User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 155
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NeilH.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    This movie is instantly in my top 3 movies all time. The people who rate it low are just the grouchy old people.
  2. MichaelA.
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    One of the best stoner movies to have come out in the last four years! I say it is just as good as the original, not better, but just as good. There are a lot of references to other stoner movies, and a lot of inside jokes from things that happened in the first movie. The soundtrack is the best I have heard in any stoner movie since Cheech & Chong Up In Smoke, and it definately rips that One of the best stoner movies to have come out in the last four years! I say it is just as good as the original, not better, but just as good. There are a lot of references to other stoner movies, and a lot of inside jokes from things that happened in the first movie. The soundtrack is the best I have heard in any stoner movie since Cheech & Chong Up In Smoke, and it definately rips that cookie-cutter BS from the first film. There are a lot of male genitalia jokes throughout the film, so if one is turned off or intimidated by that kind of humor, that could be viewed as something to watch out for. Overall I would say this movie is a must for everyone to watch, and a necessity for any stoner DVD collection. With tons of features and the ability to re-arrange the entire trip, this DVD has lots of replay value! P.S. Toughing out the credits could yield a nice surprise. Expand
  3. HugoR.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    As good as the first.
  4. TheSwami
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    Not quite as good as the first (as expected in any sequel), but it is pretty freaking funny at times. Some jokes fall flat, but on the whole I was greatly entertained.
  5. NickS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Hilarious, something you can partially relate to, and overall a great comedy.
  6. RC
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Excellent movie! very funny as well as pokes fun at how stupid and arrogant the us government is.
  7. ChrisW.
    Aug 1, 2008
    9
    Not as good as the first movie... but it had its moments. Neil Patrick Harris is Golden! The Un-Rated version was a bit too un-rated at times. I felt like I had stumbled onto a Porn channel or something during the pool scene and when the two hookers start making out.
  8. CarlW
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    Absolutely hilarious! I am in the 30-45 demographic and loved it. Sure a lot of the jokes are cheap toilet humour but there was a lot more to the movie than that. I give the movie a 10 even though there were some parts I didn't like because it was just so funny, clever and well directed. Rober Corddry as the Homeland Security Officer is pure gold. Seriously anyone who disliked this Absolutely hilarious! I am in the 30-45 demographic and loved it. Sure a lot of the jokes are cheap toilet humour but there was a lot more to the movie than that. I give the movie a 10 even though there were some parts I didn't like because it was just so funny, clever and well directed. Rober Corddry as the Homeland Security Officer is pure gold. Seriously anyone who disliked this movie and I can see that a few people gave it a zero, should take a long hard look at themselves. Expand
  9. DavidA.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Simply Amazing.
  10. TiS.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Cool movie.
  11. DougG
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    As good as if not better than the first. The threesome with the weed, Kumar, and his soon to be fiance was just hilarious.
  12. BaffL.
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    Love that it picks up right after the first movie, also college age Harold nearly made me piss myself. Maybe all these newspaper critics feel it's beneath them. Bah!
  13. [Anonymous]
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    Great movie. Some laughs already seen in the trailers, but definitely not a let down.
  14. Athena
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    One of the best laughs you will have at the movies all year. Completely ridiculous but you should expect that. Beware of some poop jokes at the beginning but other than that you'll just laugh till your sides hurt
  15. AlecB.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Easily the funniest movie of 2008. Even better than the first Harold and Kumar. It kept me laughing from the beginning all the way to the end. Anybody who liked the first movie or just likes a funny comedy i strongly recommend this one
  16. FrederickM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    Not as great as the first, but a throughly enjoyable experience.
  17. TylerH.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Great movie, I don't get why its rated so low.
  18. TylerD.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Unbelievably hilarious and i don't even do drugs
  19. EnderW.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    Funny movie. Maybe not as great as the first one, but still a great stoner flick.
  20. GeorgeN.
    Jul 31, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. It was nice to relax and laugh. It made me happy! Also, Joe A. is obviously a racist.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    50
    Lacks the fresh charm that made their first such an unexpected (if guilty) pleasure.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    70
    An over-the-top and beyond-PC comedy that sometimes deftly, sometimes slapdashedly infuses party-hearty anarchy with hectoring moral outrage.
  3. Mostly dumb, no matter how desperately and even valiantly it aims for "thinky."