Lions Gate Films | Release Date: April 14, 2006
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 269 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
215
Mixed:
26
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
jimmytancrediSep 3, 2011
The tense atmosphere created by the David Slade is sensational, fully appropriate to the situation. The script outputs can find some questionable time to time, but the film is directed behind to perfectness. The performances need no comment.The tense atmosphere created by the David Slade is sensational, fully appropriate to the situation. The script outputs can find some questionable time to time, but the film is directed behind to perfectness. The performances need no comment. Page and Wilson support the film with great skill, the progression of the tension is admirable, the expressions full of nuances and subjectivity. Movies that are supported primarily through dialogue efficiently are difficult to make. It all depends on how elaborate and interesting are the characters, their goals and their stories. â Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JeremyF.Jan 20, 2007
I have no idea how anyone can say this movie is horrible. A couple people on here have said that Ellen Page is terrible and overacts in every scene. This is beyond untrue. Her performance is one of the best and most perfect performances of I have no idea how anyone can say this movie is horrible. A couple people on here have said that Ellen Page is terrible and overacts in every scene. This is beyond untrue. Her performance is one of the best and most perfect performances of the decade so far. She is powerful, passionate, and sadistically awing. She goes beyond "pulling off" every aspect of her role. As the movie goes, it's impossible to look away. A lot of people and critics say it's sick, and disgusting, and how you can barely sit through it. And that's true. You can barely sit through it, appalled, disgusted... etc. But you do. It's grossness, disgust, and sadistic thrill is what really grabs you. It lands it's claws in you and doesn't let you get away. Your eyes are glued to the screen because you're sitting at the edge of your seat, saying "what's she gonna do to him next?" or "what's he going to do to her." It's suspense is pulled off immensely, which is 85% true because of the beyond spectacular performances from Page and Wilson. The one thing that I think rattles most people is that during the film you don't know who to side with. He's a pedophile, so it's wrong what he's doing. Or is he? Is he a pedophile? Or is she just assuming and insanely torturing him? But also, on the other hand, if he is a pedophile, you agree with Hayley that he should be punished, and despite her sick technique and skill, you almost feel like you're siding with her. But then you feel bad for the pedophile, almost, and that makes you feel bad. It's just an overwhelming thought: who is right? who is wrong? are they both wrong? true, it is sick. true, it is sadistic what she does. but it's also true, that "Hard Candy" is one of the decades best put-together, and best acted films yet. 100 / 10 !!! ps: it's not overhyped, kids, don't worry. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MarkJ.Jan 2, 2007
Hard Candy does not surprise in its ability to leave an audience shell shocked whilst failing to achieve critical acclaim. A brave narrative which revolves around the dialogue between an unbelievably psychotic teenager and a middle aged man Hard Candy does not surprise in its ability to leave an audience shell shocked whilst failing to achieve critical acclaim. A brave narrative which revolves around the dialogue between an unbelievably psychotic teenager and a middle aged man seeking sex with minors never goes further than cliched one-upmanship which becomes as irritating as it is pointless. If your up for a shock thriller which ultimately leaves you knowing nothing more of the characters than you do after 20 minutes, then this will probably be an entertaing 90 minutes, otherwise avoid this at all costs, you'll only be left feeling cheated that you attempted to invest any emotion in what are two poorly structured and equally un-appealing characters. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
potatoes351Sep 13, 2012
Hard Candy is one of those films that you just have to see, one of the films that should be on an all time greatest movies list. Ellen Paige plays Haley, a 14 year old girl who is being sexually groomed by 30 something year old Jim. When JimHard Candy is one of those films that you just have to see, one of the films that should be on an all time greatest movies list. Ellen Paige plays Haley, a 14 year old girl who is being sexually groomed by 30 something year old Jim. When Jim invites Haley back to his for a 'photoshoot' Jim gets unexpected surprise. After awakening from unconsciousness Haley explains to him that she has had her eye in him for a long time and that he should pay for his involvement for a rape and murder of a teenage girl. As Haley uncovers more secrets to Jim's past she forces him into one very tough decision.
The film is not overly bloody nor gory for the most part, even its claim to fame scene doesn't have that much blood which at times made me question the 18 certificate, especially when the film is a thriller yet it has no real heart racing moments like a thriller should. Though the acting and storytelling are top notch Hard Candy falls flat when it comes to its 'edge of your seat' moments. Despite this the film is great and should be watched by everyone
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
KivaAug 6, 2013
I can't say that Hard Candy is a great movie but i can't either say that it is a disaster. First of all it has great actors and an excellent cinematography. At the beginning it is a really lame and slow movie and it gets to the last minutes.I can't say that Hard Candy is a great movie but i can't either say that it is a disaster. First of all it has great actors and an excellent cinematography. At the beginning it is a really lame and slow movie and it gets to the last minutes. It is really disturbing all these tortures and I can say that really annoyed me in a good way as i really like movies like Saw. I had great expectations for Hard Candy and I think they were a little bit high. You will only like it if you like sadistic movies like Saw otherwise you will waste your time and you will might feel really seek after watching that film. I give it 6/10 because it starts really bad and it is quite boring. After half an hour it gets more interesting. If only the first scenes were better.... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gagaforeverSep 20, 2010
A very disturbing, but great movie. When I first saw that Ellen Page was the lead I watched it. I soon found out that young people are not always innocent. The last line of the movie when she says "Or Not" really shows that if you areA very disturbing, but great movie. When I first saw that Ellen Page was the lead I watched it. I soon found out that young people are not always innocent. The last line of the movie when she says "Or Not" really shows that if you are convincing you can get anyone to believe you. A shocking thrill ride that will make you cringe, cry and maybe even smile a little Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
MikeOct 9, 2006
The first 15 mins of the movie, were great! Very interesting and it kept me interested in what would have happened next. But then it went down hill it kept on getting more and more unbelievable, stay away from this movie!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
The strange philosophies of "Hard Candy" will no doubt polarize audiences, but pure exploitation tends to overcome any sense of right; there is a lot of brutality and sadism for the sake of justification - the exact type of movie that MichaelThe strange philosophies of "Hard Candy" will no doubt polarize audiences, but pure exploitation tends to overcome any sense of right; there is a lot of brutality and sadism for the sake of justification - the exact type of movie that Michael Haneke's "Funny Games" was made to criticize. It's a shame because the colors are astounding and the acting is terrific, albeit acting for frustrating impossible characters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
dillettanteMar 7, 2011
This flick gave as an example of how bluntly depressive now days entertainment could be."Masterpiece" in therms of, how to make a low-budget movie that aspiring to be a blockbust...sorry a ballcutter
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LilHMay 19, 2008
Loved it. The recoloring was amazing, not to mention Ellen Page's performance. Very thought provoking too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RadC.Jan 13, 2010
Good acting; but no points can be awarded when that great acting creats an abhorrent, distasteful film. The film denounces pedophilia, while embracing sadism, torture, and the ultimate of all sins -- suicide. I have never seen a bigger Good acting; but no points can be awarded when that great acting creats an abhorrent, distasteful film. The film denounces pedophilia, while embracing sadism, torture, and the ultimate of all sins -- suicide. I have never seen a bigger steaming pile of hypocritical filth in my life. The evil of pedophilia and alleged, unproven murder is minimized to an infinite degree by the larger evil of the young girl's psychotic and inverted brand of "justice". When you start thinking the pedophiles aren't such bad guys after all, the film has obviously plunged into an endless chasm of pure failure (unless, of course, that's what the author wanted you to think, which would of course be infinitely more disturbing than the already incomprehensibly twisted message within the film itself) -- A must-not-see!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
[Anonymous]Apr 22, 2006
This movie was like Home Alone for all male haters. The actors are amusing and the direction in parts is pretty good. But, if I am going to dish out $14 for a movie about someone being tortured, I better see alot of blood guts. Heck, I have This movie was like Home Alone for all male haters. The actors are amusing and the direction in parts is pretty good. But, if I am going to dish out $14 for a movie about someone being tortured, I better see alot of blood guts. Heck, I have seen more gore trick or treating down my street than I did in this movie. I think what tipped this movie from being slightly amusing to full on retarded was just when you thought the movie was ending, they started back up with a new scenario. As if we already didn't get the point!!!! If you want to see real horror, go to this show, and then multiply the number of people who saw it by $14 and then you will have true horror. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StaceyflipDec 3, 2007
I was frozen in my seat! Spectacular and Gripping! to say the least. If anyone says the movie is disgusting- You don't really See anything! Ok? Some guys will hate it because of the strong female role and the male character going I was frozen in my seat! Spectacular and Gripping! to say the least. If anyone says the movie is disgusting- You don't really See anything! Ok? Some guys will hate it because of the strong female role and the male character going through..what he goes through. I love that you constantly change your opinion on who's side you're on. The acting was superb and completely suited the character's age, mental stability and the event occurring. Fantastic camera and editing work that feels so deep and so raw. See it and make up your own mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebC.Dec 6, 2007
I thought it was Awesome!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TomIOct 18, 2006
I fell asleep watching the movie. I was bored with all the suspenseful monologues and occasional conversation. I fast forwarded through it to see things actually happening in the film. In this way, I saw the movie, but only wasted about I fell asleep watching the movie. I was bored with all the suspenseful monologues and occasional conversation. I fast forwarded through it to see things actually happening in the film. In this way, I saw the movie, but only wasted about 15-20 minutes of my time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenH.Oct 6, 2006
I couldn't take my eyes off the screen...harrowing, in a word...Wilson and Page are superlative and pull of very difficult material that could have gone overheated. These are Oscar-worthy performances in a challenging yet fascinating I couldn't take my eyes off the screen...harrowing, in a word...Wilson and Page are superlative and pull of very difficult material that could have gone overheated. These are Oscar-worthy performances in a challenging yet fascinating film. Relentless, rewarding, with no copping out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Mari-eveMay 3, 2006
It's a good thriller movie. Actual subject, good actress, intriguing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlossomMarieSep 20, 2006
This movie was amazing. I ran out and rented it because I couldn't wait for Netflix and I'm a huge fan of Patrick Wilson from his performances in Angel in America and Phantom. I had read a few reviews and expected the film to be a This movie was amazing. I ran out and rented it because I couldn't wait for Netflix and I'm a huge fan of Patrick Wilson from his performances in Angel in America and Phantom. I had read a few reviews and expected the film to be a lot gorier than it actually was. In reality, it's the mind of the viewer that creates the gore and horrors, as the film is almost shot entirely in close ups of Wilson and Page. As to the content, the film basically asks the viewers "who is more sick, this pedophiliac or the crazed girl who tortures him in the name of young girls everywhere?" I think the end of the film shows us the answer the producers would give, but the ambiguity of victim and predator leaves a deliciously eerie afterglow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RazvyT.Dec 13, 2007
Very, very, very good movie with a nice script and a very good director.Oh and the actors played awesome !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NickD.Jan 27, 2007
Starts off intriguing and tense, but ends up dragging its feet to a silly conclusion all the while transforming the main character into someone irrational and unrealistic. Would have been better as an 80 minute thriller without all the extra Starts off intriguing and tense, but ends up dragging its feet to a silly conclusion all the while transforming the main character into someone irrational and unrealistic. Would have been better as an 80 minute thriller without all the extra twists and turns toward the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeuroticRampageApr 30, 2007
These critics have absolutley NO idea what they are talking about. The acting, the story, the feeling is all there and its solid. The disturbing and often dark side to both characters will leave you on the fence with who is right and who is These critics have absolutley NO idea what they are talking about. The acting, the story, the feeling is all there and its solid. The disturbing and often dark side to both characters will leave you on the fence with who is right and who is wrong. In a sense, they're both a little right and wrong, which is just a side effect in the hurling suspense this movie winds up to in its main plot. I'd urge you to buy this movie, since its unparalleled to anything I have ever seen in film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaniaC.Nov 4, 2008
Absolutely great, brave movie. I think now a days it´s very important to show such a controversial topic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlanN.Apr 7, 2008
I find it strange that some of the critics marked this movie so low. It is an extremely intense experience that takes place mostly in the confines of a single location. I never go into too much plot detail on my reviews but suffice to say I find it strange that some of the critics marked this movie so low. It is an extremely intense experience that takes place mostly in the confines of a single location. I never go into too much plot detail on my reviews but suffice to say this is a storyline that will offend some people, so beware. That said, I thought it was fairly tastefully done with no truly graphic scenes of either sexually or violence. The actors performances, the claustrophobic nature of the setting and the fact that the two main characters are both damaged keeps the intensity alive throughout the movie. An excellent feat considering it is heavily dialogue driven. I very much recommend this movie. It should be noted that Ellen Page, the lead actress was 18 when she made the movie, despite playing a younger person. That may help some reconcile their morals and not miss out on a viewing. Oh and I urge you NOT to read Ms Habanera's review below if you wish to avoid a massive spoiler which will definitely spoil your enjoyment of the movie. Luckily I'd already seen the film prior to coming on here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmanueleS.Jul 22, 2008
Absolutely fantastic: actors director and photography are perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
spikeleejointJun 13, 2009
Whats with this movie, its too good. Not allowed. This town isn't big Enough for two incredible dream come trues. There's orgasms and "hard candy". Damn right I made fu**ing room for two. Twos company, threes a party with God.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JunomacguffJun 13, 2009
Holy sh**! What did just witness. A true masterpiece. How did the oscars miss this and catch a horrible movie like crash. The script for this movie was incredible. Patrick Wilson was perfect and very real and ellen page was truly godly Holy sh**! What did just witness. A true masterpiece. How did the oscars miss this and catch a horrible movie like crash. The script for this movie was incredible. Patrick Wilson was perfect and very real and ellen page was truly godly magnificent. She was more then extraordinary. She usually gives performances like thus and I know it but I'm still always surprised. Really amazing movie. I don't know what other adjectives to describe this movie as(or ellen page) but its needs to be watched. The ending is awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
StevenHJan 25, 2010
A low-budget film with an implausible story, annoying characters, and no particular message. Wilson plays a stereotypical paedophile but with Hollywood good looks and Page plays a psychopathic Dirty Harriet militant feminist fantasy. A low-budget film with an implausible story, annoying characters, and no particular message. Wilson plays a stereotypical paedophile but with Hollywood good looks and Page plays a psychopathic Dirty Harriet militant feminist fantasy. Essentially the movie consists of Ellen Page pestering Patrick Wilson with annoying banter, tying him up, and calling him a kiddie fiddler, with the climax of the film being the opening of his super secret kiddie porn stash located in a DaVinci Code vault (lmao). About 90% of the audience will be rooting for Wilson, telling him to put Page in a blood choke, 5% will be sleeping, and 5% will be walking out. If this doesn't sound like entertainment to you then you probably shouldn't see this film. However, I must concede one point because the movie wasn't 103 minutes of someone screaming in my face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DeanS.Oct 16, 2006
Repugnant, repulsive and completely irredeemable. Utter schlock under the guise of being more. Terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobCOct 24, 2006
The very good acting of the two lead characters was crucial in this film as their interactions commanded nearly all of the screen time. The story keeps you guessing until the end who's the victim and who's the predator? .... And The very good acting of the two lead characters was crucial in this film as their interactions commanded nearly all of the screen time. The story keeps you guessing until the end who's the victim and who's the predator? .... And does the punishment fit the crime? My primary complaint is that I found the many and varied abilities of the young teenage female lead character to be unbelievable and well beyond her years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffreyL.May 3, 2006
A fantastic breaktrhough performance by Ellen Page, who creates a "psycho ....." of the same caliber as Glen Close in FATAL ATTRACTION and Kathy Bates in MISERY. (And with better one-liners!)
0 of 0 users found this helpful