Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: April 25, 2008
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 313 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
249
Mixed:
39
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
RichardS.Apr 26, 2008
This movie is so damn stupid that anyone who thinks its brilliant or amazing must be brain-damaged. What makes this movie good? The disjointed plot (it's called Escape from Guantanamo Bay, but is that what the movie's really about, This movie is so damn stupid that anyone who thinks its brilliant or amazing must be brain-damaged. What makes this movie good? The disjointed plot (it's called Escape from Guantanamo Bay, but is that what the movie's really about, or is it going from one place and joke to another without any real point?) The bad acting (from the whole cast)? The lame, stupid jokes (was there anything intelligent about the humour)? Is it funny cuz of the constant references to drug and sex: if you find that funny then may be you're still a teenager, even though the movie's not for kids. The terrible attempts at satire? The inspiring music? Seriously, think about it: does Harold and Kumar have the makings of a good movie? And by good I don't mean one of those serious dramas that are usually Oscar contenders. I mean good in the sense of normal good, like most Pixar or Dream Works comedies. This movie sucked and blowed at the same time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
JoeT.Aug 3, 2008
SPOILER This mislabeled sequel doesn't even have much to do with Gitmo. Any opportunity lost. Probably a '6', but am so disappointed by how unfunny and toothless this sequel turned out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertP.May 11, 2008
If it's good enough for A.O. Scott, it's good enough for me. I've seen it twice. The stereotypes are well done. The nasty humor is so ridiculous that you can't help but bust a gut laughing. Not for everyone. The easily If it's good enough for A.O. Scott, it's good enough for me. I've seen it twice. The stereotypes are well done. The nasty humor is so ridiculous that you can't help but bust a gut laughing. Not for everyone. The easily offended should stay home and fans of that new Ashton Kutcher movie wouldn't get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillLMay 2, 2008
Definitely not bad, but doesn't top the first one. However, considering how its just another low-budget stoner movie, it is well written and definately deserves a view for college kids with a free weekend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilH.May 6, 2008
This movie is instantly in my top 3 movies all time. The people who rate it low are just the grouchy old people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeffW.May 7, 2008
A very sad excuse for a comedy. It lacked any overall cleverness or even humor at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelA.Aug 4, 2008
One of the best stoner movies to have come out in the last four years! I say it is just as good as the original, not better, but just as good. There are a lot of references to other stoner movies, and a lot of inside jokes from things that One of the best stoner movies to have come out in the last four years! I say it is just as good as the original, not better, but just as good. There are a lot of references to other stoner movies, and a lot of inside jokes from things that happened in the first movie. The soundtrack is the best I have heard in any stoner movie since Cheech & Chong Up In Smoke, and it definately rips that cookie-cutter BS from the first film. There are a lot of male genitalia jokes throughout the film, so if one is turned off or intimidated by that kind of humor, that could be viewed as something to watch out for. Overall I would say this movie is a must for everyone to watch, and a necessity for any stoner DVD collection. With tons of features and the ability to re-arrange the entire trip, this DVD has lots of replay value! P.S. Toughing out the credits could yield a nice surprise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HugoR.Apr 25, 2008
As good as the first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheSwamiApr 28, 2008
Not quite as good as the first (as expected in any sequel), but it is pretty freaking funny at times. Some jokes fall flat, but on the whole I was greatly entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickS.Apr 28, 2008
Hilarious, something you can partially relate to, and overall a great comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RCApr 28, 2008
Excellent movie! very funny as well as pokes fun at how stupid and arrogant the us government is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JimBApr 28, 2008
These first 3 ratings are from rating bots; there is no way this movie is worth a 10; it was worse than the first. The movie was epic meh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.May 1, 2008
If everybody was stoned out of their minds on weed, nobody would care if you were Korean, a Gujarti Indian, or Neil Patrick Harris. That message still applies to "Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay", but this unforeseen(and If everybody was stoned out of their minds on weed, nobody would care if you were Korean, a Gujarti Indian, or Neil Patrick Harris. That message still applies to "Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay", but this unforeseen(and unnecessary) sequel is nowhere near as fun as its predecessor, whose modest story of two American stoners(who just happened to be said Korean and Guajarti Indian) on a quest for the perfect burger, was transgressive, but above all else, hillarious. Beset with two appealing filmic elements: Guantanamo Bay, and Neil Patrick Harris as Neil Patrick Harris, "Harold and Kumar..." wastes both, by not using locale and comedic weapon in tandem. Isn't it obvious? Harold(John Cho) and Kumar(Kal Penn) should go to Guantanamo Bay to free Doogie Howser on a fried commando raid. The "escape from Guantanamo Bay" should be the film's climax, not just some matter-of-fact episode in the pair's stoned road trip. Just imagine the surreal fun that could be had if the star of the ABC sitcom "How I Met Your Mother" was actually an Islamic fundamentalist? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeA.May 25, 2008
It was garbage. It was total anti-racist. The film makes fun of white people. It is garbage. Not funny. The guy breaks many laws and should have gone to jail. Total stupid, but Neil Patrick Harris is okay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisW.Aug 1, 2008
Not as good as the first movie... but it had its moments. Neil Patrick Harris is Golden! The Un-Rated version was a bit too un-rated at times. I felt like I had stumbled onto a Porn channel or something during the pool scene and when the two Not as good as the first movie... but it had its moments. Neil Patrick Harris is Golden! The Un-Rated version was a bit too un-rated at times. I felt like I had stumbled onto a Porn channel or something during the pool scene and when the two hookers start making out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyencokeAug 1, 2008
It really wasn't funny at all. It was just toilet humor.. First one was good. This was just plain garbage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulF.Aug 17, 2008
Basically much more funny than I thought it would be. I thought it was just going to be a big underlining political statement. There were a couple of priceless scenes, especially the ones with George W. Bush and Dougie Howser (Neil Patrick Basically much more funny than I thought it would be. I thought it was just going to be a big underlining political statement. There were a couple of priceless scenes, especially the ones with George W. Bush and Dougie Howser (Neil Patrick Harris). Though a bit formulalic (saw the first one after seeing this one) I really hope the make a third one. Harold and Kumar go together like Cheech and Chong but better as their personalities are distinctive from one another. In any case I highly recommend this movie but not for those who do not like crude humor as this definitely has its share. The movie does not depend on it but simply uses all mediums at it disposal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlWAug 26, 2008
Absolutely hilarious! I am in the 30-45 demographic and loved it. Sure a lot of the jokes are cheap toilet humour but there was a lot more to the movie than that. I give the movie a 10 even though there were some parts I didn't like Absolutely hilarious! I am in the 30-45 demographic and loved it. Sure a lot of the jokes are cheap toilet humour but there was a lot more to the movie than that. I give the movie a 10 even though there were some parts I didn't like because it was just so funny, clever and well directed. Rober Corddry as the Homeland Security Officer is pure gold. Seriously anyone who disliked this movie and I can see that a few people gave it a zero, should take a long hard look at themselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisP.Aug 6, 2008
One of the greater regrets in my life was not stopping myself from leaving the room where the movie was playing. The jokes fall into the f-yeah, beer, boobs, weed, 18-24 range that can drive anyone crazy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidA.Apr 25, 2008
Simply Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TiS.Apr 25, 2008
Cool movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougGApr 26, 2008
As good as if not better than the first. The threesome with the weed, Kumar, and his soon to be fiance was just hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BaffL.Apr 27, 2008
Love that it picks up right after the first movie, also college age Harold nearly made me piss myself. Maybe all these newspaper critics feel it's beneath them. Bah!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Apr 27, 2008
Great movie. Some laughs already seen in the trailers, but definitely not a let down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AthenaApr 27, 2008
One of the best laughs you will have at the movies all year. Completely ridiculous but you should expect that. Beware of some poop jokes at the beginning but other than that you'll just laugh till your sides hurt
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlecB.Apr 27, 2008
Easily the funniest movie of 2008. Even better than the first Harold and Kumar. It kept me laughing from the beginning all the way to the end. Anybody who liked the first movie or just likes a funny comedy i strongly recommend this one
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PoopsM.Apr 28, 2008
If you enjoyed the first one, you'll enjoy this one. You are warned, however, that this films title is very misleading. It should really be called, "Harold and Kumar Try to Get Laid" as most of the movie centers around Harold trying to If you enjoyed the first one, you'll enjoy this one. You are warned, however, that this films title is very misleading. It should really be called, "Harold and Kumar Try to Get Laid" as most of the movie centers around Harold trying to find his dream woman and Kumar tries to go to Texas to stop his ex from marrying some guy who has 3 small scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrederickM.Apr 28, 2008
Not as great as the first, but a throughly enjoyable experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TomS.Apr 29, 2008
This was a pitiful, unfunny sequel to the brilliant initial film. Boring, predictable, and juvenile. Real disappointment. Avoid it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerH.Apr 29, 2008
Great movie, I don't get why its rated so low.
0 of 0 users found this helpful