User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 304 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 304

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 3, 2015
    7
    I totally missed that there is a prequel to this movie, but not to worry: this one worked pretty well on its own. Genuinely funny in places. While some of the jokes these days have been used so often it isn't even funny anymore, the concept of this movie was pretty hilarious: on their way to Amsterdam, Kumar gets them arrested as terrorists because other passengers think his pot bong is aI totally missed that there is a prequel to this movie, but not to worry: this one worked pretty well on its own. Genuinely funny in places. While some of the jokes these days have been used so often it isn't even funny anymore, the concept of this movie was pretty hilarious: on their way to Amsterdam, Kumar gets them arrested as terrorists because other passengers think his pot bong is a bomb. Go figure. With a prick of an agent Ron Fox from Homeland Security leading the "investigation", it is clear everything is steadily going to hell. There is a hilarious scene with Fox interrogating Harold and Kumar's parents. The duo in trouble finds their way out of Guantanamo Bay, get back to US soil, and make their way to a friend whom they think might be able to help them. In the end, it seems that their only hope will be the President of the United States. This movie isn't perfect, but it is fun and definitely entertaining. The acting is pretty good too. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2014
    6
    This film soo disgusting!! Funny Enough but don't Let the Boobs too more.
    I really didn't think the first Harold and Kumar movie was all that good, I would rate it at around 6 out of 10, maybe 7, but at least it had more than one funny part. In this sequel the only funny part, to me anyway, was the scenes with George W in the secret room. Other than this, it just plain sucked ass. The
    This film soo disgusting!! Funny Enough but don't Let the Boobs too more.
    I really didn't think the first Harold and Kumar movie was all that good, I would rate it at around 6 out of 10, maybe 7, but at least it had more than one funny part. In this sequel the only funny part, to me anyway, was the scenes with George W in the secret room. Other than this, it just plain sucked ass. The filmmakers seemed to rely on gross gags with little or no build up and while I like many films that are stupid/gross, I just could not like this one. It just seemed to fall short of funny, it was predictable and kinda boring and maybe a little uncomfortable. I regretted seeing it while I was watching it.
    Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    4
    The Harold and Kumar sequel is quite hilarious but despite it's hilarity its far more unrealistic, less relatable, less unique and less funny as the first one.
  4. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    Doesn't deliver the laughs as well as the original, and doesn't have such a strikingly simple storyline. At it's core is a story about love, disguised with weed and dick jokes.
  5. Jun 12, 2013
    7
    The best film of the trilogy. Funny and entertaining. Liked it a lot
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    I can only imagine that the director of this movie was so high that he think that been high is to cool that actually could be funny, this movie is to racist, stupid and extreme that sucks my score is 2 out of 10
  7. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    This movie keeps you interested and entertained. Their was nothing extremely memorable about the movie but this movie pointed out a lot of possible stupidity that the government may be functioning on from the intelligence agencies to the president. The movie poked fun at many things but I found it to be more of an exposing of some situations that are not always as it seems. For example IThis movie keeps you interested and entertained. Their was nothing extremely memorable about the movie but this movie pointed out a lot of possible stupidity that the government may be functioning on from the intelligence agencies to the president. The movie poked fun at many things but I found it to be more of an exposing of some situations that are not always as it seems. For example I found the funniest part in the movie to be the bong scare on the plane. Expand
  8. Aug 7, 2011
    4
    Stupid movie with 'physiological' sense of humor. The only reason I watched it was Neil Patrick Harris... And he didn't let me down, because his character (named... Neil Patrick Harris) was hilarious.
  9. DanielV.
    Aug 6, 2009
    6
    I was disappointed with how this movie differs from the original. There were funny moments, but overall, it was bland. The guy second in command of homeland security was hilarious, though. And, had he not been included in this film, I do not think it would have been so funny. (The ghetto seen was also very funny). So, if you have seen the first one, and have not gotten a chance to see I was disappointed with how this movie differs from the original. There were funny moments, but overall, it was bland. The guy second in command of homeland security was hilarious, though. And, had he not been included in this film, I do not think it would have been so funny. (The ghetto seen was also very funny). So, if you have seen the first one, and have not gotten a chance to see this one, you are not missing out. Expand
  10. BethC.
    Jun 17, 2009
    3
    I surprisingly enjoyed the first one and thought that any film that had the guts to call itself, "Escape from Guantanamo Bay" would have some good political satire. I was very disappointed. The film really has very little to do with Gitmo and the characters leave Cuba almost immediately (losing an opportunity for culture clash humor). Instead, there is lots of adolescent gross out humor. I surprisingly enjoyed the first one and thought that any film that had the guts to call itself, "Escape from Guantanamo Bay" would have some good political satire. I was very disappointed. The film really has very little to do with Gitmo and the characters leave Cuba almost immediately (losing an opportunity for culture clash humor). Instead, there is lots of adolescent gross out humor. The Homeland Security Officer is way too broad to be really funny, although there is a good scene where his assistant attempts to speak to Harold's parents in Korean (and they answer in English). I gave up on the video at the halfway point. Expand
  11. DanC
    Jan 28, 2009
    3
    Where the original was fresh, funny, and clever, the sequel is anything but. The reliance on pathetic and not-funny toilet humor is sad and off-putting. The misogyny is in full bloom, and not in a funny or clever way. Glimpses of what the movie could have been come from the hilarious scenes with Neil Patrick Harris, proving once again that he belongs in a class by himself, and the Where the original was fresh, funny, and clever, the sequel is anything but. The reliance on pathetic and not-funny toilet humor is sad and off-putting. The misogyny is in full bloom, and not in a funny or clever way. Glimpses of what the movie could have been come from the hilarious scenes with Neil Patrick Harris, proving once again that he belongs in a class by himself, and the good-natured final montage in Amsterdam. The final montage captures all the goofy and sweet comedic energy that this movie could have had, but totally missed. A major disappointment. Expand
  12. CarlW
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    Absolutely hilarious! I am in the 30-45 demographic and loved it. Sure a lot of the jokes are cheap toilet humour but there was a lot more to the movie than that. I give the movie a 10 even though there were some parts I didn't like because it was just so funny, clever and well directed. Rober Corddry as the Homeland Security Officer is pure gold. Seriously anyone who disliked this Absolutely hilarious! I am in the 30-45 demographic and loved it. Sure a lot of the jokes are cheap toilet humour but there was a lot more to the movie than that. I give the movie a 10 even though there were some parts I didn't like because it was just so funny, clever and well directed. Rober Corddry as the Homeland Security Officer is pure gold. Seriously anyone who disliked this movie and I can see that a few people gave it a zero, should take a long hard look at themselves. Expand
  13. PaulF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    8
    Basically much more funny than I thought it would be. I thought it was just going to be a big underlining political statement. There were a couple of priceless scenes, especially the ones with George W. Bush and Dougie Howser (Neil Patrick Harris). Though a bit formulalic (saw the first one after seeing this one) I really hope the make a third one. Harold and Kumar go together like Cheech Basically much more funny than I thought it would be. I thought it was just going to be a big underlining political statement. There were a couple of priceless scenes, especially the ones with George W. Bush and Dougie Howser (Neil Patrick Harris). Though a bit formulalic (saw the first one after seeing this one) I really hope the make a third one. Harold and Kumar go together like Cheech and Chong but better as their personalities are distinctive from one another. In any case I highly recommend this movie but not for those who do not like crude humor as this definitely has its share. The movie does not depend on it but simply uses all mediums at it disposal. Expand
  14. JoeS.
    Aug 16, 2008
    0
    We loved the first one. This one is awful. Explicit nudity and excessive crudity substitute for clever humor. What a disappointment!
  15. ec
    Aug 12, 2008
    6
    Joe A. used the term "anti-racist" for someone who makes fun of white people. ummm, last time i checked, that's just "racist." there's no "reverse-racism" or "anti-racism" . . . the definition of racism is: racial prejudice or discrimination. if you are an African-American and you hate whites, you are racist. if you are white and you hate African-Americans, you are racist. Joe A. used the term "anti-racist" for someone who makes fun of white people. ummm, last time i checked, that's just "racist." there's no "reverse-racism" or "anti-racism" . . . the definition of racism is: racial prejudice or discrimination. if you are an African-American and you hate whites, you are racist. if you are white and you hate African-Americans, you are racist. sorry, that comment just bothered me a lot. Expand
  16. ChrisP.
    Aug 6, 2008
    0
    One of the greater regrets in my life was not stopping myself from leaving the room where the movie was playing. The jokes fall into the f-yeah, beer, boobs, weed, 18-24 range that can drive anyone crazy.
  17. MichaelA.
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    One of the best stoner movies to have come out in the last four years! I say it is just as good as the original, not better, but just as good. There are a lot of references to other stoner movies, and a lot of inside jokes from things that happened in the first movie. The soundtrack is the best I have heard in any stoner movie since Cheech & Chong Up In Smoke, and it definately rips that One of the best stoner movies to have come out in the last four years! I say it is just as good as the original, not better, but just as good. There are a lot of references to other stoner movies, and a lot of inside jokes from things that happened in the first movie. The soundtrack is the best I have heard in any stoner movie since Cheech & Chong Up In Smoke, and it definately rips that cookie-cutter BS from the first film. There are a lot of male genitalia jokes throughout the film, so if one is turned off or intimidated by that kind of humor, that could be viewed as something to watch out for. Overall I would say this movie is a must for everyone to watch, and a necessity for any stoner DVD collection. With tons of features and the ability to re-arrange the entire trip, this DVD has lots of replay value! P.S. Toughing out the credits could yield a nice surprise. Expand
  18. JoeT.
    Aug 3, 2008
    4
    SPOILER This mislabeled sequel doesn't even have much to do with Gitmo. Any opportunity lost. Probably a '6', but am so disappointed by how unfunny and toothless this sequel turned out.
  19. Ryencoke
    Aug 1, 2008
    0
    It really wasn't funny at all. It was just toilet humor.. First one was good. This was just plain garbage.
  20. ChrisW.
    Aug 1, 2008
    9
    Not as good as the first movie... but it had its moments. Neil Patrick Harris is Golden! The Un-Rated version was a bit too un-rated at times. I felt like I had stumbled onto a Porn channel or something during the pool scene and when the two hookers start making out.
  21. MaxW.
    Jul 31, 2008
    8
    Not a perfect movie, but very enjoyable. I'm tough on comedies, but this movie had me laughing loudly many times.
  22. GeorgeN.
    Jul 31, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. It was nice to relax and laugh. It made me happy! Also, Joe A. is obviously a racist.
  23. ApocalypseBrown
    Jul 24, 2008
    0
    What a sad and pathetic film! Not only is it an insult to those innocents tortured and killed there, it is a huge waste of time and money. AVOID! Or watch on pirate.
  24. Ogest
    Jul 22, 2008
    6
    I was really looking forward to seeing it since i loved first part. However, after I watched "Escape from Guantanamo Bay" I was disappointed. Still it is funny and jokes are good but I was expecting more from second part of Harold & Kumar adventures. Too bad N.P.H. didn't make it to the end.
  25. JayH.
    Jul 18, 2008
    5
    John Cho and Kal Penn are terrific, but the story and humor goes too much to the extreme, and the humor also tends to be really gross at times. But, it does have some very funny scenes.
  26. DanS.
    Jun 29, 2008
    0
    I have to give the movie a 0 because it was so bad and I walked out. Lots of single word would describe it, terrible, lame, wasteful, tasteless, etc.
  27. WiltonC
    Jun 25, 2008
    0
    The worst movie I've seen since Norbit. Let's kill off the only good thing about the first movie, recycle all the old jokes and try to pass off that war criminal Bush as some kind of pot smoking cool guy who hates his dad.
  28. JoeA.
    May 25, 2008
    0
    It was garbage. It was total anti-racist. The film makes fun of white people. It is garbage. Not funny. The guy breaks many laws and should have gone to jail. Total stupid, but Neil Patrick Harris is okay.
  29. BlakK
    May 25, 2008
    6
    I felt this sequel was made for the sake of making a sequel. It really didn't live up to the original. Many of the jokes fell flat, and I got the impression that they were trying too hard. Might be a decent afternoon DVD viewing, but certainly not worth the price of a movie ticket.
  30. RobertP.
    May 11, 2008
    8
    If it's good enough for A.O. Scott, it's good enough for me. I've seen it twice. The stereotypes are well done. The nasty humor is so ridiculous that you can't help but bust a gut laughing. Not for everyone. The easily offended should stay home and fans of that new Ashton Kutcher movie wouldn't get it.
  31. JeffW.
    May 7, 2008
    2
    A very sad excuse for a comedy. It lacked any overall cleverness or even humor at all.
  32. NeilH.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    This movie is instantly in my top 3 movies all time. The people who rate it low are just the grouchy old people.
  33. BillL
    May 2, 2008
    6
    Definitely not bad, but doesn't top the first one. However, considering how its just another low-budget stoner movie, it is well written and definately deserves a view for college kids with a free weekend.
  34. ChadS.
    May 1, 2008
    2
    If everybody was stoned out of their minds on weed, nobody would care if you were Korean, a Gujarti Indian, or Neil Patrick Harris. That message still applies to "Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay", but this unforeseen(and unnecessary) sequel is nowhere near as fun as its predecessor, whose modest story of two American stoners(who just happened to be said Korean and Guajarti If everybody was stoned out of their minds on weed, nobody would care if you were Korean, a Gujarti Indian, or Neil Patrick Harris. That message still applies to "Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay", but this unforeseen(and unnecessary) sequel is nowhere near as fun as its predecessor, whose modest story of two American stoners(who just happened to be said Korean and Guajarti Indian) on a quest for the perfect burger, was transgressive, but above all else, hillarious. Beset with two appealing filmic elements: Guantanamo Bay, and Neil Patrick Harris as Neil Patrick Harris, "Harold and Kumar..." wastes both, by not using locale and comedic weapon in tandem. Isn't it obvious? Harold(John Cho) and Kumar(Kal Penn) should go to Guantanamo Bay to free Doogie Howser on a fried commando raid. The "escape from Guantanamo Bay" should be the film's climax, not just some matter-of-fact episode in the pair's stoned road trip. Just imagine the surreal fun that could be had if the star of the ABC sitcom "How I Met Your Mother" was actually an Islamic fundamentalist? Expand
  35. TomS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    2
    This was a pitiful, unfunny sequel to the brilliant initial film. Boring, predictable, and juvenile. Real disappointment. Avoid it.
  36. TylerH.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Great movie, I don't get why its rated so low.
  37. EnderW.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    Funny movie. Maybe not as great as the first one, but still a great stoner flick.
  38. PoopsM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    7
    If you enjoyed the first one, you'll enjoy this one. You are warned, however, that this films title is very misleading. It should really be called, "Harold and Kumar Try to Get Laid" as most of the movie centers around Harold trying to find his dream woman and Kumar tries to go to Texas to stop his ex from marrying some guy who has 3 small scenes.
  39. JeffS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    5
    This movie had no direction and very little humor. It's as if they tried to patch together a whole movie out of one or two good humurous moments.
  40. NickS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Hilarious, something you can partially relate to, and overall a great comedy.
  41. TheSwami
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    Not quite as good as the first (as expected in any sequel), but it is pretty freaking funny at times. Some jokes fall flat, but on the whole I was greatly entertained.
  42. FrederickM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    Not as great as the first, but a throughly enjoyable experience.
  43. JimB
    Apr 28, 2008
    5
    These first 3 ratings are from rating bots; there is no way this movie is worth a 10; it was worse than the first. The movie was epic meh.
  44. RC
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Excellent movie! very funny as well as pokes fun at how stupid and arrogant the us government is.
  45. TylerD.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Unbelievably hilarious and i don't even do drugs
  46. AlecB.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Easily the funniest movie of 2008. Even better than the first Harold and Kumar. It kept me laughing from the beginning all the way to the end. Anybody who liked the first movie or just likes a funny comedy i strongly recommend this one
  47. Athena
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    One of the best laughs you will have at the movies all year. Completely ridiculous but you should expect that. Beware of some poop jokes at the beginning but other than that you'll just laugh till your sides hurt
  48. BillH.
    Apr 27, 2008
    3
    Absolutely abysmal. Even after you get past all the unecessary raunch - the over-the top language; the stupid scenes; the sophmoric sexual references (gay & straight); what you are left with is a really bad movie. I'm only rating it a 3 because there were at least a few funny scenes.
  49. [Anonymous]
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    Great movie. Some laughs already seen in the trailers, but definitely not a let down.
  50. BaffL.
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    Love that it picks up right after the first movie, also college age Harold nearly made me piss myself. Maybe all these newspaper critics feel it's beneath them. Bah!
  51. RichardS.
    Apr 26, 2008
    2
    This movie is so damn stupid that anyone who thinks its brilliant or amazing must be brain-damaged. What makes this movie good? The disjointed plot (it's called Escape from Guantanamo Bay, but is that what the movie's really about, or is it going from one place and joke to another without any real point?) The bad acting (from the whole cast)? The lame, stupid jokes (was there This movie is so damn stupid that anyone who thinks its brilliant or amazing must be brain-damaged. What makes this movie good? The disjointed plot (it's called Escape from Guantanamo Bay, but is that what the movie's really about, or is it going from one place and joke to another without any real point?) The bad acting (from the whole cast)? The lame, stupid jokes (was there anything intelligent about the humour)? Is it funny cuz of the constant references to drug and sex: if you find that funny then may be you're still a teenager, even though the movie's not for kids. The terrible attempts at satire? The inspiring music? Seriously, think about it: does Harold and Kumar have the makings of a good movie? And by good I don't mean one of those serious dramas that are usually Oscar contenders. I mean good in the sense of normal good, like most Pixar or Dream Works comedies. This movie sucked and blowed at the same time. Expand
  52. MaxG.
    Apr 26, 2008
    8
    God damn is this funny.
  53. DougG
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    As good as if not better than the first. The threesome with the weed, Kumar, and his soon to be fiance was just hilarious.
  54. TiS.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Cool movie.
  55. HugoR.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    As good as the first.
  56. DavidA.
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Simply Amazing.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Lacks the fresh charm that made their first such an unexpected (if guilty) pleasure.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    70
    An over-the-top and beyond-PC comedy that sometimes deftly, sometimes slapdashedly infuses party-hearty anarchy with hectoring moral outrage.
  3. Mostly dumb, no matter how desperately and even valiantly it aims for "thinky."