User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 252 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 252
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyF.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I have no idea how anyone can say this movie is horrible. A couple people on here have said that Ellen Page is terrible and overacts in every scene. This is beyond untrue. Her performance is one of the best and most perfect performances of the decade so far. She is powerful, passionate, and sadistically awing. She goes beyond "pulling off" every aspect of her role. As the movie goes, I have no idea how anyone can say this movie is horrible. A couple people on here have said that Ellen Page is terrible and overacts in every scene. This is beyond untrue. Her performance is one of the best and most perfect performances of the decade so far. She is powerful, passionate, and sadistically awing. She goes beyond "pulling off" every aspect of her role. As the movie goes, it's impossible to look away. A lot of people and critics say it's sick, and disgusting, and how you can barely sit through it. And that's true. You can barely sit through it, appalled, disgusted... etc. But you do. It's grossness, disgust, and sadistic thrill is what really grabs you. It lands it's claws in you and doesn't let you get away. Your eyes are glued to the screen because you're sitting at the edge of your seat, saying "what's she gonna do to him next?" or "what's he going to do to her." It's suspense is pulled off immensely, which is 85% true because of the beyond spectacular performances from Page and Wilson. The one thing that I think rattles most people is that during the film you don't know who to side with. He's a pedophile, so it's wrong what he's doing. Or is he? Is he a pedophile? Or is she just assuming and insanely torturing him? But also, on the other hand, if he is a pedophile, you agree with Hayley that he should be punished, and despite her sick technique and skill, you almost feel like you're siding with her. But then you feel bad for the pedophile, almost, and that makes you feel bad. It's just an overwhelming thought: who is right? who is wrong? are they both wrong? true, it is sick. true, it is sadistic what she does. but it's also true, that "Hard Candy" is one of the decades best put-together, and best acted films yet. 100 / 10 !!! ps: it's not overhyped, kids, don't worry. Expand
  2. MarkJ.
    Jan 2, 2007
    5
    Hard Candy does not surprise in its ability to leave an audience shell shocked whilst failing to achieve critical acclaim. A brave narrative which revolves around the dialogue between an unbelievably psychotic teenager and a middle aged man seeking sex with minors never goes further than cliched one-upmanship which becomes as irritating as it is pointless. If your up for a shock thriller Hard Candy does not surprise in its ability to leave an audience shell shocked whilst failing to achieve critical acclaim. A brave narrative which revolves around the dialogue between an unbelievably psychotic teenager and a middle aged man seeking sex with minors never goes further than cliched one-upmanship which becomes as irritating as it is pointless. If your up for a shock thriller which ultimately leaves you knowing nothing more of the characters than you do after 20 minutes, then this will probably be an entertaing 90 minutes, otherwise avoid this at all costs, you'll only be left feeling cheated that you attempted to invest any emotion in what are two poorly structured and equally un-appealing characters. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2011
    7
    The tense atmosphere created by the David Slade is sensational, fully appropriate to the situation. The script outputs can find some questionable time to time, but the film is directed behind to perfectness. The performances need no comment. Page and Wilson support the film with great skill, the progression of the tension is admirable, the expressions full of nuances and subjectivity.The tense atmosphere created by the David Slade is sensational, fully appropriate to the situation. The script outputs can find some questionable time to time, but the film is directed behind to perfectness. The performances need no comment. Page and Wilson support the film with great skill, the progression of the tension is admirable, the expressions full of nuances and subjectivity. Movies that are supported primarily through dialogue efficiently are difficult to make. It all depends on how elaborate and interesting are the characters, their goals and their stories. â Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    I can't say that Hard Candy is a great movie but i can't either say that it is a disaster. First of all it has great actors and an excellent cinematography. At the beginning it is a really lame and slow movie and it gets to the last minutes. It is really disturbing all these tortures and I can say that really annoyed me in a good way as i really like movies like Saw. I had greatI can't say that Hard Candy is a great movie but i can't either say that it is a disaster. First of all it has great actors and an excellent cinematography. At the beginning it is a really lame and slow movie and it gets to the last minutes. It is really disturbing all these tortures and I can say that really annoyed me in a good way as i really like movies like Saw. I had great expectations for Hard Candy and I think they were a little bit high. You will only like it if you like sadistic movies like Saw otherwise you will waste your time and you will might feel really seek after watching that film. I give it 6/10 because it starts really bad and it is quite boring. After half an hour it gets more interesting. If only the first scenes were better.... Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    A very disturbing, but great movie. When I first saw that Ellen Page was the lead I watched it. I soon found out that young people are not always innocent. The last line of the movie when she says "Or Not" really shows that if you are convincing you can get anyone to believe you. A shocking thrill ride that will make you cringe, cry and maybe even smile a little
  6. Mike
    Oct 9, 2006
    0
    The first 15 mins of the movie, were great! Very interesting and it kept me interested in what would have happened next. But then it went down hill it kept on getting more and more unbelievable, stay away from this movie!
  7. Aug 26, 2010
    3
    The strange philosophies of "Hard Candy" will no doubt polarize audiences, but pure exploitation tends to overcome any sense of right; there is a lot of brutality and sadism for the sake of justification - the exact type of movie that Michael Haneke's "Funny Games" was made to criticize. It's a shame because the colors are astounding and the acting is terrific, albeit acting forThe strange philosophies of "Hard Candy" will no doubt polarize audiences, but pure exploitation tends to overcome any sense of right; there is a lot of brutality and sadism for the sake of justification - the exact type of movie that Michael Haneke's "Funny Games" was made to criticize. It's a shame because the colors are astounding and the acting is terrific, albeit acting for frustrating impossible characters. Expand
  8. Mar 7, 2011
    0
    This flick gave as an example of how bluntly depressive now days entertainment could be."Masterpiece" in therms of, how to make a low-budget movie that aspiring to be a blockbust...sorry a ballcutter
  9. LilH
    May 19, 2008
    10
    Loved it. The recoloring was amazing, not to mention Ellen Page's performance. Very thought provoking too.
  10. RadC.
    Jan 13, 2010
    0
    Good acting; but no points can be awarded when that great acting creats an abhorrent, distasteful film. The film denounces pedophilia, while embracing sadism, torture, and the ultimate of all sins -- suicide. I have never seen a bigger steaming pile of hypocritical filth in my life. The evil of pedophilia and alleged, unproven murder is minimized to an infinite degree by the larger evil Good acting; but no points can be awarded when that great acting creats an abhorrent, distasteful film. The film denounces pedophilia, while embracing sadism, torture, and the ultimate of all sins -- suicide. I have never seen a bigger steaming pile of hypocritical filth in my life. The evil of pedophilia and alleged, unproven murder is minimized to an infinite degree by the larger evil of the young girl's psychotic and inverted brand of "justice". When you start thinking the pedophiles aren't such bad guys after all, the film has obviously plunged into an endless chasm of pure failure (unless, of course, that's what the author wanted you to think, which would of course be infinitely more disturbing than the already incomprehensibly twisted message within the film itself) -- A must-not-see!!!!!! Expand
  11. [Anonymous]
    Apr 22, 2006
    6
    This movie was like Home Alone for all male haters. The actors are amusing and the direction in parts is pretty good. But, if I am going to dish out $14 for a movie about someone being tortured, I better see alot of blood guts. Heck, I have seen more gore trick or treating down my street than I did in this movie. I think what tipped this movie from being slightly amusing to full on This movie was like Home Alone for all male haters. The actors are amusing and the direction in parts is pretty good. But, if I am going to dish out $14 for a movie about someone being tortured, I better see alot of blood guts. Heck, I have seen more gore trick or treating down my street than I did in this movie. I think what tipped this movie from being slightly amusing to full on retarded was just when you thought the movie was ending, they started back up with a new scenario. As if we already didn't get the point!!!! If you want to see real horror, go to this show, and then multiply the number of people who saw it by $14 and then you will have true horror. Expand
  12. Staceyflip
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    I was frozen in my seat! Spectacular and Gripping! to say the least. If anyone says the movie is disgusting- You don't really See anything! Ok? Some guys will hate it because of the strong female role and the male character going through..what he goes through. I love that you constantly change your opinion on who's side you're on. The acting was superb and completely suited I was frozen in my seat! Spectacular and Gripping! to say the least. If anyone says the movie is disgusting- You don't really See anything! Ok? Some guys will hate it because of the strong female role and the male character going through..what he goes through. I love that you constantly change your opinion on who's side you're on. The acting was superb and completely suited the character's age, mental stability and the event occurring. Fantastic camera and editing work that feels so deep and so raw. See it and make up your own mind. Expand
  13. DebC.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    I thought it was Awesome!!
  14. TomI
    Oct 18, 2006
    1
    I fell asleep watching the movie. I was bored with all the suspenseful monologues and occasional conversation. I fast forwarded through it to see things actually happening in the film. In this way, I saw the movie, but only wasted about 15-20 minutes of my time.
  15. StephenH.
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    I couldn't take my eyes off the screen...harrowing, in a word...Wilson and Page are superlative and pull of very difficult material that could have gone overheated. These are Oscar-worthy performances in a challenging yet fascinating film. Relentless, rewarding, with no copping out.
  16. Mari-eve
    May 3, 2006
    8
    It's a good thriller movie. Actual subject, good actress, intriguing.
  17. BlossomMarie
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    This movie was amazing. I ran out and rented it because I couldn't wait for Netflix and I'm a huge fan of Patrick Wilson from his performances in Angel in America and Phantom. I had read a few reviews and expected the film to be a lot gorier than it actually was. In reality, it's the mind of the viewer that creates the gore and horrors, as the film is almost shot entirely This movie was amazing. I ran out and rented it because I couldn't wait for Netflix and I'm a huge fan of Patrick Wilson from his performances in Angel in America and Phantom. I had read a few reviews and expected the film to be a lot gorier than it actually was. In reality, it's the mind of the viewer that creates the gore and horrors, as the film is almost shot entirely in close ups of Wilson and Page. As to the content, the film basically asks the viewers "who is more sick, this pedophiliac or the crazed girl who tortures him in the name of young girls everywhere?" I think the end of the film shows us the answer the producers would give, but the ambiguity of victim and predator leaves a deliciously eerie afterglow. Expand
  18. RazvyT.
    Dec 13, 2007
    9
    Very, very, very good movie with a nice script and a very good director.Oh and the actors played awesome !!!
  19. NickD.
    Jan 27, 2007
    6
    Starts off intriguing and tense, but ends up dragging its feet to a silly conclusion all the while transforming the main character into someone irrational and unrealistic. Would have been better as an 80 minute thriller without all the extra twists and turns toward the end.
  20. NeuroticRampage
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    These critics have absolutley NO idea what they are talking about. The acting, the story, the feeling is all there and its solid. The disturbing and often dark side to both characters will leave you on the fence with who is right and who is wrong. In a sense, they're both a little right and wrong, which is just a side effect in the hurling suspense this movie winds up to in its main These critics have absolutley NO idea what they are talking about. The acting, the story, the feeling is all there and its solid. The disturbing and often dark side to both characters will leave you on the fence with who is right and who is wrong. In a sense, they're both a little right and wrong, which is just a side effect in the hurling suspense this movie winds up to in its main plot. I'd urge you to buy this movie, since its unparalleled to anything I have ever seen in film. Expand
  21. TaniaC.
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    Absolutely great, brave movie. I think now a days it´s very important to show such a controversial topic.
  22. AlanN.
    Apr 7, 2008
    8
    I find it strange that some of the critics marked this movie so low. It is an extremely intense experience that takes place mostly in the confines of a single location. I never go into too much plot detail on my reviews but suffice to say this is a storyline that will offend some people, so beware. That said, I thought it was fairly tastefully done with no truly graphic scenes of either I find it strange that some of the critics marked this movie so low. It is an extremely intense experience that takes place mostly in the confines of a single location. I never go into too much plot detail on my reviews but suffice to say this is a storyline that will offend some people, so beware. That said, I thought it was fairly tastefully done with no truly graphic scenes of either sexually or violence. The actors performances, the claustrophobic nature of the setting and the fact that the two main characters are both damaged keeps the intensity alive throughout the movie. An excellent feat considering it is heavily dialogue driven. I very much recommend this movie. It should be noted that Ellen Page, the lead actress was 18 when she made the movie, despite playing a younger person. That may help some reconcile their morals and not miss out on a viewing. Oh and I urge you NOT to read Ms Habanera's review below if you wish to avoid a massive spoiler which will definitely spoil your enjoyment of the movie. Luckily I'd already seen the film prior to coming on here. Expand
  23. EmanueleS.
    Jul 22, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic: actors director and photography are perfect.
  24. spikeleejoint
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Whats with this movie, its too good. Not allowed. This town isn't big Enough for two incredible dream come trues. There's orgasms and "hard candy". Damn right I made fu**ing room for two. Twos company, threes a party with God.
  25. Junomacguff
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Holy sh**! What did just witness. A true masterpiece. How did the oscars miss this and catch a horrible movie like crash. The script for this movie was incredible. Patrick Wilson was perfect and very real and ellen page was truly godly magnificent. She was more then extraordinary. She usually gives performances like thus and I know it but I'm still always surprised. Really amazing Holy sh**! What did just witness. A true masterpiece. How did the oscars miss this and catch a horrible movie like crash. The script for this movie was incredible. Patrick Wilson was perfect and very real and ellen page was truly godly magnificent. She was more then extraordinary. She usually gives performances like thus and I know it but I'm still always surprised. Really amazing movie. I don't know what other adjectives to describe this movie as(or ellen page) but its needs to be watched. The ending is awesome. Expand
  26. StevenH
    Jan 25, 2010
    1
    A low-budget film with an implausible story, annoying characters, and no particular message. Wilson plays a stereotypical paedophile but with Hollywood good looks and Page plays a psychopathic Dirty Harriet militant feminist fantasy. Essentially the movie consists of Ellen Page pestering Patrick Wilson with annoying banter, tying him up, and calling him a kiddie fiddler, with the climax A low-budget film with an implausible story, annoying characters, and no particular message. Wilson plays a stereotypical paedophile but with Hollywood good looks and Page plays a psychopathic Dirty Harriet militant feminist fantasy. Essentially the movie consists of Ellen Page pestering Patrick Wilson with annoying banter, tying him up, and calling him a kiddie fiddler, with the climax of the film being the opening of his super secret kiddie porn stash located in a DaVinci Code vault (lmao). About 90% of the audience will be rooting for Wilson, telling him to put Page in a blood choke, 5% will be sleeping, and 5% will be walking out. If this doesn't sound like entertainment to you then you probably shouldn't see this film. However, I must concede one point because the movie wasn't 103 minutes of someone screaming in my face. Expand
  27. DeanS.
    Oct 16, 2006
    0
    Repugnant, repulsive and completely irredeemable. Utter schlock under the guise of being more. Terrible.
  28. BobC
    Oct 24, 2006
    7
    The very good acting of the two lead characters was crucial in this film as their interactions commanded nearly all of the screen time. The story keeps you guessing until the end who's the victim and who's the predator? .... And does the punishment fit the crime? My primary complaint is that I found the many and varied abilities of the young teenage female lead character to be The very good acting of the two lead characters was crucial in this film as their interactions commanded nearly all of the screen time. The story keeps you guessing until the end who's the victim and who's the predator? .... And does the punishment fit the crime? My primary complaint is that I found the many and varied abilities of the young teenage female lead character to be unbelievable and well beyond her years. Expand
  29. JeffreyL.
    May 3, 2006
    10
    A fantastic breaktrhough performance by Ellen Page, who creates a "psycho ....." of the same caliber as Glen Close in FATAL ATTRACTION and Kathy Bates in MISERY. (And with better one-liners!)
  30. SeanM.
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Very intense and unsettling psychological drama. Great performances, not over the top, although some of the scenes definitely are. Two big thumbs up from me.
  31. StephenS.
    Jul 13, 2006
    6
    Seasoned cinemagoers are entitled to read
  32. DazDaz
    Sep 13, 2006
    4
    After seeing the movie I was left with this overpowering question that needed to be answered, who called the production dog Presley? ....
  33. FredW.
    Sep 24, 2006
    9
    I liked the uncertainty of who is actually the protagonist, as well as the absolutely agonizing climax and excellent performances, but in the end something that you can't put your finger on just doesn't feel right.
  34. JayMustYouKnow?
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    The film was...pleasing. I rather enjoyed the turn of events and I think Mr. Wilson and Miss Page are wonderful actors.
  35. DavidH.
    Jan 16, 2007
    0
    Complete dung, Ellen Page is awful, overracting in the extreme. Jocks who will think that having endured the castration sequence will bring a new dimension to their machismo (the irony) and adolescents whose taste for mass produced sadistic gratification is unparallelled will have lapped it up. Don't go to see this.
  36. RyanM.
    Jul 1, 2007
    1
    Starts out intriguing and just bombs from there. Some stylish scenes but all for the sake of style with no real purpose. The movie left me feeling ill and duped. It seemed liked I was waiting for the movie to get interesting and good the whole time. Then suddenly it was over. Nothing really made sense here. Complete utter barf!
  37. JonathanF.
    Jan 28, 2008
    6
    Ellen Page of course is great, my bet is she'll have a long impressive career. Patrick Wilson is pretty impressive too, probably one of the more underrated male actors of his generation - he was fantastic in Little Children too. The movie probably would have been better in my opinion had it stayed on the course it seemed to be heading in the fist 20 minutes, but it turns into some Ellen Page of course is great, my bet is she'll have a long impressive career. Patrick Wilson is pretty impressive too, probably one of the more underrated male actors of his generation - he was fantastic in Little Children too. The movie probably would have been better in my opinion had it stayed on the course it seemed to be heading in the fist 20 minutes, but it turns into some extremely implausible spider web of a film. Some great scenes, but their outcomes are often disappointing. Sandra Oh and Ellen Page together on screen was tasty - yet Oh's role is minuscule. A respectable, well-acted, but ultimately disappointing and confused movie. Make of it what you will. Expand
  38. LukeH.
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    Amazing. One of the most perfect movies you will ever see.
  39. MsHabanera
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    This movie was fantastic. The acting was superb, the direction and cinematography top notch. A tough subject. I agree with Stacey flip - it was gripping. And just when the story threatens to be monotonous, Jeff figures out the castration was faked, and the film turns again. Simply astonishing & gutsy.
  40. JakobL.
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    This intense thriller shocks with its intense visuals and explicit content. Young actress Ellen Page succeeds with acting the part of you Haley that captures a person she suspects to be a pedophile and tortures him until he admits to the crime, if he even committed such? The audience will constantly have to reconsider who's the good guy in the movie, is it the young girl who's This intense thriller shocks with its intense visuals and explicit content. Young actress Ellen Page succeeds with acting the part of you Haley that captures a person she suspects to be a pedophile and tortures him until he admits to the crime, if he even committed such? The audience will constantly have to reconsider who's the good guy in the movie, is it the young girl who's rightfully punishing a killer and a rapist or is it the innocent 30 year old photographer thats a victim of a young girls insanity, remember four out five doctors do agree that she is in fact insane. Expand
  41. KyleK.
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    A raw, disturbing film that keeps you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. This is a hard film to watch. Its not for everybody (remorseless torture is involved) but for those who aren't bothered by its explicit subject matter, this is a must see. If for nothing else watch it for the performances. Patrick Wilson and Ellen Page are phenominal (probably the best two A raw, disturbing film that keeps you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. This is a hard film to watch. Its not for everybody (remorseless torture is involved) but for those who aren't bothered by its explicit subject matter, this is a must see. If for nothing else watch it for the performances. Patrick Wilson and Ellen Page are phenominal (probably the best two performances of 2006). Expand
  42. Tasha
    Aug 3, 2008
    9
    Weird but great movie!
  43. DarrenW
    Aug 12, 2009
    9
    I'm no relation to Matthew W, and while all are entitled to their opinion, am glad as I could not disagree any more vehemently. I have to point out that (spoiler warning!!) his assertions that Jeff was tortured for no reason are misguided, as is apparent to any who pay attention to the film all the way through instead of tuning out to ponder their expectations of the next blockbuster I'm no relation to Matthew W, and while all are entitled to their opinion, am glad as I could not disagree any more vehemently. I have to point out that (spoiler warning!!) his assertions that Jeff was tortured for no reason are misguided, as is apparent to any who pay attention to the film all the way through instead of tuning out to ponder their expectations of the next blockbuster on show (or, in Matthew W's case, perhaps "too" ponder it). As for my review, I found the roles to be incredibly well portrayed, with Ellen's blend of adolescent enthusiasm and intriguing insight a rival for Dakota Fannings role in "Man on Fire". Patrick Wilson was a brilliant counterpart to this, leaving the audience wondering till near the end as to his true role in the story. Not since "2 girls and a guy" have I seen as good a counter play between characters. The cinematography was excellent, with only one exception, (another spoiler warning here) early on in the film which, for the insightful, may give a hint as to one of the early twists in the story.The remainder excels in it's efforts, and helps emphasize said counter play between the characters. For the story, I can only say enthralling. A psychological thriller is push and pull by definition, and if I give any criticism, it is that I found it a little too one sided. That being said, the twists were original, and the audience was regularly left asking where the line was to be drawn. I enjoy blockbusters as much as the next person, but is relieving to see some writers able to make a film that doesn't rely on any special effects, able instead to find a way to use the acting to carry the audience on a journey. Often it is said the book is better than the movie, but I feel that in this case, were the book readily available, I would still rave about the movie. I look forward to the stage production. Expand
  44. JasonH.
    Nov 5, 2006
    1
    This movie only gets a one because of the good (not great) cinematography. The movie ultimately has no point. I found myself pulling for the "so called" bad person more than the one fighting for the cause. This movie was obviously made by someone with an abused childhood who wanted to vent.
  45. JonB.
    Dec 11, 2006
    8
    A fascinating revelation: It's a Hollywood movie that is actually thought provoking. Who would have thought it possible? Superb performances add to a plot that finds you constantly questioning your moral judgment of both characters throughout the film. Tense, challenging, occasionally gruesome, but a refreshingly orginal take on the long suffering thriller genre.
  46. CatS.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Wow! Disturbing ,beautifuly shot , Ellen Page is an unbeliveably complex actress. Patrick Wilson plays off her preformance with such realism. Subject matter is difficult ,taboo for some, but for those that enjoy a film with charecters sound and visuals this is a must see peice of art!
  47. JarJar
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    VIsceral and tight, any concerns regarding plot are obliterated by the amazing performances and social implications of their actions. Utterly amazing.
  48. Mase
    Apr 22, 2006
    8
    Original, daring filmmaking! A pshychological thriller with only two characters were you aren't really sure who to root for. Often squirmish but definatley leaves you with something to think about. We need more challenging movies like this. Regardless of believablity, I was entertained and provoked throughtout.
  49. JulioP.
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    Truly sadism at its best, and quite possibly the most terrifying film since Takashi Miike's "Audition." Though the "Hard Candy" plot is not as involved as the other, it remains a satisfying as an ultimate voyeur.
  50. JohnL.
    Sep 28, 2006
    9
    This is a great film but not for people with weak stomachs. A vigilante film that makes Charles Bronson look like a chump. It's so squalid; the most gruesome train wreck you'll ever see and you can't stop watching. Ellen page is Lolita with a "jack the ripper" profile. Hard Candy is sweet, I was musing over this film today and I'm finding I like it more and more. It This is a great film but not for people with weak stomachs. A vigilante film that makes Charles Bronson look like a chump. It's so squalid; the most gruesome train wreck you'll ever see and you can't stop watching. Ellen page is Lolita with a "jack the ripper" profile. Hard Candy is sweet, I was musing over this film today and I'm finding I like it more and more. It begs the question of vigilantism. Is there virtue in being a vigilante? The cinematography is great. The images that are crafted make your mind race and your stomach churn, and all by the power of suggestion. The story is also quite singular. See it if you don't mind the violence. Expand
  51. TonyB
    Oct 13, 2007
    4
    A potentially fascinating subject is given short shrift in this lackluster film. Aside from the excellent acting by the two leads, there is not much to recommend here.
  52. ImmortalDoll
    Oct 27, 2007
    8
    If the movie were simply based on a pedophile abducting a young girl it would
  53. AbsolutelyH.
    Sep 12, 2007
    1
    I can't comprehend how so many people could give this film a high rating. I am one of those people that loves messed up movies (using the word messed because I'm pretty sure the alternative is not allowed on this site) but this was absolute garbage. It wasn't the actors fault though, I think they played their parts very well. The problem with the movie is in the ridiculous I can't comprehend how so many people could give this film a high rating. I am one of those people that loves messed up movies (using the word messed because I'm pretty sure the alternative is not allowed on this site) but this was absolute garbage. It wasn't the actors fault though, I think they played their parts very well. The problem with the movie is in the ridiculous story. I would have been much more pleased if it was about a man abducting a young girl and all the stages he goes through to get her to sleep with him. It would have still been messed up but it would be something that could actually happen in real life. I mean, she gave him a castration.... How can you watch this and just think to yourself, who thought of this garbage? I understand movies do not have to be realistic but give me a break. If you want to watch a good film about pedophilia, I would recommend the documentary "Deliver Us From Evil". It makes you think much more than this piece. When I decided to look this up on metacritic, I thought that the highest rating it could have gotten was a 25 perhaps 30. But over 60, have any of you that gave this a good rating scene a decent film in your entire lives? I don't mean to bash on anyone, it will not help you see this through my eyes. It is just that a movie has never affected me in such a negative way before. I encourage people to see this movie so the balance of how many people like it versus dislike will even out. I'm done ranting, sorry if I offended you, like I said I don't like bashing on people for their opinions.... Expand
  54. R.H.
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    I wish people would stop saying how "striking" this movie was. I mean, yes, its great - its gritty, excellently acted, and cinematic. What i find is basically another thriller in a realistic style. I'm suprized to hear the director say hpw its "unlike how hollywood movies are made". Sorry, i'm getting used to the realistic style by now (Abou Schmidt, Cloverfield, etc.) But i I wish people would stop saying how "striking" this movie was. I mean, yes, its great - its gritty, excellently acted, and cinematic. What i find is basically another thriller in a realistic style. I'm suprized to hear the director say hpw its "unlike how hollywood movies are made". Sorry, i'm getting used to the realistic style by now (Abou Schmidt, Cloverfield, etc.) But i feel like these formal qualities are an excuse not to discuss its content, which i have to say is really noteworthy - i find this to be the most original aspect. What i find frighteningh i guess, is how easily this could easily happen to any guy. In the movie, her actions are partially justified by what he's done previously, but it shows how much power women actually have now on all social levels when it comes to sexual issues. (Some women will say its not enough, but i ask, what is enough?). This movie left me feeling downright frightened to talk to _any_ women... i wonder if that was the intended effect. I think i really need a movie now that resolves some of these issues (since clearly no solutions are offered here). The content is shocking, and original, but not really helpful in any way. (If there are women that feel empowered by this film, then i _am_ really scared. Were her actions justified by his? Maybe. Does that make them right? No.) Expand
  55. MatthewW
    Dec 15, 2008
    2
    Terrible. I truly cannot understand how everyone else gave this film such a high rating. While the acting was certianly something to be applauded the movie fails in what it sets out to do: show how sick pedophiles are and teach them a lesson. Throughout the entire movie, nothing at all happens to make the audience feel justified in enjoying or at least repecting what Hayley is doing to Terrible. I truly cannot understand how everyone else gave this film such a high rating. While the acting was certianly something to be applauded the movie fails in what it sets out to do: show how sick pedophiles are and teach them a lesson. Throughout the entire movie, nothing at all happens to make the audience feel justified in enjoying or at least repecting what Hayley is doing to Jeff. It is implied, yes, but within the context of the movie it is far to weak, especially considering what happens to Jeff. I almost cound not finish watching the picture and found myself cheering whenever Jeff actually managed to escape. Of course, if you like watching people get tortured for no reason, (at least this is how it seems), then defintely check this one out. Otherwise, take my advice and go watch something more entertaining such as 300. At least there's some explanation for all that bloodshed. Expand
  56. JimH.
    Jul 16, 2008
    8
    Provocative subject, striking visuals, and the first evidence of Ellen Page's obvious talent.
  57. robertt.
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    One of the best opportunistic movies for acting i have seen but of course i am a huge fan of Ellen Page. I think she is a phenomenal actress. i like the camera work for the most part as well as the directing and writing. I don't think it was the best film of 2005 but most likely one of them. Ellen Page was amazing bbut i thought that Patrick WIlson could have been better.Overall it One of the best opportunistic movies for acting i have seen but of course i am a huge fan of Ellen Page. I think she is a phenomenal actress. i like the camera work for the most part as well as the directing and writing. I don't think it was the best film of 2005 but most likely one of them. Ellen Page was amazing bbut i thought that Patrick WIlson could have been better.Overall it was a good movie. Collapse
  58. SeanC
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    The movie draws you in with Hayley's innocence, and soon turns. It surely isn't a movies everyone will like, the intensity is hard to sit though. I undeniably enjoyed it, but it took a while to get over the entirety of, in fact, it took me a week to decide weather or not I even liked the movie. I came to the conclusion that it was my undeniable favorite, if not just for the fact The movie draws you in with Hayley's innocence, and soon turns. It surely isn't a movies everyone will like, the intensity is hard to sit though. I undeniably enjoyed it, but it took a while to get over the entirety of, in fact, it took me a week to decide weather or not I even liked the movie. I came to the conclusion that it was my undeniable favorite, if not just for the fact that it took me that long to decide. The only problem about it is, that although it is my favorite, I doubt I will ever watch it again, it's simply too intense. It is a true "Must See". Expand
  59. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    Man meets young girl on Internet, lots in common, meet at coffee shop, go back to his house, get drunk, gets weird.
    Thriller that tackles a difficult subject but plays it out well helped by the brilliant Ellen Page.
    It has its uneasy moments but it's very well written & you're never really sure, even after the end credits, of what was what & who did what.
  60. Mar 11, 2011
    6
    Whether you'll like this movie or not highly depends on what you look at when you watch a movie. The acting is stunning, both actors do a tremendous job. Visually, this movie is also superb, the director did an amazing job.

    But the script is weak. The story drags on for waaaay too long, and the movie loses its initial drive to try to surprise us with plot twists that don't make a lot of
    Whether you'll like this movie or not highly depends on what you look at when you watch a movie. The acting is stunning, both actors do a tremendous job. Visually, this movie is also superb, the director did an amazing job.

    But the script is weak. The story drags on for waaaay too long, and the movie loses its initial drive to try to surprise us with plot twists that don't make a lot of sense and just make the whole seem longer. Worth it to see great acting, but otherwise, there are better movies out there.
    Expand
  61. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    I watched this one because I saw it at the library and I knew it was supposed to be very interesting. Then a friend told me it was the best thing Page had done even over Juno. I was really excited to see this one. What I saw...*shudder* oh yes, *shudder*

    Acting/Characters: There are only 2 people in this movie. Yes I know Sandra Oh receives top billing but it was like John Rhys-Davies in
    I watched this one because I saw it at the library and I knew it was supposed to be very interesting. Then a friend told me it was the best thing Page had done even over Juno. I was really excited to see this one. What I saw...*shudder* oh yes, *shudder*

    Acting/Characters: There are only 2 people in this movie. Yes I know Sandra Oh receives top billing but it was like John Rhys-Davies in Ferocious Planet, it's just a name draw. It is just Patrick Wilson and Ellen Page interacting with each other. I must say, Ellen Page can play a total psychopath if she wants. In fact, this movie showed me that she can play whatever she wants. I had only ever seen her in Juno, Inception, and X-Men. I agree with my friend that this was the best thing she has done. Her range of emotions and delivery of her lines were spectacular I must say. Patrick Wilson did an excellent job acting with Page. But it was really her show of course. She commanded ever scene. Make no mistake, she was in charge. End of story. Thank goodness she did such an awesome job or this movie would have sucked. 9/10

    Plot: The story itself is original but I don't think the idea behind it is. Role-reversal of stuff like this isn't something I've never seen. The way that they presented it and the actual story is very original as far as I am aware. I was definitely never bored. It had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. One scene was just so difficult to watch. Anyone who is a guy who has seen this film knows which one. Double shudder on that one. The film wasn't too long although they probably could have shaved off a few seconds here and there...maybe not I guess. It wasn't overly long is what I'm trying to say. It was engaging, not too long, and told very effectively. The theme isn't original but I don't see anything wrong with that. 8.5/10

    Screenplay: I'd like to take a screenplay course someday and see if writing a screenplay for a film like this, that is to say, two or three principle actors who take up all of the screen-time in one basic space, or for a film with lots of people to write for. Whatever the case is, this one was pretty good. It really helped the actors out. it was written well enough for the really interesting bits of Page's character to come out. I don't know how hard it is to effectively write a sociopath, but they nailed it here. Very good job. 8.5/10

    Likableness: I saw it, I'm glad I saw it, but it isn't a film that I'm immediately going to pop back into the good ol' laptop again to watch. It'll be a while before I see this again. It will stay with me though. it is far from a forgettable film. I found myself wide-eyed with horror throughout most of the film. This is far better than any Saw film. It leaves a lot to your imagination which just makes it all the more effective. I would suggest this one to anyone who can handle something like this. It is definitely not for the fainthearted though. especially any fainthearted guys. I liked it a lot though. 9/10

    Final score: 35/40 87% (N)
    Tomatometer rating: 68%
    Tomatometer rating if my review was added: 68%


    TRIVIA TIME: 1. The stunt coordinator's house served as the exterior for Jeff's house. The interiors of Jeff's house were inspired by that of producer David Higgins, who planned to shoot the film there if enough money could not be secured to build sets.


    2. Both cast and crew members have denied that the costume choices for the character of Hayley were intended as a reference to the children's story 'Little Red Riding Hood.'

    3. Despite the intense emotional and physical content of most rest of the movie, Ellen Page said that one of the hardest scenes to shoot by far was the scene at Nighthawks, where for take after take she had to eat more tiramisu than she could ever want.

    4. The final shot of Hayley with the hoody pulled over her head was taken by the DP Jo Willems without Ellen Page knowing. She didn't know about the shot until she saw the final cut.

    5. According to actress Ellen Page, the iconic red hooded shirt (which belonged to Ellen Page) used in the movie and on the posters was, in fact, orange. The color was changed in post-production.

    6. Because Ellen Page shaved her head for her previous film role, during the audition she was mistaken for a boy. The effect was so off-putting she had to put on a wig, where she then gave a phenomenal reading.
    Expand
  62. Sep 13, 2012
    8
    Hard Candy is one of those films that you just have to see, one of the films that should be on an all time greatest movies list. Ellen Paige plays Haley, a 14 year old girl who is being sexually groomed by 30 something year old Jim. When Jim invites Haley back to his for a 'photoshoot' Jim gets unexpected surprise. After awakening from unconsciousness Haley explains to him that she has hadHard Candy is one of those films that you just have to see, one of the films that should be on an all time greatest movies list. Ellen Paige plays Haley, a 14 year old girl who is being sexually groomed by 30 something year old Jim. When Jim invites Haley back to his for a 'photoshoot' Jim gets unexpected surprise. After awakening from unconsciousness Haley explains to him that she has had her eye in him for a long time and that he should pay for his involvement for a rape and murder of a teenage girl. As Haley uncovers more secrets to Jim's past she forces him into one very tough decision.
    The film is not overly bloody nor gory for the most part, even its claim to fame scene doesn't have that much blood which at times made me question the 18 certificate, especially when the film is a thriller yet it has no real heart racing moments like a thriller should. Though the acting and storytelling are top notch Hard Candy falls flat when it comes to its 'edge of your seat' moments. Despite this the film is great and should be watched by everyone
    Expand
  63. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is one of the most disturbing and engrossing movies. It sure does
    holds our attention after watching it and it is a perfect one time
    watch movie. The highlight of the movie is lead performances by Ellen
    Page and Patrick Wilson. About Page,she did her job so good.One of the
    most creepiest performances. She looks so sweet and act grievously,she
    really is a hard candy in the movie.She is one of the natural actors.
    Patrick Wilson too well-acted the character of a pedophile who got has
    been stuck with an insane girl who kills pedophile. His depiction of
    anger,pain and surprise is really great. The cat and mouse game holds
    us onto the edge our seats. The plot is totally unpredictable and many
    scenes amazes us throughout the movie. Changing frequency and shaky
    camera style in some scenes is also dazzling. Writers picked a
    controversial topic and with a low-budget they turned it into a
    capricious suspense thriller. If there were no flaws it would been the
    one of the best thrillers. Character development and repetition of same
    dialogues i.e."You are a pedophile" "No i am not" "You killed her" "i
    didn't kill her" etc. seems cheesy. Though the plot is unpredictable it
    is a bit crumby in scenes. But it is great two time watch movie. I
    enjoyed it. Hats off to Patrick Wilson and Ellen Page.
    Expand
  64. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A brilliant film. The film does leave one major question unanswered...who is Hayley?...but that does not stop this brave film from being unbelievably intense. Ellen Page and Patrick Wilson are absolutely terrific, and Sandra Oh is effective in her tiny role. A must-see film starring Ellen Page, pre-Juno. Expand
  65. Sep 20, 2014
    8
    I haven't seen many of Ellen Page's films, but I've liked her both here and in To Rome with Love. She's really good here, in a strong script. I thought Slade did a good job directing, for a relatively new kid on the block. If you can get past the controversial material and take the film on its own merits, I think you'll find it a rewarding experience. Because we exist in a moderatelyI haven't seen many of Ellen Page's films, but I've liked her both here and in To Rome with Love. She's really good here, in a strong script. I thought Slade did a good job directing, for a relatively new kid on the block. If you can get past the controversial material and take the film on its own merits, I think you'll find it a rewarding experience. Because we exist in a moderately crappy world where bad things happen to good people, no matter what they do, and since losers, both pedophilic and psychopathic, exist, that make friendships and relationships of any sort a virtual minefield, this film should be mandatory viewing. Expand
  66. Mar 30, 2015
    8
    Ellen Page and Patrick Wilson are awesome in that surprisingly good movie.The characters are believable and the acting is convincing.The end of the movie is just so good.None of hollywood big budget movies will ever do something like that.
  67. Sep 2, 2014
    7
    "Hard Candy" is disturbing, shocking, and difficult to watch. The movies begins as a sort of Dateline episode but quickly changes to a much darker tone. It's difficult to recommend this movie, but if you can stomach an off-screen castration scene, I say go ahead and watch it.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Tautly directed by David Slade, this drama probably offers more sadism than anyone could possibly want...The characters are absurd, but if you're up for this sort of thing, then surely you can con yourself into accepting them. Personally, I'd rather have this movie obliterated from my memory.
  2. 100
    A tough sit, but it attracts more than repels you. It commands your attention. Once it lands its hooks in you, there's no tearing away.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    A spectacular performance by teenage thesp Ellen Page elevates this disturbing slice of designer shocksploitation into a film that's impossible to dismiss on principle.