Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: April 25, 2008
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 315 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
249
Mixed:
41
Negative:
25
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
RichardS.Apr 26, 2008
This movie is so damn stupid that anyone who thinks its brilliant or amazing must be brain-damaged. What makes this movie good? The disjointed plot (it's called Escape from Guantanamo Bay, but is that what the movie's really about, This movie is so damn stupid that anyone who thinks its brilliant or amazing must be brain-damaged. What makes this movie good? The disjointed plot (it's called Escape from Guantanamo Bay, but is that what the movie's really about, or is it going from one place and joke to another without any real point?) The bad acting (from the whole cast)? The lame, stupid jokes (was there anything intelligent about the humour)? Is it funny cuz of the constant references to drug and sex: if you find that funny then may be you're still a teenager, even though the movie's not for kids. The terrible attempts at satire? The inspiring music? Seriously, think about it: does Harold and Kumar have the makings of a good movie? And by good I don't mean one of those serious dramas that are usually Oscar contenders. I mean good in the sense of normal good, like most Pixar or Dream Works comedies. This movie sucked and blowed at the same time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
JeffW.May 7, 2008
A very sad excuse for a comedy. It lacked any overall cleverness or even humor at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.May 1, 2008
If everybody was stoned out of their minds on weed, nobody would care if you were Korean, a Gujarti Indian, or Neil Patrick Harris. That message still applies to "Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay", but this unforeseen(and If everybody was stoned out of their minds on weed, nobody would care if you were Korean, a Gujarti Indian, or Neil Patrick Harris. That message still applies to "Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay", but this unforeseen(and unnecessary) sequel is nowhere near as fun as its predecessor, whose modest story of two American stoners(who just happened to be said Korean and Guajarti Indian) on a quest for the perfect burger, was transgressive, but above all else, hillarious. Beset with two appealing filmic elements: Guantanamo Bay, and Neil Patrick Harris as Neil Patrick Harris, "Harold and Kumar..." wastes both, by not using locale and comedic weapon in tandem. Isn't it obvious? Harold(John Cho) and Kumar(Kal Penn) should go to Guantanamo Bay to free Doogie Howser on a fried commando raid. The "escape from Guantanamo Bay" should be the film's climax, not just some matter-of-fact episode in the pair's stoned road trip. Just imagine the surreal fun that could be had if the star of the ABC sitcom "How I Met Your Mother" was actually an Islamic fundamentalist? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeA.May 25, 2008
It was garbage. It was total anti-racist. The film makes fun of white people. It is garbage. Not funny. The guy breaks many laws and should have gone to jail. Total stupid, but Neil Patrick Harris is okay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyencokeAug 1, 2008
It really wasn't funny at all. It was just toilet humor.. First one was good. This was just plain garbage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisP.Aug 6, 2008
One of the greater regrets in my life was not stopping myself from leaving the room where the movie was playing. The jokes fall into the f-yeah, beer, boobs, weed, 18-24 range that can drive anyone crazy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TomS.Apr 29, 2008
This was a pitiful, unfunny sequel to the brilliant initial film. Boring, predictable, and juvenile. Real disappointment. Avoid it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WiltonCJun 25, 2008
The worst movie I've seen since Norbit. Let's kill off the only good thing about the first movie, recycle all the old jokes and try to pass off that war criminal Bush as some kind of pot smoking cool guy who hates his dad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ApocalypseBrownJul 24, 2008
What a sad and pathetic film! Not only is it an insult to those innocents tortured and killed there, it is a huge waste of time and money. AVOID! Or watch on pirate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeS.Aug 16, 2008
We loved the first one. This one is awful. Explicit nudity and excessive crudity substitute for clever humor. What a disappointment!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BethC.Jun 17, 2009
I surprisingly enjoyed the first one and thought that any film that had the guts to call itself, "Escape from Guantanamo Bay" would have some good political satire. I was very disappointed. The film really has very little to do with Gitmo I surprisingly enjoyed the first one and thought that any film that had the guts to call itself, "Escape from Guantanamo Bay" would have some good political satire. I was very disappointed. The film really has very little to do with Gitmo and the characters leave Cuba almost immediately (losing an opportunity for culture clash humor). Instead, there is lots of adolescent gross out humor. The Homeland Security Officer is way too broad to be really funny, although there is a good scene where his assistant attempts to speak to Harold's parents in Korean (and they answer in English). I gave up on the video at the halfway point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BillH.Apr 27, 2008
Absolutely abysmal. Even after you get past all the unecessary raunch - the over-the top language; the stupid scenes; the sophmoric sexual references (gay & straight); what you are left with is a really bad movie. I'm only rating it a 3 Absolutely abysmal. Even after you get past all the unecessary raunch - the over-the top language; the stupid scenes; the sophmoric sexual references (gay & straight); what you are left with is a really bad movie. I'm only rating it a 3 because there were at least a few funny scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanS.Jun 29, 2008
I have to give the movie a 0 because it was so bad and I walked out. Lots of single word would describe it, terrible, lame, wasteful, tasteless, etc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DanCJan 28, 2009
Where the original was fresh, funny, and clever, the sequel is anything but. The reliance on pathetic and not-funny toilet humor is sad and off-putting. The misogyny is in full bloom, and not in a funny or clever way. Glimpses of what the Where the original was fresh, funny, and clever, the sequel is anything but. The reliance on pathetic and not-funny toilet humor is sad and off-putting. The misogyny is in full bloom, and not in a funny or clever way. Glimpses of what the movie could have been come from the hilarious scenes with Neil Patrick Harris, proving once again that he belongs in a class by himself, and the good-natured final montage in Amsterdam. The final montage captures all the goofy and sweet comedic energy that this movie could have had, but totally missed. A major disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RodrigoBGCNov 9, 2011
I can only imagine that the director of this movie was so high that he think that been high is to cool that actually could be funny, this movie is to racist, stupid and extreme that sucks my score is 2 out of 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews