 90% of the audience will be rooting for Wilson, telling him to put Page in a blood choke, 5% will be sleeping, and 5% will be walking out. If this doesn't sound like entertainment to you then you probably shouldn't see this film. However, I must concede one point because the movie wasn't 103 minutes of someone screaming in my face. Expand
  7. DeanS.
    Oct 16, 2006
    0
    Repugnant, repulsive and completely irredeemable. Utter schlock under the guise of being more. Terrible.
  8. DavidH.
    Jan 16, 2007
    0
    Complete dung, Ellen Page is awful, overracting in the extreme. Jocks who will think that having endured the castration sequence will bring a new dimension to their machismo (the irony) and adolescents whose taste for mass produced sadistic gratification is unparallelled will have lapped it up. Don't go to see this.
  9. RyanM.
    Jul 1, 2007
    1
    Starts out intriguing and just bombs from there. Some stylish scenes but all for the sake of style with no real purpose. The movie left me feeling ill and duped. It seemed liked I was waiting for the movie to get interesting and good the whole time. Then suddenly it was over. Nothing really made sense here. Complete utter barf!
  10. JasonH.
    Nov 5, 2006
    1
    This movie only gets a one because of the good (not great) cinematography. The movie ultimately has no point. I found myself pulling for the "so called" bad person more than the one fighting for the cause. This movie was obviously made by someone with an abused childhood who wanted to vent.
  11. AbsolutelyH.
    Sep 12, 2007
    1
    I can't comprehend how so many people could give this film a high rating. I am one of those people that loves messed up movies (using the word messed because I'm pretty sure the alternative is not allowed on this site) but this was absolute garbage. It wasn't the actors fault though, I think they played their parts very well. The problem with the movie is in the ridiculous I can't comprehend how so many people could give this film a high rating. I am one of those people that loves messed up movies (using the word messed because I'm pretty sure the alternative is not allowed on this site) but this was absolute garbage. It wasn't the actors fault though, I think they played their parts very well. The problem with the movie is in the ridiculous story. I would have been much more pleased if it was about a man abducting a young girl and all the stages he goes through to get her to sleep with him. It would have still been messed up but it would be something that could actually happen in real life. I mean, she gave him a castration.... How can you watch this and just think to yourself, who thought of this garbage? I understand movies do not have to be realistic but give me a break. If you want to watch a good film about pedophilia, I would recommend the documentary "Deliver Us From Evil". It makes you think much more than this piece. When I decided to look this up on metacritic, I thought that the highest rating it could have gotten was a 25 perhaps 30. But over 60, have any of you that gave this a good rating scene a decent film in your entire lives? I don't mean to bash on anyone, it will not help you see this through my eyes. It is just that a movie has never affected me in such a negative way before. I encourage people to see this movie so the balance of how many people like it versus dislike will even out. I'm done ranting, sorry if I offended you, like I said I don't like bashing on people for their opinions.... Expand
  12. MatthewW
    Dec 15, 2008
    2
    Terrible. I truly cannot understand how everyone else gave this film such a high rating. While the acting was certianly something to be applauded the movie fails in what it sets out to do: show how sick pedophiles are and teach them a lesson. Throughout the entire movie, nothing at all happens to make the audience feel justified in enjoying or at least repecting what Hayley is doing to Terrible. I truly cannot understand how everyone else gave this film such a high rating. While the acting was certianly something to be applauded the movie fails in what it sets out to do: show how sick pedophiles are and teach them a lesson. Throughout the entire movie, nothing at all happens to make the audience feel justified in enjoying or at least repecting what Hayley is doing to Jeff. It is implied, yes, but within the context of the movie it is far to weak, especially considering what happens to Jeff. I almost cound not finish watching the picture and found myself cheering whenever Jeff actually managed to escape. Of course, if you like watching people get tortured for no reason, (at least this is how it seems), then defintely check this one out. Otherwise, take my advice and go watch something more entertaining such as 300. At least there's some explanation for all that bloodshed. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Tautly directed by David Slade, this drama probably offers more sadism than anyone could possibly want...The characters are absurd, but if you're up for this sort of thing, then surely you can con yourself into accepting them. Personally, I'd rather have this movie obliterated from my memory.
  2. 100
    A tough sit, but it attracts more than repels you. It commands your attention. Once it lands its hooks in you, there's no tearing away.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    A spectacular performance by teenage thesp Ellen Page elevates this disturbing slice of designer shocksploitation into a film that's impossible to dismiss on principle.