User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1415 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JLW
    Aug 2, 2011
    5
    Ultimately a disappointing film; simply because it was soulless and hollow. More emphasis should have been placed on the characters who died and on the trauma of the whole battle. Sadly, it ends up being a utterly forgettable B grade action film. Shame....
  2. Mar 16, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this movie was great but i felt like it wasn't for adults...and instead it was for teens who are not adults yet.....anyway......the black kid there seems forced ....wade actually thought it was the other fat kid.....for a second there......whats abloody diadem.....i wanted malfoy to steal the diadem...just kidding....the ghost scene was pretty bad i thought....but its all good......voldemort was pissed there at the end there.....if we die for this im gonna kill you is lame......the kicking of the horcrux was badass.....he doesn'tseem to even want to keep nagini safe any more....before the night is out he will come to me...why does voldemort know that **** excellent question....maybe hes scene it in a vision....but didn't know about the way harry can come back from heaven....which i actually forget right now so i don't blame him.....LOL Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here's the thing: reviews from all the major critics are unfailingly unhelpful, and I'm always left wondering what movie they saw that I didn't, usually when, as here, they just love the film. The Potter finale is not bad, by any means. Nor am I concerned that it takes liberties with the books. The problem is that, as a rousing finale, it is lacking, chiefly because the pace is all wrong. We've been set up for 11 years for the momentum that must carry this film, and it's all stops and starts. Not good. Then, and also irrespective of Rowling's story, I was deeply disturbed by Voldemort's weak agenda. Haven't we been led to anticipate that, in full power, he is going to consume the world? So - why is he so triumphant at the Hogwarts scene, as though the school were his ultimate goal? The Voldemort I've been expecting would not bother making a recruitment speech to the kids. They join or die, period, and he's too flimsy here to be truly scary. On the plus side: Rickman is fabulous. Radcliffe is better than he ever was. AT LAST, Maggie Smith gets to strut her stuff. That makes it worth it. But...this was not a truly successful film conclusion to the saga. And, to be rather **** I so wanted a bit more oomph when Mrs. Weasley takes out Bellatrix. PS All the reviews indicate lots of casualties from adult and young characters. Hmm. A few, none terribly shocking. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2012
    6
    I wanted to like this more... I really did, especially having grown up with the books. However, muddled plotting and copious amounts of expository dialogue, due to a rushed pace, kept this film from realizing its full potential.
  5. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    Well what a disappointment David Yates has been to the Harry Potter franchise. Having made such a completely un-enjoyable mess of Half Blood Prince my wife and I were completely put off seeing Deathly Hallows part a at the cinema, despite having seen all the movies so far on the big screen. However, a week ago we thought we were proven wrong after watching part a on DVD. We found it to beWell what a disappointment David Yates has been to the Harry Potter franchise. Having made such a completely un-enjoyable mess of Half Blood Prince my wife and I were completely put off seeing Deathly Hallows part a at the cinema, despite having seen all the movies so far on the big screen. However, a week ago we thought we were proven wrong after watching part a on DVD. We found it to be a surprisingly enjoyable, yet bleak film. â Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    6
    I've never read the books and haven't really loved the movies (although I've seen them all). Even so, this final film was full of loose ends that had to be tied upâ
  7. Jul 15, 2011
    6
    Growing up with Harry and his friends, its hard not to get attached to the characters. Having said that the movie was a disappointment. Yes, the movie looked great; yes, the movie was a good end for the series but there was something missing, the element of epic-ness. Unlike Lord of the Rings or the original Star Wars films, Harry Potter lacked the wow factor that brought the other filmsGrowing up with Harry and his friends, its hard not to get attached to the characters. Having said that the movie was a disappointment. Yes, the movie looked great; yes, the movie was a good end for the series but there was something missing, the element of epic-ness. Unlike Lord of the Rings or the original Star Wars films, Harry Potter lacked the wow factor that brought the other films to another level. However, I didn't come out of the movie hating it nor did I come out loving it. The movie is great to see with a group of friends, so I recommend go see it but don't pay full price, matinee will do! Expand
  8. Aug 2, 2011
    4
    Shame....shame...shame...That is not how the book ended, not even close and why would they do that after a brilliant part I...I have to believe if you read the last book then you would be mortified at how they butchered the ending...and argueably the most important scenes...Nevilles defiance ...the end of Nagini ...and the batlle between Voldemort and Harry....I was so disappointed...IShame....shame...shame...That is not how the book ended, not even close and why would they do that after a brilliant part I...I have to believe if you read the last book then you would be mortified at how they butchered the ending...and argueably the most important scenes...Nevilles defiance ...the end of Nagini ...and the batlle between Voldemort and Harry....I was so disappointed...I have seen all of the previous movies more than once but not this one...It was by far a major letdown and the most egregious movie of the series....bahhhhhhhh! Expand
  9. Jul 15, 2011
    4
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2... as an adaptation from a book, it dissapoints. As an action film, it dissapoints. As a completion of the (mostly) great saga of the boy who lived, it's disappointing. Get the idea yet? Rodger Ebert said: " seem fair enough, and "Harry Potter" now possesses an end that befits the most profitable series in movie history." Fitting. That's whatHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2... as an adaptation from a book, it dissapoints. As an action film, it dissapoints. As a completion of the (mostly) great saga of the boy who lived, it's disappointing. Get the idea yet? Rodger Ebert said: " seem fair enough, and "Harry Potter" now possesses an end that befits the most profitable series in movie history." Fitting. That's what this movie feels like, a profit machine. It felt generic, or at least the ending did, the underwhelming, underplayed, disappointing ending. Shame, really. Expand
  10. Jul 15, 2011
    5
    These are not my own words - they are an assorted collection from the pens of the critics who dared to disagree with the vast majority of sheeple who believe that anything related to Harry freakin' Potter is holy: 'Gloomy imagery, the series' only consistency has been its lack of excitement and ineffective use of special effects all to make magic unmagical and to make action seem inert.'These are not my own words - they are an assorted collection from the pens of the critics who dared to disagree with the vast majority of sheeple who believe that anything related to Harry freakin' Potter is holy: 'Gloomy imagery, the series' only consistency has been its lack of excitement and ineffective use of special effects all to make magic unmagical and to make action seem inert.' It is 'unfocused, supernatural-themed sludge.' 'Director David Yates moves at only two speeds: Super-charged yet not impactful and laboured and faux-majestic stillness. He constantly misjudges moments by underplaying events that should be cool, like jumping off of a dragon.' Not to mention the missed details in the books. I'm not saying that you could fit eveything IN, but I'm sure if Yates tightened up the sloow, soap opera style lifetime tv movie (which incidentally, was the whole of his career before Potter) Harry Potter since the Order of the Phoenix wouldn't be these 'dreary [slogs]' of movies. Expand
  11. Jul 16, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers. I am fan of the HP books, and went with great expectations to see this movie, Sadly I went out very dissapointed. It was a very superficial, flat vision of the book. The scene with Harry and LV and the end was just created to show up the 3D effects. The most important thing, the core of the whole story the death of LV was incomprehensible and lack of the rich nuances of the book. Other scenes, like the moments before the death of Snape with Nagini on the floor instead of the sphere of the book for example took away the magic details of the magic world and focus on the butchery of regular action movies. I agree with the person who points that David Yates doing have moved the movies away from the books.The only satisfaction I got was seeing such an impeccable cast working together. Collapse
  12. Jul 16, 2011
    5
    I have not read a single Potter book, but have watched all the movies. This was let down by a poor ending. I failed to really care who lived or who died as well. Overall it failed to engage any emotions or interest and in the end it felt like a money grab.
  13. Jul 16, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you're a fan of the films you will enjoy this greatly, for it brings an end to Harry Potters journey and wraps it up in a neat little bow. However, if you are a fan of the books, like myself, you will be disappointed, for the great amount of detail and important side stories left out, which left me feeling a bit empty. Things like the ignorance of the deaths of certain characters (eg: Fred being killed off screen), lack of reactions to Voldermorts and Snapes deaths were just a small selection of anti-climatic moments. I could go on and list everything the film failed to include but it would be better to just go and re-read the books as the films, especially this one, don't do them justice. Expand
  14. Jul 16, 2011
    5
    I have to say I was really disappointed by the final Harry Potter film. This is the opening weekend, and the reviewers are all raving... and they are all wrong; it's like they saw a different film than I did -- is it because I didn't read the book? I've generally enjoyed the films, but this was far from the best Potter film -- and frankly it leaves me continuing to wonder how this seriesI have to say I was really disappointed by the final Harry Potter film. This is the opening weekend, and the reviewers are all raving... and they are all wrong; it's like they saw a different film than I did -- is it because I didn't read the book? I've generally enjoyed the films, but this was far from the best Potter film -- and frankly it leaves me continuing to wonder how this series managed to stay so beloved and highly hyped for so long. Really, this is what it was all building to for all these years?

    The kids put on Prisoner of Azkaban this morning; ah, the good 'ol days.
    Expand
  15. Jul 17, 2011
    4
    Made CHEAP and made to MAKE MONEY.

    I was very unsatisfied when I left the theater. I felt like the directors, actors, producers had a tough time making this, or everyone just kinda was happy it was over and just gave up! Here are my ten reasons why; 1. The 3-D was a waste. I thought, after seeing the previews, these people in Hollywood were finally making 3-D look good! But they aren't
    Made CHEAP and made to MAKE MONEY.

    I was very unsatisfied when I left the theater. I felt like the directors, actors, producers had a tough time making this, or everyone just kinda was happy it was over and just gave up!

    Here are my ten reasons why;

    1. The 3-D was a waste. I thought, after seeing the previews, these people in Hollywood were finally making 3-D look good! But they aren't there wasn't enough 3-D in Harry. + Can't they make freaking lens free I-Max 3-D glasses!!?

    2. Next this was "setty"! I hate "setty" movies! What I mean by "setty" is that during one scene there are all these people around and watching a fight go down..and two things go wrong...one it's kinda stupid and feels like you're on a set when this kinda thing takes place....but it get's worst when the characters all run away and go fight in there own little rooms....it was kinda funny...its like a big scene get's set up...than woosh (well not really they walked haha) they're in the castle fighting...

    3. The fight scenes sucked (see last point). There was not enough blood (for a finally), and when many characters got hurt or died you didn't see anything. CHEAP.

    4. The film was very dry and boring at first. The opening scene was almost like a really bad reality show...where there were pauses and script stumble and lots of awkward silence.

    5. Plot holes....as many other reviewers point out...but one that bothered me was a character from the beginning disappeared and ended up at a place Harry didn't know about...it was so stupid it was like why wouldn't she just tell him she was going there. Such a dumb plot hole.

    6. There was no Dobby, and too little Rubeus. When Rubeus was used his scene was cheap and quick. I would have liked to see him kick some goblins in the face! I felt like they are saving Dobby for the next series (in conjuction with the ending, see next point). I felt like I was cheated. Everyone should show up in the finale, and show up in style.

    7. The ending....oh my gosh the ending was so bad....I can't believe they didn't save that for the blu-ray extras. I felt like this was a SCAM and that they were just trying to set up the next Harry Potter franchise! Yuck. Great way to ruin a movie!

    8. The dragon!!! Come on it's an awesome dragon! This is fantasy land! Do more with the dragon! Hey how about some 3-D flying angles?!??!! 9. There weren't enough fantasy creatures, and unique special effects that made the first couple movies within a unique world..this felt like it was cold and old.

    10. The kissing scenes (if you want to call them that) sucked!

    Sorry I hate to be like that. But it really was bad.
    Expand
  16. Jul 17, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Deathly Hallows Part 1 was a great movie in my opinion, certainly one of the best in the series, it was full of great scenes, mostly because it was taken faithfully from the book. However in splitting the book into two films, they had to squeeze about 10 chapters into a full length movie. This led to a need to grossly diverge many of the locations and events from the actual book, and a lot of important elements were missed out, as well as unwanted ones added. It's such a shame when they have to resort to Cliches such as Harry and Voldermort both crawling broken towards their wands like some sort of action thriller, and I don't remember the bit in the book where Harry and Voldermort jump struggling off a cliff.

    Other minor details annoy me as well, for example one of Malfoys 'henchman' was replaced by a black student in the room of requirement scene where Harry is finding the diodem. I mean, is racial equality that bad that every scene now needs to have an even distribution, so much so that they change a scene from the book (Crabbe dieing, or was it Goyle, I'm not too sure. Instead now some random character they invented dieing.) Also instead of killing Snape in the Shrieking Shack they decided to move that absolutely classic scene into the Hogwarts boathouse, which just felt another unneeded cliche to make it look slightly more epic.

    Don't get me wrong though, the movie was entertaining enough, but way more of the same. We've already seen the epic Red vs Green wand clash about twice in the series now, and it happened again, multiple times in the film. But at least they managed to make Voldemorts death look slightly less climactic and sudden as it was in the book.

    So to summarise, I found the film to be one of the weakest in the series, even if it was alright. Nothing really new was seen, despite it being the conclusion to an epic saga. Due to the decision to stretch the book into two films, Part 2 came seriously lacking in my opinion, and some people I've spoken to even found it to be a slog. But, if you are a Harry Potter fan or not I'd reccommend at least going to see the film. In fact if you are not a fan of the books you'll probably enjoy it even more.
    Expand
  17. Aug 30, 2011
    5
    Just more Harry Potter and like the other films, not bad but not good. The end of the movie is just a shame. Boring in some moments, I think this movie have been made for kids and Harry Potter fans.
  18. Sep 7, 2011
    4
    I have often been criticised for not reading any of the books, but after watching the last film i honestly don't care if the book was as ANTI climatic as the film then I have no problem with not reading them even the latest twilight had a more thrilling end, don't get me wrong I give credit to all who worked on the film and J.K Rowling but it does drag out a bit.
  19. Sep 11, 2011
    5
    Harry potter and the deathly hallows part 2 was a disappointing movie. Compared to the book there was extra scenes and deleted scenes. It still had great action and it had a bit humor in it also. I think this part was the worst between all the other parts and I have to say that in the Tom felton and family were real scaredy cats
  20. May 11, 2012
    5
    Ultimately disappointing. The biggest problem with the conclusion of this franchise is that Harry so unflappably walks the path of good that his victory over Voldemort not only feels inevitable, but hollow. What made The Return of the King - another fantasy epic - such a great conclusion was Frodo continuously succumbing to evil. While in that we knew good would triumph, it was such aUltimately disappointing. The biggest problem with the conclusion of this franchise is that Harry so unflappably walks the path of good that his victory over Voldemort not only feels inevitable, but hollow. What made The Return of the King - another fantasy epic - such a great conclusion was Frodo continuously succumbing to evil. While in that we knew good would triumph, it was such a struggle to get there. This, and the previous film were both diluted by its over-reliance on effects, hollow uninteresting battle scenes, hammy dialogue - lines such as "I've always wanted to use that spell", and the poorly delivered "Yeah? You and who's army?" and nothing in the way of much of a story. At no time did it feel as if our heroes were in any danger or placed in impossible situations. Expand
  21. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    I much prefer the books and I think this film was overly hyped (for obvious reasons). It is a shame that they felt the need to split the films because very little happened in this film and it could have been cut down quite significantly. A bit of a sad day for Britain now that Harry Potter has finished but the books would always be my recommendation.
  22. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    Oh, the despair! The disappointment! The first half of the movie is Ok and comes from the same vein as the part 1. It was lively, enjoyable, respectful of the book. But the Battle of Hogwarts??? COME ON! How could they do that? How could they twist the last part of this super saga into a kind of video game on screen? The visual effects give all the images a kind of melted, waxyOh, the despair! The disappointment! The first half of the movie is Ok and comes from the same vein as the part 1. It was lively, enjoyable, respectful of the book. But the Battle of Hogwarts??? COME ON! How could they do that? How could they twist the last part of this super saga into a kind of video game on screen? The visual effects give all the images a kind of melted, waxy appearance... All the scenes the book fans have been rehearsing in their minds, waiting for the movie like Molly Weasley killing Beatrix, the last face-to-face between Harry and Voldemort... they're either absent or spoiled. Honestly, I think I won't even buy the dvd... Expand
  23. Dec 30, 2011
    6
    A great ending for a good series, but it wasn't epic enough. The focus was great on the three main characters, however the technical flaw was that it didn't go exactly by the book and some of the drama parts from the book were cut off. Also some of the other characters that died in the movie (as according to the book) should have been seen. The deleted scenes on the DVD & Blu-ray releasesA great ending for a good series, but it wasn't epic enough. The focus was great on the three main characters, however the technical flaw was that it didn't go exactly by the book and some of the drama parts from the book were cut off. Also some of the other characters that died in the movie (as according to the book) should have been seen. The deleted scenes on the DVD & Blu-ray releases of this movie weren't enough to justify an incomplete movie. Expand
  24. Jul 21, 2011
    6
    I found this to be a fitting if somewhat underwhelming end to the most repetitively episodic and stiffly acted of franchises (not counting the recent Star Wars trilogy movies BECAUSE THEY DID NOT HAPPEN, THEY F$%^ING DID NOT HAPPEN OKAY?! Ahem....) Director David Yates and screenwriter Steve Kloves do exactly what they have done with previous installments; which is to move the film alongI found this to be a fitting if somewhat underwhelming end to the most repetitively episodic and stiffly acted of franchises (not counting the recent Star Wars trilogy movies BECAUSE THEY DID NOT HAPPEN, THEY F$%^ING DID NOT HAPPEN OKAY?! Ahem....) Director David Yates and screenwriter Steve Kloves do exactly what they have done with previous installments; which is to move the film along as fast as possible whilst using as little expositional dialogue as possible and simultaneously dumping anything from the books that had any real character deepening qualities, ( Dumbledores dark past is completely sidestepped) or emotional clout, and leaving it cruelly flapping on the cutting room floor like a confused, suffocating trout. The battle of Hogwarts looks, well... pretty crappy, with Yates attempting to ape shots from Lord of the Rings and failing, despite having a much bigger budget to work with.Oi! SAY WHAT?! Uh Huh! No **** Anyway, I can't be bothered writing anymore about this movie as it doesn't deserve it. Piss off Harry Potter, seriously. Yeah okay the books are fun and the movies are WHATEVER but does this crap really deserve to be the overwhelming super fart franchise it has become? NO! So much is better than this: looking at a wall for example, certainly a more wholesome experience than being forced to sit through either of the first two movies. Scratching your eye, easily as much fun as watching Harry Potter 5, fa show! Funny story: I actually farted earlier and it reminded me of Daniel Radcliffe's acting when R-Pattz died in HP Sause 4, what a stinkyness that was, jeez, in fact pretty much anytime Radcliffe had to really emote in a scene he failed miserably, though he did get less crap, but in the end he was still crap. and he knows it. The other two actor-children-people-things? Crap. Oh! Pushing a granny down the stairs, that's probably more fun than all the movies combined actually, and that's free to do, and only takes a second, AND you don't have to sit through twenty odd hours of crappy child actors pretending to actually like the crappy movie they're acting in yet all the while being glad they are who they are, not just because they're richer than most of us, but because they don't have to be us and not be in Harry Potter like we aren't, and have to pretend to everyone else that they like the movies everyone else likes such as Harry Potter, which thay actually think is only okay and not the second coming and would probably rather go down to the park and do an outdoor activity if you asked them, or even just do something else, like say....waterboarding themselves! Transformers is crap too, and loads of other stuff and whichever the latest tight wearing super ninny movie about a dude who got some powers through no fault of his own but was then able to pooh through peoples minds and travel back in time and become his own anus or his planet would explode or whatever even though he a bit socially awkward cause of their differences just like all of us are, awww, is. IRON CAPTAIN THOR FARTS 4: The secrets of the Teenage Mutant Ninja prostitutes! Its all the same! HuuuuuP! I actually am a Harry Potter fan, believe it or not, but I think this previous 'stream of consciousness' shows just how apathetic I was towards this movie and it got me thinking about whether artistic movie tastes are perhaps cyclical and.....well I don't know, originality might become fashionable again, probably not though so.... Johnny Depp I'm seriously annoyed at you too, make a good movie would ya?!.....aw WHATEVER Harry GO AWAY!!! Pirates of the Harry Potter and the Spiderman of the neverending rehash of easily digestible multiplex gruel, with extra self delusion! Aye why not! Expand
  25. Jul 31, 2011
    6
    Coming from a non-harry potter fan, this was a decent film and a suitable finish to a series that spans an entire decade. It acts well as the climatic third act to the slow-burning, exposition-filled set up, of the Deathly Hallows: Part 1. Its a well paced, action packed adventure with dazzling visual effects (possibly the best visual effects of all the harry potter films) and a deft soundComing from a non-harry potter fan, this was a decent film and a suitable finish to a series that spans an entire decade. It acts well as the climatic third act to the slow-burning, exposition-filled set up, of the Deathly Hallows: Part 1. Its a well paced, action packed adventure with dazzling visual effects (possibly the best visual effects of all the harry potter films) and a deft sound mix. It also excels artistically with the usual good performance from all our stars and a brisk screenplay that narrates the bombastic plotline with relative ease. Being the finale, it would have been pleasing if a bit more screen time was given to many of our secondary characters and most of all, a lengthier epilogue would have given it a better conclusion. This definitely won't go down as a classic, but it does well at wrapping up a memorable collection films. Expand
  26. Jul 17, 2011
    6
    I paid $32.67 for a XBOX 360 and my mom got a 17 inch Toshiba laptop for $94.83 being delivered to our house tomorrow by FedEX. I will never again pay expensive retail prices at stores. I even sold a 46 inch HDTV to my boss for $650 and it only cost me $52.78 to get. Here is the website we using to get all this stuff, MetaCent.com
  27. Jul 27, 2011
    6
    Enjoyable, but lacked the focus on real epic battles you read of in the books. The battles shown in this movie are more of the background noise to the story; you see the consequences without really seeing the details. Another 15 minutes and some real focus on this element would have earned a 9 from me. I hope the extended DVD takes care of this shortcoming. Harry Potter's "love"Enjoyable, but lacked the focus on real epic battles you read of in the books. The battles shown in this movie are more of the background noise to the story; you see the consequences without really seeing the details. Another 15 minutes and some real focus on this element would have earned a 9 from me. I hope the extended DVD takes care of this shortcoming. Harry Potter's "love" interest completely lacked chemistry. Much of the early chemistry from characters in the movie series also seems missing.

    On the plus side, this was certainly entertaining and I will see it again.
    Expand
  28. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    This is the only Harry Potter book I have not read, so I saw these final two instalments with no idea what to expect. The result, was fairly disappointing, despite a fantastic sequence involving Snape. It all seemed a bit too muddled around, and it didn't feel as epic as it could have been. As for the ending, well, it was never going to be easy to transfer what happens onto the big screen,This is the only Harry Potter book I have not read, so I saw these final two instalments with no idea what to expect. The result, was fairly disappointing, despite a fantastic sequence involving Snape. It all seemed a bit too muddled around, and it didn't feel as epic as it could have been. As for the ending, well, it was never going to be easy to transfer what happens onto the big screen, and they did an okay job of it, but it's still pretty stupid. Expand
  29. Jun 16, 2016
    5
    Felt rushed and time jumpy. There was no real content with this one and I think that's what makes it so disappointing. You do go in with high hopes for the last film of this epic series and it just doesn't liveup.
  30. Mar 21, 2013
    5
    I admit it, I haven't read the book (Its like 1000 pages, you done lost your mind). But I know enough from what my class has said about it. Apparently what they've said and the movie aren't the same. It seems as this movie spread into two had no plot in either. At least the others tried and succeded. This one just was basically action. And I'm one of those people who wouldn't mind no realI admit it, I haven't read the book (Its like 1000 pages, you done lost your mind). But I know enough from what my class has said about it. Apparently what they've said and the movie aren't the same. It seems as this movie spread into two had no plot in either. At least the others tried and succeded. This one just was basically action. And I'm one of those people who wouldn't mind no real plot, but the acting I've seen better. I personally think Narnia: Voyage of the Dawn Treader was much more entertaining, and visually better. Plus it had more 'Magic' if you get what Im saying, even without there full cast. Percy Jackson I believe and I actually read all the Percy Jackson books, they made a better movie. Whats wrong with Harry Potter, the acting is less then good. Why do critics praise these movies, Im almost 95% sure non of them have even picked up the book. Part 1 was distant and made the point unclear, part 2 was nothing more then action and effects. Watch if your a fan but no much Expand
  31. Dec 14, 2013
    5
    The book is a masterpiece, maybe my favourite of all time.... but the film is very disappointing. I give it a 5 (which for me is "bad") only for the performances of actors like Helena Bonham Carter, Ralph Fiennes, Emma Watson and others, for the locations and for the special effects because the plot is awful. They've destroyed the best parts (deaths of Voldemort and Bellatrix, Harry'sThe book is a masterpiece, maybe my favourite of all time.... but the film is very disappointing. I give it a 5 (which for me is "bad") only for the performances of actors like Helena Bonham Carter, Ralph Fiennes, Emma Watson and others, for the locations and for the special effects because the plot is awful. They've destroyed the best parts (deaths of Voldemort and Bellatrix, Harry's "death" and his meeting with Dumbledore, the end of the power of the Elder Wand...) they've made them in a "popular" version, but believe me, for the lovers of the books this is a shame. Worst Harry Potter's film ever. Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jul 18, 2011
    80
    When the movie was over, a young boy sitting behind me said, "That was great!" He was satisfied, and rightly so.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jul 14, 2011
    83
    The excellent news is that Yates and company took their time adding visual depth to the film -- they shot it as 3-D -- and the result feels immediate and real and not at all slathered-on.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jul 14, 2011
    100
    The epic and impassioned close that the saga deserves, a sweeping Wagnerian finish that's taut with suspense and wet with emotion.